Consumer Reviews
4.2
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
23 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Aleksandr
September 23, 2019
100,000 miles
|
Owned 4 years 8 months
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
111
schuyler
July 16, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
good car-not my highlander but its very good
rt
February 18, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Back seat room is poor and comfort is same in back seat. Front seat is good except for long trip. Gas mileage around 29 overall but worse at 75mph.
Dan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 30, 2017
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Handles well; fuel efficient. Comfortable on long trips. Almost no service/repair issues. Vehicle is a 2015 and has lots of life left in it.
Bridget
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 29, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love this car! Fun to drive and easy to park. It is a little small in the back seat with two car seats
Jill
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 29, 2017
17,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love the hands free option and navigation system. The cx5 has been reliable and i have not had any maintenance problems in the first 3 years of ownership.
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 28, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My CX-5 Is reliable, economical, and versatile. The handling is precise and nimble. The ride is firmer than some other small SUVs but I prefer this. The weak areas are front seat comfort on long drives and the navigation system (inaccurate data inspire of multiple updates).
brendan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 28, 2017
68,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
CX-5 is reliable and safe. Acceleration from a complete stop takes some getting use to, but once you get the hang of it, it works great. I have no problem on highways getting up to speeds that I want, merging is easy with the technology, and the gas mileage is amazing.
Kristina
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 28, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It is a truly exceptional vehicle. Fun to drive and very safe. I recommend this vehicle to anyone who want to purchase a SUV. Very good in the snow and rain.
Ginny
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 26, 2017
56,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I spent lots of time comparing small SUV's before I purchased. I was downsizing from a Yukon XL. I am now an empty nester and wanted something smaller and less on gas. I liked the look of the Mazda CX5, I liked how it felt to drive and I liked the ratings. I absolutely love my Mazda CX5! I feel like I am driving a little race car. It's not as luxurious and comfortable as my Yukon, but it is fine for a 4-5 hour trip. It is perfect for my life at the stage I am at. I love it!
Mike
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 25, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The CX-5 is our second Mazda SUV. It has been a reliable vehicle for daily use as well as road trips. We have not had any service issues with it in the three years of ownership. The new features, I.e. Backup camera, side vehicle detectors, Bluetooth, make this vehicle fun and safe to drive. It is also comfortable for longer trips and features excellent visibility. The only thing we would have liked to have is a little more horsepower like our old Tribute so we could haul our pop up camper. We did not want the higher gas cost and did not need a larger vehicle for other purposes.
Sherry
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 25, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It's dependable, not super expensive, maintenance thus far is feesable, it's sporty and just right for me. I contemplated a BMW X3 prior to this purchase but after researching maintenance fees, the Mazda definitely kept my attention by far.
Nicole V.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
63,000 miles
|
Owned 3 years 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It is sporty, handles the turns at speed really well, gas mileage is awesome, comfortable to drive even the Sport model, and overall impressive, reliable CUV to drive. I am a sales rep and needed a car that could hold boxes of samples and hold up to long, hard hours and miles of driving. Mazda CX-5 does it all. I love it and I tell everyone how much I love it.
Joe
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
13,500 miles
|
Owned 2 years 11 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I chose a CX-5 for the driving dynamics and I didn't want to see myself coming and going. I enjoy driving and wanted a vehicle that handled well and had descent pick up. We live in Michigan and have never had a problem with snow even though I have fwd vehicle. I like the fact that the CX-5 handles well enough to rip through curves and leave sedans in the dust. If you like to drive and need a medium size suv I can not recommend the CX-5 highly enough. I have the Touring model but if I could do it over I would spring for the Grand Touring model because of the additional features. Overall the CX-5 is a FUN to drive vehicle plus I get almost 30 mpg in suburban driving.
Pam
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
48,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I test drove about 10 different brands of this size vehicle while my husband rode in the back seat. He said the Mazda had the smoothest and quietest ride. I love the navigation system and the hands-free phone.
Susan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We are very satisfied with our 2015 Mazda CX-5. The reliability and exceptional ride with a minimum of 24 MPG and low maintenance - it all combined makes for a winning combination for us. Another feature we love and use a lot is the navigation system. So happy we don t have to pay a fee to use this feature. You just can t go wrong with a Mazda!
Kay
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is a great car, but it has the most uncomfortable seats. It is great for short trips but very uncomfortable for long trips. I'm looking to see if i may be able to replace the seats since i truly love this SUV.
June
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 23, 2017
14,850 miles
|
Owned 2 years 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The CX-5 was the most comfortable of all the cross-over vehicles I tested. I love the handling on the road and choose AWD for added safety. The driver seat adjusts perfectly for me and reduces strain on my bad knees, hips and low back. It still looks like new because of the detail offer they provide every 6 months. I love the backup camera and side warning lights/beep. Excellent vehicle. Exceeds all my expectations both driving and in looks. Highly recommend Mazda vehicles!
Cheryl
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 23, 2017
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Mazda had all the features I was looking for in a new car. The seats kind of wrap around your body, making driving and riding comfortable. All the controls are within easy reach. I wish you had a choice of navigation systems. I prefer the Garmin to the Tom Tom. But other than that I love love love my Mazda.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 21, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The seats are firm and uncomfortable. The drive seat is not made for a person 6' tall. Road noise is anoying on long rides.
Carole lukens
September 02, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I am very happy with this car and the fuel average is better than expected. I drive mainly in suburban
area and still average better than 26mpg. It is friendly to drive and has some great safety features that
have come in handy especially when backing up! My only problem is my daughter wants it.
Duane Miller
November 12, 2014
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I wanted a SUV that handled like my BMW 325 and found it in the Mazda CX 5. Great comfort, style, fuel economy,safety, and price compared to many other similar vehicles. I own the AWD Grand Touring with the Tech package. You won''t go wrong with this vehicle.
Raymond
October 27, 2014
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Sports car of small suv, handles like sports seden, very peppy engine and good mileage. We have a Grand Touring with AWD.
2015 Mazda 1203 CX-5 26926 365670
Write a Review for the 2015 Mazda CX-5
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

NADAguides Test Drive Review
powered by NADAguides Test Drive Review
Overall Score

59/70

Pros

Excellent safety features like the Smart City Brake Support, which uses laser technology to stop the vehicle at slow speeds to reduce a crash.

Cons

Small touchscreen interface seems a bit outdated, should be larger.

What's new for 2015

Carryover from the previous year, with the addition of keyless entry for all Touring and Grand Touring trims.

Exterior Impressions

Styling is based on Mazda's KODO "Soul of Motion" design. This is showcased clearly with curves displayed throughout the body. The curves let the wind breeze by creating an aerodynamic ride. The look is athletic, yet sleek, due to that curvature.

Exterior Features

The CX-5 features Mazda's SkyActiv-Body. Mazda engineered the body of this crossover to be lighter in weight, enhancing maneuverability around corners and when having to brake, yet sturdy enough to achieve top crash safety performance from the NHTSA. Standard interior features include 19" alloy wheels, rain sensing wipers, and Smart City Brake Support making it the IIHS Top Safety Pick +.

Exterior Summary
Fit&Finish
4/5
Styling
5/5
AttentionToDetail
4/5
Interior Impressions

The interior of the CX-5 was actually quite spacious for a compact SUV. It seats 5 people and backseat legroom was ample. Three people could sit there easily without becoming claustrophobic. The leather-trimmed sport seats felt luxurious and the seating was comfortable. You don't get that fly through the windshield feel that's possible in other compact SUV's where you are sitting up high and close to the windshield. The infotainment system is easy to use, buttons and dials are all convenient for the driver, however the touchscreen could be larger in size.

Interior Features

Interior features include leather wrapped steering wheel with audio, cruise and Bluetooth Controls for added driving convenience. Keyless entry & push button start are present, as well as a nine speaker Bose stereo with AM/FM/CD/MP3/Satellite options, color touchscreen display, rearview camera and navigation.

Interior Summary
Ergonomics
5/5
Technology Effectiveness
4/5
Audio/Entertainment
4/5
Materials
4/5
Comfort and Romminess
4/5
Driving Impressions

The Mazda CX-5 is a great little crossover to drive around town in. It's not the most powerful, but when it need to pick up speed it is capable. The road noise is pretty minimal, although it could be improved, and it handles well. Braking is solid and smooth and shifting is seamless. It is small and light enough that it feels zippy, yet you still have premium space on the inside. In addition you get the added benefit of increased fuel economy. Overall the Mazda CX-5 offers some stiff competition in the compact crossover category.

MPG Experienced

CITY 25 / HWY 32

Driving Impressions Summary
NVH
3/5
Steering
4/5
Braking
5/5
Power/Acceleration
4/5
Handling
4/5
Overall Score
5/5
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2015 Mazda listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2015 Mazda listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Mazdas for Sale
Find 2015 Mazda CX-5 listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2015 Mazda CX-5
485
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel