2017 Acura ILX Reviews and Ratings

Sedan w/Technology Plus/A-SPEC Pkg

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Acura ILX.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (13)
Overall Rating
  3.9 / 5
Reliability
  3.8 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  4.1 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  3.6 / 5

By jules 9/28/2017 7:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  1.8 / 5
I drove a 2014 ilx and it was the best car so in 2017 i got a new one , complete disappointment. It slams into gear , it hesitates accelerating into traffic, it is sluggish and changes gear way too fast. And my acura dealer says its a softwear problem with no fix in the near future , stuck with this car for two more years. not happy
Reliability
  0.5 / 5
Interior
  3 / 5
Exterior
  3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  0.5 / 5

By me 9/2/2017 8:21:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I would gladly recommend the Acura ILX, aside from a its excellent features specially designed for those who would like to maintain that serve their best simpler way but at in a very reasonable price.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Denise 8/31/2017 5:06:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I love my new Acura ILX. I love the windows, they allow me to see everywhere! The steering so fluid and easy, the ride is very comfortable, the headlights give wonderful vision at night, and it gets good gas mileage. I'm very happy with my choice.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jennie 8/29/2017 6:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great reliable car. I feel very safe in it compared to my Volkswagon Jetta that I just traded in. I'll probably go with another Acura after this. I had a great dealership experience at Acura ...!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/28/2017 8:10:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.1 / 5
I hate the automatic transmission ., Acura is missing out by not still offering a standard transmission.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   1.5 / 5

By Jill 8/27/2017 8:15:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
I leased a 2014 Acura ILX and loved it, with one acceptation: it was a bit sluggish. I bought a 2017 ILX, which is faster and has LED lights. I think it's an extremely stylish car without sticker shock and both my ILX's have been extremely reliable.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/26/2017 11:49:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Acura is quality and long lasting performance. Best Features - Engine
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Amanda 8/25/2017 1:24:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I am very happy with my new Acura. I really like how it drives, it is very responsive and quickly accelerates. I also am happy with the sport mode option and the vehicle drives just like a sports car, which is what I was looking for. I love the interior and exterior and it feels luxurious to drive. I chose this car because I liked everything about it. It has just the right amount of technology that I would need for the base model. It came with a sun roof, blue tooth phone pairing, USB ports, automatic unlock when pressing outside button, and dual air conditioning. ...
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Esha 8/22/2017 8:23:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.5 / 5
Nice car, and i like the inside and the color. Drive smooth and have a great look to it. It a nice size to have kids or a family.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Lorie 8/18/2017 10:29:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
This is my 3rd Acura and I haven't had any problems with any of them. They are safe, reliable, quiet, handle well and are a joy to drive. I like the technology included. I would recommend Acura to anyone who is looking for a well made, safe, stylish car with good resale value.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Shelley 8/3/2017 1:07:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
I like the look of the vehicle and it gets great gas mileage. My only issue is I wish it has more horsepower.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Anonymous 7/30/2017 12:08:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
Great entry level vehicle to the Acura brand. Based on my current experience I'll definitely be looking to stay with Acura for my next vehicle.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Jazzpunk 7/28/2017 12:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Love the 8 speed dual clutch transmission and overall performances this vehicle although the transmission is slow to downshift at times when you first mash the pedal down to accelerate quickly to pass or enter the highway. Interior is not as quiet as my friends Lexus ES. The stock stereo systems (even the upgraded system) has terrible sound quality. Consider the ETS system or upgrading the system aftermarket if you buy without the tech package.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Acura ILX
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Acura ILX is a luxury front-wheel-drive compact with simple choices compared to some of its rivals: one engine, one transmission, and three trim levels.

Edgy and sporty, it uses a sharp 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine and paddle-shifting twin-clutch 8-speed automatic transmission. It makes 201 horsepower and 180 pound-feet of torque. The ILX cabin is a sweet spot to spend time, with contoured surfaces and instruments that are easy to read.

The Acura ILX competes most directly with the Audi A3 and Mercedes CLA.

For 2016, it got a light update, with LED headlamps, better interior materials, and more available connectivity including a dual-screen infotainment system. The 2017 Acura ILX is unchanged.

The NHTSA gives it five stars for crash safety, and the IIHS gives it top scores including in the small overlap frontal impact test, which very few cars ace. Acura’s available advanced safety systems were rated Superior, to give it a Top Safety Pick+ rating.

The 2017 ILX is rated by the EPA at 25/35 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 29 mpg Combined. Premium fuel is recommended, so that raises the fuel cost. That’s 2 mpg more than the A3 and 1 mpg less than the CLA.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Acura ILX ($27,990) comes in Premium ($29,990), and Technology Plus ($32,990) trim levels. There’s an A-Spec package ($2000) that adds a spoiler, foglamps and 18-inch 10-spoke wheels.

Standard equipment includes power moonroof, power driver’s seat, a multi-view rearview camera, and Bluetooth. The Premium adds leather, power passenger seat, dual-screen infotainment, satellite radio, blind-spot monitors and rear cross-traffic alert.

Walkaround

The ILX is fairly handsome. It might not turn heads, but it won’t turn stomachs, either. It’s got some sharp edges, down low at the bottom of the front fascia, and the rockers along the side below the doors. Its front bumper is V-shaped, following the V of the grille, and looks like a pointed chin. The flat black plastic surrounding the round foglamps is dull and awkward. The 18-inch 10-spoke wheels are unique, kind of like 10 legs with big feet on them, and look like they should be moving (not like they are moving) when they are standing still. They look better moving, because then they’re a blur and you can’t see how ugly they are.

Interior

The instrument panel isn’t as sporty as the rest of the car; it’s very basic, with a spare look to the plastic and vents, and a straightforward interface. We’d like a bit more glamour, and wish there were more color and originality in the materials, although they are of good quality, and the fit and finish is very good. Things are laid out neatly and comfortably, ergonomically, intuitively. It’s easy to operate the controls without taking your eyes off the road. Except for the infotainment system, and that’s a sore point.

The refinement and quietness is good, with fairly thick glass and standard active noise cancellation system that absorbs small but annoying sounds from the powertrain or road. It uses the sound system’s speakers, a cabin microphone, and a sophisticated processing algorithm.

The front seats are supportive and very adjustable for the driver, although the front passenger seat needs height adjustment. Lower, that is, as headroom is tight, while still being a bit more than rivals. In back, surprisingly there’s enough leg room and knee room for six-footers.

The overall interior space is impressive, with plenty of room for small personal items. Unlike in the frustrating Audi A3, there are well-planned bins and cubbies everywhere. The 12.4-cubic-foot trunk can hold two large suitcases, or a large cooler, or even a wheelchair. The split rear seatbacks can be flipped forward for access to the trunk with extended space.

Driving Impressions

We haven’t driven the 2017 ILX yet, but these are our impressions of the 2016.

The direct-injection 2.4-liter engine, making 201 horsepower, delivers strong and satisfying performance. It’s the same engine as in the next biggest Acura model, the TLX.

The superbly responsive 8-speed, dual-clutch transmission is the perfect companion. It uses a torque converter for low-speed smoothness, while it shifts very quickly with the paddles, when driving the ILX aggressively, including rev-matched downshifts in sport mode.

The A-Spec performance package uses 18-inch wheels that are 7.5 inches wide, with very low-profile tires that make the ride harsher on bumpy roads. We got a lot of seat time in a 2016 A-Spec, and don’t believe the harder cornering allowed by these wheels and tires is worth the compromise in comfort.

Summary

The Acura ILX isn’t for everyone, although it can be enjoyed. The styling isn’t distinctive, the engine isn’t special, the cabin is mundane; best thing about it is the 8-speed dual-clutch transmission.

Sam Moses contributed to this report, with driving impressions by The Car Connection.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.