Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
15 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
K
May 21, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I''ve owned a Kia Sedona for 3 years, 60K mi, and against my predictions and inclination, have been VERY favorably impressed. Now that this vehicle has "some age" on it and has been treated rather roughly throughout, I''m amazed at how exceptionally it still handles, sounds, looks, performs...like it''s still new...that''s very good engineering. I hate to admit it, but Kia truly offers more for the money AND it clearly holds up well (at least so far!).
fiveexchange
April 25, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I leased a Sedona 3 years ago not sure I''d love having a van but as long as I have little kids I''ll never go back. The space and sliding doors are lifesavers with little ones. The ride isn''t the smoothest especially in the 3rd row but it''s not bad. I had two tires fail requiring a replacement of all four around the 36,000 mile mark which seemed a little early but other than that I haven''t had any issues.
rev2fast
May 21, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Dontbuykia
May 19, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
By far the worst vehicle in depreciation value. 2 year old van in EXCELLENT condition has depreciated $20,000 in 2 years. DONT BUY KIA!!!!
David
January 03, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Don
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 07, 2017
7,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought the Kia Sedona for the added space it provides and my previous experience with Kia. The Sedona was everything I had expected. A well built car, easy of use, and excellent dealer care. What really impressed was just how outstanding the driving experience was for a van.
Pete
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 04, 2017
20,000 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Surprisingly a good vehicle in just about every way, however, if I must ""nit-pit"" there are three minor imperfections: 1. the engine is a little noisy, 2. the engine/transmission pairing does not accelerate the vehicle perfectly smoothly - there is a barely perceptible ""buck"" or very light ""rhythmic hesitation"" when accelerating from low speeds up to highway speeds (e.g., on ramps)...it's less noticeable when ""active ECO"" is deselected, and 3. the front seats are oddly shaped for this class of vehicle, in that you have to climb UP and OVER the edge of the seat in order to sit down IN the seat (if this were a low profile sports car, I wouldn't think twice about it, but this is a minivan that sits up a bit)...maybe it improves occupant positioning for airbag deployment, seatbelt function, and safety rating? Certainly none of these minor issues are deal breakers for a minivan, even when considered collectively. Bottom line and overall, this is really a great car and value...surprisingly (as a first time Kia owner)."
Clint
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 30, 2017
10,500 miles
|
Owned 9 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The kia is a safe and fun vehicle to drive and is perfect for my family. We love it and has proven to be worth the money.
Melissa G.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"Great vehicle - good amount of space for my 6'7"" husband and my two kids with a carseat. Best Feature - Sliding seats - center captains seats move forwards and sideways as well as flush to the front seats for utility. Worst Feature - Chrome details and the angle of the dashboard give awful reflection and makes it hard to see when driving. I do love the location of the after market DVD player however I don't like that it doesn't connect to the front view player like other models have. It also makes it harder for parents working the DVD for younger children in the back. You have to turn around or use the large remote and it has to be pointed directly at the screen for it to work."
Gary
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I purchased my KIA Sedona because of the warranty and I have owned 2 other KIA's in the past and have had no problems with them. I don't like the sun glare off the shiny interior trim around the radio it is nice but not when the sun hits it just right while driving. I haul grandkids and there parents and 8 passenger van is great for that and hauling other things with the seat down or moved up and I don't have to remove the seats like I did with my old Chevy van. I would purchase another one in the future because they improved the looks, it is a classy comfortable ride, and for older folks it is easy to get in and out of like lower car type vehicles I really like that. Thanks for listening/reading my comments.
Christine
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 26, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Base model has all the comfort and safety features with a great warranty. Drove out of town (4+ hrs) twice with two small children. Had no problems with the vehicle. Was very happy with the storage space and space between the seats. Driver and passenger seat also very spacious and comfortable. Technology is easy to use and just what we needed. Back-up camera has been very helpful. Bluetooth has been used multiple times to make phone calls and play music. Interior has a coating to repel stains provided from the dealership. All maintenance has been done through the dealership without extraordinary cost. Loving the purchase thus far and will continue to do so.
Candice
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
23,000 miles
|
Owned 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Kia Sedona! I never thought I would own a mini van, but this car is more sporty than the typical van on the market. It's beautiful, inside and out!
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
7,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the Sedona!! It handles well and accommodates 8 passengers comfortably. We rented one for a long trip up the mountains and fell in love with it. I recommend this van to all families.
david a
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
4,800 miles
|
Owned 3 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
will not buy this van again. I don't think it will last 20 years like my Ford Van did. Ford doesn't make a good mini van anymore. You can't lower windows in Kia van, bad wind noise, also poor gas mileage, engine noise is bad on freeway.
terra
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Rides well and has a lot of options. Just get them to show you all the options at the time of purchase
2016 Kia 1200 Sedona 28527 377791
Write a Review for the 2016 Kia Sedona
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Once a staple of the industry, minivans are a niche market nowadays. Redesigned for 2015, the Kia Sedona grew in size to serve as a more appealing alternative to the top four sellers: Honda Odyssey, Chrysler Town & Country, Dodge Grand Caravan, and Toyota Sienna.

As a result, the current Sedona is considerably more competitive than its predecessors in terms of refinement, functionality, and space, while displaying a tasteful profile. Measured in specific cubic feet, Odyssey is more spacious; but both the Odyssey and the Sedona feature roomy, comfortable front seats.

New features for 2016 include a rearview camera as standard equipment. Tricot cloth seat material replaces knit on 2016 Kia Sedona L and 2016 Sedona LX models, while the 2016 Sedona EX gains heated front seats. Eight-passenger seating is available for the 2016 Sedona SX when equipped with the Technology package, and chrome-accent side sills are available for 2016 Sedona SXL.

Although the most sought-after features are standard only in top trim levels, even the base Sedona L is amply equipped.

Sedona lacks stow-away seats, but its Slide-N-Stow system shrinks that middle row into a tight upright space, flipping the bottom cushions upward. Third-row seats are smaller than in some minivans, but they’re split 60/40 and fold flat into the floor. The top model gets airline-style lounge chairs with retracting legrests and winged headrests, aimed at enhanced comfort.

Sedona uses the same 3.3-liter V6 engine as the Kia Cadenza sedan and Sorento crossover SUV, both of which weigh far less than a minivan. Generating 276 horsepower and 248 pound-feet of torque, the V6 mates with a 6-speed automatic transmission.

Passengers can expect a smooth ride, but gas mileage ranks only average: no more than 18/25 mpg City/Highway, according to the Environmental Protection Agency. That’s at least partly due to the fact that Sedona remains something of a heavyweight, topping 4,400 pounds even in base trim.

Sedona has earned good crash-test ratings from the federal government, but its particular group of safety technologies falls short. Only the more costly models can be fitted with such features as surround-view cameras, forward collision warning, and lane departure warning. Cornering brake control is standard.

Model Lineup

The 2016 Kia Sedona comes in five trim levels: L, LX, EX, SX, SXL.

Sedona L ($27,295) has a seven-passenger configuration with Slide-N-Stow second-row seats and Yes! Essentials upholstery. An ample standard-feature list includes air conditioning; power windows, locks, and mirrors; a tilt/telescopic steering column; cruise control; steering-wheel audio/phone controls; Bluetooth; CD player; USB port; and rear parking sensors. Alloy wheels hold 17-inch tires, and a rearview camera is newly standard.

Sedona LX ($29,395) gets eight-passenger seating that includes a second-row bench, plus a power driver’s seat, tricot cloth seat upholstery, UVO smartphone connectivity, six-speaker audio, roof rails, and privacy glass. Options include power sliding side doors, heated front seats, and a cooled dual glovebox.

Sedona EX ($33,595) upgrades with leather seat upholstery, heated front seats, power sliding side doors, a power tailgate, pushbutton start, cooled glovebox, foglights, heated mirrors, and 18-inch wheels. Blind-spot monitoring is optional.

Sedona SX ($37,295) features eight-speaker Infinity audio, a power front passenger seat, ventilated front seats, heated second-row seats, navigation system, LED taillights, and seven-passenger seating.

Sedona SXL ($40,795) has all the features of the SX except that second-row lounge seating is installed. Standard fare includes Nappa leather upholstery, a heated wood-trimmed steering wheel, panoramic sunroof, and 19-inch wheels.

Walkaround

The Kia Sedona is more about function, less about taking risks with styling. Still, the minivan looks quite good, imparting a hint of class that suggests it’s capable of performing more than humdrum daily duties.

Only a glance is needed to affirm that you’re looking at a minivan, though, despite Kia’s claim that Sedona is actually a multi-purpose vehicle. Sitting between swept-back headlights, a more upright version of Kia’s familiar grille fits neatly into the front end. Some of Sedona’s heft is obscured by an upsweep in the shoulder line. An available smart tailgate opens when the keyfob is detected.

Interior

Inside, the Sedona shines, with a cabin that qualifies as charming. Laid out horizontally, the instrument panel has a two-tone appearance and glossy piano-black trim. Soft-touch surfaces appear on the upper dashboard and doors. High-quality materials are evident, and fine detail work ranks with Kia’s top sedans.

Front seats feel rather soothing, ready to provide comfort during a lengthy journey. All told, Sedona interiors stand significantly apart from the customary minivan, though base models get spill-proof cloth upholstery that’s more drab.

Kia advises that the Sedona is built with abundant high-strength steel, and layers of sound-deadening materials keep the cabin blissfully quiet. Overall, Sedona has a feeling of substance that’s lacking in Chrysler’s popular minivans.

The third row is small, fit only for youngsters, whereas an Odyssey or Sienna third row can accept adults, at least of shorter stature. Headroom is restricted, and entry space is narrow.

All infotainment functions relate to the driver’s smartphone. Sedona is the first Kia model to offer Geo-fencing, Speed Alert, Curfew Alert, and Driving Scope, to keep track of teen drivers.

Driving Impressions

On the road, Sedona meets the usual minivan performance standards. Power is delivered smoothly, if at a moderate level, though it’s wholly adequate if lightly loaded.

Our impression was that the Sedona feels much like one of Chrysler’s minivans. Even with available 19-inch wheels, ride quality scores as excellent, though it can get bouncy over certain bumps.

Handling is essentially ordinary, but solid and secure. Virtually no wander is evident during Interstate driving, where the engine emits a pleasing sound. If pushed hard through a corner, the tires squeal, signaling a regression to minivan behavior.

Sedona’s weight keeps fuel economy down. Base models are estimated at 18/24 mpg City/Highway, or 20 mpg Combined. The SX is rated at 18/25 mpg, but with its electric power steering, the SXL drops to 17/22 mpg.

Summary

Considering practical merits, the Kia Sedona matches the Honda Odyssey and Toyota Sienna, and it’s bigger than a Nissan Quest or Mazda 5. Flexibility falls short of the familiar Chrysler/Dodge minivans, with their handy stow-away second-row seats. Asked to choose, we’d lean toward the midgrade Sedona EX as best value, though many buyers will be satisfied with a sensible, less-costly model.

Driving impressions by Kirk Bell, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2016 Kia listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2016 Kia listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Kias for Sale
Find 2016 Kia Sedona listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2016 Kia Sedona
667
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel