2017 BMW 5 Series Reviews and Ratings

535i xDrive Gran Turismo

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 BMW 5 Series.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (10)
Overall Rating
  4.8 / 5
Reliability
  4.8 / 5
Interior
  4.8 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By Tony Monday, August 21, 2017 - 10:01am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.5 / 5
The new five series has a very dangerous problem the windshield Fogs up badly due to incorrect location of air ducks behind the GPS screen wake up BMW and fix this
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4 / 5

By Frank T Monday, August 21, 2017 - 7:31am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I am almost 65 years old and had never even been in a BMW. A friend told me about his BMW experience and told me not to buy anything before test driving a 5 series BMW. I followed his advice and I now understand why they call it the ""Ultimate driving machine"". It is truly exceptional. I had been a Chevrolet guy for a long time driving Tahoes and Corvettes. The quality of the Chevrolets was good but not in the same league as the BMW.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Chuck Monday, September 4, 2017 - 10:34am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
beautiful, fun car, practical and sporty. Great for family travel with plenty of room but also a sports car when you're in the mood.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bob Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 3:19pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The BMW 540ix has very smooth adequate power. The ride is exceptionally comfortable and very quiet with best in class engine and transmission. Cornering delivers confidence. The iDrive6 controller is very intuitive and the speech recognition works.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jennifer Friday, August 18, 2017 - 10:16am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I would give this car 5 stars if I could because it is an amazing car to drive and I smile every time I get into it. However, the smile fades as the temperature outside rises. There is an ongoing issue with the A/C, the cause of which has not yet been determined, that causes the interior of the vehicle to get uncomfortably warm. From what I can tell it is not a hardware issue, but rather either a programming or design flaw. BMW is actively searching for a ""fix"", but in the meanwhile, I have tinted the windows and try to overlook the issue as I enjoy the car otherwise. I have confidence in this brand and I know they will come to a resolution soon. The interior styling is top-notch, the handling and power are awesome, and I have enjoyed using the wireless charging base and the remote-controlled back-up of the vehicle when putting it away in the garage. My advice to those considering this car- wait a few months for the A/C issue to be fixed and then go out and get yourself one!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Nadier Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 6:45am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Love this car. Will drive another one in the future. Best Features - Everything about this car. Interior , exterior, gas mileage . The car runs car , harfdly field a speed bumps. Its fast. It's reliable. I love it
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Marv Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 6:03pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
My wife selected our first 5 series BMW 10 years ago as she liked the way it felt when she was driving it. When we purchased the 2012 528i X we planned on trading it when the 2017 was available. So that's what I did. Some things I don't like are the door pockets poorly designed and the trunk must be closed manually. Dumb idea when you have two arms full of grocery bags. Even when the video in the car shows it closing when you either lift the button or swing your foot under the rear license plate. The 2012 had this feature. Why they removed it makes no sense to me. Mechanically the car is as good as it gets. Comfortable and drives like a dream.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, August 7, 2017 - 1:52pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
THE BMW 530I IS EXCEPTIONAL VEHICLE.IT HANDLE VERY WELL ON THE HIGHWAY AND CURVES.ELEGANTLY DESIGN EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Antonio Friday, July 28, 2017 - 4:37am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The newly redesigned 2017 BMW 540i is an amazing car to drive. BMW didn't go completely redesign the car but upgraded the look in certain areas to give it a cleaner meaner and more stylish look. The exterior lines flow smoothly giving the car a sporty look. The interior now looks a lot cleaner and simple but packs amazing amount of new technology. The new wide touchscreen display is a much needed and appreciated upgrade. BMW redesigned the interior to focus on driver and passenger comfort without sacrificing quality. The attention to detail on the stitching on the seats doesn't go unnoticed. This car is packed with amazing technology it will take you time to fully learn and get used to it. Once you've taken the time to appreciate all the has been updated you will truly appreciate and understand what it means to drive and experience ""the ultimate driving experience""
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jack E Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 11:37am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
This has been our eighth BMW... Wonderful mix of performance handling workmanship looks & mileage for this kind of horsepower...
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 BMW 5 Series
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The 2017 BMW 5 Series is built on a new platform, with more aluminum and high-strength steel in the chassis, to make it lighter and stiffer.

It’s 1.2 inches longer than before, all of which makes its way to rear legroom. For now there are just the sedans, the 530i and 540i, but they will soon be joined by a plug-in hybrid 530e, and a powerful M550 xDrive.

There are two new engines, turbocharged inline four and six cylinders, 2.0 and 3.0 liters. The 248-horsepower four in the 530i is refined and rarely feels pressed; it can accelerate from zero to sixty in about six seconds, about the same as the Mercedes E-Class and Volvo S90. The turbo six delivers 335 horsepower and can shoot the 540i from zero to sixty in less than five seconds.

There’s one transmission, an excellent eight-speed automatic. BMW’s xDrive all-wheel drive is available with both models.

The revised suspension, especially the available adaptive dampers, turn the car into an athlete. Even the standard run-flat tires don’t stiffen the ride too much.

It hasn’t been crash-tested and probably won’t be, because of the price. Its active safety systems, adaptive cruise control, active lane control, and self-steering, work well, but cost about five grand. It will steer itself down the highway for 30 seconds. It will also veer and correct itself, when the sensors misjudge something. It’s a problem with most cars that steer themselves.

The 530i is EPA-rated at 24/34 mpg City/Highway, or 27 mpg Combined, on Premium gasoline. 530i xDrive is 23/33/27 mpg City/Highway/Combined. The 530i is 120 pounds lighter than previously, and its engine is more efficient, with its direct fuel injection.

Same goes for the six in the 540i, rated 20/30/24 mpg.

The 530e iPerformance model goes on sale in April, designated a 2018 model. It will be the first plug-in hybrid 5 Series, using a 9.2-kwh battery pack with a turbocharged four-cylinder engine.

Model Lineup

The 530i ($51,200) and the 540i ($56,450) come with leatherette upholstery, automatic climate control, a 10.2-inch touchscreen, navigation, Bluetooth, 18-inch wheels with run-flat tires. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

A rearview camera is optional, part of a driver assistance package that includes a new head-up display. Adaptive cruise control, active lane control, blind-spot monitors, pedestrian detection, and automatic emergency braking are optional.

Also optional: Bowers & Wilkins audio, Apple CarPlay wireless, smart cold weather package with heated seats front and rear, surround-view camera, touchscreen key, and remote parking feature.

Walkaround

Fresh styling for the new 5 Series includes bigger grilles and headlamps, and a more aerodynamic front bumper with two corner air intakes and a large center scoop. Behind the grille are shutters that open or close depending on the temperature of the engine coolant.

The profile resembles the new BMW 7 Series, but claims some individuality with two character lines under the rear windows.

At the rear there are new LED taillamps and an aggressive bumper with two chrome exhaust tips.

Interior

The cabin is quiet and refined, with upgraded interior materials including a sound-deadening headliner. The seats are tops for luxury midsize sedans. At least the optional multi-contour seats are, with adjustable bolstering and long leg cushions.

The standard leatherette upholstery BMW calls SensaTec is nice. Of the expensive optional leather combinations, the softest is Nappa (available with a massage function). Some of the color combinations in the leather options are a bit extreme, and the contrast stitching, quilting, and piping can look busy. We liked the Night Blue, and the Mocha too, but the quilting steals all subtlety.

In the rear there’s good headroom and legroom, with 1.2 inches more than before. The trunk is a big 18.7 cubic feet.

In the high-tech department, BMW is still behind the pack, only within range of the other midsize luxury sedans like those from Mercedes or Volvo; that said, it doesn’t present a wall of screens like the Mercedes E-Class. The 10.2-inch touchscreen sits on top of the dashboard, with its crisp integrated display dominating the instrumentation. The 8.0-inch LED instrument cluster is new and much needed to replace an obsolete LCD. There’s better app integration, and easy transition between functions.

Driving Impressions

The new engines feel good. The four cylinder neither feels like a four nor accelerates like one, with 248 horsepower and 258 pound-feet of torque. It’s smooth and always there. The inline six cylinder is smooth and fast, with 335 horsepower and 335 pound-feet of torque. Zero to sixty in 4.7 seconds, with all-wheel drive to get it off the line without wheelspin. It puts the final nail in the coffin of the V8. In fact, it steals the name 540i from the departed V8 model.

With such a good eight-speed automatic transmission, a manual transmission isn’t missed. It has paddle shifters, but we didn’t use them much because the transmission’s shift logic was spot-on.

Despite the hard run-flat tires, the ride of the BMW 5 isn’t harsh on rough pavement. With the optional adaptive dampers, handling and ride are above average. The three modes are Normal, Comfort and Sport. Comfort isn’t too soft and Sport isn’t too firm.

Another option is rear-wheel steering BMW calls Integral Active Steering. It counter-steers the rear wheels at low speeds to tighten turning, in parking lots, for example. At high speeds, it quickens the turn-in to corners, but we found it unnerving, like the rear end was skating through turns. In cars without rear steering, the 5 Series is flat, composed, and low drama. So, we’d be inclined to pass on the active steering.

The electric power steering (standard) is recalibrated for 2017, but there’s still a big dead spot on center, in Comfort mode (the default mode). The Sport mode adds some weight to the steering, which is especially felt with the optional and thick M Sport steering wheel. The steering doesn’t feel linear on curvy roads.

We found the optional M Sport brakes reduced stopping distances, but it’s hard to justify their very high cost unless you take the car to the track, and this isn’t an M3.

Summary

The all-new 5 Series offers outstanding powertrains, with the new inline four-cylinder and six-cylinder engines with turbocharging and direct injection, and an eight-speed automatic that’s about perfect. The handling might take optional adaptive dampers to find its optimum, but maybe the base suspension will be fine.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 BMW 5 Series 535i xDrive Gran Turismo local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.