2016 Hyundai Veloster Reviews and Ratings

Coupe 3D I4 Turbo

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2016 Hyundai Veloster.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (24)
Overall Rating
  4.4 / 5
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.3 / 5
Exterior
  4.6 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By Marla 10/6/2017 4:28:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.8 / 5
I love this vehicle! Had my old car for 15 yrs before taking the plunge with a new purchase. Very comfy ride overall although low profile tires and Michigan's poor roads are often in conflict. The heated seats are a real plus on cold/rainy days. Love the compact interior. I'm a short person and it really seems to fit me. I can see over the hood and have no trouble with backing up. Very sporty exterior draws lots of public interest. People are always stopping for a 2nd look. Superior sound system, fast acceleration (turbo) and good gas mileage round out the deal.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4 / 5

By Jack 10/4/2017 2:49:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Hyundai Veloster Turbo is an exceptional vehicle. It's faster and handles better than the 2013 Ford Mustang 5.0 that I traded in. The gas mileage is phenomenal. The third door is always a surprise to people. So far it is very low maintenance, and I would highly recommend to anyone to purchase one
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sandy 10/3/2017 4:05:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Handles very good, good MPG, seats comfortable, front wheel drive get around in snow well. Love the blue app on my phone to start and lock car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Angela 9/29/2017 8:02:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My car is great on gas. Fun to drive and the interior is beautiful. Heated leather seats was a great added option.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 9/5/2017 7:52:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.2 / 5
It's cute and sporty, but it is woefully small inside. The interior is not comfortable, and does not suit my needs
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   1 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Justin 9/4/2017 3:24:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I absolutely love my Veloster Turbo. I looked at a few other vehicles, but the Veloster had almost everything I wanted in a new vehicle: Blue tooth, back-up camera, blind spot mirror, aux/usb hookups, heated seats and most importantly it has a manual transmission. It runs and drives smooth, has a quiet interior, gets great gas mileage, very good A/C, sound system is great and a nice size trunk. I have not found anything that I don't like with the car.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Mason 9/4/2017 11:02:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Hyundai Veloster is a fantastic and fun to drive car. Great acceleration and overall nice car, would recommend to anybody.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mia 9/2/2017 4:15:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love the handeling of this car, the manual transmission is fun to drive and makes me feel like I have more control over the car's overall performance and handeling. I bought this car for my father because the safety features and excellent warranty. I have absolute confidence about my Dad arriving safely to and from his destination. Although it had taken a bit of time and ALOT of patience.. the navigation ensures me he will never get lost. The bluelink is also a blessing, it's a link that can, if necessary,even save his life. Being 76 years old, this gives me true peace of mind. The gas mileage factor also can into play due to his limited income. I have admittedly "overtaken" this car from time to time, just because its fun to drive.<br /> I would definitely buy this car again for my Dad if I had to; the only thing I would change is the manual drive. The dealership only had this model in stock at the time and since my Dad loved to drive manual, I didn't hesitate. Due to his ever changing health conditions, I wish I had thought this option more thoroughly.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Brian 8/27/2017 4:20:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Great performance for the price. Exterior is unique. Interior is not big on features but cannot complain when considering the price.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/27/2017 1:22:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
The 3rd door makes it a lot easier to get into the back seat. Having a hatchback on a sports car is a real plus for carrying larger items, and easy access. We chose the turbo for faster pick up, passing, etc.<br /> I love the key less entry, hands free calling, and back up screen. I've only had it a few months, but love it so far.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Maria 8/25/2017 6:41:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Easy to drive,much easier to park.Excellent gas consuming.Comfortable interior.Like color and workmanship.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By David & Donna 8/25/2017 5:48:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
We had never seen or heard of a Veloster until we saw it on the internet. It has all the technology and features we needed and some we didn't know we wanted. So far we love our Veloster Turbo. The gas mileage is excellent and the comfort and ride are exceptional. The design is impressive. Interior controls are well placed for ease of operation and the navigation system is simple to use. Dealer incentives were generous and our sales experience was simple. We wanted an affordable sports car and this car delivers. We are very pleased with our purchase and will definitely consider Hyundai for our next vehicle.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous 8/25/2017 5:08:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
The 2016 Veloster has an improved ride. The engineers reduced the exterior noises and improved the overall interior ride quailty. This was my biggest issue with my 2014 Veloster.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Hassan 8/23/2017 3:39:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
It's a fun car to drive . comfortable , good performance, and gas mileage. Sporty look and good warranty.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By LJ 8/22/2017 10:02:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.6 / 5
Basic Veloster Turbo 2016<br /> Definitely a car with potential. The interior paneling is pretty standard. The seats are quite fantastic for the price of the car.<br /> The turbo kicks in at around 3000rpm ~18psi, and when it kicks in, you can really feel it.<br /> Originally, I made the trade-in due to my civic hybrid lagging/lacking in power, and rolling backwards on hills. With this car, I have none of those problems. I can fit a road bike in the back if I remove the wheel. Total, the car seats 4 - The roof slopes down in the back, so it won't fit anyone above 5"9 comfortably. One side is a coupe, with a driver seat that can be rolled forward for access to the back, the other side is 2 door. As stated at the beginning, this car has a lot of potential, if you plan to make modifications. The chassis is fairly loose, while the suspension is very stiff. When you hit a bump with the 18" wheels, expect to feel it in your neck, and be ready to readjust your steering once the rear wheels bounce out of trajectory, and regain grip on the ground somewhere you do not expect. (I was able to account for this situation by installing a front suspension bar, rear torsion bar, and rigid collars for the subframe).<br /> If you plan to mount a tow bar of any kind for a bike rack, do note that there is only one model, and it can only support 100lb of suspended weight, or 1000lb of pull weight.<br /> Off the line, this car's FWD tires will spin out if you plan to launch it. The stock tires are not the most grippy, but once all is said and done, and you've completed whatever mods you need to stiffen the turns, or tune for power, this car will adapt, and will please you. My mods are all simple: oil catch can, cone filter, and the aforementioned suspension. I have fun making turns, going straight, getting to, and from work on the daily. MPG Avg: 30 combined.
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Gary H. 8/22/2017 5:33:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Gas mileage,it fun to drive and 10 yrs or 100 thousands miles..it not to long to clean car up...I love it
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/22/2017 4:18:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
FUN TO DRIVE GREAT HANDLING. POWERFUL acceleration w/ turbo 30 mpg overall selectronic shift is fun manual shifting
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Myles A. 8/22/2017 4:01:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The 2016 Veloster Turbo Tech Package Trim is exceptional and a value price. The car comes stock with 201 HP and is peppy enough to put a smile on a everyday commuters smile. These cars would not be suited for people who have children, or for people who car pool as the rear seating headroom is not the best. If your a commuter or a couple without children this would be a great daily car. If your into performance their are tons of aftermarket performance parts to choose from. Again this car is not for everyone, but if you want all the latest tech and a Great Sun/Moon Roof in a Car that is both Quirky in looks, and fun to drive this is it!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Pam 8/21/2017 3:09:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
I love to drive my Hyundai Veloster. I really like my navigation system and the fact that I have keyless entry just click a button also the push button start is a nice feature. My car is very good on gas I usually fill up once a week. I also like the way my car looks on the road.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Robert R. 8/21/2017 2:41:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Style and design of vehicle was great and caught my attention. Having 3 doors made it perfect for me as the driver.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Melissa 8/21/2017 2:37:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
The Hyundai Veloster is a great looking car, both inside and out. I get second glances all the time. It has been great on gas, and fun to drive. I average about 32 MPG, sometimes more.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous 8/18/2017 1:30:00 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The veloster is very chic and stylish. The interior is nice and I love the backup camera and Bluetooth feature. This was a big atpemupmfrom my old 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix with very high mileage. I'm happy I decided to take the veloster because it's very gas friendly and easy on the pockets.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 8/13/2017 5:09:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I knew I wanted a Veloster before I even visited the dealership, and it has not disappointed. It handles well, gets good gas mileage, and the striking appearance has drawn many compliments. It is extremely comfortable for such a small car and has good cargo space. This is a fun car!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Lou 8/1/2017 10:05:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I was a BMW owner/leaser for the last 10 years and was surprised to find Hyundai is a great value for a low lease payment.With little money down and a reasonably low payment the Turbo Veloster came really well equipped with heated seatsnavigationparking sensors and back up camera. It also has an sporty look inside and out. It is not the fastest car but has enough power and is pretty fun to drive.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2016 Hyundai Veloster
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Hyundai Veloster is unique. It’s an adventurous and daring design, an interesting combination of hatchback with smart packaging, sport coupe with appealing quirks, and activity vehicle. If you want different, the Veloster is for you. Many vehicles have tried like this to be a combination of things, but we can’t think of any that have succeeded like the Veloster.

However, if it’s a jack of three trades, it’s master of none, and sometimes even feels like a coupe that makes no compromises, good mostly for young singles or couples. It’s definitely not a four-person commuter. It has one door on the driver’s side and a short rear door on the passenger side. Call it a three-door coupe or a four-door (not five-door) hatchback.

The standard engine is a 1.6-liter four-cylinder making 138 horsepower, with either a 6-speed manual transmission or a dual-clutch automatic, both good. Being based on the subcompact Accent, it gets a penny-pinching 27/35 miles per gallon City/Highway rating from the EPA. If you want more torque, and you might, there is Veloster twin-scroll Turbo that makes 201 hp and 195 pound-feet of torque, with a 6-speed manual or paddle-shifting automatic, which can handle the torque better than the twin-clutch. It can spurt to 60 mph in about seven seconds, with better brakes and grippier tires, and gets about three mpg less.

There’s also the Veloster Turbo R-Spec model with a firmer suspension, tighter electric power steering, B&M sport shifter and sporty interior trim. Meanwhile some things are stripped, such as the pushbutton starter, electroluminescent gauges, mirror turn signals, and leather heated seats.

New for 2016 are the standard 17-inch and optional 18-inch alloy wheels, black seats with yellow inserts, and a seven-inch touch screen with navigation, HD Radio, Apple Siri, SiriusXM Travel Link, and the latest Blue Link telematics.

In government NHTSA crash testing, the Veloster gets five stars overall with four stars in frontal impact and rollover. The IIHS rates it Marginal in the small frontal overlap test (telephone pole), Acceptable in side impact, and the top Good rating all other categories.

Model Lineup

The 2016 Hyundai Veloster 3-door coupe with 6-speed manual retails for $18,000, and with the twin clutch automatic it’s $19,100.

Veloster Turbo with manual retails for $22,600; Veloster Turbo with paddle-shifting automatic lists for $23,800. Options on the Turbo include leather, 18-inch wheels, rearview camera and huge panoramic sunroof. (All prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Walkaround

We wouldn’t call the Hyundai Veloster beautiful, despite its curvaceous roofline, just distinctive, with proportions unlike anything else on the road. There’s not a lot of trim tarting it up; instead, it stands out with the use of LED headlamps and taillamps, a big black grille, and side skirts.

Interior

Inside, the Veloster tosses some conventions aside, although it doesn’t set trends like the sheetmetal does. Not unless you count the motorcycle-inspired bits, for example a center console that’s intended to look like a bike saddle, and air vents suggesting tailpipes. There’s a good number of nooks, bins and cubbies. On the Turbo, there’s a giant start button.

For a compact car it’s spacious in front, but in the rear it’s only playful, not exactly practical. The small door makes climbing in and out a challenge for adults. It works better with the rear seat dropped for a road trip for two, or for carrying gear for a weekend.

Driving Impressions

As the engine comes from the humble Accent, some dynamic parts come from the unexciting Elantra, but thanks to good engineering the Veloster doesn’t seem to suffer. Both transmissions are good, and the base engine, if shy on torque, is quite happy to rev. Meanwhile the Turbo’s 195 foot-pounds of torque are available at low revs.

The cornering is fairly flat and mostly crisp, although on patchy pavement it can get unsettled. The Turbo gets stronger brakes and tires with more grip, for more aggressive dynamics. However, the steering offers weighting and feedback that’s less precise than we would have liked. The R-Spec adds a stiffer suspension and B&M sport shifter. The ride is less comfortable than the turbo, without offering much better performance.

Summary

If you like the quirky looks (we do), and can live with the single small rear door (we can), the Hyundai Veloster has a lot going for it. Decent power and cornering, good transmissions. It turns heads, is fun to drive, and gets great fuel mileage.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
5 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2016 Hyundai Veloster Coupe 3D I4 Turbo local listings

Vehicle History Report

Get answers to buy with confidence
  • Check for accidents
  • Confirm the reported mileage
  • Purchase multiple reports and save

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.