2017 Buick Envision Reviews and Ratings

FWD 4dr Preferred

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Buick Envision.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (28)
Overall Rating
  4.4 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.4 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By Connie R. 10/9/2017 9:08:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.2 / 5
Very easy and relaxing to drive, very little road noise, good response, quality interior. I do not like the engine stop feature nor the bucket type seat.<br /> Excellent paint job on the vehicle. Overall, I liked it much better than the Lincoln MKX. Gas mileage is good at approx. 28 mpg mostly city or urban driving. All in all, a very comfortable auto and drives like a dream. Love my Buick Envision.
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Dave 9/29/2017 9:36:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
Like: Safety, drivers assistance, comfort, size A/C and heating controls. Controls in rear seating area Dislike: outside mirrors size and location on car
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/2/2017 1:27:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.5 / 5
A very good selection and reasonable price. Buick is a known and trusted make with a combination of style, prestige
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Mary A 9/1/2017 11:07:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2 / 5
Maybe I will adapt to it as the months pass, however, right now I miss my Jeep Cherokee Unlimited and really believe the ease of the features made the care more enjoyable.
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   1.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Jim 8/28/2017 2:46:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I enjoy the turbo charge, the ride, handling on curves and braking. The interior is one of the best I have had and the exterior has nice styling.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Walter 8/24/2017 2:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My new Buick is fun to drive on the open road/. After a long trip, I am still refreshed. Heated seats and heated steering wheel helps to make trip a delight. Also Sirius XM radio helps to make trip enjoyable
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/24/2017 11:03:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
great performance and ride and great features. I love the lane shift alert and the back up alert. very comfortable for all passengers
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Joan 8/23/2017 9:55:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
My Envision is the perfect size SUV. I like the head's up display. I have the bronze with the chestnut color. I love the turbo too. Buick name also says quality. Overall the BEST Buick I have purchased since my 2003 LaSabre.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Mark 8/23/2017 8:57:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.1 / 5
Well constructed, comfortable. A pleasant driving experience. Will look at a Buick when the lease is up.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Diane 8/22/2017 10:46:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
my new car is great looking with a comfortable smooth ride,lots of room, great gas mileage and lots of extras that make me feel safe!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Linda 8/22/2017 10:41:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Rides great, with very little noise, a very pleasant car to drive and easy to maneuver in traffic and to park. acceleration is excellent while still l getting great gas mileage.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Brenda 8/22/2017 5:00:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I was shopping for an Enclave and, while at the dealership reviewing the inventory, I found the Envision. I fell in love with the interior and exterior and was sold after a test drive. I was looking to trade in my sedan for an SUV to provide easier access for my aging mother to enter and exit the vehicle as she can no longer drive. She also loves the comfort and convenience of riding in my Envision. The size, handling and fuel econmy checks all the boxes for my lifestyle and commute to work. I have never owned a Buick and find the quality and features equal to my previously owned Lexus vehicles.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/21/2017 4:56:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I wanted a smaller SUV.I like the look of the Envision. gas mileage is very good. I did have a full size SUV and although I wanted a smaller auto I do miss my full size. Back storage is adequate but of course smaller. this SUV sits 5 and that is perfect. I wish it had 'lane change ' features. it does have the light that comes on with autos in the next lane. I was not used to the automatic stop at traffic lights but it is OK now.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Ray 8/21/2017 9:08:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
My Buick Envision is great but I prefer a larger model. We bought the Envision because my wife loves the size.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Irene F 8/20/2017 6:54:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love that it have a noise control system and it works I went out of town and it was great. I also love the interior and exterior .it is also very good gas milage. There is nothing I don't love about my buick envision. I made a great decison when I purchased it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Kim 8/20/2017 10:39:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
First Buick I have owned, and love it! Modern exterior and interior, luxurious feeling. It is a very ""quiet"" ride. Navigation screen sometimes is hard to see with it's angle and when the sunlight comes in at a certain angle, but not a big dissatisfier. I have the bronze exterior- doesn't show dirt readily. Love the back seat release latch from the cargo area
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mary 8/20/2017 5:27:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Not too small and not too big. Just the right size for a couple or small family. I would recommend to anyone.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Nikki 8/19/2017 9:45:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Amazing vehicle with luxury, style, AWD. Best Features Luxury, roomy interior.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Gary 8/18/2017 3:14:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Vehicle is loaded with features and is very comfortable. The technology is great. We are very pleased with both the Android Auto and Apple Car Play integration. Road noise is negligible. Leg room is ample, both in the front and rear. In fact, I have never so much rear leg room.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Carol 8/18/2017 1:09:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.6 / 5
better gas mileage than enclave, Pretty comfortable, had some neat tech features, Good power for 4 cyl
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Connie 8/15/2017 4:59:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
The beautiful Black Onyx color of the vehicle and how it changes color at night. A beautiful vehicle
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By BARB 8/14/2017 2:51:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I'M not happy with the automatic engine shut off every time you come to a complete stop. Other than that I love the car.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Leland 8/12/2017 12:55:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I bought the 2017 Buick Envision as I wanted a mid size SUV. The Buick dealership I purchased the vehicle at offered over $12500 on Envision model I purchased. I am highly impressed with the Buick Intellink system, which is the best technology system I've ever owned in a vehicle. The interior styling is what you would expect from Buick, and the ride is quiet and exceptional. For what I wanted on a vehicle, Buick offered the most features at the best price. In my opinion, the Envision is a model to be considered if looking for a mid size SUV
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/10/2017 7:21:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
Be aware of the auto start and stop feature and drive the car to make sure it will not be a concern for you.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Janette 8/1/2017 12:28:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
We have owned many Buicks. We decided to try a GMC Terrain which was great. When it was time to buy a new car we went back to a Buick. Our new Envision is a beautiful car. It's very quiet and rides so smoothly. The technology is wonderful. I can play my Amazon music on my Kindle through the radio when on a long trip. The navigation is so easy to use and it has OnStar which we love. The Envision's fold down back seats and the extra storage area are great features. Wouldn't You Rather Have A Buick? I would!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Janet 7/30/2017 9:25:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
My 2017 Buick Invision is a great vehicle. I have cancer and take chemo all the time and it was important to me that the vehicle i purchased would have an automatic lift gate but i also didn't need the 3rd seat in the Buick Enclave which i had previously owned. My Buick Invision is a perfect size for me and is a joy to drive.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Theresa 7/30/2017 7:34:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Buick Envision is very reliable. It drives smooth. I love the interior. The navigation system is so easy to use. It has a unique looking exterior.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By George 7/28/2017 1:27:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The vehicle is very well built and quiet. I like the way it handles and the ride is very smooth and comfortable.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Buick Envision
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

We’re not sure of the full history of GM’s decision to build cars in China, but it was years ago, and we recall it initially being about selling cars in China, not about building them there with Chinese labor and sending them to the U.S. to sell as American cars. So, before you consider the virtues of the stylish Buick Envision midsize/compact crossover, know that it’s made in China.

Buick is quick to say that the Envision was designed in Detroit, for the North American market. However, it’s a bit narrow for its class. Buick adds that fewer Envisions will be sold in the U.S. than in China, where people are smaller.

And nowadays, many of them richer. Even with cheap labor, the Envision is still fairly expensive, and lacks some features on the top models that we’ve seen on competitors like the Lexus RX and Acura RDX, or even the Nissan Murano.

The Envision is well assembled but unremarkable. The ride is really nice, but the rest of the driving dynamics are average.

New last year, the Envision fits in size between the Buick Encore hatchback and three-row Enclave wagon. It’s a couple of inches shorter than the Chevy Equinox and GMC Terrain crossovers. It weighs 3800 pounds and can tow 1500 pounds when properly equipped.

For 2017, Buick Envision expands to seven models, offering a choice of front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive.

Base engine is a 2.5-liter four cylinder making 197 horsepower, with a 2.0-liter turbocharged four cylinder making 252 horsepower that comes only with all-wheel drive. Both engines are mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission.

There are two available all-wheel-drive systems. The 2.5-liter gets the basic system, while the 2.0-liter turbo gets a twin-clutch system that splits the power not only between the front and rear wheels, but also between each rear wheel for better control in corners. That’s torque vectoring at the rear. Some cars do it at the front.

What the Envision does to improve control at the front wheels is through the steering that’s assisted by an electric motor, which can counter-steer in crosswinds.

We haven’t driven the 2.5-liter, but we found the turbo 2.0-liter, used in other GM cars from the Chevy Malibu to Cadillac CT6, to be confident and competent.

The 2.5-liter with front-wheel drive gets an EPA-rated 22 miles per gallon City, 29 Highway, and 25 Combined. The 2.0 turbo with all-wheel drive gets 20/26/22 mpg. Compared to rivals that’s nothing to brag about.

In crash testing, the Envision gets five stars from NHTSA. It gets all top scores from the IIHS, and when equipped with the optional automatic emergency braking system, gets Top Safety Pick+. But to get there you’d be in the Premium II model and might be looking at nearly 50 thousand. Almost all the other cars in this class make this safety feature available on more models than just the top one.

Model Lineup

2017 Buick Envision ($34,065) comes standard with power and heated cloth seats and rearview camera. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.) The 2.5-liter engine comes on base, Preferred ($35,870) and Envision Essence ($37,720) models. Front-wheel drive is standard, all-wheel drive is available.

The 2.0-liter turbocharged engine and all-wheel drive are standard on Envision Premium ($42,320) models. Envision Premium II ($44,960) gets air conditioned leather seats, automatic emergency braking, and adaptive cruise control. The Driver Confidence Package, with automatic braking and adaptive cruise control, is available only on the Premium II.

Walkaround

The Envision styling isn’t bold like for example the Nissan Murano, but that means it’s safe from being ugly like the Murano. The Envision is pleasing enough to the eye, if not anything your eyes are compelled to look twice at.

A deep shoulder line and rear roof pillar are vaguely European, with a line of thin chrome trim around the windows that’s suggestive of the BMW 3. At the front, a petite waterfall grille is flanked by LED daytime running lamps that flow upward into fenders with iconic faux portholes.

The rear taillamps are like blobs floating in space. LED accent lights are connected by a wide metallic bar studded with a Buick logo. It’s inoffensive but uninteresting.

Interior

You can see the instrument panel as either a dramatic and asymmetric sweep of controls, or a mish-mash of GM corporate switchgear. A climate control panel uses capacitive touch switches. There’s a sporty three-spoke steering wheel suggesting capability that doesn’t exist. Fabric upholstery comes on the two lower models, with faux wood trim, while the others get leather in brown, black or tan, which doesn’t feel particularly nice. Big swaths of real wood trim and ambient lighting beautify the cabin on these models.

The 8.0-inch infotainment touchscreen sits high on the dash. Although its graphics are a bit busy, Buick’s IntelliLink is one of our favorite systems, for its simple menus and plug-and-go Apple CarPlay.

The Envision is a bit narrower than GM’s Terrain and Equinox, so it feels a bit more confining in the rear compared to some competitors. But there’s still room for three in the rear seat, which slides on a track like those models; and there’s plenty of headroom, as well as available heating and reclining backrests. There’s an excellent 26.9 cubic feet of space behind the rear seat, and 57.3 cubic feet with the rear seat folded.

It’s very quiet inside. We pushed it over some of the worst asphalt we’ve seen in a while, and didn’t hear one creak or rattle. Its doors slammed with the solid thunk we’ve come to expect from GM.

Driving Impressions

What the Envision does best is smooth out choppy roads. Even with the bigger 19-inch alloy wheels and all-season tires, there’s not much road noise.

Even though we haven’t driven the 2.5-liter engine in the Envision, we have seat time in other GM cars with this engine, and we can’t say it feels exactly upmarket. Its 197 horsepower and 192 pound-feet of torque sound too low to move this 3800-pound vehicle with authority.

The turbo’s exhaust note is muffled and distant, releasing a light thrum under hard acceleration. There’s some turbo lag before the power comes on smoothly, while the 6-speed automatic is always smooth, with either engine.

We got an all-wheel-drive Premium on gravel roads, and had no problems with grip. The system is front-wheel-drive based, but sends power to the rear when traction is needed there.

Despite the image of the sporty steering wheel, the Envision isn’t into spirited cornering. Still, there isn’t much body lean, and the steering system keeps the car on a steady track whether in a sweeper or switchback. The turbocharged Envisions come equipped with Buick’s sophisticated HiPer strut front suspension that counters torque steer mainly on front-wheel-drive models.

Summary

We can’t find anything exceptional about the Envision. Nice cabin, good ride, solid 2.0-liter turbo, excellent automatic transmission, average handling, forgettable styling, unimpressive fuel mileage, eyebrow-raising price. Plus you can’t get away from the Made in China thing.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Buick Envision FWD 4dr Preferred local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.