Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
13 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Chick
April 24, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
At 2 months, ice in muller prevented it from starting. Also, replaced the electrical bundle. Fog lights don''t work, remote starter has problems and...I don''t trust it
Thinking it still catch fire going down the road!!!
ruracingde
January 17, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought this 2016 unseen and not driven. I have no complaints except the dealer preventing me from ordering this as I wanted to get a 2017 since it was December. So in 2 years all I have is 4K miles on a Jeep that the warranty is done with. I have owned Jeep Wranglers, Comanche, Cherokees, Patriot, and this is the first Renegade. Only issue I have is with interior space as I was remodeling my home and ran short of space when at Menards picking up supplies.
Anonymous
December 04, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Marie
September 15, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Jeep owner
August 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
B Nico
July 27, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My jeep is dependable and it''s really a great vehicle.
Rich
July 10, 2018
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I would not recommend this vehicle.
Stephen
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 07, 2017
8,743 miles
|
Owned 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Awesome car I’d buy another one for my little girl or my wife. Highly recommended the vehicle for a teenager
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 04, 2017
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought my 2016 Jeep Renegade Dawn of Justice model in January of 2017 and it was new not used. I was really excited because this would be my first Jeep purchase and I had been interested in the Renegade since they came out but was reluctant to buy one at first. The major negatives I have about the vehicle purchase is the feature of the retractable/removable My Sky panels. The top does not have drains only channels and holds water when it rains and so it fills up. So when i drive after a rain or car wash water comes out and down the front window and also the side front windows. if your windows are open water comes in and drips all over the inside of driver and passenger doors. I can imagine there also being a mold problem and Ice issues if it freezes. This also causes a spotless exterior to become spotted even after you wash it because the top holds water and does not drain out to the bottom of the vehicle. I also had to had to have rubber seal replaced when I got it home new because on the top this seal that runs along the back of the vehicle between the top back removable panel had peeled away. It's just on there by glue so it rips off and as of now it looks like it needs to be replaced again. Not really a genius design. Out of all the vehicles I have owned never did I have a sunroof issue with water. It also gets only about 22 miles to the gallon for a 4 cylinder but it is a 9 speed transmission. I feel it is a little underpowered and tends to lag sometimes when I hit the gas. I also had an issue trying to fuel my jeep just yesterday. It was acting like it was full and the pump would shut off and gas came pouring out underneath my vehicle. I drove it a few more miles and tried a different pump and gas station and it did take it but I have read this is an issue for the Cherokee but looks to be one for the jeep renegade now. Looks like I will be headed to the dealer again for repair. There are other small negatives but those are my biggest disappointments in this purchase...and Its enough to make me not refer it or consider buying another Jeep again and when people ask how do I like it I tell them those issues. The positives are the interior and exterior style and features and comfort of my seats. To bad the failures out do the positives. It makes me miss my Hyundai Tucson of 10 years I traded in on it.
Kevin
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 28, 2017
16,248 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Jeep Renegade! It's fun to drive and has tons of great features. Love the backup cam and the entertainment package with XM radio. Every day is an adventure driving my Jeep!
Rick
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 24, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The vehicle is more fun to drive than I anticipated it to be. I bought the car for 4 wheel drive capabilities and technology features, but actually driving the car has been great.
Ed
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
5,100 miles
|
Owned 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I got a 2016 Jeep Renegade Trailhawk. It's a good car, excellent gas millage, good for city and off road driving.
Tim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
10,200 miles
|
Owned 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my 2016 Jeep Renegade Limited 4 x 4. It is very quite, rides comfortable and handles well for a small SUV. Don't let it's small size fool you as I can fit 4 adults in it comfortably. It was a toss up between the Jeep and a Honda HR-V. I choose the Jeep because It looks better, has a selectable 4 X 4 system and has more power (really don't care about gas mileage). My one complaint is the 9 speed transmission. Overall, it works well, but at times seems it is slow on downshifting when accelerating. Nothing to get bothered about and doesn't impact my overall satisfaction with the vehicle. If you're looking for a small SUV, I recommend you give the Renegade a serious look.
2016 Jeep 1199 Renegade 28624 378911
Write a Review for the 2016 Jeep Renegade
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Jeep Renegade is capable and affordably priced. It’s also cute in the eyes of many, maybe excessively so in the eyes of some. For the latter group, there is the Renegade Trailhawk, with rugged looks and greater capability in rugged terrain.

More than a foot shorter than the recently launched Cherokee, the Jeep Renegade is the most compact Jeep wagon since the original 1941 Willys Jeep. It looks the part of a modern Jeep: tall and slab-sided, with oversized styling cues to accent its heritage. Flanking the familiar seven-bar Jeep grille are large, round headlights in an era when headlights no longer need to be large and round to be effective. Rubber-lipped trapezoidal wheel arches suggest strength. The taillights are stamped with X shapes, harkening to WWII-era jerry cans strapped on back.

Two engines are available: A turbocharged 1.4-liter four-cylinder engine comes standard, making 160 horsepower and 184 pound-feet of torque, and is paired with a 6-speed manual gearbox. Also available is a 2.4-liter four-cylinder that produces 180 horsepower and 175 pound-feet of torque that comes with a 9-speed automatic. Neither delivers extreme acceleration performance, and fuel economy is average for the class.

All-wheel drive (4×4) is available with either engine. Front-wheel drive (4×2) comes standard.

Renegade 4×4 models have settings for extreme conditions: Mud, Sand, or Snow, plus a hill-descent braking mode that’s welcome in steep terrain. The Renegade can be equipped with some of the latest safety features, bundled into a Technology Package that’s available for upper models.

The Renegade Trailhawk is the model for rugged terrain, with all-wheel drive, more ground clearance, special bumpers for improved approach and descent angles, big tow hooks and other features. Not to be confused with audio options, a Rock mode enables the Trailhawk to crawl over rugged terrain at very low speeds.

Still almost spanking new, the Renegade was launched as a 2015 and there are few changes for 2016. The 2016 Jeep Renegade offers a new 506-watt BeatsAudio setup with nine speakers.

Model Lineup

Jeep Renegade Sport ($17,995) comes standard with cloth upholstery, power windows/locks/mirrors, four-speaker radio, and 16-inch steel wheels. Renegade Latitude ($21,345) adds satellite radio, Bluetooth connectivity/streaming, 16-inch alloy wheels. (Prices are MSRP do not include the $995 destination charge.)

Renegade Limited ($24,895) upgrades with leather-trimmed power front seats, heated, a 115-volt outlet, 180-watt audio, and 18-inch alloy wheels. The MySky sunroof option consists of two removable glass panels, either fixed or power-operated. Removal demands a special-purpose wrench.

Renegade Trailhawk ($26,145) comes with all-wheel drive, a two-speed transfer case, the 2.4-liter engine, 9-speed automatic, and off-road equipment.

Safety features include seven airbags. Optional: rearview camera, forward-collision warning and automatic braking, blind-spot monitors, lane-departure warnings.

Walkaround

Mixing a healthy dose of tradition with an small body, Renegade slips into the midpoint between cute and rugged. Even though it looks more like an authentic Jeep than the bigger Cherokee, underneath, it’s an Italian-made hatchback.

Upright and square in profile, Renegade leads off with a blunt front end and mildly angled windshield, finishing with a vertical tailgate. Because of its tall, upright silhouette, only a glance is needed to determine that it’s a full-fledged Jeep. Round headlights add to the retro look, and the prominent seven-slat grille clinches its brand identity. Several unique touches identify the Trailhawk, including black aluminum wheels and red tow hooks.

Interior

Front occupants are likely to be pleased. Seats are comfortable and nicely bolstered. Renegade is wider than many small SUVs, and passenger shoulders are comfortably separated. Headroom is huge, front and rear. Upright seating helps visibility, but the view to rear quarters is limited by thick roof pillars.

Back-seat room may suffice for two adults, but it’s snug. Measuring 18.5 cubic feet, cargo room is sizable behind the rear seat, which folds flat.

Controls are slightly oversize. Large ventilation knobs are easy to decipher at a glance. Sizable surfaces may be hard plastic, but panels that invite contact are soft-touch vinyl. The refined interior isn’t especially Jeep-like, apart from military-inspired textures and Jeep cues. The console offers plentiful storage space.

Though surprisingly quiet on most paved surfaces, a Renegade can get noisy. Tire noise ranges from nearly nonexistent to substantial, but wind sounds appear only at high speeds. Drivetrain noise emerges when the turbocharged engine works hard.

Driving Impressions

Built on the same platform as a Fiat 500X, the Jeep Renegade does not offer the capability of a Wrangler, but it is impressively capable over rugged terrain. The Renegade has no trouble climbing steep inclines on dirt and gravel roads, and little difficulty coming down them. A Renegade can climb through boulders almost as large as its wheels, ford streams, and amble enthusiastically through mud.

As expected, a Trailhawk performs best over rugged terrain, helped by its 8.7-inch ground clearance. Standard Renegade 4×4 models offer 7.9 inches, while 4x2s have 6.7 inches.

Acceleration is not a strong point for the Renegade, and the ride is often rough. Among the models, the standard 1.4-liter turbocharged engine, with manual shift and front-wheel drive offers the most energetic experience. All-wheel drive slows it down.

Most Renegades come with the 2.4-liter four-cylinder and overall they feel more ponderous. Note that while the 2.4-liter engine offers more horsepower, it does not offer as much torque as the 1.4-liter turbo engine does, and the 2.4-liter has to rev higher to achieve its peak torque. Also, the 9-speed transmission is rough and hunts through gears.

Electric power steering provides only modest feedback, but many drivers won’t notice. The Renegade holds the road comfortably, coping with winding two-lanes better than expected, but passengers sit high and are conscious of the car leaning in sharp curves.

The Renegade is easy to park and its diminutive size helps it maneuver in tight quarters, be they crowded parking lots or small primitive trails.

All-wheel-drive Renegades start off on dry pavement with all four wheels powered for maximum traction. Then, the SelecTerrain system tapers the power away from the rear wheels and directs it more toward the front wheels. When slippage is detected, it varies torque between front and rear.

Fuel economy is only average. The 1.4-liter turbo engine is EPA-rated at 24/31 mpg City/Highway with either front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive. Upgrade to the 2.4-liter engine and Renegade estimates dip to 22/31 mpg City/Highway with front-wheel drive, or 21/29 mpg with AWD.

Summary

As the entry-level Jeep, the Renegade is sufficiently refined as well as pleasantly capable. For urban driving, we prefer the base engine with manual shift and front-wheel drive, which feels lighter than other models. Snow and ice call for a 4×4 model. The Trailhawk feels the most ponderous due to its heavier weight and two-speed transfer case, but it’s the best model for rugged terrain.

Driving impressions by John Voelcker, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2016 Jeep listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2016 Jeep listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Jeeps for Sale
Find 2016 Jeep Renegade listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2016 Jeep Renegade
401
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel