2016 Jaguar XJ Reviews and Ratings

Sedan 4D L XJR V8 Supercharged

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2016 Jaguar XJ.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (12)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.1 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By Gregg 10/3/2017 11:06:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.6 / 5
Solid response with the accelerator. Very nice creature comforts such as adaptive cruise control, massaging seats, and the lights even light up on the side when you turn....it falls in line with the soft close door feature. Overall I paid for what I got. #lovingit
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Brad 10/2/2017 1:53:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
radio system is way to complicated , and Jaguar hasn't fixed it for over a year nor replaced it !!<br /> no support from Jaguar !! don't buy a Jaguar
Reliability
   1.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mrs. D. 9/18/2017 10:51:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The overall elegance, reliability, design and quality of the vehicle immediately captured my attention. We have put more miles than we wanted on it since purchasing it but to drive it was just irresistible. It is also extremely spacious and comfortable especially for long rides. If you want grace, elegance, durability coupled with wonderful exterior and interior beauty fit for a man, woman or couple, this is the vehicle. It would be a shock if Jaguar can create anything any better. Wonderful indeed!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By ROBERT 9/10/2017 10:43:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I love my Jag XJR sport because of both..the interior (London Tan) and the exterior (Bentley Look-a-like)<br /> The performance is much better than I could ever imagine and the features are outstanding.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/9/2017 9:50:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.6 / 5
the overall build quality of my $100,000 jaguar is poor. the car was delivered new with tires so badly flat spotted they could not be repaired. i replaced at my own expense. the car was delivered new with paint chips, scratches, and one paint run.<br /> wires in the headliner rattle and were not corrected when i took the vehicle in for repair. seat bottoms are narrow hard uncomfortable like you would expect to find in a sports car. glare from sun shinning on interior chrome is so bad i have had to cover the console with a black towel while driving. trunk space is very small for a car of this size. the engine is fun.
Reliability
   1 / 5
Interior
   0.5 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Rob J 8/23/2017 9:11:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is my 10th Jaguar in the last 20 years. I have also pwned BMW's and Mercedes Benz sedans as well. The Jaguar is the most underrated luxury sedan built today. The fit and finish, workmanship and quality of materials is second to none. The resale value is abysmal for a car in this class, but a great opportunity for purchasing a 1-2 year old vehicle for pennies on the dollar. The maintenance costs are zero for the first five years and the bumper-to-bumper warranty even includes brakes and batteries. The styling in and out are fabulous and the interiors are quiet and tastefully done in fine leathers and woods. The driving experience is very sporty while remaining manageable in daily traffic. My XJ exceeds the posted mileage on the window sticker and on trips over 100 miles will commonly exceed 28 miles per gallon! Not bad for a supercharged 470 HP V8!! The S-Series Mercedes and 7-Series BMW are more expensive and the maintenance costs are astronomical in comparison. I would challenge any BMW or MB sedan to compare with the luxury and reliability of the Jaguars. The last ten (10) of my Jags have only seen the shop for normal scheduled maintenance and the occasional factory changes deemed necessary by the manufacturer, which were completely covered by the factory maintenance program. Truly exceptional automobiles....and you can find them in the parking lot!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 6:38:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It is a great car. It drives and handles exceptionally well. Everyone in my family loves to drive it and I get many compliments on it. It does not only look good, it drives great.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Paula M. 8/21/2017 3:16:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I was very pleased with the XJL, it has been a very reliable car that is both rich in details, as well as stylish, while also being convenient for a mother to drive her children places. The dealership is excellent and has been kind to me for years.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Katherine 8/21/2017 11:14:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Jaguar XJL drives like a dream. Beautiful interior, reliable. Very proud to be driving a perfect driving machine.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mike 8/2/2017 3:50:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Most enjoyable car I have ever owned. Great styling extraordinary comfort and super performance. It gets excellent gas mileage for a car in this class and has the bonus of no maintenance costs for five years. I am very pleased with my decision to purchase this vehicle.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Rob J 7/31/2017 11:45:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Unfortunately the Jaguar is often overlooked by most people as being to expensive to buy and maintain. Years ago that was certainly the case but Jaguar has absolutely changed their reputation with those of us who buy them. I have had ten (10) Jaguars in the past 16 years from 1998(2) 2003 2004 2005 2007 2009 2011 2015 and 2016. None of these automobiles was ever in the shop for more than normal servicing and two (2) recalls for simple things. I have had six (6) XK-series and four (4) XJ-series supercharged and normally aspirated. I previously drove Lincolns Cadillacs and Nissan 300's. A Jaguar with low mileage about 4-5 years old can be had for 30%-35% of their original MSRP and could easily go several hundred-thousand miles. These cars are the best kept secret in the luxury car industry. Their fit and finish exterior and interior styling rival that of the Bentley and Rolls at a small fraction of the price. Anyone considering a luxury sedan or coupe would be wise to test drive a Jag.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jackson K 7/27/2017 6:28:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My New Jaguar is the finest vehicle I've ever own. I love everything about the car. I would highly recommend a test drive. If I had to purchase a vehicle all over again it would be the same car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2016 Jaguar XJ
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Jaguar XJ is the brand’s flagship four-door luxury sedan. With an aluminum body and chassis parts, the XJ is light and nimble for its size, and it gets good fuel mileage, with an EPA-estimated 27 mpg Highway. There are standard and long wheelbase models, in rear-wheel drive or all-wheel drive.

The standard engine is a supercharged 3.0-liter V6 making 340 horsepower, able to accelerate from zero to 60 mph in 5.7 seconds. We have found that engine to be plenty fast.

Also available: a pair of supercharged 5.0-liter V8s. One makes 470 horsepower, while the one in the XJR makes 550 horsepower; they can accelerate from 0-60 in 4.9 and 4.7 seconds, respectively. The XJR gets more performance features, including a firmer suspension, aerodynamic splitter in the front and spoiler in rear, and sporty interior touches.

There is one transmission, a crisp 8-speed automatic that mates well with the supercharged V6 and V8 engines. But it’s the car’s relatively low curb weight that most affects its curb manners. The aluminum body panels are riveted and bonded, bringing the number on the scales down to 4200 pounds, which is several hundred pounds less than the Jaguar’s German competitors.

The Jaguar XJ offers good comfort and a plush interior with supple leather and real wood veneer trim, although the cabin is tight and too shiny for our tastes. It features heated front and rear seats, ventilated and massaging front seats, and ventilated rear seats. Jaguar’s service plan pays for everything but tires for the first five years or 50,000 miles.

The 2016 XJ gets subtle design tweaks. The 2016 Jaguar XJ grille is bolder, larger, straighter and has a new mesh pattern. Adaptive LED headlamps are standard, as is electric power steering on rear-wheel-drive models, and the taillights are restyled. Also new for 2016 is Jaguar’s infotainment system called InControl Touch Pro, with its eight-inch touch screen and navigation that can hook up with a smartphone. The XJL Portfolio and Supercharged models get quilted leather to make the interior even more fabulous.

Supplementing six airbags, safety options include adaptive cruise control that alerts to speed limit changes ahead, blind-spot monitoring that also alerts to cars approaching quickly from behind, and back-up alerts. But there are no lane-drifting alerts, head-up displays, or night vision. The Jaguar’s competition from BMW, Mercedes-Benz, and Audi offer these things.

Model Lineup

The 2016 Jaguar XJ comes in base R-Sport and Portfolio trim with rear-wheel drive or all-wheel drive. The XJL features a long wheelbase for more rear-seat space. The high-performance XJR is rear-wheel drive, standard wheelbase.

Walkaround

The XJ’s rounded edges give it a tucked-in look that’s delightfully under styled. It’s a modern look that’s appropriate to the aluminum skin. Rhomboid headlights complement the big mesh grille. The roofline is drop-dead gorgeous like a fashion model, and the fenders swell to meet the low roofline. The rear pillars are gloss black and seem to sail away, so the rear glass seems to stretch from fender to fender, a classy effect.

Interior

The interior is slathered in chrome. It’s over the top. Light shines in through the expansive sunroof and glares on the glitzy instrument panel. The chrome is contrasted by piano-black trim that’s high quality but common. The trim seems inconsistent with the wide bands of wood on the doors, and the opulent leather headliner.

There’s not a lot of elbow room, headroom or legroom in the cabin, especially in back under that sloping rear window that’s so beautiful to look at from outside the car. The front seats are firm and flat, ventilated and heated, but the front passengers’ inside knees are squeezed against the center console. At least there’s good front legroom so the legs can straighten.

The XJ makes great strides in interfacing, but might overdo it with dazzle. Dials are all but gone, breaking almost entirely away from the tradition of Jaguar sport. What used to be a driver’s car in the cabin, is now a video game player’s car.

There are a few buttons, but most functions are performed using an eight-inch, high-definition LCD that changes colors; soft red for performance, apparently to remind you or make you feel racy. The screen does climate, audio, and navigation functions. Where there’s a button that does the same thing, the button is faster.

Driving Impressions

The aluminum Jaguar XJ feels exceptionally lean and light, athletic and taut. The handling is deft, and the adaptive damping erases the bumps but not the fun. The ventilated disc brakes are big and the feel of the pedal is confident. The Z-rated tires stick like hot rubber.

We have found the 340-horsepower 3.0-liter supercharged V6 the best fit for this car. It’s tractable, responsive and predictable. If you drive on the Autobahn or maybe in Montana or Nevada, then maybe you’d want the V8, either with 470 hp or 550 hp in the XJR, but you would also lose some of the great balance in the handling.

You lose some quickness in the handling with the XJL, but it handles amazingly well for a long-wheelbase sedan.

The ride is kept smooth and pure, on an independent suspension with coil springs in front, and multi links with the electronically adjustable air springs in rear. On supercharged cars, the rear differential is also electronically controlled.

The eight-speed automatic transmission, made by ZF, is tuned to each engine and it shifts quick and smooth, although kickdowns are a bit slow in the Normal mode. There is a Dynamic mode that sharpens the upshifts and matches revs on the downshifts, and a Sport mode that does the same only even more aggressively. These modes also step up the throttle, steering, damping and stability control.

The all-wheel-drive is rear-biased. In Winter mode, from 30 to 50 percent of the torque goes to the front wheels. Jaguar says the system is intended for traction in slippery weather, not cornering with more grip.

Summary

The Jaguar XJ is clearly not a German car. It has lovely lines and understated styling. Its base powertrain with a supercharged V6 and eight-speed automatic is unbeatable, but its cabin is less than roomy, and its instrumentation and trim too glitzy.

Driving impressions by The Car Connection, with Sam Moses reporting from the Pacific Northwest.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2016 Jaguar XJ Sedan 4D L XJR V8 Supercharged local listings

Vehicle History Report

Get answers to buy with confidence
  • Check for accidents
  • Confirm the reported mileage
  • Purchase multiple reports and save

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.