Consumer Reviews
4.9
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
8 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Saigon75
July 29, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The only 4 things I added to my car are : High performance exhaust, a grill cover, rear spoiler and a shorty antenna..Stock exhaust sucks, must have a custom made grill cover from Zun Sport(the factory grill cover will allow stones to go through your radiator, need a custom made spoiler and a shorty 4 inch antenna(factory antenna is about 12 inches and anyone can be jealous of your car and break it off. Otherwise, I LOVE IT. YOU CAN''T BE TALLER THAN 5''8" AND CAN''T NOT BE MORE THAN 180LBS. YOU CAN''T EXPECT TO CARRY LUGGAGE, YOU CAN''T EXPECT TO TOW ANYTHING. SO KNOW THE CAR AND LOVE IT.
XNT
January 30, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2016 World Car of The Year...need I say more ---
Mr. T
August 13, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
One of the best and enjoyable cars I''ve ever owned. This is designed for people who love to drive. It is extremely responsive and is plenty fast from a dead start. My only criticism is I can''t put my golf clubs in the trunk, but I knew that when I purchased it.
Alex
May 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
JT
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
4,400 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Drive one. Your gonna have to have one. I've driven many automobiles and many motorcycles. My fav of all.
Dan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
9,000 miles
|
Owned 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought a new Mazda Miata to replace a 2002 Mazda Miata that I drove for 13 years and put over 130,000 miles on it. In that time the car required only routine maintenance. It was the best car I ever owned. I expect this 2016 Miata to give me the same performance. The car has superior road-handling performance and gives economical fuel requirements.
Dave B.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
3,200 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Mazda Miata is the best driving experience I've had. It doesn't have a high-powered engine but doesn't need one with it's low curb weight. The handling and real-wheel drive make for a dynamic, predictable driving experience. The top is easy to lower and raise. There isn't a lot of storage space but that is not what I bought the car for. It does very well in a daily commute and the gas mileage has been an excellent 28+ MPG from mostly city driving.
Vikki
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 12, 2017
2,850 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I drove. Mitsubishi Eclipse for 18 years and I was unsure about purchasing this little GT 2 seater lol .... I'm really happy I did! Such a cute fun sporty car! Drives nice & tight, handles great & peppy for a little 2.0 4 cylinder! Gas mileage has been great, I don't stop as much for gas as I did in my Mitsubishi. It is a bit smaller & lower than what I was used to but I've adjusted quickly. Love the features & the new body style and putting the top up & down is easy. I get so many compliments on this lil stylish me car :) Lovin it Zoom Zoom
2016 Mazda 1203 MX-5 Miata 28484 377326
Write a Review for the 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Mitch McCullough
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The all-new 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata represents a return to its roots. Though completely redesigned and reengineered, this fourth-generation Miata is more like the first-generation 1990 roadster than any of the intervening generations.

The 2016 Miata adheres to the same basic concept as the original: a lightweight, rear-wheel-drive, two-seat roadster. And it follows the same mission as before, that of a classic British sports car.

It’s fun to drive, easy to toss around, a delight whether charging up a mountain road or cruising along the ocean. It’s simple, straightforward and traditional. You can drop the manually operated top while belted in the driver’s seat, even while at parking lot speeds. And if a thunderstorm occurs, you can pull it up and latch it just as easily, without getting out of your seat.

The styling of this all-new MX-5 is more contemporary and a bit more aggressive than the previous generation. It is about the same size as before, slightly shorter in overall length at 154 inches and slightly wider at 68 inches. The wheelbase has been stretched to 91.1 inches.

Model Lineup

The 2016 Mazda MX-5 comes in Sport ($24,915), Club ($28,600), and Grand Touring ($30,065) models. A 6-speed manual gearbox is standard, a 6-speed automatic is optional. The Club features a sports suspension with Bilstein shocks and high-performance tires and upgraded cloth upholstery. The Grand Touring upgrades with leather-trimmed upholstery, climate control, navigation, and blind-spot and lane-departure warning systems.

Walkaround

Compared to its predecessor, the new MX-5 has a more curvaceous beltline. The hoodline plunges downward at the front, and a large opening at the front of the car sucks in air like a blue whale inhaling plankton. In many states, a license plate will obscure this opening appearing as a single tooth at the top of the maw.

It is a small, tidy car. After driving it you get out and almost feel like you should be able to slip it into your pocket, like a cellphone, before walking off.

The top is very easy to operate. Dropping the top can be accomplished with one hand even while underway. The same can be said about raising the top. While belted in, the driver can simply reach back, release a latch and pull the top to the top of the windshield. Mazda cleverly engineered some mechanical assistance to the help the driver pull the top up at just that moment where help is needed. Pull it closed. One latch secures it. The whole operation takes less time than it took to read about it.

Interior

The Miata cabin is spartan. The look is classic basic roadster. The pedals and the steering wheel are positioned directly in front of the driver, a rarity of seating precision.

A prominent center console separates driver and co-driver. Big analog gauges and a horizontal instrument panel keep the interior from feeling confining. Air vents and climate controls use the classic round look. Mazda’s latest infotainment system display is perched above the low-set dash.

Driving Impressions

By moving the roll center closer to the driver, Mazda made its latest MX-5 the best-driving yet. Transitioning from steady hard cornering in a left turn on a mountain road to steady hard cornering in a right turn in the Club model is seamless; now we’re going this way, now we’re going that way.

The tires lose grip gradually when cornering at high loads and the chassis is evenly balanced, so handling is predictable. It’s enjoyable, entertaining, satisfying to hurl this car into corners on deserted back roads. Yet it rides nicely and does not beat you up when puttering around in the neighborhood at 25 mph. Even the sport-tuned Club model rides smoothly enough to use as a daily driver.

The Miata does what is expected and never surprises its driver, so car and driver become one. Braking and turning at the same time tends to result in mild oversteer. Even braking through a transient maneuver is easy to control, a benefit of its near-perfect balance.

Power is not excessive. There is no surge of force at high rpm. Torque is lacking. The engine is rated at 155 horsepower and 146 pound-feet of torque. With a curb weight of just 2,300 pounds, however, the Miata can accelerate from 0 to 60 mph in about 6 seconds, a quick performance indeed. More important than those numbers is the joy you get from using this engine. The engine revs freely and smoothly. Blipping the throttle with the side of the foot while braking is wonderfully easy and enjoyable.

We strongly recommend choosing the manual gearbox for this car. It is required equipment for that blipping and downshifting thing we just mentioned. The clutch pedal is light and friendly and the 6-speed manual snicks into gears neatly and easily. Also available is the 6-speed automatic transmission with Sport mode and, though it is not our preference, we found on several test drives that it performs its duties exceedingly well.

Choosing among the three models comes down to what the driver wants from the car. The Club offers the sportiest handling and is the choice of the serious enthusiast, though the ride quality of the Club is not harsh and should be fine for everyday driving. The Grand Touring model is the best choice for cruising along the ocean or enjoying top-down motoring, yet its handling will still satisfy the driver who enjoys spirited motoring. The base MX-5 Sport model has the same suspension as the GT and comes with a cloth top, so the Sport offers the best value for someone who simply wants the joy of a classic sports car.

Summary

The new Miata offers top-down motoring and a rewarding, classic driving experience. We think it’s the most fun you can have in a sports car in its price range.

Mitch McCullough and Bengt Halvorson reported from Westlake Village, California.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2016 Mazda listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2016 Mazda listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Mazdas for Sale
Find 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata
574
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel