2016 Dodge Challenger Reviews and Ratings

Coupe 2D SRT Hellcat V8 Supercharged

CHANGE CAR
COMPARE
Consumer Reviews
4.9
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
22 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Frank Fairchild
September 25, 2019
5,000 miles
|
Owned 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2016 Dodge Challenger Hellcat is a great car so far. The fit and finish is great. The manual transmission is a blast to drive and she pulls like a train. The restro style, especially, in ack is call six and menacing. It’s a lot of car and you need to stay on top of things. I’ve owned several high performance vehicles, yet, this is the only one that’s keep me on my toes as much. I can see why some folks get in a bit of trouble with them. Fun vehicle.
Woo
July 20, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Awesome car; mucho horses; still kicks
Bone
July 19, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
BIGDOG
April 30, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love the 4cyl mode and the power would be nice if there was a switch to just make it 4cyl and when you want all that power to burn them,wheels hit the switch. Love this car attention getter were ever it goes.enough room inside for all 4 passengers average size 57 to 59 185.lbs trunk has enough room for groceries.
Jimschall
March 20, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love this car. The power and handling is beyond great. Every time I go out in it is a fun experience. I''d certainly recommend this car to anyone who wants performance in their transportation. Or if you just want a fun hot rod too.
Hellcat challenger
January 04, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
20,000 miles. Exceptionaly in condition
Emo
December 02, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
seant
October 23, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The seats are not really comfortable for someone like me who is a bit bigger than most but its a muscle car its not meant for complete comfort. The power and handling were well above what i expected and the fuel economy for being a large v8 is astronomical.
Katie
August 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Most awesome muscle car on the road! Super fun to drive!
Rsl0311
May 16, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great vehicle got mine used. Tons of power and very comfortable. Definitely drives like a high end supercar but the price is not. Also you can get 25 mpg on highway with 700 plus hp!!!!
Anonymous
April 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car , killer good looks and fast I own two of them.
Chuck
April 29, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
A
gary
March 20, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2016 Dodge Challenger, Hellcat, 707HP
Rosie
January 06, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I need to sale this.
Anonymous
December 21, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Derrick
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
September 09, 2017
9,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
"I LOVE my Scat Pack Shaker 392 HEMI ! The only thing that could be better would be spending up to get the Hellcat. The one challenge for this awesome Challenger is keeping rear tires on it :)"
Jacob
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 23, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have the challenger rt scat pack. I liked it because compared to other sport cars in the area (camaro mustang)it had a ton of features for the price. We use it for trips and its great. Only reason i didnt rate it 5 star is because some of the plastic is cheap looking on the grill and i dislike the nanny programming that reduces power in lower gears. When I purchased a 500hp sport car i wasnt expecting factory detuning to limit theottle responce. Other than that its great.
Jeff
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 21, 2017
4,000 miles
|
Owned 6 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
2016 Dodge Challenger R/T Plus is the best purchase I have made, this car has it all, it's like driving a fighter jet, all the features are right there within a comfortable reach on the large touch screen or right on the steering wheel. There is no specific feature I can say is better, everything in this vehicle is excellent. If I had to pick a slight dislike, it's the back seating, great for kids and smaller people, so it's really a 2 person car, but I didn't buy it to drive more than 2, it's a 21st century muscle car. As far as the exterior, Dodge did this car right, it is the only muscle car of the big 3 manufacturers that kept the 1970's style and look, you can't mistake a Challenger on the road. The only other car I would consider, if I could afford it, would be a Challenger Demon.
Michael
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
August 14, 2017
6,300 miles
|
Owned 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
good handling, good performance, strong power. This car performs almost as well as a Porsche....I have had three .
Paul Lincoln
August 30, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Not only POWERFUL, but while bringing the car home i averaged 33 miles to the gallon thanks to 4 cylinder mode. I have gotten more compliments on it, and am so happy I decided to go with the challenger. The 9 speaker Alpine system with sub woofer I thought would have much better sound than it does, and not very loud either. BE CAREFUL though Dodge does not give you all the benefits of the scat pack unless you opt for the scat pack upgrade. I have the scat pack pretty loaded but no bee on seat, which means no cool bee when you start the car on the splash screen. NO updates to fix this issue.
SAL APUZZIO
February 23, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
EXCELENT CAR
Jason I Foca
February 07, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
very Happy with The 2016 R/T Challenger Shaker
2016 Dodge 1052 Challenger 28519 377762
Write a Review for the 2016 Dodge Challenger
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

New Car Test Drive
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Big and heavy, the 2016 Dodge Challenger offers more touring comfort than other muscle cars. The Challenger is a two-door coupe, but it’s a bigger car than the Chevrolet Camaro and Ford Mustang. A diversity of models and a variety of engines lets owners choose a comfortable daily driver, a dragstrip battler, an outrageous Hellcat, or a colorful reminder of the past.

Exterior design follows patterns from the classic original Challenger, launched back in 1971. Challenger has always been the largest, most blocky-looking American muscle car, intensifying its road presence. Revived for 2008, the modern version is more touring coupe than raucous plaything: vigorous but comfortable, delivering a surprisingly supple ride.

Following a freshening for 2015, a new Blacktop Appearance group is available for the 2016 Challenger, with black accents and available Plum Crazy paint. The Hellcat gains Laguna leather.

Picking a favorite isn’t easy, with 10 versions available: Challenger SXT, SXT Plus, R/T, R/T Plus, R/T Shaker, R/T Plus Shaker, R/T Scat Pack, 392 Hemi Scat Pack Shaker, SRT 392, and SRT Hellcat. Customization options mean no two Challengers need be identical.

A 305-horsepower 3.6-liter V6 comes in the Challenger SXT. The 5.7-liter Hemi V8, standard in R/T, is rated at 375 horsepower and 410 pound-feet of torque. Next up, in the R/T Scat Pack and SRT 392, is a 6.4-liter Hemi V8 that produces 485 horsepower and 475 pound-feet. Top dog is the supercharged 6.2-liter V8 in the SRT Hellcat, whipping up 707 horsepower and 650 pound-feet.

All four engines mate with an 8-speed automatic transmission, with Sport Mode and paddle shifters. A 6-speed manual gearbox remains available for V8 models. Like all three competitors, the Challenger has a rear-wheel-drive layout with independent rear suspension. Suspension tuning varies according to model. The 2016 Challenger SXT is a little firmer than the 2015 version.

Despite its size and retro look, access to the back seat is awkward, and visibility is poor. Fuel consumption wins no prizes, either.

Safety ratings score well. The National Highway Traffic Highway Safety Administration (NHTSA) gives a five-star rating overall, with a four-star rating for frontal impacts and five stars for side impacts.

Model Lineup

The 2016 Dodge Challenger comes in 10 trim levels. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Challenger SXT ($26,995) comes with the V6 and automatic, dual-zone automatic climate control, a 7-inch display screen, 5-inch Uconnect touchscreen, Bluetooth, power driver’s seat, auto-dimming rearview mirror, leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob, automatic headlights, and 18-inch aluminum wheels.

Plus version are upgraded with leather seating, heated/ventilated front seats, a heated steering wheel, 8.4-inch Connect touchscreen, rear parking sensors, and rearview camera.

Challenger R/T ($31,995) gets the 5.7-liter V8, performance brakes, and 20-inch wheels. SXT and R/T models can be ordered with the new Blacktop Appearance package. A Super Track Pak option brings lowered ride height, larger sway bars, Bilstein shocks, and more. R/T Shaker ($35,795) adds a shaker hood scoop, black stripes, black grille surround, and 20-inch aluminum wheels with black pockets. It also includes equipment from the Super Track Pak.

Challenger R/T Scat Pack ($38,995) gets the 485-hp, 6.4-liter Hemi V8, plus four-piston Brembo brakes, performance suspension and steering wheel, cloth seats, large aero splitter, rearview camera, and Performance Pages. Challenger 392 Hemi Scat Pack Shaker ($43,595) has the 485-hp V8, with a functional shaker hood. SRT 392 ($49,195) also gets the 485-hp Hemi, plus a Viper-inspired hood, Brembo brakes with six-piston calipers, adaptive-damping suspension, special Nappa leather seats, flat-bottom steering wheel, and 900-watt Harman Kardon audio.

Challenger SRT Hellcat ($59,995) packs a 707-horsepower, 6.2-liter supercharged V8, along with a 6-speed manual gearbox and plenty of performance goodies to complement Dodge’s flagship coupe.

Safety features include seat-mounted side pelvic-thorax airbags and front knee airbags. Adaptive cruise control is available, as are forward collision warning, blind-spot monitoring, rear cross path detection, and a rearview camera.

Walkaround

Bold and brawny, the Challenger might even be branded beautiful, depending on whose eyes are doing the gazing. The basic body shape features a long nose, flat decklid, and thick roof pillars inspired by the 1970s versions. Big and wide, Challenger is more connected to its automotive ancestors than Mustang or Camaro.

A split grille sits within a slim front opening, with projector headlamps surrounded by LED halos. The functional "power bulge" hood may be fitted with various scoops. LED taillamps have a glossy piano black surround.

Interior

The spacious front seats feel like they belong in a luxury car: soft yet supportive, though thinner occupants might lack side support. The driver faces a modern dashboard, filled with soft-touch surfaces and a contemporary instrument cluster, with a simple interface.

Of the three retro American muscle coupes, the Challenger is the only one to seat five. Squeezing into the back seat demands some acrobatics, due in part to the tapering roofline, and only two adults will actually be comfortable. A third party won’t appreciate the protruding center hump.

At 16.2 cubic feet, the trunk is larger than those of some midsize sedans.

Driving Impressions

The Dodge Challenger is quick when traveling in a straight line. The Challenger can cope with a curvy road course and is fun to drive on a racing circuit, though it will get left behind by a comparable Camaro or Mustang. Still, in any form, the Challenger handles well enough to feel secure. Nimble it is not, but a Challenger should please anyone who craves this particular brand of American performance.

Ride comfort is a bonus with any Challenger. Even the aggressive SRT Hellcat is surprisingly comfortable, only somewhat firmer than lower-level models. Though the cabin is quiet, some engine noise seeps through when accelerating hard with the V6, or anytime other than gentle low-rev cruising with a V8 model.

The Challenger is quite easy to drive, even the Hellcat, considering how much power lurks beneath the hood. Beware of secondary motions in the Hellcat, however. Pushing the Hellcat on a curvy road demands careful judgment. Challenger SXT and R/T models suffer nosedive during hard braking.

We’ve not been pleased with the electric power steering used on all but Hellcat models. Especially with a V8, it lacks feedback, which can require many small adjustments over choppy pavement.

Dodge’s V6 that comes with the Challenger SXT offers enough start-off vigor to feel like a muscle car, plus plenty of high-revving passing power. The V8-powered Challenger R/T is stronger, especially while passing, but it falls short of Camaro and Mustang. Upper models feel considerably quicker, and also provide greater stopping power, courtesy of Brembo brakes.

Challenger models do not guzzle gas as much as you might expect. The Challenger SXT is EPA-rated at 19/30 mpg City/Highway, 23 mpg Combined. Challenger R/T with manual transmission manages 15/23 mpg, 18 mpg Combined, 16/25 mpg or 19 Combined with automatic. Hellcat? 16 mpg Combined.

Summary

With such a variety of models and engines, the Dodge Challenger can fill many roles. Each is more flamboyant and exhilarating than most any midsize model.

Driving impressions by Kirk Bell, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2016 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2016 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Dodges for Sale
Find 2016 Dodge Challenger listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2016 Dodge Challenger
1138
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel