2017 Acura MDX Reviews and Ratings

SH-AWD Sport Hybrid w/Advance Pkg

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Acura MDX.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (13)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.6 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.7 / 5

By Danny Friday, August 18, 2017 - 3:12pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.6 / 5
The MDX is a very comfortable vehicle that is a lot of fun to drive. Best feature - Comfort. Worst features - Digital controls could be simpler.
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Renee Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 7:06pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Acura is top notch and ... Acura Dealership is exceptional. Best Features - It drives itself. No gas cap. Camera on the front. Worst Features - Headroom for my husband getting in the front seat is too short.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Patel Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 1:08pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
For the price paid in the given luxury segment it is a steal. It seats easily 7 people considering the last seat for kids (no older than 14 years) The cabin is quiet and the mileage is 26 per gallon. Acura GPS is not that great. Also the dashboard too it might be a bit complicated but once you get use to it is great. I bought the tech package and have tested all the features including cruise control set at 76 miles per hour It would detect the car in the front and reduce speed accordingly. It also steers on its own. I wish it could drive by itself longer. I believe future cars will drive itself until then we will have to drive manually. For people looking to drive cars manually and have the fun experience i recommend BMW or Porsche.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Ashley Tuesday, September 5, 2017 - 6:52pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
I love my Acura!! It's drives way sportier then the others in its class. The interior isn't quite as nice as the Audi or BMW, but it's still nice. The technology package doesn't come with the back up sensors which is odd to me considering it has blind spot monitoring.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By chad Tuesday, August 8, 2017 - 8:43pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Overall I'm very pleased with my Acura MDX! It drives well and has all the up to date safety features. The appearance is very stylish with a sporty exterior and luxurious interior. I love the 3rd row and having the look of a luxury vehicle without the high maintenance costs. I would highly recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Hongtae K Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 7:58pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Comfortable operating
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Howdy D. Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 5:24pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Acura MDX a fine combination of driving pleasure comfort with luxury touches. The Super Handling AWD truly does provide a secure road grip on multiple surfaces. Betweeen the AWD road stance and the adjustable driving modes (Sport norm comfort) you get a nice car for drivers and a family hauler - sweet! Interior is very quiet and seats comfortable. We are enjoying improved vehicle safety and the suite of Driver Asisst tech that Acura puts into the Advanced Package. We looked hard at the X5 yet had to go with the MDX for comfort & quiet plus much improved safety/Driver Asisst. The MDX deserves a spot on your test drive list ...or in your garage!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By CHARLIE Saturday, August 5, 2017 - 9:19am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
THE MDX IS A GREAT HANDLING AND RIDING VEHICLE. GREAT FOR ROAD TRIPS. VERY COMFORTABLE SEATS EXCEPTIONAL FIT AND FINISH. LOVE THE CAPTIAN'S CHAIRS.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jordon Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 10:21pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
The Acura MDX is a luxury class SUV. Technologically sound and perhaps leading the class with high regards towards safety. The distribution of power to the wheels in the AWD is a great while cornering. Sharp interior design (wish for more choices of trim colors/design). A subtle and perhaps overlooked feature are the blind spot warning indicators. They are located inside the door on the ""A"" pillar. This makes it convenient and reliable during inclimate weather. Spacious second and third row seating, with optional headed second row. However, I wish the option of cooled seats extended into the second row as well. Nav, audio, Bluetooth features are equal to the competition. 360° camera angles with side sensors while backing out are an awesome feature. Adaptive cruise control works amazingly and I tested it didn't rush hour (not recommended) with following distance changeable. Unfortunately there is too much to discuss in a single review. As such,I highly recommend this vehicle and look forward to a ownership.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By zeyad Monday, July 31, 2017 - 8:42pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
I think its very safe for my wife and our new babe on the way so I'am willing to pay for there safty
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Rhonda W. Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 11:51am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This MDX is amazing. It has a smooth and comfortable ride and it is very sharp in its looks and handling. I enjoy the ride every time I am inside. I enjoy the features and bluetooth technology that encompasses everything I need. I have already put 11000 miles on it so you can guarantee I like the drive since it's only been 4 months.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Alberto Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 5:23pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Bueatiful car confort
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mark Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 11:39am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
Acura/Honda is a tried and true brand. If you are looking for good performance, dependability, and good resale, you won't be disappointed.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Acura MDX.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.