Consumer Reviews
4.8
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
16 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
LOTSA BHP & FT LBS
November 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Own a 2005 300C with original rereleased 5.7L Hemi. Bought it new and kept mint. Put all 117K miles on her. Car is great, BUT THIS ''16 RT Road and Track is a different level of ride. I worked for them from ''99 until almost ''05 (During Daimler Chrysler times), so I''ve had a few of their rides. As far as combining luxury and muscle, they have it down right. I looked at the RT to the Hellcat and I couldn''t justify over $20K more, though very tempting. Put a K&N Cold Air Intake on and Flowmasters or Magnaflows and you''ll have a BEAST! The extra $15K+ in your pocket is for gas and a long road
Olie
September 25, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Kicks ***
Go Man Go
August 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Lots of fun and practical too
vicious scat
July 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Yasss!
Terror
April 09, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Gets the looks.
Anonymous
February 23, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Scatman16
January 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Unbelievable power(485hp), styling and options for your money. No other sedan comes close!!! Dodge did it right!!!
Douglas H.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 02, 2017
7,500 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my vehicle upgrade from a two door to a four door. I love the fuel savings, the extra room and most of all the Bluetooth
Penny
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 30, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It Is a fun,sporty and comfortable car to drive. Gets good gas mileage. Very reliable vehicle. Mine has heated and cooled seats. It’s like driving a Lazyboy recliner!
whiskey
September 12, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 12, 2017
8,400 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I'm excited about my New Dodge Charger. I wouldn't have never thought I would be a Dodge Owner. Long time Chevy Rider, however Dodge has definitely won me over. Heads turn every time I drive. Endless compliments.
MONA
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 07, 2017
8,000 miles
|
Owned 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Dodge Charger RT! My previous car was a Cadillac ATS, very nice car, but not a Charger. I am a 62 year old woman and I love cars, always have. I have driven SUV's, sports cars, full size vans. just about every type of vehicle. I can honestly say that my Charger is my favorite car to date. The color is beautiful and fun! It is red, and I do mean RED!!! The performance is great, I am a self professed hot rod. The interior is very comfortable and looks great. The car is loaded, I can't imagine what else I could want. I really like the lane change warning system, very nice safety feature. I also like the navigation and the automatic bright light system. I have received a lot of compliments on my car. Overall I am 100% satisfied with my Charger!!!
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
12,000 miles
|
Owned 11 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
High performance with great highway mileage and comfort. Can carry four adults comfortably. Would like to see this model lose a little weight.
Tim
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
10,000 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Top of the line safety features that we love. The responsiveness of the acceleration and maneuverability is awesome!
AdamG
August 01, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Had a 2007 R/T with the road and track package and have now moved up to the "Scat Pack". With a 6.4L Hemi making roughly 500hp this vehicle is a crazy performer for the price of entry. Fits my family of 4 with tons of room to spare. I got mine fully loaded with adaptive cruise control, ventilated seats, backup camera, navigation (with live traffic updates) auto high beams, active lane assist and much more. Nice to know you can get all this tech on a Dodge muscle car!
Charles
May 30, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Oh my goodness, this car is fast! 0-60 in 3.2 sec. And the roar that comes from the exhaust will turn every head for miles. Very comfortable, great Harmon sound system, and I like the uconnect. Nav works well. And room for 5 adults with 4 full sized doors is fantastic. This is a unique car on almost the same level as most european supercars. When I drive it around town, people are hanging out of other cars taking pics and video with their smartphones. And there is so much hype about the horsepower, you''ll never actually need to race it. Sit back, relax and drive slowly, and let em wonder.
2016 Dodge 1052 Charger 28570 378129
Write a Review for the 2016 Dodge Charger
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

The Dodge Charger is a family sedan with the heart of a muscle car, available in a range of models from powerful to outlandish. Still a heavy and fuel-thirsty vehicle, the Charger shows off its clean, modern lines, while the simple interior layout relies on premium materials. Passengers can expect satisfying space and comfort, though the back seat is snug for a car of this size.

For 2016, Charger adds a Super Track Pak for V6 models and a new Blacktop Appearance package. The 2016 Challenger SRT 392 gains additional equipment. New technical features for 2016 include a drag-and-drop menu bar on the 8.4-inch touchscreen control interface, Siri Eyes Free voice control, a Do Not Disturb feature, and a digital owner’s manual. Dodge offers heritage color options, including Plum Crazy that is new for the 2016 model year. The lineup was refreshed for 2015.

Charger SE and Charger SXT models come with Chrysler’s Pentastar 3.6-liter V6, producing 292 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque, which delivers a satisfying driving experience. V6 output rises to 300 hp and 264 pound-feet in an SXT with the Rallye Appearance Group, consisting of cold-air intake, engine-control software revisions, and a different exhaust setup. An 8-speed automatic is the sole transmission. We have found the V6 models to be quite responsive. Few drivers really need more, unless they simply cannot do without that familiar V8 sound and response.

In the V8 group, R/T is the starting point, with a 5.7-liter Hemi that makes 370 horsepower and 395 pound-feet.

Stepping up a sizable power notch, R/T Scat Pack and SRT 392 models unleash a 485-horsepower, 6.4-liter V8 that’s a lot stronger than the 5.7, delivering 0-60 mph acceleration time in the mid four-second range.

Reaching from the sublime to the outrageous, the Charger SRT Hellcat contains the same 707-horsepower, supercharged 6.2-liter V8 as the Challenger SRT Hellcat, but the sedan accelerates even more quickly (0-60 mph in 3.7 seconds, says Dodge). The SRT 392 and Hellcat upgrade to huge Brembo brakes, as well as multi-mode adaptive damping.

The V6 models are fuel-responsible, but the V8s tend to guzzle, even with cylinder-deactivation on some versions. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety gives Charger Good ratings, its highest score, in all categories except the small front overlap crash test.

Model Lineup

The 2016 Dodge Charger comes in sSeven distinct models. Rear-wheel drive is standard; all-wheel drive is available for the V6-powered Charger SE and SXT.

Charger SE ($27,995) includes power locks and seats, AM/FM/CD audio with touchscreen control, Uconnect services, and Wi-Fi hotspot. Charger SXT ($29,995) upgrades with dual-zone automatic climate control, Alpine premium audio, 8.4-inch touchscreen, satellite radio, Bluetooth, 18-inch alloy wheels. The Super Track Pak option lowers the suspension 0.5 inch and adds high-performance steering, firmer suspension tuning, and Performance Pages. (All prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Charger R/T ($33,695) gets the 5.7-liter V8, die-cast paddle shifters, and a sport suspension. The R/T Road & Track includes performance tires on 20-inch wheels, a performance powertrain controller, 3.07 rear axle, and heated/ventilated sport seats.

R/T Scat Pack ($39,995) is the heritage model, with a 6.4-liter V8, power bulge hood, aluminum pedals, high-performance suspension, 20-inch black/satin wheels, Brembo four-piston brakes, and an active exhaust system.

The SRT 392 ($50,995) gets premium Laguna leather upholstery, navigation, HD radio, power passenger seat and heated rear seats, plus a Brembo six-piston ultra-high performance brake package. Bilstein adaptive damping has Auto, Sport, and Track modes.

SRT Hellcat ($65,945) gets the monster V8, Sport, Track, and Eco modes. A red and black keyfob is included, with the black one reducing engine output to 500 horsepower. A 900-watt, 18-speaker Harman Kardon premium audio system is standard, as are a flat-bottom heated steering wheel and T-handle shifter.

Safety features include full-length side-curtain airbags and a driver’s knee bag. Rear park assist and a rearview camera are standard on the R/T Scat Pack model and above. Rear Cross Path Detection is standard on SRT 392 and SRT Hellcat, with Blind Spot Monitoring on the Hellcat. Also available: Lane Departure Warning with Lane Keep Assist, Full-speed Forward Collision Warning-Plus, and Adaptive Cruise Control-Plus.

Walkaround

Retro-look coupes are common enough, but the Dodge Charger is one of few four-doors to combine elements of old muscle car styling with clean, modern aesthetics. Its Coke-bottle profile harks back to the Sixties, but short front/rear overhangs and large wheels suggest modern performance. Any Charger looks like it will slip powerfully through the air rather than merely charge ahead with brute force. The latest Charger looks more like a midsize car, with an authoritative presence, than a full-size sedan.

In addition to a low nose with a slim blacked-out crosshair grille, Chargers have a tall beltline. Projector headlights are surrounded by C-shaped LED daytime running lights. LED racetrack-style rear lights are a Charger signature.

Interior

Big front doors make getting in and out of the front seats easy, and the elongated roofline eases entry into the back seat. An upright profile brings plenty of headroom for everyone, though leg space in back is somewhat limited. Front seats are wide and well-bolstered.

Interior materials excel in the quiet, sophisticated cabin, with ample soft-touch materials and impressive switchgear. With a V8, all you hear is throaty, enticing engine rumble.

Connectivity and entertainment features are refreshingly simple. A seven-inch thin-film TFT screen sits in the center of the instrument cluster, while the center stack contains a Uconnect touchscreen up to 8.4 inches across. Icons are large enough to be tapped easily with a fingertip, and the interface is easy to understand.

Driving Impressions

Across the lineup, Chargers hit and surpass the mark on performance, given their level of comfort and everyday usability. They also handle surprisingly well for a big, heavy sedan. Except for a bit of lean and body roll, a Charger is much more nimble than a Ford Taurus or Chevrolet Impala. Ride quality is on the firm side, but quite comfortable.

Satisfying and quite responsive with the V6, the Charger imparts a secure, confident feel. A V6 is really all that most drivers need.

Still, you can’t beat the character and firepower of eight cylinders. With any V8, the 8-speed transmission allows relaxed mid-throttle passing. Typical of American V8s, the R/T provides plentiful low-rpm torque, and the automatic performs flawlessly, though the engine is quite vocal.

V6-powered Chargers are EPA-rated at 19/31 mpg City/Highway, 23 mpg Combined; all-wheel drive drops the figures to 18/27 mpg. The 5.7-liter Hemi V8 is EPA-rated at 16/25 mpg City/Highway, or 19 mpg Combined. Hellcat? Think 13/22 mpg, or 16 mpg Combined.

Summary

The Dodge Charger brings pony-car fun to a big four-door sedan, long on comfort and day-to-day usability. A range of models and options widens its appeal.

Driving impressions by Kirk Bell, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2016 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2016 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Dodges for Sale
Find 2016 Dodge Charger listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2016 Dodge Charger
520
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel