2016 Mazda CX-9 Reviews and Ratings

AWD 4dr Signature

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2016 Mazda CX-9.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (13)
Overall Rating
  4.3 / 5
Reliability
  4.1 / 5
Interior
  4.2 / 5
Exterior
  4.3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Crystal 10/3/2017 7:27:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
This car has been great! If you are looking for a great driving vehicle that looks good this is it.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Cathy 10/2/2017 8:49:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Mazda CX-9 is an outstanding vehicle. It drives like a dream, super quiet on the road and highway. The techie features are tremendous. I love the spacious interior. It has a third row that I keep folded all the time to allow for a crate for transporting my dog safely and for large shopping trips. The exterior styling really won me over--it is just a very good looking car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Leslie 8/31/2017 1:11:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
It's comfortable and fun! I have always been a Subaru person, so to try a Mazda was challenging...but the CX9 made it easy to make the leap- it is roomy, comfortable, fun to drive and has the bells and whistles that keep it up to date. Honestly, the third row seating is a joke- if you REALLY need it, this is not the car for you, but I have my dogs with me all the time, so they like the added space in the back. Had some technical issues when I first got the car, but after a few weeks in the shop, I think it's sorted now. After a few months, the car has been growing on me. I really like it now- it's worth a consideration
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Karen 8/29/2017 10:04:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
I have always driven BMW's and was looking for a car that would provide fun driving, low maintenance and fuel economy and be stylish! Also needed a car with cargo space For travel.The Mazda CX 9 provides the complete package for myself, husband and our dog. Highly recommend.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Rebecca 8/27/2017 10:54:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
I own a 2016 Mazda CX-9. I do like my SUV but I've been having issues with it every since I've had it. Most of my issues have been with things like the navigation and the heads up display. Now my current issue is that my vehicle is it's consuming oil and they can't figure out why. The things I like about my vehicle is the great gas mileage I get even though it is a SUV. I do like my heads up display. I really like my adaptive cruise control and the smart city brakes.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Gary 8/27/2017 1:08:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Just went on vacation with the new Mazda CX-9 AWD Touring. This was the true test. Drove from Michigan to the Great Smoky Mountains in Tennessee. Drove about 1500 miles round trip. The Mazda was outstanding on all aspects. Handling the curvy roads with extreme elevation changes, the CX-9 drove like a sports car. Agile, comfortable, roomy and the Bose sound system was great. Overall gas mileage was around 21 mpg for the entire trip. Test drive all the mid-size crossovers like the Atlas, Pilot, Lincoln MKT, Durango and Denali, the Mazda CX-9 will win you over. Mazda car line is the industries best kept secret.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ralph 8/21/2017 5:58:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love everything about my car and would have given it five stars. The issue for me is that the trunk at times is problematic to open and close. Also the navigation system doesn't have options for day and night settings, plus not very accurate nor precise in providing directions. Finally, I would have like that the vehicle included an installed towing hitch.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Alex 8/21/2017 5:54:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
If you're looking for a car, look no further. Excellent performance, fun to drive, great mileage for its class.<br /> Entertainment system is the week point. Mazda is not unique in this sense, but it's far from the best. Buggy, pretty slow, behind the curve on technology (Android Auto/Apple CarPlay, anyone?). And with the system treated as part of the car, rather than a software product, there's no way to file an issue with the vendor, and have it addressed in a timely manner.<br /> Still, if you ignore an occasional annoyance of backup camera taking 10-20 seconds to turn on, or music app forgetting what it was playing last, or screen notifying you about overheating every 8.5 seconds, this is a great car to drive.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/21/2017 3:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Its great for a family of 5. Best Features - 7 seats
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Omar D 8/18/2017 4:24:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.4 / 5
Suspension are a little bit tie and you can feel a lot of vibrations when driving in highways other than that is good enough
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/11/2017 6:37:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
Great styling, comfortable interior, good performance. Worst feature - Lack of more driver's seat adjustments
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Liz 8/10/2017 3:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I am sooooo excited about my CX-9 Signature purchase! I absolutely love my car! The signature line is beyond measure and offers so many features. It feels as though I'm driving a high end brand such as BMW or Mercedes however the price tag and maintenance is way more affordable! People stop in their tracks amazed at this machine!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Chandra 7/28/2017 8:45:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Best afforable and latest technology with great interior. Pros: Nappa Leather Infotainment System Body Styling
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2016 Mazda CX-9.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2016 Mazda CX-9 AWD 4dr Signature local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.