Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
23 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
fast
August 06, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
love this car perfect sporty car for small family
jorge
December 06, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
it is wonderfull black 4 doors
bob
July 11, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought new with only 91 miles on it. A 2016 SXT sport model - handles really well and so far, 28 mpg city and 34 mpg hwy. This is a great car for driving and looks.
Mrs.mj
May 03, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I own a 2016 Dodge Dart SE Rallye , its a great little car with Bluetooth voice command for my smartphone has all the bells and whistles you want plus more, even rear view mirror mic. Comfortable ride, 17in alloy sport wheels ,handling,power,performance, great on fuel economy, best first new car I''ve ever owned and I have been more than pleased with all my Dodge Dart experience as a owner. I am always going to admire the Best of the Dodge Dart Sedan and looking forward to owning a new one in the future.
Ron9211
March 26, 2018
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Beth253
March 04, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car gets up and goes. It has a nice look. My giant son can fit in it. But I find the seats to be uncomfortable, and its hard for me to see out of. Im average height. And it feels like Im crawling into a hole when I get in it. Tudes well on the highway, but wouldnt recommend it for extended road trips.
Jamin
February 17, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Dachshund94
January 29, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I would LOVE this car if it didnt have an issue every other week. This car has turned me pretty sour on dodge, even though its well maintained, it has spent half of its life on a lift at the dealership. Failed engine, failed brakes, failed pcm and bcm, the list goes on. 26k oil changed every 4-5k, maintained exactly as the manual states by the dealer, still is the worst thing Ive ever owned.
Gerry
January 02, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Just dissapointed because of the low power (2.4l) poor acceleration (6 speed) heavy car, and bad fuel economy. There should be alittle bit more HP and torque with the 2.4l, there are 1.8l engines with the sae or more HP.
Chris
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 07, 2017
2,200 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car for the price. It looks great too. I added a few decals and stripes so it stands out from the crowd
Anonymous
September 18, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Larry
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 09, 2017
6,000 miles
|
Owned 3 months
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Not Rated
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car is very under powered. The brakes seem weak. The mounting brackets for the seats are rusted. The radio doesn't work correctly and the dealership is uninterested in fixing it. The trunk leaks. DO NOT BUY!
Tyler
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
6,243 miles
|
Owned 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Dodge Dart and I love the features that came with the model I bought which was the GT. It doesn't get as good of gas mileage as I'd hoped for but it's a truly fun car to drive and I thoroughly enjoy my long commute to work now.
Paul
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
3,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Its a solid little car. But not without problems. Props to them for doing a good job with the extras. All the displays and radio and gps and bluetooth and all work incredibly well. The only concern i have is the engine itself. It seems like its always trying harder than it should to accomplish what it needs to.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It's a fun car to drive,the steering and handling is good.acceloration is nice.but slow off the line.has a stubble every once and awhile
Mike
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 22, 2017
2,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Dodge Dart is a real spiffy car good gas mileage and more than enough power to get in and out of spots. Handles real well and has a lot of nice features.
Gregg
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
4,700 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I recently purchased a 2016 Dodge Dart. It has a great look to it, perfectly balancing the safety and comfort of a sedan, while also having the handling, performance, and the look of a sports car. I also really love the color, (Silver) the included rim package, as well at the modern conveniences of Bluetooth audio, voice recognition as well as this vehicle was one of the only ones in town with a manual transmission. I also had a very positive, painless buying process at my local Dodge dealer. If anyone reading this is considering purchasing a Dodge Dart, or purchasing a vehicle from a Dodge dealer, I am more than confident that you will be happy with the overall buying process, service, and performance of your vehicle.
Holly
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
4,500 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The car itself is spectacular. Great ride, ver smootj, great power. I dont think I would buy it for my teenager, but I do like it for myself.
Doug C
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 19, 2017
3,100 miles
|
Owned 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I purchased a 2016 Dodge Dart with the Ralley package. The car had only 16 miles on it when I drove it off the lot. The Dart handles very well on all kinds of road conditions. The interior is very comfortable and stylish. All the controls are easy to use and understand. While the fuel economy might be a bit low for it's class, it does really well overall. The sticker showed an average of 29 MPG combined, I've been averaging 30.5 MPG. I would recommend this car to any small family, a college student or single person. The look is just tough enough to be a Dodge and it's stylish as well. I think it honors the Dart badge heritage nicely.
Michael
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 16, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 5 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great fuel economy, perfect ride. Best features - Interior feel.
Nick
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 14, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
very nice car faster than i thoght. Best features - the tires
Leon Freer
September 01, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought my 2016 Dodge Dart SE/Rallye back in April and couldnt be happier with it. I am 6''4" and have to slide the seat up two notches from all the way back. The only complaint I have is the lack of options on the SE trim level..... (no Sat radio, remote start, etc) The SE is the only model that offers the 2.0 Tigershark and is all in all a great engine. This is an excellent car for the commuter you definately buy it for economy and not speed. But all in all I am very impressed with it and would buy another. :)
Frank
July 29, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought this car on a trade in of my Expedition EL because we never drove it. My previous commuter car was a 1998 Oldsmobile. I had never driven a dart before and was skeptical when I first saw its size. (I''m 6''4"). I was impressed with the comfort and headroom with it being a compact sedan. It seems to drive great and handles well. My biggest surprise was the first time I filled up the tank from empty, I had driven 485 on that tank (mostly highway) and it only cost me $22 to fill up and top off. I drive about 125mi round trip in this car and overall I love it. Not a sports car, but its gre
2016 Dodge 1052 Dart 28496 377509
Write a Review for the 2016 Dodge Dart
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Dodge Dart boasts distinctive styling, a spacious interior with abundant features and strong safety ratings in a compact sedan. The Dart has established a solid reputation, competing against such long-standing models as the Ford Focus, Chevrolet Cruze, and Toyota Corolla. The Dart offers a choice of three engines.

The Dart, a front-wheel-drive sport compact, joined the Dodge lineup for the 2013 model year. For 2016, a new Sport Appearance Hood is optional for Dart GT and Dart SXT models with either a Rallye or Blacktop package. Otherwise, the Dart carries over largely unchanged. The Dart name dates from the 1960s.

We have found the Dart drives well and delivers on the promise of sporty handling. The base engine lacks any spirit and does not live up to the sportiness of the rest of the car, however. The Dart Aero model offers excellent fuel economy when cruising on the highway, but gas-mileage figures for the rest of the lineup are not compelling. Drivers get a good seating position in the Dart, but road noise and tire noise are prevalent.

The standard engine for the Dodge Dart is a 160-horsepower, 2.0-liter four-cylinder, with either a 6-speed manual or 6-speed automatic transmission. Fuel economy for the base Dart SE with the 2.0-liter engine and manual gearbox is EPA-rated at 25/36 mpg City/Highway, 29 mpg Combined; with the automatic it’s 24/34 mpg, or 27 mpg Combined.

A better choice is the 160-horsepower, turbocharged 1.4-liter engine that comes with Dart Aero models, matched to either a 6-speed manual gearbox or a dual-clutch automatic transmission. While horsepower is the same as the 2.0-liter, the turbocharged engine offers more torque, which propels the car more briskly from standing starts. The Dart Aero manages an EPA-estimate of 28/41 mpg City/Highway, that highway figure being particularly impressive.

Most powerful is the Dart SXT, GT and Limited sedans get a 184-horsepower, 2.4-liter engine. The Dart Limited with automatic transmission is EPA-rated at 23/35 mpg City/Highway, or 27 mpg Combined.

The Dart earned a five-star overall rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, NHTSA’s top score. The Dart also earned Top Safety Pick status from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. That combination of crash-test scores makes it one of the highest-rated cars for safety in this class, topped only by the Honda Civic.

Model Lineup

The 2016 Dodge Dart comes in five trim levels:

Dart SE ($16,695) has the 2.0-liter engine, with 6-speed manual or optional 6-speed automatic transmission. Standard equipment includes cloth seats with mesh inserts, Uconnect four-speaker radio with CD player, and 16-inch steel wheels. (All prices are MSRP and do not include $995 destination charge.)

Dart SXT ($19,000) uses the 2.4-liter engine and manual or optional automatic transmission. Upgrades include LED taillamps, automatic headlights, cruise control, six-speaker radio, Uconnect voice command with Bluetooth, and 60/40-split folding rear seat.

Dart Aero ($20,495) gets the 1.4-liter turbocharged engine and 6-speed manual or optional dual-clutch 6-speed transmission. Standard are a chrome grille, 8.4-inch touchscreen, configurable gauges, rearview camera, and 16-inch aluminum wheels.

Dart Limited ($23,795) has the 2.4-liter engine mated with the 6-speed automatic. Included are a touring suspension, dual-zone automatic climate control, Nappa leather upholstery, heated front seats and steering wheel, SiriusXM radio, and 17-inch aluminum wheels.

Dart GT ($21,995) adds a frequency-sensing sports suspension, performance steering and gear ratios, pushbutton start, rearview camera, and 18-inch wheels.

Safety features on all models include 10 airbags, along with basic electronic safety systems. Blind-spot alert and cross-traffic detection are options.

Walkaround

With its wide stance and seemingly low cowl, the Dodge Dart looks more substantial than some other models in its class.

Like the larger Dodge Charger sedan, with its chunky, spirited appearance, the Dart suggests a sense of dignity and seriousness that isn’t always present in an affordable model. A long, smoothly flowing roofline and low fender tops help differentiate Dart from the more boxy look of a Cruze or Focus.

Interior

Inside, a flowing dashboard builds upon the sporty-looking exterior. Upper-level models feature an 8.4-inch display that handles navigation, climate, and audio controls. A smaller screen, offering vehicle information, sits between gauges.

Unlike some compacts, the Dart is amazingly spacious. In some ways, it’s virtually a midsize sedan. Seats are comfortable in both the front and the rear. Considering the Dart’s profile, the seating position is higher than you might expect.

For a relatively low-priced compact, the cabin appointments come across as warm and inviting. Just about everywhere you’re likely to touch, the surfaces feel soft and coordinate neatly with the details of the dashboard. Large swaths of textured plastic detract from potential elegance, however.

Outward visibility is impressive. That’s not such a common appraisal in this era of strengthened roofs.

Driving Impressions

Engine choice determines whether a Dart behaves like a sporty car or an economy machine. Performance is not always as inspiring as exterior styling suggests.

Darts are heavier than most compact sedans, so the standard 160-horsepower 2.0-liter four-cylinder can result in sluggish response when merging into heavy freeway traffic, especially on an uphill ramp while heavily loaded. Even when simply rolling down the highway with friends or family aboard, lack of energetic reactions can be noticeable. On the plus side, the 6-speed automatic transmission that most buyers select does a great job of choosing the right gear at the right time.

Pick the turbocharged, 160-horsepower 1.4-liter engine and, despite identical horsepower, you’ll quickly notice additional torque, resulting in better acceleration and a sportier, more responsive driving experience. Even with the turbo, though, you’ll have to keep your foot firmly pushed into the accelerator pedal much of the time, to make those pleasing actions take place. In part, that’s because the transmission is geared tall, to keep the engine revs low at highway cruising speeds, which helps fuel economy. That translates to less-exuberant performance while acceleration toward higher velocities.

If you’re willing to relinquish a few miles-per-gallon, we believe the best option in the lineup is the 184-horsepower, 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine, which is standard in SXT, Limited, and GT models. In SXT and GT, the 2.4-liter is available with either a manual gearbox or an automatic transmission, while the Limited is automatic-only.

Summary

With three engine choices and three transmission possibilities, the Dart has several personalities. Although the Dart is hardly a sports sedan, it demonstrates more sportiness in both appearance and behavior than many shoppers might suspect.

Driving impressions by Bengt Halvorson, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2016 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2016 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Dodges for Sale
Find 2016 Dodge Dart listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2016 Dodge Dart
324
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel