2017 Audi A4 Reviews and Ratings

2.0 TFSI Auto ultra Premium Plus FWD

Best Performance and Design
J.D. Power Award

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Audi A4.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (19)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.6 / 5
Interior
  4.7 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.7 / 5

By Michael J 9/29/2017 5:32:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.6 / 5
The handling is exceptional on highways at 70 mph speed and most of the features are with in good eyesight, cup holder not great for larger mug types hits up against dashboard.. attempts to clean rear windows is very difficult to get reach..
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Frank 9/1/2017 1:56:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
My Audi is totally a blast to drive.The dashboard is well planned and very attractive as well as functional.The car is excellent in handling and fuel consumption and I truly recommend the total Audi lineup.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Paul 8/27/2017 8:39:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
The Audi A4 is an exceptional vehicle in its class. The virtual cockpit (or something similar) will soon become a must in the industry, and Audi has a jump start in this category. The interior and exterior are perfect for someone who like to have a car that reflects their personality. Space is really the only complaint, which can be fixed moving up a class.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Jorge 8/26/2017 9:15:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Great value and sport driving experience. Last technology in general in all the components. Fun driving
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Matthew 8/25/2017 6:40:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
The Engine and Transmission feel/shifting is incredible.....impressive change from my last Audi Q5...You need to drive this vehicle to appreciate it
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jeff 8/24/2017 6:03:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
The 2017 Audi A4 is a beautiful looking car with nice technology upgrades and enhancements. The car drives well smoothly, yet agile around corners. The styling and rims make the car standout on the road. The digital dashboard and great O+B stereo sound this car for me. My only complaint is the dual clutch tends to be slow to release in low gears giving a lagged takeoff. Once on the road and beyond 2nd gear, it is very smooth shifting. Overall the car is great, but the takeoff may be too laggy for some.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/24/2017 3:19:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Drives like a dream, quiet, with a lot of great features. Apple Car interface could be improved, using an iPod not as easy as in other vehicles I've owned.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tom 8/23/2017 1:50:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
The only issue I have with this car is the feature that turns off the engine when I come to a stop (think Prius and saving gas). I can hit a button in the car to turn off the feature but I have to do it every time I get in the car. Why can't I permanently turn it off? Other than that my A4 is fun to drive and gladly recommend it.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Greg 8/22/2017 7:01:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Power, looks and technology are the best. Best car I've driven! Must get the prestige model, it has everything anyone would want on a car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Robert 8/18/2017 6:35:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Just traveled from Texas to New England, 39.5 mpg. Unbelievable performance. Passenger space is a little tight for adults, but children should be comfortable. Navigation was dead on, including destinations, and traffic delays. 2.0 liter turbo engine had more than enough power.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/14/2017 7:25:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Excellent vehicle, smooth driving, good on gas, handles well. Best features - Handling, performance. Worst features - My radio has distortion in it when i turn it up. You hear it in the back. I made an appointment with ... dealer in Greenville, NC took it in but it is still doing the same thing. I figured i would tell them about it when i take the car in for first maintenance. The radio sounds like a boom box in a cheap car instead of bang olufsen speakers.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Karl 8/9/2017 12:52:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
This is my third Audi. The first one was always fun to drive and lasted through 269000 miles over 12 years (with typical maintenance and no major repairs). I have no reason to think my new A4 won't live up to that standard. The interior fit and finish is amazing! So are the quality of materials comfort and tech. Exterior styling maintains everything Audi yet is distinctive to the A4 model line. Handling strikes a good balance between sport and comfort. Performance doesn't disappoint and in driving it for three months I've never felt it was under powered. Living in Wisconsin I feel very secure driving in the winter months with Quattro All Wheel Drive so I'm looking forward testing the new car in the first snow. I can't say enough about how pleased I am with my 2017 A4!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jeremy 8/2/2017 10:53:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
If you are looking for a luxury sudan that is available with a manual transmission this is the vehicle for you. It has a beautifully sophisticated interior with a sporty exterior. It receives excellent gas milage. It is very responsive and fun to drive. The safety features such as adaptive cruise control and lane assist are remarkable. Although the cooling seat feature is nice to have I am a little underwhelmed with its' performance. I could not live without the heated steering wheel feature.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous 8/1/2017 2:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great car outstanding technology. Pros: Navigation. Cons: Navigation screen sticks up
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John 7/31/2017 4:52:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
The 2017 A4 is the most technologically competent car of its size and type I could find. It has an exceptional combination of luxury comfort technology safety features power and handling while averaging 33 MPG. I love it!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Scott 7/29/2017 5:59:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The interior of the vehicle along with the conservative timeless styling are what caught my eye initially. The test drive did me in - the car is the right combination of dynamic comfortable with the ride brand cache. I am a buyer that cares about technology. I am disappointed in the following issues with the Audi MMI system: 1) it is not user upgradeable 2) the default streaming partner is Napster (who uses Napster?) and 3) the navigation is VERY difficult to use via voice or text input - I find myself using Apple CarPlay 99.9% of the time. The other issue that you should know about is that the interior makes it very difficult to have larger cups in the cupholder. This is an issue more for my wife than me - she likes large 24oz+ tumblers which do NOT fit into the cupholders. All this said I'm very happy and pleased with this car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 7/28/2017 4:11:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Style technology. This is my second Audi and the re-design of the new 2017 Audi allroad is sharp. The drive is exceptional.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Neil 7/27/2017 4:26:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My 2017 Audi A4 is fun to drive comfortable easy-to-use high tech but gets 28 to 36 mpg in my typical driving. I love it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ron 7/27/2017 3:32:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
Good car
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Audi A4
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

Redesigned inside and out, the 2017 Audi A4 gains a more powerful 2.0-liter turbocharged four-cylinder engine teamed with a new 7-speed S-tronic dual-clutch transmission.

The redesigned exterior is led by a horizontally shaped contour grille, with wraparound shoulder lines that flow from the hood to the rear. The appearance of the A4 body hasn’t changed substantially, yet the redesign enhances its sports sedan pedigree a bit.

Inside is a roomier cabin and a new wraparound dashboard. Front occupants get greater head and shoulder clearance than what was available in pre-2017 A4 models. Rear-seat riders can finally enjoy more leg space. Notable options include a huge 12.3-inch color display for navigation and a full-color head-up display for speed and other driver data.

Developing 252 horsepower and 273 pound-feet of torque, Audi’s latest turbo four-cylinder engine delivers excellent power, yet fuel economy has improved. Smooth and strong, the powertrain yields 0-60 mph acceleration in about 5.6 seconds.

A stiff new structure, coupled with new adaptive dampers, boosts ride and handing abilities appreciably. The car is slightly lighter than before. Brakes and electric power steering have been tuned to provide road manners that approach the previous high-performance S4.

Still, handling isn’t quite as sharp and sporty in the front-wheel-drive based A4 as that of some of its rear-wheel-drive rivals. In inclement conditions, however, its legendary all-wheel drive should give the Audi an advantage.

Audi Drive Select includes four modes: Auto, Comfort, Dynamic, and Individual. Standard xenon-plus headlights complement LED daytime running lights. LED headlights are optional.

Ambient LED lighting is standard inside, along with leather seat upholstery. Toggle switches actuate the tri-zone automatic climate control system. A spartan dashboard makes the sedan’s digital displays stand out emphatically.

Audi A4 compares most closely with BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class, Jaguar XE, Cadillac ATS, Lexus IS.

Crash-testing has not yet been undertaken by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. However, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety has made the A4 a Top Safety Pick Plus, when equipped with crash-mitigation technology. Audi’s compact earned Good ratings in every test.

A rearview camera and Bluetooth connectivity are standard. Safety options include blind-spot monitoring, lane-keeping assist, adaptive cruise control with stop-and-follow capability, and a warning if you open a door into oncoming traffic. Forward-collision warning with automatic emergency braking also is available. Rear-seat side airbags are optional.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Audi A4 comes in three trim levels, with front-wheel drive or quattro all-wheel drive. The A4 Premium ($37,300) comes with a sunroof, leather seating surfaces, power front seats, rearview camera, 17-inch wheels, 10-speaker audio with Bluetooth audio streaming, and smartphone interface. (All prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Premium Plus ($41,100) adds 18-inch wheels, parking sensors, S line exterior trim, and a Bang & Olufsen 755-watt, 19-speaker 3-D audio system. Prestige ($45,900) gets the virtual cockpit instrument display, head-up display, surround-view cameras, blind-spot monitoring, and navigation with voice control. Prestige models can get the adaptive damping suspension, plus a Driver Assistance Package that includes adaptive cruise control and traffic-sign recognition.

Walkaround

The 2017 A4 redesign can’t be called adventurous or dramatic, but the front end does convey a more athletic stance, while the rear is taller and more emphatically wedge-shaped. The revised grille framing looks more appealing. Large glass areas taper smartly toward the roof.

Despite adopting a totally new platform, though, the basic proportions and silhouette have barely changed. Aerodynamically neat and clean, the basic body shape hasn’t changed all that much since the first A4 debuted for 1996. Rather than bedazzle onlookers, the A4 profile aims to endure. Because the new structure is a trifle longer and wider, the 2017 A4 qualifies as a midsize sedan more than a compact.

Interior

Back-seat space has been an issue in previous A4s, which suffered from a low cushion and little knee clearance. Not anymore. In 2017 form, it’s about as roomy as competitive, larger models, notably the BMW 3 Series. Audi claims that headroom has gained an inch, with 2.6 additional inches for front-occupant shoulders. Back-seat occupants now get a higher, supportive cushion.

Front seats have always provided space and support for comfortable, if snug, long-distance travel. Now, a 6-foot passenger can ride comfortably behind a 6-foot driver. In fact, five adults can fit inside, with improved comfort for each. Those up front get the most form-fitting, still rather snug, seats, with firm bolstering.

Functionality has improved. A low cowl gives the driver a greater field of vision. The steering wheel has shrunk a bit, with thumb controls easier to use.

With the available virtual cockpit, dazzling screens face the driver. Most models have done away with traditional-style gauges, in favor of changeable electronic displays that can switch from one view to another. Though displays are stunning, and they refresh quickly, the new system can be distracting initially. Base models have a 7-inch screen.

The latest version of Multi-Media Interface (MMI) accepts inputs from voice, steering-wheel controls, or handwritten letters on a scratchpad. All A4s now include smartphone-app features.

Driving Impressions

Making a single four-cylinder powertrain available was the sensible decision, since nothing is lacking in the 2017 A4. The turbo four has gained 29 horsepower for 2017. As a result, the A4 starts off with gratifying zeal, emitting smoothly balanced, natural engine sounds.

An evolution of earlier designs, the dual-clutch transmission has paddle shifters and complements the A4’s sporty intent. Unlike some dual-clutch units, this one exhibits little jerkiness.

Road manners are impressive, even if certain competitors pull ahead in precise handling. Most models can be fitted with adaptive dampers. Well worth the $1,000 cost, the adaptive system softens minor bumps and ensures firmer control. A new mode in the electric power steering increases boost and broadens steering angle at low speeds, easing urban maneuvering. Brake action is progressive, with excellent pedal feel.

In Sport steering/transmission modes, with automatic damping, the 2017 A4 feels most adept. Far more capable than the previous model, it responds promptly and takes corners predictably.

Gas mileage has improved. With front-drive, the 2017 Audi A4 is EPA-rated at 25/33 mpg City/Highway, or 28 mpg Combined. Adding all-wheel drive lowers those figures to 24/31 mpg City/Highway, or 27 mpg Combined.

Summary

For two decades, the A4 has exemplified Audi’s reputation for taut styling and satisfying road manners, augmented by abundant technology. Adding such features as the virtual cockpit helps send the redesigned 2017 A4 toward the future. Plenty of excellent automobiles occupy the sport-sedan category, long led by the BMW 3 Series, and the latest A4 clearly belongs in that proficient group.

Driving impressions by Marty Padgett, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.