Consumer Reviews
4.6
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
36 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Ross
August 13, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I shopped specifically for an R/T--a 2017--and got even more than I''d expected. The throttle hesitation is completely fixed with the addition of a "Pedal Commander" appliance. This rig FLIES!! The factory got 0-60 in 5 1/2 seconds and quarter mile time of 13.9 @ 100 mph. I also added an FCA performance "Cold Air Package," "Raptor" running boards plus red brake caliper covers and a "Bak-Flip" tonneau cover. Those items enhance the styling, and with those huge 22" wheels, the R/T is a traffic stopper. Comfort is tops with the individual bucket seats. I couldn''t be happier with the truc
Deisel Head
July 26, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Owned the truck since March of 2019 and have had it at the dealership for recall improvements twice. Also, the truck hesitates to accelerate from a stop and when the truck does start to go it kicks in where the pedal is positioned so it shoots you forward, you have to ease more than normal into the throttle, local dealership acting shady about recall information as well. LOVE LOVE LOVE the creature features on the interior, styling and design are perfect and it''s a beautiful truck, if they put as much effort into the engine as they did the interior it would be unstoppable!!
Me. Raider
April 19, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my truck this is my 3rd ram in the past 40 years and I havent had any problems with it
Shagg
April 07, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Good mileage, very dependable, lots of pulling power, handles great, comfortable, great in all weather, extremely happy with my Ram. And you get way more bang for your buck, much more affordable then the competition by far. I always had Chevys and Fords, this is the first Ram I''ve had. You can bet I''ll buy another one.
Art
March 28, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
best truck I have ever owned
Emtgirl
March 11, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
slim
February 12, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Papa10
January 30, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
first Ram after driving King Rances for 20 years...drives a little stiffer than the KR but I love it
MIsoutherner
January 07, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I had the RAM 1500 5.3 V8 version prior to getting the ECO Diesel. Was leery at first, as I have never owned diesel....overall very satisfied....acceleration won''t impress you but towing capability, overall mileage and ride comfort are quite good. I do a lot of long haul driving, 600-800 mile stretches and this vehicle handles that task very well.
Ray
November 25, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Totally happy with vehicle. Has Hemi engine and pulls 5000 lb camper easily. Comfort and gas mileage is good (if drive easy).
Litlered2
October 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Jimmy
October 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This was the only vehicle I''ve ever purchased new. 32000 miles, not one issue. Very reliable. J.D. Power can go get stuffed. I have friends with 4runners with 10k that needed new water pumps and the a/c fixed.
Not to mention, with a custom tune and a cold air intake, my 4x4 truck went 13.5 @ 100mph. Average fuel economy is 17.5 mpg with 50/50 highway/roads. Lots of 0-60 runs, countless passes at the drag strip, it takes a licking and keeps on ticking. The best vehicle I''ve ever owned. Selling to downsize, don''t hesitate to purchase a 4th gen ram and GET THE 8 SPEED TRANS OR RUN AWAY!!!
Tony
October 09, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Seats are hard and uncomfortable. Brakes soft on hard braking.
to
September 21, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Dragster
August 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Ram 1500 ego diesel O2 sensor 52,000 km intake manifold re-: tailgate
Anonymous
August 06, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
July 31, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Gina
July 24, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Transmission variable shift is awful one 2nd transmission duento truck leaping forward upon stopping. Suapension is awful no matter what tou haul it squats. Empty trailer? Your dodge will sit lile an obedient dog. Get up and go? Absolutely! If you want this as a fun toy its great or to putz around hauling in the bed minor items this is the truck for you, however I need my truck to work hard for me and for the work I''ll leave hauling up to my 2500. Fuel isn''t much to write home aboit but sure is better than the 8mpg my 99 ram 1500 had!!!!
murf
June 06, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Batt67
May 11, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Awesome truck overall.
great in snow and mud. Excellent payload and towing.
mb
May 10, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
trans shifts bad I''m on my 2nd one
Scott
December 28, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
33000+ trouble free miles. EcoDiesel delivering high 20s in mileage.
roger
December 19, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
good gas milage when not pulling, but pull 800 pound trailer 15 mpg
moose
December 16, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
sam
December 10, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Jack
November 28, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
May have its problems (fuel economy, ride quality) but is still worth it due to the reliability as a work truck.
Tim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 03, 2017
20,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fuel mileage is better than advertised; I typically average 24-25 mph city and 26-28 highway. The Eco-Diesel is powerful enough; the 8-spd transmission is very smooth. Very comfortable ride. Back seat is comfortable, even for very large people. Back seat flips up and provides plenty of flat, interior cargo space. Don't expect to win any drag races with this truck; it is intended to be a long-lasting, well-balanced, smooth-driving, good-towing half-ton truck. And for me, it hits the mark.
Benjamin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 30, 2017
8,600 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent fuel mileage with acceptable performance. The Ram Ecodiesel is the perfect vehicle for someone who wants to have a truck but also be able to afford to commute with it. The mileage is better than some 4 door cars on the freeway and also in the city. The truck is a great value and the quality was better than expected!
Todd
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 29, 2017
25,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
A lot of nice interior features like the under carpet bin on both sides of the rear seating area, under seat bins and lay flat planks in the rear passenger area when the seats are up. The large bin and phone holders in the front are nice. Lighting in the back bed area is great. Overall a very good truck
Chris
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 14, 2017
14,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Nice truck, good features. The eco boost is a nice feature and helpful in preserving gas consumption. The ride is comfortable for both short and long distant trips.
Donna
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 10, 2017
21,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My truck is very durible and gets me where I want to go weither its down the highway or off road. It has plenty of seating for 5 . And the Ram boxes on the side are great for hauling all your tools . I chose the Dodge Ram due to the design and looks also the comfort inside plus the heated steering wheel and seats was a big Plus.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Make sure it has power folding rearview mirrors. The features are really exciting comapred to other brnds
TED
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
12,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
GREAT LOOKS INSIDE AND OUT, VERY FUNCTIONAL, SOLID RIDE, YET VERY COMFORTABLE AND POWERFUL. AVERAGE GAS MILEAGE,
Ram Fan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
10,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Ram Rebel has the look every other truck wants. The suspension make it easy for entry/exit. The different ride heights give you flexibility for gas mileage and looks.
jeffs
December 04, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
have had 3500 miles. v6 eco diesel. highway crew 4wd cruise at 62 over 30mpg. worse ive seen is 24 in stop and go. towing 2500 lbs 21 mpg. very confortable. much better than 2015 f250 i got rid of. that averaged about 14 mpg. so far very happy
roger
October 27, 2016
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
i pull 5500 pound travel trailer and get 10 mpg at 65 miles an hour with 5.7 hemi
2016 Ram Truck 1386 1500 28498 378307
Write a Review for the 2016 Ram Truck 1500
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Ram 1500 pickups have roomy cabs with excellent ergonomics, cubby storage galore, and giant touchscreens that are easy to operate. Ram Box bed storage, an adjustable suspension that kneels for easier ingress, and active grille shutters add to its appeal.

The Ram 1500 competes with the Ford F-150, Chevy Silverado 1500, GMC Sierra 1500, Toyota Tundra, and Nissan Titan. All but the Ram have been recently redesigned.

The Ram compares very well to the competition and is the most distinctive among a group of distinctive trucks. Ride quality is dependent on suspension, tires and other packaging choices, but the Ram 1500 models generally tend toward the smoother end of the class, vying with Chevrolet and GMC.

The 2016 Ram is a fourth-generation product, introduced as a 2009 model. 2014 brought a diesel engine and some styling updates.

For 2016, a turbocharged 3.0-liter diesel engine is available that achieves an EPA rating of 20/29 mpg City/Highway while delivering 420 pound-feet of trailer-pulling torque. Also new for 2016: the rugged Ram Rebel and the luxurious Ram Laramie Limited. Otherwise, the Ram 1500 lineup continues unchanged.

A range of engines is available for the Ram to suit the wide variety of needs and missions that characterize light-duty pickups. Among them: the new 3.0-liter V6 EcoDiesel, the 3.6-liter V6 that comes standard on all models, and the 5.7-liter V8 Hemi. All come standard with an 8-speed automatic.

Regular Cab, Quad Cab, and Crew Cab versions are available, the latter most popular for their roomy back seats. Bed lengths range from 6-feet, 4-inches or 5-feet, 7-inches on Crew Cab and Quad Cab models to the full 8 feet with Regular Cabs.

Interiors range widely by trim level, with upper levels outfitted in handsome fabrics and leathers with impressive attention to detail, making them very nice vehicles in which to spend time.

Model Lineup

The Ram 1500 lineup really begins with the SLT, which comes with cloth upholstery. Big Horn, Lone Star, Laramie, Outdoorsman, Sport and other models upgrade seats, cloth and features. Tradesman models are members of the Ram Commercial line trimmed to be work trucks with vinyl seats, black vinyl floors, manual windows and locks.

Walkaround

The Ram is the most distinctive of the full-size pickups, looking a bit like a miniature Freightliner.

Nearly every trim level of the Ram 1500 gets its own grille treatment. The mainstream designs look better to our eyes than the black grille on the Ram Rebel or the nostrils on the Limited. Upper-level models are further distinguished by LEDs and exhaust faired into the rear bumper.

The Ram Box is a big decision. It doesn’t improve the appearance of the truck but could add utility for owners who need lockable bed storage. Ram engineers say owners who have the Ram Box wonder how they ever did without it. The Ram Box can be unlocked with the remote key fob, a handy feature, and drains in the boxes allow them to be used as ice chests, making the Ram a great choice for a tailgate party.

On some trims, that tailgate includes a Ram logo as large as the Hollywood sign. LEDs

Regular Cab, Crew Cab, Quad Cab along with the various bed lengths are important decisions. Most find the Crew Cab to be the most useful, but even the Regular Cab offers storage behind the seats.

HFE high fuel-efficiency models feature active grille shutters that close for improved aerodynamics or open when needed for cooling, along with aerodynamic side steps, a seal between cab and bed, and a rear spoiler on the tailgate. HFE comes with a Stop/Start feature that some drivers like for its fuel economy, others find an annoying distraction. HFE only comes on Regular Cab versions and improves fuel economy only slightly.

Interior

The Ram cab is ergonomically excellent with easy to use controls. Big knobs make adjusting temperature and sound easy, even when wearing gloves. A big touchscreen is available that is both easy to read and easy to operate, better than the Ford screens.

The upper trim levels show great attention to detail, some of which may not be noticed immediately. The Ram Rebel, for example, features a delightful mix of materials and design, including a tread pattern on the seats that matches the tread design of the Toyo all-terrain tires. Deluxe two-color stitching and interesting graphics add charm and the rear-seat area is trimmed just as nicely as the front.

The Laramie Longhorn has handsome stitching and fine wood grain trim.

Driving Impressions

The Ram 1500 is an enjoyable truck to drive and comfortable for long drives. It rides smoothly and steers well, benefitting from responsive electric steering. Performance and driving character are, of course, affected by equipment choices.

The 3.0-liter diesel is the fuel efficiency champion, with an EPA rating of 20/29 mpg City/Highway. The turbocharged diesel generates 240 horsepower, but more important, it produces 420 foot-pounds of torque, that force that propels the truck up hills while pulling a trailer. A Ram with the diesel can accelerate from zero to 60 mph in 8 seconds, according to Ram, which reports tow ratings up to 9,200 pounds. It is quiet for a diesel, with just a faint clatter that is pleasing to the ear of diesel lovers. As always with diesels, it is a pricey option.

The 3.6-liter V6 engine is the standard engine and a popular choice for drivers who need a pickup bed to haul but want good fuel economy. Using Regular 87-octane gasoline, the V6 is EPA-rated at 17/25 mpg City/Highway, or 16/23 mpg with four-wheel drive. The V6 generates 305 horsepower and 269 foot-pounds of torque. It will haul a load without much effort, though it sounds a bit strained at higher rpm. The V6 is rated to tow up to 6,500 pounds but is not the best choice for owners who tow anything heavier than a bass boat. The 8-speed automatic works well with this engine.

The 5.7-liter V8 generates 395 hp and 407 foot-pounds of torque, growling enthusiastically at full throttle. Ram says it is capable of launching the truck from a standstill to 60 mph in 6.7 seconds. The V8 is the best choice for towing, offering a rating as high as 10,650 pounds in some configurations. We recommend a Ram Heavy Duty for anyone regularly pulling heavy trailers, however. It makes sense to have a healthy margin between your truck’s towing capacity and the fully loaded weight of your trailer.

Four-wheel drive is available. Part-time 4WD is the standard setup, but an on-demand AWD system is available with V8s. The former is generally better for rugged terrain, the latter is generally better for snow, ice and inconsistent road conditions.

Summary

Among the full-size pickups, there are no bad choices. We recommend against basing a purchase decision purely on towing capability or cargo capacity. If there is a brand you prefer, we recommend concentrating on selecting the configuration that is best for your needs and desires.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2016 Ram Truck listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2016 Ram Truck listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Ram Trucks for Sale
Find 2016 Ram Truck 1500 listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2016 Ram Truck 1500
754
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel