2015 Kia Soul Reviews and Ratings

Wagon 4D ! I4

Highest Quality
J.D. Power Award

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2015 Kia Soul.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (18)
Overall Rating
  4.3 / 5
Reliability
  4.6 / 5
Interior
  4.1 / 5
Exterior
  4.2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.3 / 5

By Kristen Johnson 5/7/2019 5:18:10 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  1 / 5
My Kia soul engine seized three months ago. After towing it Kia motors the warranty I still had on my vehicle replaced the engine because there were metal shards in the engine. Three days later there was a loud popping noise and smoke. Three seconds after I got out of the vehicle it exploded into flames. Kia is stating they will not inspect the vehicle or provide a new vehicle. DO NOT RISK IT WITH KIA
Reliability
  1 / 5
Interior
  1 / 5
Exterior
  1 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  1 / 5

By Elizabeth W. 11/2/2017 2:14:42 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I love the sporty look of my KIA Soul, and its performance as well. As I'm a Senior Citizen, one of the things I love most about it is that it is so easy to get in/out of.without bumping my head or feeling as though I am sitting low to the ground! It's very roomy in all the seats and holds 5 adults comfortably. I chose it for multiple reasons, like price, looks, dependability, efficiency and comfort. I owned a 2010 before this one, and put 89,000 miles on it in 5 years with no major problem. I traded it only because it was a standard transmission and I was 5 years older!! LOVE MY KIA !!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Marnita 11/1/2017 7:12:54 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
It is very economical and it drives great! Very agile and the outside looks small but has plenty of room!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Frank 10/31/2017 1:36:20 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Reliable, safe, fun, sporty. Love the look. Bigger interior than you think. Quiet, responsive, and just plain fun.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Juliette L. 10/31/2017 1:30:51 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I love that my Kia Soul has a spacious and comfortable interior but still maintains a small exterior. I never have any issues with parking or trying to get out of a tight spot, my Kia Soul fits anywhere! The Kia Soul has driving options which is great for when you are on the highway you can shift your driving to Sport or to Comfortable for inner city driving. I really do love my Kia Soul!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Tim 10/29/2017 12:07:48 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
My car handles and performs like a John Cooper Works Mini Cooper, but it has a lot more room inside. It is very quiet on the road, much quieter than any compact or intermediate car I have ever driven. It has an excellent factory stereo system. I am 6'6 tall and I am comfortable in all seating positions in the car except the middle of the back seat. I have never tried sitting there. My car is extremely reliable. it has never broken down.Visibility is excellent.The car handles very well on snow and ice.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Cynthia 10/28/2017 6:56:27 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Easy handling, good visibility, good mileage, and economical to run. Good interior space _ seats 5 medium sized adults comfortably. Sits high on the road, good window visibility, and easy to maintain inside and out.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Caye 10/26/2017 8:01:52 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love my 2015 Kia Soul! It does exactly what I need it to do, and it is fun to drive. I have taken it on several cross-country trips and it was a joy to drive. In the 42,000 miles that I have driven it, I have had absolutely no problems, whatsoever, with this vehicle. I have also found that the vehicle is very versatile. The back seats flip down and offer plenty of space for cargo which is convenient given the fact that my daughter plays the harp and it fits just fine. On cross-country trips, I have even laid down a futon mattress in the back and had plenty of room to sleep. Also, as a disabled adult, I have found that the height of the vehicle seats is perfect for getting in and getting out without any trouble. Truly, everything about the Soul is perfect for my needs.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Nancy 10/25/2017 12:04:10 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I looked at different vehicles before I bought this vehicle. I love my Kia soul. The visual is excellent and it is easy and fun to drive. It is very comfortable and unbelievable the room it has inside. My 6 foot 5 inches son can get in it and a lot of vehicles he can t get in. The seats are very comfortable.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Elaine 10/24/2017 1:24:38 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
I love my Kia Soul. It is deceivingly roomy and I have plenty of room for passengers and packages, It's good on gas and very reliable. I would definitely buy another one.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mrs. C. 10/24/2017 2:34:59 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I like the KIA Soul so much - that this is the second Soul that I've leased in less than six years. I intend on buying this one at the end of the lease. The reliability and features on my car make it perfect for me. The seat height and support is great for my older achy back. The backup camera, fog lights and puddle lights make it a much safer vehicle to drive. All vehicles have blind spots - but the Soul's are minimal. The UVO eServices, radio, media center is a little tricky to use - but worth the time to learn. It is a comfortable and good looking car, and this is the first car that I have named - his name is Hammy. I guess I'm getting sentimental in my old age.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Beulah 10/24/2017 1:15:48 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I first want to say one thing about KIA is great cars. The reason that we wanted to buy a KIA is that they was so very dependent. The car does everything that I need no hiden.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Fred 10/24/2017 1:06:35 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It is very versatile and economical. Especillialy good for seniors. Good size fine acceleration and handing for a small wagon/car/suv. It is the right size for me, fast enough, good visibility all around.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bob 10/24/2017 12:43:23 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I bough my first Kia Soul because it was not a cookie cutter car that looked like every other car on the road. It was very comfortable for four adults on a long trip. Storage is a little lacking but for a small vehicle it was adequate. I turned my Soul in when my lease was up, and I miss it every day. My only complaint was the blind spot in the back of the vehicle.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Yvonne 10/23/2017 11:26:03 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
Having saw the Kia Soul several times before I bought it, I knew I wanted one. The car is not too small and fits me just right.I was surprised and pleased with the amount of room the Kia has.The Latte color I choose was the only one on the lot and I fell in love with it immediately. I made the right decision. It is comfortable to drive, plenty of room to move in and the milage per gallon of gas is to die for.My Kia comes equipped with an ECO button that controls the gas you use in the city as opposed to the gas used on the high way. After several trips from SC to Baltimore Md. We realized we only spent about 50.00 in gas and still had gas to drive in the city. Money well spent on my Kia. My husband owns a 2014 Kia Soul and we are both happy with our vehicles
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Brenda 10/23/2017 10:32:24 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Kia Soul was a great investment. Very nice vehicle to drive. Comfortable seating, seating is great, handles nicely
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous 10/23/2017 10:15:21 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I really love driving my Kia Soul, would like it better if it had a better suspension system so I could experience a smother ride. The overall visibility is good, the seats are really comfortable including the rear seats. This vehicle is a great alternative to a large SUV. I would buy this vehicle again.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anna 10/21/2017 10:39:50 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My 2017 Kia Soul is very dependable and replaces a 2015 Kia Soul. I find the Soul to be quite comfortable, with a drivers seat which adjusts for height. The Soul sits higher than the more sporty models, therefore it is easier to enter and exit the vehicle. I love the hatch in the back of the car. As the vehicle sits higher it is easier to put groceries in and take them out, less bending. The exterior of the Soul is very unique and therefore is easy to find in a crowded parking lot. I love my Kia Soul. My last Soul proved to be reliable, comfortable and fun to drive. I am so glad I stopped at Matt Blatt to check out the Kia line back in 2014. Should I buy another new car I will definitely look into another Kia.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2015 Kia Soul
Laura Burstein

Introduction

Fresh from a complete redesign for 2014, Kia Soul continues as one of the best boxy compacts on the market with its unique design, comfortable ride and roomy interior. The 2015 Kia Soul lineup continues to offer a choice of four-cylinder engines.

New for 2015: Kia Soul EV, an all-electric vehicle with a range of up to 93 miles. It’s powered by a 109-horsepower electric motor, which makes a hearty 210 pound-feet of torque. The Kia Soul EV has distinct visual differences such as exclusive paint colors, white exterior and interior trim. Unique 16-inch wheels are wrapped with super low rolling resistance tires for added efficiency. The 2015 Kia Soul EV is EPA-rated at 120/92 City/Highway, or 105 Miles Per Gallon Equivalent (MPGe). The 2015 Kia Soul EV will be sold exclusively in California.

Kia Soul features a boxy shape with softened lines compared to pre-2014 models. The front end’s tiny upper grille and a giant, mesh-covered lower grille make the Soul look grounded and hunkered down. Round accents, such as its foglights, add contrast to the Soul’s boxy shape.

Inside, Soul has a unique circular theme, seen in the center stack and echoed in the air vents (with nifty round speakers that sit on top), the driver instrument cluster and the gearshift surround. Soul EVs get a dedicated display that shows battery life and projected range.

Models equipped with navigation use a system powered by Android, while those without nav use the Microsoft-powered UVO voice-recognition and handsfree system. A mobile app for Kia’s UVO eServices allows owners to access vehicle diagnostics, saved points of interest and trip information from a compatible Android or Apple smartphone. Drivers can request roadside assistance and dealer appointments, and save the location where their vehicle is parked using the UVO eServices app. A separate app for the Kia Soul EV allows drivers to remotely lock or unlock the car, start or stop a charge, and provides directions to the nearest charging stations.

The standard Kia Soul is powered by a 1.6-liter engine that makes a modest 130 horsepower and 118 pound-feet of torque, available with a 6-speed manual or a 6-speed automatic transmission. EPA fuel economy ratings are 24/30 mpg City/Highway with either gearbox.

More fun and more powerful is the 2.0-liter inline-4, good for 164 hp and 151 lb.-ft. of torque, available only with the 6-speed automatic. Fuel economy, perhaps surprisingly, isn’t that different, with an EPA rating of 23/31 mpg City/Highway.

Both models run on Regular gasoline, while some competitors like the Fiat 500L and Mini Cooper Countryman require more-expensive Premium gas.

The Kia Soul is a fun car, great for tooling around in the city, and on mid-range road trips. There’s plenty of room to carry gear, and the back seat will fit two or three in relative comfort for a compact vehicle. But it’s not a car you get for its driving dynamics. With moderate acceleration, numb steering and relatively harsh ride, the Soul isn’t by any means a performance vehicle.

Kia Soul is a unique player at a time when some automakers are discontinuing their boxy cars to focus on compact crossovers (the Nissan Cube, for example, is discontinued for 2015). As such, there are few direct competitors. Other versatile vehicles with a similar footprint include the Fiat 500L, Mini Cooper Countryman, and compact SUVs like the Honda CR-V, Toyota RAV4, and the forthcoming redesigned Nissan Juke.

Model Lineup

The 2015 Kia Soul is available with one of two gasoline engines in three trim levels: Base, Plus, Exclaim. The Soul EV all-electric vehicle is available in Base and Plus trims, and only in California.

The base Kia Soul comes only with the 1.6-liter engine and can be fitted with a 6-speed manual ($15,100) or 6-speed automatic ($17,100). Standard features include manually operated air conditioning, fabric upholstery, power windows and door locks, a six-way manually adjustable driver’s seat, tilt-and-telescoping steering wheel with audio controls, a trip computer, Bluetooth, a six-speaker audio system with satellite radio capability and three-month subscription, auxiliary audio jack, USB port, a 60/40 folding rear seat, 16-inch steel wheels with wheel covers.

Soul Plus ($18,600) is powered by the 2.0-liter engine and come with the 6-speed automatic transmission. Added features include remote keyless entry, cruise control, a center console with storage box and integrated armrest, rear seat center armrest, outside mirror turn-signal indicators, unique exterior trim and 17-inch alloy wheels.

Soul Exclaim ($20,700) upgrades further with leather-wrapped steering wheel and gear shift knob, 10-way power-adjustable driver’s seat with lumbar adjustment, high-gloss piano-black center console, cooled glove box, auto-dimming rearview mirror, fog lights, projector headlights, front and rear LED accent lights, unique exterior trim and 18-inch alloy wheels.

Soul EV models are equipped similarly to their gasoline-powered counterparts and include navigation, as well as an EV-specific instrument cluster. Trim levels include Soul EV ($33,700) and Soul EV Plus ($35,700).

Safety features on all 2015 Kia Soul models include dual front airbags, dual front seat-mounted side airbags, full-length side curtain airbags, electronic stability control, traction control, ABS, electronic brake-force distribution (EBD), brake assist and hill-start assist. A rearview camera is optional with the UVO eServices package.

Walkaround

Kia Soul is very much a box, though its lines are softened compared with pre-2014 generations. Designed to resemble a wild boar wearing a backpack, Soul has a wide, squat appearance.

The front end features a tiny upper grille and a giant, mesh-covered lower grille, making the Soul look grounded and hunkered down. Round accents, like foglights, contrast with the Soul’s boxy shape. Soul Exclaim models have front tusks, echoing the boar-ish theme. Soul EV can be readily identified by the body-colored solid panel in place of the upper grille area, which includes a cover for the charging connection.

From the side, Kia Soul looks slightly more aerodynamic than a cracker box. The windshield is raked, making the Soul look more laid back in front than upright. Side windows have a decreasing, trapezoidal shape. Wheel designs differ by trim level; optional alloys look better than the base model’s plastic wheel covers. In back, the Soul sports long, high-mounted tail lights and a broad-looking rear.

The Kia Soul EV gets unique styling cues: bright blue metallic paint, a white roof, white mirror caps, unique wheels and EV badging.

Interior

Instead of the flat, hard plastics found in most econo-boxes, the materials inside the Kia Soul are soft and palatable. The cabin has a unique circular theme, which can be seen in the center stack and echoed in the air vents (with nifty round speakers that sit on top), the driver instrument cluster and the gearshift surround.

The instrument cluster features two large, analog gauges with a driver information screen in the middle. High-end Exclaim trims can be equipped with an electronic TFT display. Soul EV models get a standard digital display that shows battery life and vehicle range. All variants we saw were contemporary and easy to read, without looking too quasi-futuristic, although we didn’t get to see an example of the base model.

Multiple buttons on the steering wheel make changing stations, accessing audio and making a phone call convenient, but are so numerous they take some time to get used to.

Fabric seats are of fine quality. Basic seats offer moderate adjustability; we found the upgraded power seats with lumbar support to be more comfortable. We did notice after a few hours, however, that our lower backs and rear ends were a tad sore.

The optional leather upholstery seems stiff and waxy, and we might not have known it was genuine if we hadn’t sniffed it to get a whiff of that unmistakable cowhide smell. We’d opt for the fabric, unless we wanted a fully loaded Soul Primo package, which includes the leather.

Storage in front is plentiful on Plus and Exclaim models, with a center console that has a deep storage box. Lower side door pockets are wide and can hold one or two large water bottles or coffee cups. Side door handles also have a cubby that can hold small items like a mobile phone, though we were dismayed when our driving companion noticed the space was the exact same size as his iPhone 5, and as such, had great difficultly retrieving it once it was wedged in. Kia engineers say they will address this issue in future models that roll of the assembly line.

Cars equipped with navigation benefit from a wider, eight-inch screen that uses capacitive touch, which lets users swipe and scroll, like a smartphone or iPad. Controls are mostly intuitive and the screen is bright and easy to read. Nav-equipped models are also powered by Andriod, while vehicles without nav continue to use the Microsoft-powered UVO voice-recognition and handsfree system.

A smartphone app for Kia’s UVO eServices allows owners to access vehicle diagnostics, saved points of interest and trip information from a compatible Android or Apple smartphone. Drivers can also request roadside assistance and dealer appointments, and save the location where their vehicle is parked using the UVO eServices app.

A separate app for the Kia Soul EV allows drivers to remotely lock or unlock a car, start or stop a charge, and directs users to the nearest charging stations. All Soul EVs come with nav, and although you can call up nearest charging stations using the menu or via voice activation, we found certain third-party websites/apps were better at finding a wider variety of charging stations, including those parking spots with 120v outlets.

As with many OE voice recognition systems, the one in our Kia test car didn’t seem to like us. The first few times we tried to set directions, it didn’t understand what we were saying, and either asked us to try again, or listed incorrect information on the screen. Subsequent tries were better. Even though the system supposedly works with more natural language, one still must use canned commands for it to work. On the plus side, the touch screen lists suggestions, so you don’t have to guess what to say.

The Infinity audio system adds a center speaker, subwoofer and external amplifier, as well as speaker lights that change color. Music on satellite radio and from MP3 files sounded okay, but didn’t blow us away. The system sounded fine at lower volumes, but became distorted at higher volumes. It’s a big improvement over the standard sound system, however. Audiophiles should consider getting this option, or go for aftermarket speakers.

Because of its boxy shape, the Kia Soul has plenty of headroom, both up front and in back. Rear legroom in the standard Soul measures a spacious 39.1 inches, and 36 inches in the Soul EV. That beats the Fiat 500L’s 33.8 inches and Mini Cooper Countryman’s 32.3 inches. As such, the Kia Soul is better suited to carrying a carfull of friends around town.

Cargo space in the Soul is excellent for its class, measuring 18.8 cubic feet with the rear seats up and the Soul’s luggage undertray in place. Without the undertray, space expands to 24.2 cubic feet, for both gas-powered and EV models. The Fiat 500L isn’t far behind with 23.1 cubic feet with all seats in place, but the Mini Cooper Countryman pales in comparison with only 16.5 cubic feet.

Front visibility is excellent thanks to the Soul’s upright seating position and large windshield. In back, the liftgate has wide but short glass, and the large C-pillar makes for a substantial blind spot in the rear corners. Fortunately, the rearview camera helps to compensate.

Driving Impressions

For commuting and driving around town, we found the Kia Soul capable and comfortable. We preferred the 2.0-liter engine because fuel economy is nearly identical and the added power is beneficial when a passenger and cargo are along for the ride.

Underway, the Soul feels like a box. There is quite a bit of lean around the corners, which is typical for these types of cars. Steering is comfortable, but not sporty. While we had to actively steer the car, we also felt like it wasn’t the most responsive. Every Soul comes with an adjustable steering system that Kia calls Flex Steer. It allows the driver to choose from three modes: Comfort, Normal, and Sport. Sport seemed to make the steering feel more heavy, while Comfort made it feel more loosey-goosey. The Flex Steer system does not change other vehicle dynamics like throttle response or shift points.

Suspension is on the firm side, but is not nearly as teeth-chattering as the Mini Cooper Countryman. The Soul behaves best on smoothly paved roads. Potholes unsettle the car a bit, but the current generation handles bumps and undulations much better than earlier Soul models. Braking is smooth and comfortable, and the 6-speed automatic transmission shifts smoothly.

Similarly, the Kia Soul EV is great for city commuting, but not for jaunting around twisty roads. Acceleration is peppy off the line, thanks to the inherent low-end torque from the electric motor. Brakes have a comfortable, linear feel and aren’t at all grabby like many hybrids or EVs, a stark contrast from BMW’s one pedal approach that has so much built-in drag that one can stop its car at slow speeds just by lifting. While the Soul’s brakes might not regenerate as much energy, it’s definitely more comfortable and familiar. Super-low-rolling resistance tires help to achieve better efficiency, but moan and squeal when barely pushed in corners. Overall, it’s quite pleasant.

The biggest issue with the Soul EV is the same issue with every electric car: You need a place to charge it. And finding a charging location is only part of the battle. In Santa Monica, California, chargers are abundant, but so are electric cars. It’s rare to find a station that isn’t already occupied by a Leaf, Volt or Tesla. Fortunately, many city parking charging stations are free in SM. To make matters more complicated, different companies operate different charging stations and one must have a separate account for each.

In addition to 120-volt household and Level-2 charging ports, the Soul EV also has the newer, DC fast-charge port. Though it’s much quicker, we paid $9.99 for a single use for the fast charger (those with accounts pay less), and charging stopped at 84 percent, since fast changers won’t charge to 100 percent capacity.

Soul EV is easy to keep charged in the suburbs. We charged one up on house current in New Jersey overnight and discovered it to be idiot-proof easy and a non-event. We became aware of the importance of parking near an outlet and we noticed the charge indicators on the adaptor were hard to read in bright sunlight. The connections were easy and when complete we quickly disconnected, closed the lid in the grille, stashed the charge cable in a compartment under the cargo floor, and drove away.

Summary

Kia Soul is cute and practical. a fun, unique choice with plenty of space. It’s fun, looks unique, and infuses a big dose of practicality into a funky package. Soul EV is a good commuter car, provided drivers have easy access to charging, and it offers superior cargo space over many electric vehicles.

Laura Burstein filed this NewCarTestDrive.com report after her test drive of the Kia Soul in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and a test drive of the Kia Soul EV in Los Angeles.

Model as tested
Kia Soul Plus ($18,600)
Basic Warranty
5 years/60,000 miles
Assembled in
Hwasung, South Korea
Destination charge
800
Gas guzzler tax
N/A
Base Price
15100
Price as tested
Options as tested
Audio Package ($1,400) with navigation, automatic climate control, Infinity audio system, speaker lights; Primo Package ($3,000) with leather upholstery, heated and ventilated from seats, heated rear seats, heated steering wheel, pushbutton start, 10-way power driver's seat with lumbar, panoramic sunroof, fog lights; UVO e-Services ($600) with UVO telematics services, rearview camera, automatic headlights; carpeted floor mats ($115)

Model Line Overview
Model lineup
Kia Soul manual ($15,100), Soul automatic ($17,100); Soul Plus ($18,600); Soul Exclaim ($20,700); Soul EV ($33,700); Soul EV Plus ($35,700)
Safety equipment (standard)
dual front advanced airbags, dual front seat-mounted side airbags, full-length side curtain airbags, electronic stability control, traction control, ABS, electronic brake-force distribution (EBD), brake assist and hill-start assist
Safety equipment (optional)
N/A
Engines
164-hp 2.0-liter GDI inline-4
Transmissions
6-speed automatic

Specifications as Tested
air conditioning, fabric upholstery, power windows/door locks, six-way manually adjustable driver's seat, tilt-and-telescoping steering wheel with audio controls, trip computer, Bluetooth, six-speaker audio system with satellite radio capability and three-month subscription, auxiliary audio jack, USB port, 60/40 folding rear seat, remote keyless entry, cruise control, center console with storage box and integrated armrest, rear seat center armrest, outside mirror turn-signal indicators, 17-inch alloy wheels

Engine & Transmission
Engine
164-hp 2.0-liter GDI inline-4
Drivetrain type
front-wheel drive
Horsepower (hp @ rpm)
164 @ 6200
Transmission
EPA fuel economy, city/hwy
23/31
Torque (lb.-ft. @ rpm)
N/A

Suspension
Brakes, front/rear
vented disc/solid disc with ABS
Suspension, front
MacPherson strut type, coil spring
Tires
215/55R17
Suspension, rear
torsion beam, coil spring

Accomodations
Seating capacity
5
Head/hip/leg room, middle
N/A
Head/hip/leg room, front
39.6/53.2/40.9
Head/hip/leg room, rear
39.5/49.3/39.1

Measurements
Fuel capacity
N/A
Trunk volume
24.199999999999999
Wheelbase
101.2
Length/width/height
163.0/70.9/63.0
Turning circle
34.8
Payload
N/A
Towing capacity
N/A
Track, front/rear
62.0/62.5
Ground clearance
5.9000000000000004
Curb weight
2837


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 5 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
5 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2015 Kia Soul Wagon 4D ! I4 local listings
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2015 Kia listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2015 Kia listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Kias for Sale
Find 2015 Kia Soul listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel