Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
12 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Jayson
June 09, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Incredibly smooth ride. Reliable. Comfortable interior and features. Engine is very responsive. Handling is great. Love the alert system for backing up and lane changes.
In all fairness, heres what Im not a fan of: Id rate the onboard navigation as average-above average. We will upgrade to the integrated Apple CarPlay soon. The A/C fan is incredibly loud when on auto. The console between driver and passenger is bulky.
We were out browsing cars tonight, we thought wed check out the new Subaru Ascent. After looking, we are firmly convinced that this 2016 Mazda is a great car.
Saint1
August 11, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The radar cruise control is spot on for safety. Plenty of room and great passing capability.
Crystal
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 04, 2017
6,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car has been great! If you are looking for a great driving vehicle that looks good this is it.
Cathy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 02, 2017
1,800 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Mazda CX-9 is an outstanding vehicle. It drives like a dream, super quiet on the road and highway. The techie features are tremendous. I love the spacious interior. It has a third row that I keep folded all the time to allow for a crate for transporting my dog safely and for large shopping trips. The exterior styling really won me over--it is just a very good looking car.
Leslie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 31, 2017
16,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It's comfortable and fun! I have always been a Subaru person, so to try a Mazda was challenging...but the CX9 made it easy to make the leap- it is roomy, comfortable, fun to drive and has the bells and whistles that keep it up to date. Honestly, the third row seating is a joke- if you REALLY need it, this is not the car for you, but I have my dogs with me all the time, so they like the added space in the back. Had some technical issues when I first got the car, but after a few weeks in the shop, I think it's sorted now. After a few months, the car has been growing on me. I really like it now- it's worth a consideration
Karen
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 29, 2017
9,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have always driven BMW's and was looking for a car that would provide fun driving, low maintenance and fuel economy and be stylish! Also needed a car with cargo space For travel.The Mazda CX 9 provides the complete package for myself, husband and our dog. Highly recommend.
Rebecca
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
13,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I own a 2016 Mazda CX-9. I do like my SUV but I've been having issues with it every since I've had it. Most of my issues have been with things like the navigation and the heads up display. Now my current issue is that my vehicle is it's consuming oil and they can't figure out why. The things I like about my vehicle is the great gas mileage I get even though it is a SUV. I do like my heads up display. I really like my adaptive cruise control and the smart city brakes.
Gary
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 27, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Just went on vacation with the new Mazda CX-9 AWD Touring. This was the true test. Drove from Michigan to the Great Smoky Mountains in Tennessee. Drove about 1500 miles round trip. The Mazda was outstanding on all aspects. Handling the curvy roads with extreme elevation changes, the CX-9 drove like a sports car. Agile, comfortable, roomy and the Bose sound system was great. Overall gas mileage was around 21 mpg for the entire trip. Test drive all the mid-size crossovers like the Atlas, Pilot, Lincoln MKT, Durango and Denali, the Mazda CX-9 will win you over. Mazda car line is the industries best kept secret.
Ralph
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
3,200 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love everything about my car and would have given it five stars. The issue for me is that the trunk at times is problematic to open and close. Also the navigation system doesn't have options for day and night settings, plus not very accurate nor precise in providing directions. Finally, I would have like that the vehicle included an installed towing hitch.
Alex
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
14,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"If you're looking for a car, look no further. Excellent performance, fun to drive, great mileage for its class. Entertainment system is the week point. Mazda is not unique in this sense, but it's far from the best. Buggy, pretty slow, behind the curve on technology (Android Auto/Apple CarPlay, anyone?). And with the system treated as part of the car, rather than a software product, there's no way to file an issue with the vendor, and have it addressed in a timely manner. Still, if you ignore an occasional annoyance of backup camera taking 10-20 seconds to turn on, or music app forgetting what it was playing last, or screen notifying you about overheating every 8.5 seconds, this is a great car to drive."
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Its great for a family of 5. Best Features - 7 seats
Omar D
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 18, 2017
9,820 miles
|
Owned 5 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Suspension are a little bit tie and you can feel a lot of vibrations when driving in highways other than that is good enough
2016 Mazda 1203 CX-9 29278 383772
Write a Review for the 2016 Mazda CX-9
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2016 Mazda CX-9.
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2016 Mazda listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2016 Mazda listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Mazdas for Sale
Find 2016 Mazda CX-9 listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2016 Mazda CX-9
804

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel