Consumer Reviews
3.8
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
11 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
RAY
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
February 20, 2019
14,000 miles
|
Owned 11 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Good car with great fuel economy. Cool standard features and fun to drive. Some cons are cramped interior, body sets to low to ground. Hard to pull out of the driveway without scraping the road. The worst issue is that you cant crack windows with precipitation. Water runs right down the inside of the door. Including window washer fluid after a cleaning. Honda should have visors factory installed due to poor desigh on the matter.
Jeremy
December 01, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought it for my wife, she loves it. I take it out on the weekends, it''s a great car overall.
jules
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 29, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I drove a 2014 ilx and it was the best car so in 2017 i got a new one , complete disappointment. It slams into gear , it hesitates accelerating into traffic, it is sluggish and changes gear way too fast. And my acura dealer says its a softwear problem with no fix in the near future , stuck with this car for two more years. not happy
me
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 03, 2017
265 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I would gladly recommend the Acura ILX, aside from a its excellent features specially designed for those who would like to maintain that serve their best simpler way but at in a very reasonable price.
Denise
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 31, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my new Acura ILX. I love the windows, they allow me to see everywhere! The steering so fluid and easy, the ride is very comfortable, the headlights give wonderful vision at night, and it gets good gas mileage. I'm very happy with my choice.
Jennie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 30, 2017
4,500 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great reliable car. I feel very safe in it compared to my Volkswagon Jetta that I just traded in. I'll probably go with another Acura after this. I had a great dealership experience at Acura ...!!
Jill
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
12,700 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I leased a 2014 Acura ILX and loved it, with one acceptation: it was a bit sluggish. I bought a 2017 ILX, which is faster and has LED lights. I think it's an extremely stylish car without sticker shock and both my ILX's have been extremely reliable.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 26, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Acura is quality and long lasting performance. Best Features - Engine
Amanda
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very happy with my new Acura. I really like how it drives, it is very responsive and quickly accelerates. I also am happy with the sport mode option and the vehicle drives just like a sports car, which is what I was looking for. I love the interior and exterior and it feels luxurious to drive. I chose this car because I liked everything about it. It has just the right amount of technology that I would need for the base model. It came with a sun roof, blue tooth phone pairing, USB ports, automatic unlock when pressing outside button, and dual air conditioning. ...
Esha
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Nice car, and i like the inside and the color. Drive smooth and have a great look to it. It a nice size to have kids or a family.
Lorie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
1,200 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my 3rd Acura and I haven't had any problems with any of them. They are safe, reliable, quiet, handle well and are a joy to drive. I like the technology included. I would recommend Acura to anyone who is looking for a well made, safe, stylish car with good resale value.
2017 Acura 1187 ILX 29352 384304
Write a Review for the 2017 Acura ILX
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Acura ILX is a luxury front-wheel-drive compact with simple choices compared to some of its rivals: one engine, one transmission, and three trim levels.

Edgy and sporty, it uses a sharp 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine and paddle-shifting twin-clutch 8-speed automatic transmission. It makes 201 horsepower and 180 pound-feet of torque. The ILX cabin is a sweet spot to spend time, with contoured surfaces and instruments that are easy to read.

The Acura ILX competes most directly with the Audi A3 and Mercedes CLA.

For 2016, it got a light update, with LED headlamps, better interior materials, and more available connectivity including a dual-screen infotainment system. The 2017 Acura ILX is unchanged.

The NHTSA gives it five stars for crash safety, and the IIHS gives it top scores including in the small overlap frontal impact test, which very few cars ace. Acura’s available advanced safety systems were rated Superior, to give it a Top Safety Pick+ rating.

The 2017 ILX is rated by the EPA at 25/35 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 29 mpg Combined. Premium fuel is recommended, so that raises the fuel cost. That’s 2 mpg more than the A3 and 1 mpg less than the CLA.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Acura ILX ($27,990) comes in Premium ($29,990), and Technology Plus ($32,990) trim levels. There’s an A-Spec package ($2000) that adds a spoiler, foglamps and 18-inch 10-spoke wheels.

Standard equipment includes power moonroof, power driver’s seat, a multi-view rearview camera, and Bluetooth. The Premium adds leather, power passenger seat, dual-screen infotainment, satellite radio, blind-spot monitors and rear cross-traffic alert.

Walkaround

The ILX is fairly handsome. It might not turn heads, but it won’t turn stomachs, either. It’s got some sharp edges, down low at the bottom of the front fascia, and the rockers along the side below the doors. Its front bumper is V-shaped, following the V of the grille, and looks like a pointed chin. The flat black plastic surrounding the round foglamps is dull and awkward. The 18-inch 10-spoke wheels are unique, kind of like 10 legs with big feet on them, and look like they should be moving (not like they are moving) when they are standing still. They look better moving, because then they’re a blur and you can’t see how ugly they are.

Interior

The instrument panel isn’t as sporty as the rest of the car; it’s very basic, with a spare look to the plastic and vents, and a straightforward interface. We’d like a bit more glamour, and wish there were more color and originality in the materials, although they are of good quality, and the fit and finish is very good. Things are laid out neatly and comfortably, ergonomically, intuitively. It’s easy to operate the controls without taking your eyes off the road. Except for the infotainment system, and that’s a sore point.

The refinement and quietness is good, with fairly thick glass and standard active noise cancellation system that absorbs small but annoying sounds from the powertrain or road. It uses the sound system’s speakers, a cabin microphone, and a sophisticated processing algorithm.

The front seats are supportive and very adjustable for the driver, although the front passenger seat needs height adjustment. Lower, that is, as headroom is tight, while still being a bit more than rivals. In back, surprisingly there’s enough leg room and knee room for six-footers.

The overall interior space is impressive, with plenty of room for small personal items. Unlike in the frustrating Audi A3, there are well-planned bins and cubbies everywhere. The 12.4-cubic-foot trunk can hold two large suitcases, or a large cooler, or even a wheelchair. The split rear seatbacks can be flipped forward for access to the trunk with extended space.

Driving Impressions

We haven’t driven the 2017 ILX yet, but these are our impressions of the 2016.

The direct-injection 2.4-liter engine, making 201 horsepower, delivers strong and satisfying performance. It’s the same engine as in the next biggest Acura model, the TLX.

The superbly responsive 8-speed, dual-clutch transmission is the perfect companion. It uses a torque converter for low-speed smoothness, while it shifts very quickly with the paddles, when driving the ILX aggressively, including rev-matched downshifts in sport mode.

The A-Spec performance package uses 18-inch wheels that are 7.5 inches wide, with very low-profile tires that make the ride harsher on bumpy roads. We got a lot of seat time in a 2016 A-Spec, and don’t believe the harder cornering allowed by these wheels and tires is worth the compromise in comfort.

Summary

The Acura ILX isn’t for everyone, although it can be enjoyed. The styling isn’t distinctive, the engine isn’t special, the cabin is mundane; best thing about it is the 8-speed dual-clutch transmission.

Sam Moses contributed to this report, with driving impressions by The Car Connection.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2017 Acura listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2017 Acura listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2017 Acura ILX
608
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel