Consumer Reviews
4
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
8 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
mike
March 30, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bob
March 22, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
A great driving automobile
Craigster
October 28, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 26, 2017
9,600 miles
|
Owned 1 years 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Everyone knows that the 2015 MX-5 Miata is fun to drive, but this pint-sized canyon carver is more practical than you might think. While cozy, the interior has just enough room for two slightly larger than average sized adults. The trunk is small, but shaped just right to hold a week's groceries my typical family, or several duffle bags for weekend adventures. The limited slip differential makes year round driving a definite possibility. The power retractable hard top goes up and down in about 12 seconds, and looks really good in either position. Unfortunately, you must keep the button pressed during the entire time the roof is in motion, unless you buy a certain aftermarket accessory that will make your top smart. As much fun as this roadster is, there are some downsides to consider. The seats in this car are marginal for regular driving, and truly miserable after about three hours. The Bose radio sounds nearly as good as a cheap clock radio. And the car is always noisy whether the top is up or down. On the rare occasions when I drive with the top up, I'm vexed by a large blind spot over my left shoulder, and power window switches that are just a bit too easy to accidentally activate when shifting gears. While there are no squeaks or rattles, certain interior pieces aren't aligned quite right, at least in my car. The dashboard isn't quite straight, and the glove box lid isn't quite square. As with most modern cars, the external panels align just about perfectly with reasonable gaps between. Driving this car is a blast. At 30 mph it feels like you're going about 50, and 50 feels like 75. The Miata always feels fast, but safe. Acceleration is decent (but don't plan on winning any impromptu stoplight races) and feels quicker than it is. Brakes are good. Steering is very precise. The manual transmission is quick and direct. This is a great car in which to learn how to drive a stick shift. You can get this car with an automatic transmission, but unless you're missing your left leg, the manual is the way to go. In the end, you buy a Miata because it's fun. For no extra money, you get a vehicle with just enough practicality that it might just be able to serve as your only car.
Don
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 25, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
wonderful car, fun to drive, fuel efficient, reliable ,sporty , eye-catching, fast, good looking car I will buy again.
Earl
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata really deserves at least six stars, but five will have to do, I guess. I had a 2015 for two years and loved every second of ownership; no problems whatsoever and more fun than anything I'd ever owned. Had I NOT had the 2015 I would not have been able to fully appreciate how my 2016 improves on it in every way imaginable! All I can say is WOW! Whatever you do, learn to drive a stick if necessary, because the 6-speed manual transmission is the ultimate in the fun department.
Marvin F.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 23, 2017
5,000 miles
|
Owned 3 years 4 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
very sporty, heads turn when I drive buy. Very good to drive, Not the best for long trips, has no space for luggage..
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 23, 2017
30,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
great handling good looking vehicle, fun to drive, not a mid life car, but a great driving experience - little maintenance,
2015 Mazda 1203 MX-5 Miata 27501 369526
Write a Review for the 2015 Mazda MX-5 Miata
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

NADAguides Test Drive Review
powered by NADAguides Test Drive Review

It’s been often said among journalists that—for the money—you really can’t get a higher performing car with all of the enthusiasm and drive-ability of the Mazda MX-5 Miata. If you’ve already read that before, then you will find this review telling you more of the same…

The 2015 Mazda MX-5 Miata Grand Touring PRHT (power retractable hard top) in this review is the company’s last offering before a complete redo of the roadster for the 2016 model year. We don’t know if you should wait until this summer for the Jaguar F-Type-looking version, as we here at NADA Used Car Guide have yet to get our hands on the fourth generation convertible. What we do know, is that the out-going model is a phenomenal car. The following are the biggest impressions the roadster made on us:

Power plant, Transmission and Economy

  • The 2.0 liter inline four cylinder engine (with 167 horsepower and 140 lb-ft torque) and factory tuned exhaust sound sublime, echoing the aural memory of an old Triumph TR4—minus the unreliability concerns of the British classic
  • Power delivery from the engine won't give you neck jerking acceleration like some other small, sporty drives (i.e., MINI Cooper S), but its strong surge of power helps the car confidently jog down the road from a standstill
  • The six-speed manual transmission offers short, crisp shifts, while the clutch is easy to engage
  • With 21 mpg in the city and 28 mpg on the highway (24 mpg combined), the regular gasoline this ‘vert sips will leave you left with plenty of money to get started in your newbie autocross career (a very common hobby for thousands of Miata owners in the U.S.)

Handling and Feel

  • The car is perfectly balanced, taking corners quite well with just enough body roll to feel the excitement found in the apex
  • The words, “planted” and “points well” show up next to this car in the dictionary—or, at least, they should
  • You can feel the road discrepancies through the pedals and seams of the pavement in the steering wheel; all good things to have in an honest sports car
  • Knowing the distal ends of the wheelbase quickly becomes second nature to the driver
  • Tip: Opt for the tested Suspension Package ($650), which gives you a limited-slip differential, and sport tuned Bilstein shocks

Interior, Technology and Cargo

  • Controls are simple and straightforward, with no fussy touchscreens or haptic touch buttons
  • Everything to control the vehicle is within arm’s reach of the driver
  • The power hard top retracts in mere seconds, yet leaves very little room for storage when down
  • The trunk is just big enough to squeeze a set of golf clubs
  • Tip: Opt for the tested Premium Package ($1390), which includes alarm, keyless entry, Bluetooth, xenon headlights and Sirius satellite radio

Overall Lasting Impressions and Value

  • From an aural perspective, the enthusiastic whine you get from the engine is sublime for the money when coupled with the standard exhaust
  • Even if you don’t live near twisty, rolling countryside, this roadster manages to take you away from the everyday routine as soon as you slide into its intimate cockpit
  • At $32,935 after a $790 destination fee, our tester—complete with Appearance, Suspension and Premium packages - retains average value amongst peers in the sports car segment (current retention leaders are the Subaru BRZ at 77 percent, and Scion FR-S at 70 percent)

It will be interesting to see how the new, fourth generation 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata compares to the outgoing model. It has quite a large—in the proverbial sense—trunk to fill.




 

Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2015 Mazda listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2015 Mazda listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Mazdas for Sale
Find 2015 Mazda MX-5 Miata listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2015 Mazda MX-5 Miata
444
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel