2015 Kia Sorento Reviews and Ratings

Utility 4D LX AWD V6

Highest Quality
J.D. Power Award

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2015 Kia Sorento.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (17)
Overall Rating
  4.5 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.4 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.6 / 5

By Kathleen 10/30/2017 9:00:55 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
My 2015 Sorento is very comfortable to drive, has been very reliable, and has been very reliable in all kinds of weather.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Jake 10/30/2017 12:23:38 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Kia Sorento is an exceptional value and both practical and fun to own vehicle. The only gripe I have is the red characters on the audio screen. They are difficult to read in the day time and can't be changed. Otherwise, it's a very nice vehicle that's comfortable and good looking.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By R 10/29/2017 1:22:00 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
New kia sorento is an exceptional value and fun to own. Easy on the wallt, the eyes, then body and soul. Ownership is a breeze
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By henry 10/28/2017 11:23:16 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I didn't pick the Kia, My wife did. I was very suprised to find it affordable, reliable, and nice looking. Also it handles like a smaller vehicle (this is a good thing).
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By wayne 10/28/2017 1:00:18 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4 / 5
our kia sorento has been a very reliable vehicle since we bought it new in nov. 2014. we have changed the oil and filter on a regular basis and one new set of wiper blades in two years.we chose kia because we have owned one in the past and it also was very reliable. we get fair gas mileage and the car rides wonderful. well worth the money and we would buy one again.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   2.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Deb 10/27/2017 3:31:54 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
We actually just traded in this 2015 Kia Sorento for a new 2017 Kia Sorento because of the mileage. We went with the 2017 because the rebates were better than the 2018 rebates and we were able to get a vehicle without the third seat, which takes up cargo space under the back floor that we find extremely useful. We had absolutely no problems with our 2015 Sorento and expect the same reliability from this new car. We love everything about our Kia Sorento. It s a beautiful car!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ernest T. 10/25/2017 6:30:30 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The 2015 Kia Sorento has been a great vehicle. It Averages about 25 MPG and has gotten as high as 28.5 MPG when on a long trip. This vehicle has a smooth ride and the 3.3L V-6 in very responsive. The EX has a lot of luxury features of more expensive SUV's. I have driven this vehicle on many 10-12 drives and it is a very comfortable car to drive. The blue tooth and the XM radio are nice features. The auto dimming review mirror is also a nice feature to have. I would by this car again, if looking for a new vehicle. It is still in like new condition.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By NurseMom 10/25/2017 3:48:13 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Comfortable to drive, with all the bells & whistles we need. Love the 10 year / 100,000 warranty, but we haven t needed any major work. The tow packages makes the vehicle too low to the ground, so keep that in mind, if you don t need it. Love the large sun/moon roof!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Arnie 10/24/2017 10:04:11 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My son has 2 KIa vehicles & He was very happy. So far I am pleased with the vehicle. It is fuel efficient compared to the Mountaineer I was replacing.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Angela 10/24/2017 6:01:53 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I LOVE my 2015 Kia Sorento! I had to replace an older SUV that was totalled in an accident. I had purchased a Kia Rio previously and was familiar (and happy) with the Kia brand. I looked at the Sorento as a replacement and was truly impressed with the body style, the engine size, the interior components, the tow package, and the third row seating option. This vehicle was EXACTLY what I was looking for!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By mac 10/24/2017 2:56:33 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The vehicle was priced right, looked sporty for an SUV, very good reliability record, economical to operate, and lots of interior room for someone who is 6'6 tall.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Curtis 10/24/2017 2:38:18 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
love my lumbar roll on driver side desire lumbar roll on passenger side altho it doesn,t have one. other than that everthing else is perfect for me
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous 10/24/2017 3:47:36 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Best car I have owned. Great car and great dealer experience. The car continues to be a fun driving experience.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Rose 10/24/2017 1:41:18 AM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my KIA Sorento. It is comfortable to sit in as well as high enough off the ground it doesn't hurt my knees or back to get in it. It is reliable and a well made car. It gets good milage and I am so happy with it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jerlena B. 10/23/2017 10:38:18 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
NULL
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Dixie 10/23/2017 9:38:58 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my Sorento. I also have a Soul and a Sportage. We have bought around 11 vehicles since 2012 from this same dealership. I have enjoyed driving these Kia cars , suv and crossovers and would recommend them to anyone looking for a new vehicle.I like the Sorento because it is luxurious without that really high price. It is comfortable and quiet and rides well no matter what seat you are in.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By LR 10/23/2017 9:00:39 PM J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The only things I would change are the red display lights and the seat bottom. The red lights are impossible to see during daylight and the seat wedges me in. Overall though, a totally reliable car that is driven long distances.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2015 Kia Sorento
NADAguides Test Drive Review
Overall Score

54/70

Pros

Well equipped, attractive styling, a strong V6 engine, satisfying road manners, with a generous standard warranty.

Cons

Tight third row seating and rear cargo space, poorly performing voice recognition, and a sticker price that approaches $40,000; there are comparably-priced alternatives to consider from more established manufacturers.

What's new for 2015

The Kia Sorento received a major redesign in 2014. As a result of this, changes for the 2015 model are limited to a minor reallocation of features across the various available trim levels.

Exterior Impressions

The 2015 Kia Sorento SX AWD's tight exterior lines and sleek profile hint at athleticism and efficiency, and the power-folding side mirrors, chrome accents, 19 inch alloy wheels, and power liftgate suggest "upscale". Shapes and materials integrate well with one another, and their quality and fit appear to be above average. Overall, the Sorento SX AWD exhibits a modern and attractive interpretation of a midsize SUV, and with some of its design cues being consistent with those of other models in the current lineup, Kia brand identity continues to increase.

Exterior Features

The 2015 Kia Sorento SX AWD is powered by a 3.3 liter V6 engine that has direct injection and dual continuous variable valve timing, and its 290 horsepower and 252 lb.-ft. of torque are routed through a 6-speed automatic transmission, and a full-time all-wheel drive system. The all-wheel drive system has a locking center differential, and a torque vectoring system. At the Sorento's front and rear are independent suspension, and at all four corners are disc brakes, and 19" machined alloy wheels that are fitted with 235/55 R19 tires. Also standard on the Sorento SX AWD is sound-absorbing windshield glass, heated and power-folding side mirrors (with integrated turn indicators), halogen headlights, LED brakelights and turn signals, fog lights, intermittent windshield wipers, a chrome exhaust finisher, and a power liftgate. The Sorento SX AWD has a towing capacity of 3,500 pounds.

Exterior Summary
Fit&Finish
4/5
Styling
4/5
AttentionToDetail
4/5
Interior Impressions

The interior of the Sorento SX AWD is fairly good looking, the various components are logically situated and within easy reach, and most of the switchgear has a nice feel to it. Front and middle row seating is comfortable and supportive, and legroom is adequate in both places. Third row legroom is tight, however, and access is somewhat difficult. Also tight is the rear cargo space, especially when the third row seats are in the up position. As far as the infotainment system goes, it is pretty easy to learn and use, and its audio quality is good, but the voice recognition feature does not work very well. And lastly, the panoramic moonroof is a great feature, but a venting position with the shade mostly closed would be a welcome improvement.

Interior Features

Standard interior features for the 2015 Kia Sorento SX AWD include dual-zone climate control and rear air conditioning, cruise control, power windows and door locks, keyless entry and push button engine start, an auto-dimming rearview mirror with HomeLink, a tilting and telescoping steering column, a power driver's seat (with lumbar support), heating and ventilation on the front seats, and a panoramic moonroof. The steering wheel and gear shift knob are leather wrapped, while the first and second row seating is leather trimmed. The second row seating can fold in a 40/20/40 split, and the third row can fold 50/50. There is a 10-speaker Infinity surround sound audio system with AM/FM/HD Radio/CD/MP3/Sirius XM capability, and a voice-command navigation system with an 8" touchscreen display, UVO eServices telematics, and SiriusXM Traffic. Connectivity options include bluetooth, a USB port, and an auxiliary input jack. There is also a 115-volt power inverter on board.

Interior Summary
Ergonomics
5/5
Technology Effectiveness
3/5
Audio/Entertainment
4/5
Materials
4/5
Comfort and Romminess
4/5
Driving Impressions

With its compliant ride, predictable handling, 290 horsepower V6 engine, and decent brake pedal feel, the 2015 Kia Sorento SX AWD delivers a mostly satisfying driving experience. Cornering is what you would expect from a relatively heavy SUV, acceleration is slightly more so, and braking distances seem acceptable. Areas where the Sorento could be improved include steering feel, feedback is minimal and resistance is too light, and sound insulation, where wind noise is somewhat noticeable while driving at highway speeds.

MPG Experienced

19.4 MPG

Driving Impressions Summary
NVH
3/5
Steering
3/5
Braking
4/5
Power/Acceleration
4/5
Handling
4/5
Overall Score
4/5

J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 5 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
5 / 5

Overall Dependability 4 / 5
Powertrain Dependability
3 / 5
Body & Interior Dependability
4 / 5
Feature & Accessory Dependability
4 / 5

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2015 Kia Sorento Utility 4D LX AWD V6 local listings
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2015 Kia listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2015 Kia listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports

Car Buying and Selling Resources

Kias for Sale
Find 2015 Kia Sorento listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.


J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel