Consumer Reviews
3.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
13 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Anonymous
July 27, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
bad transmission
Evan
July 16, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love this car!
Harvey
February 12, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Pete
April 27, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Today marks one year since buying the Acura TLX. The wife has a Honda Accord so when it came time to upgrade our other car we decided to stick with the Honda family and look to the Acura for a more luxury ride. It is a very nice car and we opted for the AWD Advance Package. The biggest downfall of the car for me is comfort. We have the leather heated and cooled seats and they are fine for an hour but on trips any longer you soon wish for a stop to get out. Two 8 hour road trips and your butt screams uncle.
Rak
March 07, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Ranold
March 07, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
jas
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
5,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"I have owned and driven Acura TL's since 2003 and find the 2017 TLX driving experience disappointing. The systemic problem appears to be in the suspension system. The result is a choppy ride because the driver feels the sensation of every imperfection in the road bed. This distracts from the driving experiencing."
Cat
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
One of the most comfortable vehicles I have ever driven. I have short legs so typically to reach the pedals I have to have the seat pulled way up so I feel like I'm right on the dashboard. Not so anymore! The steering wheel controls are good, but I sort of wish the left and right ones were reversed. The ones on the right are the ones that are used less frequently so I'm using my left hand more which is a bit less comfortable but not the end of the world. There is a surprising amount of trunk space. I get a lot more use out of the IDS modes than I anticipated when I purchased it. I expected to just leave it in one mode but I change it up pretty frequently depending on the driving conditions.
Ron
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
3,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I purchased a 2017 Acura TLX from .... in Wilmington NC a few months ago. ... The Acura drives and looks great. We had a 2010 Acura TL Technology and traded it for a Cadillac CTS and then had a Cadillac ATS. The Acura drives much better. The ATS has so much road noise from the tires, it was horrible to drive.
Jess
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
37,000 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Truly exceptional performance & styling. Exterior is very pleasing to look at. Front grille looks perfect on this car! The '18 TLX was designed w/a grille that looks more like the MDX, I prefer mine, smaller & sportier. Interior is just amazing! You just have to go sit in a 2017 Acura TLX & experience it...tan leather that I have is beautiful & soft. Black, console with woodgrain & silver accents-so stylish. Steering wheel looks & feels awesome! Heated seats are pampering & a necessity if you ask me here in MN :) Doors close soundly & road noise is extremely minimal. Driving performance is simply superb, this car has an 8 speed tranny, it speeds up so smoothly, you just glide...don't feel the car shifting at all! So pleased in the different driving modes, nice to be able to switch it into Sport mode on longer drives, or anytime my husband is driving! In Econony engine noise is very quiet, you can get some good engine noise speeding up quickly when in Sport :) This car is truly a gem, so happy I found it!
Dawn F
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Value style and performance. Best Features - Performance
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
4,800 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It is a we'll built performance vehicle. The engine fits the weight of the car...all wheel drive, and safety features make the car secure/ tight
David T
March 12, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very nice all around car. Drives very well and can be pushed if you want some fun. Also at home dropping the kids off at school. A very good value that could make your daily drive more comfortable or more fun, your choice. Getting mine next week!
2017 Acura 1187 TLX 29825 388166
Write a Review for the 2017 Acura TLX
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Acura TLX was launched as a 2015 model, a near-luxury sedan that slots between the ILX and RLX. The TLX is high on technology and moderate on starting price. Nothing has changed for the 2017 Acura TLX from the 2016 model except for three new body-color choices.

Compact in overall dimensions, the Acura TLX ranks closer to a midsize sedan in terms of passenger space. Despite falling short of true luxury status, it competes against several premium German-brand sedans of comparable size, including the BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class, as well as the latter’s smaller CLA-Class.

At 106.5 cubic feet, total passenger space doesn’t quite match the 3 Series or C-Class, making the TLX a better choice for four occupants than five.

Two engines are available. In base trim, a 2.4-liter four-cylinder that produces 206 horsepower gives the TLX a nimble, nicely balanced character. Performance doesn’t get much of a boost with the more expensive 3.5-liter V6, which develops 290 horsepower and 267 pound-feet of torque. Furthermore, while the 8-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission in the four-cylinder model behaves admirably, the V6 sedan switches to a less impressive 9-speed unit.

Front-wheel drive is standard, but the V6 model also is available with Acura’s Super Handling All-Wheel Drive (SH-AWD).

Not everyone has high praise for the appearance of the TLX. Many consider it to be average, at best. Rather than fall in line with the latest design directions emanating from Honda’s luxury division, the TLX sticks with styling themes that are closer to the past.

Crash-testing by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration brought a five-star overall rating. In one of the tests performed by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, for small-overlap frontal impact, the TLX ranked only Marginal. Other IIHS tests yielded Good scores (the highest rating). When fitted with optional safety features, the TLX was rated Superior for frontal-crash prevention.

Even the base model is impressively equipped. LED daytime running lights and a rearview camera are standard. Every TLX has a moonroof, power seats, keyless start, and Bluetooth connectivity. Only a single trim level is offered, but Technology and Advance packages add luxury amenities, as well as a group of active-safety features.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Acura TLX offers a choice of powertrains and option packages:

TLX 2.4L ($31,900) comes with the four-cylinder engine, moonroof, seven-speaker audio with satellite radio, hill start assist. TLX 2.4L with Technology Package ($35,950) adds navigation, AcuraLink infotainment, perforated leather upholstery, and a premium 10-speaker Acura/ELS Studio audio system. Safety features include forward collision warning, lane-keeping assist, and blind-spot monitoring.

TLX 3.5L ($35,350) gets the V6 engine, with equipment similar to the TLX 2.4L, with 18-inch wheels. It’s available with the Technology Package ($39,400). TLX 3.5L with Advance Package ($42,600) adds adaptive cruise control, automatic emergency braking, front/rear parking sensors; and heated/ventilated front seats.

TLX 3.5L SH-AWD with Technology Package ($41,600) features Super Handling All-Wheel Drive.

Walkaround

Not distinctive in appearance, the TLX falls behind the related Honda Accord, which displays a significantly more upscale demeanor. Despite an arched silhouette that seems close to coupe-like, the TLX looks nondescript from the side.

In addition, the front end hasn’t yet lost all remnants of Acura’s old shield-style, beak-like grille. Running lights sit low in the front bumper, above air intakes that manage to add a sense of depth. Narrow LED headlights flank the grille.

Flared back fenders and a lip-style trunk spoiler suggest sportiness. The center portion of the body appears long, and does in fact enclose a roomy cabin.

Interior

Efficiency highlights the TLX interior. Materials convey a premium feel, even if it’s plain and ordinary. Though the cabin generally trails other sedans in the TLX class, it’s comparatively large for a car with a compact footprint.

Seats are comfortable enough, but not especially noteworthy. The driver faces an attractive, easy-to-read instrument group. Twin display screens are mounted on the center stack. On the passenger side, the view sinks to bleak. That rider sees an awkward expanse of empty black dashboard.

Plainness extends into the rear of the cabin. Back-seat passengers have slightly less legroom than those in major European competitors. On the plus side, a blissfully quiet ride helps make up for that modest loss of space. Interior storage is good, including door bins, a big central console, and sizable glovebox.

Driving Impressions

With either engine, the TLX rides and handles better than average. Yet, the difference between the two is quite dramatic.

We found the four-cylinder model with front-wheel drive has crisper, sharper responses. Not only is the engine eager to rev, but the brilliantly refined 8-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission is a gem. Its torque converter eliminates jerky shifts, so it feels like a conventional automatic.

The 3.5-liter V6 is bogged down by its transmission, a regular 9-speed automatic. Indecisive and hesitant, its shifts are sluggish and jerky. Downshifts, in particular, are lackluster. When shifting from Reverse to Drive, you can wait an agonizingly long time for anything to happen.

Partly because it weighs about 500 pounds less, the four-cylinder base model feels lighter overall. Superior suspension tuning complements taut, precise steering. A base TLX stays nicely composed over lumpy surfaces. Nimble low-speed behavior and on-highway stability are helped by Acura’s Precision All-Wheel Steer system, which is standard with the 2.4-liter model.

Wind and road sounds barely exist. You can expect a serene experience, which allows passengers to converse without shouting.

Fuel-efficiency is good on the highway, but not so thrifty in the city. The four-cylinder TLX is EPA-rated at 24/35 mpg City/Highway, or 28 mpg Combined. The front-drive V6 model is EPA-rated at 21/34 mpg City/Highway, or 25 mpg Combined. SH-AWD sinks the highway figure to 31 mpg.

Summary

Acura’s near-luxury sedan competes against a flock of compelling cars from European manufacturers, but costs less than most rivals. Road behavior excels with the four-cylinder engine, but few sedans deliver such a quiet, calmly composed ride. Watch for the option packages, which can add quite a bit to the TLX price.

Driving impressions by Aaron Cole, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Acura listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Acura listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Acura TLX
821
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel