Consumer Reviews
4.4
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
29 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
JESSICA ATNIP
October 16, 2019
25,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have had my CX-5 for about 2 1/2 years. I have never drove a car that even compared to this one. My previous car was a Cadillac CTS and I prefer my Mazda CX-5 tenfold! Best car I have ever owned! ?
Fletch
July 04, 2019
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
EPB shorted out entire electronic system. ( Same issue with Mazda 6 that was recalled) however, Mazda will not recalled the cx5. $3000 for my repairs.
Love our CX-5!
May 10, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My wife and I have owned our CX-5 now for about a year, and we have loved every minute of it! It is the perfect size to fit our family of 3, and we have also taken it on longer trips (3hrs+) multiple times, and it rides and performs like a charm. I came from a Mazda Tribute which, with 4WD, was a beast in the winter months in Michigan. The CX-5 performs just as well, if not better, in the snow. We plan on owning this vehicle for a VERY long time!
My CX-5
March 10, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I LOVE it! 4.4 stars. Eddy''s Mazda of Lee''s Summit, Missouri has the best service department I have EVER experienced! Their sales staff is awesome too! Everyone there is friendly. I enjoy going there just to hang with my Mazda friends!!
jumbo jimbo
January 29, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Extremely dependable car, fun to drive, and worry free. I highly recommend this car!
Anonymous
December 18, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Dave
December 16, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Can feel all the bumps
Buster
October 28, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Not a bad thing about this vehicle at all.
Ratpac
September 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent overall performance....a great car.
deezer
September 11, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love this vehicle! The setup of the infotainment system is very convenient and safe, as the touchscreen is enabled while driving. There is a joystick type of control on the console by the gearshift. The seats are very comfortable. Lots of room in the back, more so when the seats are down. Great surround sound thank to the 9 Bose speakers.
Anonymous
August 01, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
mom4
March 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my first SUV but have previously owned Mazda. CX-5 perfect size for me in town and traveling. Handles well reliable, economical. Adequate acceleration for engine size
NeedtoSpeed
March 24, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought this CX-5 Grand Touring last January 2017...if you live in a bigger city and need to keep up with traffic...this vehicle is not it. A 4-Cyl engine that this vehicle has, isn''t enough power to make those quick turns in and out of traffic when needed...this car is better designed for traveling long distances, at a leisure pace. As for gas mileage...it''s OK on the Hwy at 22-25mpg, city mileage 19-21mpg. Note: The glove container (arm rest) between the bucket seats...plastic latch will break off, be careful opening and closing it. Mine did, but Mazda replaced it free.
skippy
March 21, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
best built quality dependable vehicles for the money period
JohnF
January 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I''ve had my car for two years and have 22k miles on it. I''ve driven it cross country once (2k miles in three days), and several long-distance trips Between 500 and 1k miles). I''m 5''9" and 270 pounds.
I traded in a Honda CRV because the ride set my teeth on edge, this is very smooth. The ''sport mode'' is great for mountain driving both up and down. The display controls on the console are easy to use and help keep my eye on the road. Voice commands are almost useless. The GPS is accurate but remains outdated after updates.
No repairs yet. I get 30mpg highway and 23 city.
Lily
January 15, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Braking on snow not so easy, Interior nice and roomy, but the front sitting is too hard, and it does not heat as fast the CX5 2017, The ride quality not as fast when taking off.
robert
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 07, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
super reliable and fun to drive. spacious and god gas milage. nice interior and also sharp exterior. Love the trunk space.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 29, 2017
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The center console is not functional at all. The 60/40 lowering of back seats does not provide extra room and the 2 USB ports are slow in charging. Should have keep my 2004 mazda 6. Better comfort and more features. Selling this vehicle soon.
Donna
September 29, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We have had our car 6 months, love it. We have never regretted picking this one above all the others in this size & price range. My only complaint is the hood has gotten several little "pings" in the paint from normal driving. This is not from driving behind gravel trucks or anything like that. The first was within 2 weeks of purchase & several more since then. Seems like the clear coat isn''t thick enough. I''ve driven many cars for more years than I care to count, I''ve never seen this before.
Stephanie
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 06, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am in LOVE with my Mazda CX-5. I feel in love with the way she drove- she has great get up and go, hugs the curves and is super fun to drive, especially in Sport Mode. I travel around a lot, with a car full of passengers and everyone comments on how smooth the drive is and how spacious the back seat area is. I love how much storage I have and how everything is so user friendly but still up to date with the latest and greatest technology. Sleek looking with sporty wheels make it uni-sex, and I can go from being the girlfriend with a car load of friends to a soccer mom the next day. I recommend this vehicle to everyone I know. I feel like I'm driving a sportscar but in an SUV - which means I can do anything and go anywhere. The gas mileage is average for an SUV.
Sam
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 25, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I really enjoy how smooth the CX-5 drives for a small SUV. I like that there's a little switch to switch to Sport mode when I want the added boost. The navigation and media system is pretty comfortable to use. The safety features are what I like most about it, and I like the blind-spot monitors and the rear-view monitor for when I'm in reverse. The smartkey is really convenient too. I also like the sleek feeling the exterior has, especially for an SUV.
Flo
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Mazda CX5 has great handling, quite ride and comfortable interior. All around was the top rated SUV of 2016 in Car and Driver, which interested me in taking this car for a test drive. Once I drove it, I was hooked. The car has great acceleration. No interior noise.. was also a big plus. Adjustable driver seat with heating was the deciding factor in my decision. All around superb SUV.
Doug
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
4,200 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"If you need a small SUV and still want something that handles like a car but gets good mileage, the Mazda CX5 is the best vehicle. Drove several and this handled the best. Interior nicer than most. Good reliability. Sporty exterior."
Michael D.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
15,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Mazda CX-5 is a must vehicle for anyone who wants a fun SUV that is comfortable and reliable. Interior fit and fitness make it nice.
REGINA
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Price and quality excellent. Interior and exterior superior. Interested in purchasing a larger SUV in the line
Diane
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
9,700 miles
|
Owned 9 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Comfortable, great acceleration. Gas consumption disappointing, no rear latch release, AC fan could be stonger"
Cathy M
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Tired of the issues with my previous vehicle (Subaru), I traded it in for the Mazda CX-5.I had a Mazda Tribute several years ago and I liked it very much. I like almost everything about the CX-5 except the armrest (too short) and all of the ""chrome look"" on the interior because it catches the sun and is terribly blinding when driving. Other than those two things, I like the car very well."
Jeff
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
4,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great fit and finish inside, sport mode and auto/manual makes it handle above its class and really fun to drive for a Mazda. Navigation could be more user friendly, bluetooth is great
Rich
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 20, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Our Maxda CX-5 is FUN TO DRIVE. It also has top safety ratings and all the latest technology. We truly love it and would recommend to anyone looking at a midsize SUV.
2016 Mazda 1203 CX-5 28009 373978
Write a Review for the 2016 Mazda CX-5
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

For 2016, Mazda CX-5 gets updated styling and a redesigned interior stuffed with the latest features. The 2016 CX-5 benefits further from a revised suspension along with more sound-deadening measures, all intended to deliver greater ride comfort and a quieter cabin than did the 2015 model. CX-5 was launched as a 2013 model.

Mazda CX-5 is a five-passenger compact crossover utility vehicle in the same class as the Honda CR-V, Ford Escape, Toyota RAV4, Nissan Rogue, Kia Sportage, and Subaru Forester. The CX-5 offers a choice of all-wheel drive or front-wheel-drive.

CX-5 distinguishes itself from the other compact utility vehicles, or CUVs, with its sleek styling, excellent fuel economy and agile handling. It looks great and it’s more fun to drive than the CR-V or RAV4.

We found the CX-5 Sport with the 2.0-liter engine delivered respectable performance, though some competitors offered more power. The 2016 Mazda CX-5 Sport rates an EPA-estimated 26/35 miles per gallon City/Highway with manual gearbox and front-wheel drive.

The more powerful Skyactiv-G 2.5-liter engine makes the CX-5 Touring and Grand Touring models the better performers. With this engine, CX-5 scores an EPA-rated 26/33 mpg with the automatic transmission and front-wheel drive, 24/30 mpg with all-wheel drive.

Model Lineup

The 2016 CX-5 Sport ($21,795) is front-wheel drive and comes with a 2.0-liter four-cylinder engine and manual gearbox. CX-5 Sport comes with cloth upholstery, manual air conditioning, four-speaker audio.

2016 CX-5 Touring and Grand Touring models come with a newer 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine and 6-speed automatic. Touring ($25,215) upgrades the cloth upholstery and technology. Grand Touring ($28,220) and Grand Touring AWD ($29,470) upgrade with leather upholstery, dual-zone automatic climate control, and Bose Surround Sound with nine speakers.

Walkaround

Mazda CX-5 is larger than it looks. Overall length, width, and height are nearly an inch larger than those of the Honda CR-V. However, at 106.3 inches, the CX-5 wheelbase is 3.2 inches longer than that of the CR-V; a longer wheelbase generally equates to improved ride quality and high-speed stability.

For 2016, the grille has been reshaped, the headlights have been slimmed down and connected to the grille with bars of brightwork, and LED lighting is available front and rear.

The styling uses Mazda’s KODO design language intended to reflect the grace and power of animals. We think the sculptured lines and pronounced wheel arches do lend a sense of motion and muscularity, especially noticeable in morning and evening light. The body tapers outward toward the bottom, lending a look of stability. CX-5’s coefficient of drag is a slippery 0.33.

Interior

Mazda CX-5 seats five adults. The front bucket seats are sportier and more supportive than most in this class. The chunky steering wheel feels good; it’s perfectly centered and tilts and telescopes. Forward sightlines are better than most and big mirrors offer a good view rearward.

For 2016, the handbrake has been replaced by a smaller electronic brake switch, allowing more space for the center console. Mazda’s latest infotainment setup, Mazda Connect, is included.

It’s a simple, straightforward cabin. Interior materials are high quality, with extensive use of soft-touch vinyl and very little hard plastic. Instruments and controls are nicely laid out, well marked, easy to read and use. Cubby storage is decent. Reflections from the center stack are a bit of an issue on sunny days.

Getting in and out of the back seats is easy and it’s comfortable for two. The center rear position isn’t someplace we’d care to occupy for more than an hour.

The rear seats fold nearly flat, but not completely. Cargo capacity is 34 cubic feet behind the rear seats, which expands to 65 cubic feet with the rear seatbacks all folded forward.

Driving Impressions

Agile handling makes the Mazda CX-5 fun to drive.

The 2.0-liter engine in the CX-5 Sport provides better acceleration performance than you might expect. The 2.0-liter engine works particularly well for driving briskly along winding roads or cruising on the freeway.

The 2.5-liter engine in CX-5 Touring and Grand Touring models offers stronger performance. Acceleration is frisky from a standstill or for passing maneuvers. Hitting the gas while cruising at 40 mph yields an alert, rapid boost in velocity.

The 6-speed automatic transmission reacts promptly to the driver’s wishes and it’s smooth, delivering almost imperceptible upshifts and downshifts as load conditions demand. A semi-manual feature allows the driver to change gears but we found it worked best to put it in D and let it do its thing.

CX-5 Sport’s manual gearbox is a pleasure to operate with crisp shift gates and positive engagements, arguably the best in this class.

The electric power rack-and-pinion steering system is the best in the class, quick and accurate, precise, intuitive. Few corrections are needed while driving down a bumpy road and we found the CX-5 feels more stable at high speeds than a Honda CR-V does.

Suspension tuning tends toward sporty. Ride quality is firm but compliant, European in character. There is some head toss on bumpy roads, however. The CX-5 felt firmly planted and secure when driving down wet, bumpy, curvy back roads at speed. We didn’t sense a big difference between the 17- and 19-inch tires.

We appreciated the grip and sure-footedness of the all-wheel drive while driving through the rain down a winding valley road and while speeding around a wet Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca circuit. If you live in a particularly dry climate, however, you could save a little on the purchase price, get slightly better fuel economy and slightly more lively handling feel with front-wheel drive.

Summary

Mazda CX-5 is easy to drive, efficient, comfortable and versatile. Handling agility and accurate steering make it entertaining for the driver. All-wheel drive gives it sure-footed traction, but a front-wheel-drive CX-5 Sport with manual gearbox.

NADAguides Test Drive Review
powered by NADAguides Test Drive Review

An award recipient in the J.D. Power Automotive Performance Execution and Layout (APEAL) Study, this CUV is meant for utilitarian-focused buyers who enjoy driving.

  • MSRP: $25,125 (Touring FWD model)
  • Tested Price: $27,765 (includes $880 destination fee)
  • 2.5-liter SkyActiv-G 4-cylinder engine mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission
  • 184 horsepower and 185 lb-ft. of torque
  • 26 mpg in the city
  • 33 mpg on the highway
  • 29 mpg combined
  • Cargo Volume: 34.1-cubic feet behind second row; 65.4-cubic feet when second row is folded down

Our tester came with the Moonroof/Bose Package ($1,130), which includes a power moonroof and nine speaker Bose audio system. It also came equipped with a retractable cargo cover ($200), cargo mat ($60), door sill trim plates ($125), rear bumper guard ($100), and wheel locks ($55).

Hits

  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel adds a premium touch
  • Steering feel and tightness of handling stand out in a somewhat  
  • low amount of NVH for its segment
  • Engine finally gives enough oomph
  • Lever releases in rear cargo area make dropping the rear seats very easy. 
  • Great visibility
  • Awesome infotainment system is really easy to use
  • All control layout is simple to use and intuitive
  • Massive cargo utility with seats folded down
  • Full size spare (something we’re seeing less of in this cost-conscious segment)
  • Great MPG without turbocharging

Misses

  • No straps to easily pull rear seats back up when standing behind cargo area
  • No hooks in rear cargo area for grocery bags to ensure they don’t slide around in transit
  • Higher profile tires add to a cushier ride, but tend to compromise handling when pushed
  • Sunroof cover materials feel of lower quality than the rest of the vehicle

Value Retention

In regards to value retention, the Mazda CX-5 sits in sixth place (out of 22) within the two-year-old compact utility segment by holding 68.6% of its value in 2015.  Mazda’s CUV outperforms the segment value retention score average of 63.2% for 2015.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2016 Mazda listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2016 Mazda listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Mazdas for Sale
Find 2016 Mazda CX-5 listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2016 Mazda CX-5
431
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel