2016 Mazda CX-5 Reviews and Ratings

Utility 4D Sport 2WD I4

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2016 Mazda CX-5.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (15)
Overall Rating
  4.1 / 5
Reliability
  4.1 / 5
Interior
  3.9 / 5
Exterior
  4.1 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.3 / 5

By robert 10/7/2017 12:38:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.9 / 5
super reliable and fun to drive. spacious and god gas milage. nice interior and also sharp exterior. Love the trunk space.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/29/2017 3:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.9 / 5
The center console is not functional at all. The 60/40 lowering of back seats does not provide extra room and the 2 USB ports are slow in charging. Should have keep my 2004 mazda 6. Better comfort and more features. Selling this vehicle soon.
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   1 / 5
Exterior
   1.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Stephanie 9/6/2017 4:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I am in LOVE with my Mazda CX-5. I feel in love with the way she drove- she has great get up and go, hugs the curves and is super fun to drive, especially in Sport Mode. I travel around a lot, with a car full of passengers and everyone comments on how smooth the drive is and how spacious the back seat area is. I love how much storage I have and how everything is so user friendly but still up to date with the latest and greatest technology. Sleek looking with sporty wheels make it uni-sex, and I can go from being the girlfriend with a car load of friends to a soccer mom the next day. I recommend this vehicle to everyone I know. I feel like I'm driving a sportscar but in an SUV - which means I can do anything and go anywhere. The gas mileage is average for an SUV.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/6/2017 9:25:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
Great look and performance. Plenty of storage and easy to drive. Handles like a dream, you don't even feel like you're in an SUV.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Sam 8/24/2017 6:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I really enjoy how smooth the CX-5 drives for a small SUV. I like that there's a little switch to switch to Sport mode when I want the added boost. The navigation and media system is pretty comfortable to use. The safety features are what I like most about it, and I like the blind-spot monitors and the rear-view monitor for when I'm in reverse. The smartkey is really convenient too. I also like the sleek feeling the exterior has, especially for an SUV.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Flo 8/24/2017 11:31:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Mazda CX5 has great handling, quite ride and comfortable interior. All around was the top rated SUV of 2016 in Car and Driver, which interested me in taking this car for a test drive. Once I drove it, I was hooked. The car has great acceleration. No interior noise.. was also a big plus. Adjustable driver seat with heating was the deciding factor in my decision. All around superb SUV.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Doug 8/23/2017 4:57:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
If you need a small SUV and still want something<br /> that handles like a car but gets good mileage, the Mazda CX5 is the best vehicle. Drove several and this handled the best. Interior nicer than most.<br /> Good reliability. Sporty exterior.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Michael D. 8/23/2017 8:21:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Mazda CX-5 is a must vehicle for anyone who wants a fun SUV that is comfortable and reliable. Interior fit and fitness make it nice.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By REGINA 8/23/2017 8:06:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Price and quality excellent. Interior and exterior superior. Interested in purchasing a larger SUV in the line
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Diane 8/23/2017 6:29:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2 / 5
Comfortable, great acceleration. Gas consumption disappointing, no rear latch release, AC fan could be stonger
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Robert 8/22/2017 6:06:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.1 / 5
I replaced my Mazda 3 with a CX-5 to get all-wheel drive and an automatic transmission. I have used it as a daily driver in my old state, driving 50 miles round trip every day; I have driven it halfway across the country in a relocation from Washington State to Minnesota; and I now use it as a daily driver, driving about 12 miles round trip every day. This car is very solid. Some pros:<br /> 1. The gas mileage is about what they advertise.<br /> 2. The car is fun to drive.<br /> 3. It has a very attractive profile.<br /> 4. Acceleration is great, especially with Sport Mode turned on.<br /> 5. Stock sound system is great. Some cons:<br /> 1. There is a lot of road noise when driving 45 mph or faster. It seems to be caused by the wind rushing against the car, rather than the street. (Note they specifically talk about reduced road noise in the marketing.)<br /> 2. The tan interior gets dirty VERY easily.<br /> 3. The touchscreen UI sometimes takes a long time to boot up.<br /> 4. The Bluetooth sometimes drops devices randomly. Relative to its peers, the CX-5 feels like a great car. I haven't had any regrets over choosing it.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Cathy M 8/22/2017 2:40:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
Tired of the issues with my previous vehicle (Subaru), I traded it in for the Mazda CX-5.I had a Mazda Tribute several years ago and I liked it very much. I like almost everything about the CX-5 except the armrest (too short) and all of the "chrome look" on the interior because it catches the sun and is terribly blinding when driving. Other than those two things, I like the car very well.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jeff 8/21/2017 6:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Great fit and finish inside, sport mode and auto/manual makes it handle above its class and really fun to drive for a Mazda. Navigation could be more user friendly, bluetooth is great
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Rich 8/20/2017 8:01:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Our Maxda CX-5 is FUN TO DRIVE. It also has top safety ratings and all the latest technology. We truly love it and would recommend to anyone looking at a midsize SUV.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jeff 7/27/2017 6:21:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.6 / 5
This car is great! It has a smooth driving experience and has the power like a sports care but has good mileage for an SUV/Crossover. The interior is sleek and makes you feel like you are driving a car that is more expensive than you really are. If you are looking for a great car that can fit a small family or your gear this is the one. Test drove many similar models of different companies and this one was great!
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 2 )

2016 Mazda CX-5
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

For 2016, Mazda CX-5 gets updated styling and a redesigned interior stuffed with the latest features. The 2016 CX-5 benefits further from a revised suspension along with more sound-deadening measures, all intended to deliver greater ride comfort and a quieter cabin than did the 2015 model. CX-5 was launched as a 2013 model.

Mazda CX-5 is a five-passenger compact crossover utility vehicle in the same class as the Honda CR-V, Ford Escape, Toyota RAV4, Nissan Rogue, Kia Sportage, and Subaru Forester. The CX-5 offers a choice of all-wheel drive or front-wheel-drive.

CX-5 distinguishes itself from the other compact utility vehicles, or CUVs, with its sleek styling, excellent fuel economy and agile handling. It looks great and it’s more fun to drive than the CR-V or RAV4.

We found the CX-5 Sport with the 2.0-liter engine delivered respectable performance, though some competitors offered more power. The 2016 Mazda CX-5 Sport rates an EPA-estimated 26/35 miles per gallon City/Highway with manual gearbox and front-wheel drive.

The more powerful Skyactiv-G 2.5-liter engine makes the CX-5 Touring and Grand Touring models the better performers. With this engine, CX-5 scores an EPA-rated 26/33 mpg with the automatic transmission and front-wheel drive, 24/30 mpg with all-wheel drive.

Model Lineup

The 2016 CX-5 Sport ($21,795) is front-wheel drive and comes with a 2.0-liter four-cylinder engine and manual gearbox. CX-5 Sport comes with cloth upholstery, manual air conditioning, four-speaker audio.

2016 CX-5 Touring and Grand Touring models come with a newer 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine and 6-speed automatic. Touring ($25,215) upgrades the cloth upholstery and technology. Grand Touring ($28,220) and Grand Touring AWD ($29,470) upgrade with leather upholstery, dual-zone automatic climate control, and Bose Surround Sound with nine speakers.

Walkaround

Mazda CX-5 is larger than it looks. Overall length, width, and height are nearly an inch larger than those of the Honda CR-V. However, at 106.3 inches, the CX-5 wheelbase is 3.2 inches longer than that of the CR-V; a longer wheelbase generally equates to improved ride quality and high-speed stability.

For 2016, the grille has been reshaped, the headlights have been slimmed down and connected to the grille with bars of brightwork, and LED lighting is available front and rear.

The styling uses Mazda’s KODO design language intended to reflect the grace and power of animals. We think the sculptured lines and pronounced wheel arches do lend a sense of motion and muscularity, especially noticeable in morning and evening light. The body tapers outward toward the bottom, lending a look of stability. CX-5’s coefficient of drag is a slippery 0.33.

Interior

Mazda CX-5 seats five adults. The front bucket seats are sportier and more supportive than most in this class. The chunky steering wheel feels good; it’s perfectly centered and tilts and telescopes. Forward sightlines are better than most and big mirrors offer a good view rearward.

For 2016, the handbrake has been replaced by a smaller electronic brake switch, allowing more space for the center console. Mazda’s latest infotainment setup, Mazda Connect, is included.

It’s a simple, straightforward cabin. Interior materials are high quality, with extensive use of soft-touch vinyl and very little hard plastic. Instruments and controls are nicely laid out, well marked, easy to read and use. Cubby storage is decent. Reflections from the center stack are a bit of an issue on sunny days.

Getting in and out of the back seats is easy and it’s comfortable for two. The center rear position isn’t someplace we’d care to occupy for more than an hour.

The rear seats fold nearly flat, but not completely. Cargo capacity is 34 cubic feet behind the rear seats, which expands to 65 cubic feet with the rear seatbacks all folded forward.

Driving Impressions

Agile handling makes the Mazda CX-5 fun to drive.

The 2.0-liter engine in the CX-5 Sport provides better acceleration performance than you might expect. The 2.0-liter engine works particularly well for driving briskly along winding roads or cruising on the freeway.

The 2.5-liter engine in CX-5 Touring and Grand Touring models offers stronger performance. Acceleration is frisky from a standstill or for passing maneuvers. Hitting the gas while cruising at 40 mph yields an alert, rapid boost in velocity.

The 6-speed automatic transmission reacts promptly to the driver’s wishes and it’s smooth, delivering almost imperceptible upshifts and downshifts as load conditions demand. A semi-manual feature allows the driver to change gears but we found it worked best to put it in D and let it do its thing.

CX-5 Sport’s manual gearbox is a pleasure to operate with crisp shift gates and positive engagements, arguably the best in this class.

The electric power rack-and-pinion steering system is the best in the class, quick and accurate, precise, intuitive. Few corrections are needed while driving down a bumpy road and we found the CX-5 feels more stable at high speeds than a Honda CR-V does.

Suspension tuning tends toward sporty. Ride quality is firm but compliant, European in character. There is some head toss on bumpy roads, however. The CX-5 felt firmly planted and secure when driving down wet, bumpy, curvy back roads at speed. We didn’t sense a big difference between the 17- and 19-inch tires.

We appreciated the grip and sure-footedness of the all-wheel drive while driving through the rain down a winding valley road and while speeding around a wet Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca circuit. If you live in a particularly dry climate, however, you could save a little on the purchase price, get slightly better fuel economy and slightly more lively handling feel with front-wheel drive.

Summary

Mazda CX-5 is easy to drive, efficient, comfortable and versatile. Handling agility and accurate steering make it entertaining for the driver. All-wheel drive gives it sure-footed traction, but a front-wheel-drive CX-5 Sport with manual gearbox.

2016 Mazda CX-5
NADAguides Test Drive Review

An award recipient in the J.D. Power Automotive Performance Execution and Layout (APEAL) Study, this CUV is meant for utilitarian-focused buyers who enjoy driving.

  • MSRP: $25,125 (Touring FWD model)
  • Tested Price: $27,765 (includes $880 destination fee)
  • 2.5-liter SkyActiv-G 4-cylinder engine mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission
  • 184 horsepower and 185 lb-ft. of torque
  • 26 mpg in the city
  • 33 mpg on the highway
  • 29 mpg combined
  • Cargo Volume: 34.1-cubic feet behind second row; 65.4-cubic feet when second row is folded down

Our tester came with the Moonroof/Bose Package ($1,130), which includes a power moonroof and nine speaker Bose audio system. It also came equipped with a retractable cargo cover ($200), cargo mat ($60), door sill trim plates ($125), rear bumper guard ($100), and wheel locks ($55).

Hits

  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel adds a premium touch
  • Steering feel and tightness of handling stand out in a somewhat  
  • low amount of NVH for its segment
  • Engine finally gives enough oomph
  • Lever releases in rear cargo area make dropping the rear seats very easy. 
  • Great visibility
  • Awesome infotainment system is really easy to use
  • All control layout is simple to use and intuitive
  • Massive cargo utility with seats folded down
  • Full size spare (something we’re seeing less of in this cost-conscious segment)
  • Great MPG without turbocharging

Misses

  • No straps to easily pull rear seats back up when standing behind cargo area
  • No hooks in rear cargo area for grocery bags to ensure they don’t slide around in transit
  • Higher profile tires add to a cushier ride, but tend to compromise handling when pushed
  • Sunroof cover materials feel of lower quality than the rest of the vehicle

Value Retention

In regards to value retention, the Mazda CX-5 sits in sixth place (out of 22) within the two-year-old compact utility segment by holding 68.6% of its value in 2015.  Mazda’s CUV outperforms the segment value retention score average of 63.2% for 2015.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
2 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2016 Mazda CX-5 Utility 4D Sport 2WD I4 local listings
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
Vehicle Identification Number

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Mazdas for Sale
Find 2016 Mazda CX-5 listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
Auto Refinance
Is your car payment as low as it should be?


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.