Consumer Reviews
4.1
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
31 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
John Impellizzeri
November 13, 2019
55,000 miles
|
Owned 3 years 10 months
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
worst car I have ever owned in my 50 plus years of driving. the engine is anemic. It burns 1 quart of oil every 3000 miles (yes it does...and that is within specs for this engine according to the service manager where i bought it). the transmission is horrible. It hesitates dangerously long when you need acceleration to enter a busy intersection. the instrument panel was designed by someone who has never driven a car. I have owned 2 jeeps prior to buying this one. I owned a 1998 Cherokee and still own a 2004 Grand Cherokee. they are magnificent cars that burn no oil even after 20000 miles.
theo
August 20, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
V6 is as fast as my hemi but with 60% higher mileage. Very quiet.
Anonymous
March 05, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
kingcobra
October 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
it rides very well on and off road. we told it across a mountain range in az and it never spun a tire with highway tread on them.
crb1069
June 24, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great gas mileage in town.
GiGi
April 23, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
It needs to be advertised with 17-22mpg, and it does not accelerate quickly at all.... make sure there is more than enough room before pulling out onto the road. Everything else is great! love the panoramic sunroof, love the look and feel when driving (except acceleration) and love the technology and capability.
Myjeep
March 15, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Review
trannny trouble
December 14, 2017
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bill
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
November 01, 2017
30,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 3 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
A 6-cylinder that gets 31+ mpg; an Infotainment that is better than any German-made auto; an interior that is as good as any competitor s. No SUV that I m aware of can match all these features.
Margarita
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 28, 2017
23,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My Jeep Cherokee Latitude keeps the thougnes , ferocity, and gentliness of her big brothers for an affordable price. Good option for any one who loves to drive in the city feeling the safety of driving a wild but luxury car at the same time. .
Bethany
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 28, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great for small SUV with spacious interior and sleek exterior. It has a very smooth drive and great for all weather conditions
Ashley B.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 26, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
NULL
zee
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 25, 2017
32,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Looks really cool, has some nice package details. But there has been nothing but issues with the lift gate and heating and cooling etc and every time its taken in the dealership returns it fixed but its NOT fixed. Dealership even left NO OIL in my car after a oil change and then denied they did it, its been awful and horrific how they treated me. Can't wait to get rid of it even though I will lose thousands. Even JEEP head quarters did not help. Awful company.
Susan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I'm a nervous driver; winter scares me. The Jeep makes me feel safe. The 2015 Cherokee makes it incredibly easy to switch to 4-wheel drive. I love this car.
Sherry
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
33,651 miles
|
Owned 3 years 3 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I liked how it handled in the snow. I got 24 MPG and 28 on the highway. Loved that it had remote start. My jeep was silver, it always looked clean even if it wasn't. I didn't like that every time the weather went form hot to cold the tire pressure in the wheels went down. This was an upgrade from my Liberty Jet.... loved the Jet... I wished the jeep had navigation in it. I found it to be very comfortable.
otisa
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
my first jeep 4x4...its sporty and roomy for 5 with plenty of storage in the back. stereo system is great love bluetoothing my phone for calls and music was so easy!. comfortable for trips and snow is no problem so my destinations are unlimited!
Carole
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 23, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
What can I say, I just love my car. It has great Technology, I still have a problem sometimes with it. The seats are heated, great option, and the steering wheel is heated.
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 23, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
NICE VEHICLE, TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE REDESIGNED TO GET RID OF HESITATION ON TAKE OFF.DOSNT SEEM TO HOLD A GOOD RESALE VALUE
Anonymous
October 07, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Vicki Johnson
January 20, 2017
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My vehicle is a 2015 Jeep Cherokee and it is a LEMON!!! I purchased this vehicle on 5.28.15 and since then my middle dash does not come on from time to time. This vehicle has stopped on me while I am driving. I have taken it to the shop and they replaced what they say was causing the car to stop. Now just the other day the car has stopped on me again. I do not want this vehicle any longer. I am starting to get scared of driving it.
Kelley
September 24, 2016
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Purchased New Jeep April 2015 - within 2,000 miles, transmission started slipping accelerating getting onto the freeway along with making a turn at an intersection. Jeep was taken in for maintenance and Service Center updated flash software. After this update, the transmission is horrible! When accelerating from a slow speed, the Jeep jerks into gear only after hesitating. RPMs run extremely high (3500-4000) when ascending or descending which jacks up the RPMs. Jeep then shutters and you will have to wait for the Jeep to figure out what gear to get into. STAY AWAY FROM THESE 9-SPEED TRANS
Nicholas schutzius
September 07, 2016
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I purchased the 2015 Cherokee latitude 4cyl awd used. We went on a trip and put about 875 miles on it. Depending on the traffic and terrain. We averaged between 28 & 30 mpg with the a/c going all the time, it had a decent ride. The transmission shifted good. Now we notice it doesn''t go into 8th or 9th gear until cruising over 60 mph.
Lisa
November 23, 2015
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Have owned several Chrysler products over 30 years. We purchased our new Cherokee (V6 4x4 w 9sp A/T) at the end of April 2015. The transmission had a jerk feeling to it (not nearly as smooth as our other Chryslers) and the auto stop/start feature is somewhat of a nuisance. At 10,725 miles (7 months), the engine light came on and the "service transmission" light also. The transmission reverted to what the dealer called limp mode. made it home, dealership looked at it, reset the codes, we took it back. 87 miles later, same thing. They''re talking about replacing the tranmissio
Richard Babcock
August 11, 2015
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
In November, 2014 I purchased this 2015 Jeep Cherokee Limited; 4 wheel drive, 6 cylinder. I am very dissatisfied with this SUV. I am currently on my second transmission and this one isn''t right either. This 9 speed transmission is a complete joke. I was leery of it when I purchased the vehicle, but I took chance. The first transmission was jerky when starting from a stopped position. It hung up in second gear and didn''t drive right until it was in 4th or 5th gear on the highway. Around town it was a total disaster. They put in a new tranny and that is almost as bad. Don''t buy one!!
JG
April 04, 2015
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Nothing like a JEEP!
Chris
April 01, 2015
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is a very solid vehicle. I love the gas mileage I get and the 4x4 power in the winter gives me no worries. I bought this care back in September and I am still in love with it.
John
March 23, 2015
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
So far this Jeep has been a pleasant surprise. the 2.4 ltr has plenty of power, and the Jeep gets great gas mileage, (29) mpg highway. comfortable and roomy, and a stylish look. very satisfied so far.
Dustin
March 16, 2015
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great car so far.
dan mazur
February 15, 2015
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
haven''t owned but two weeks and love it!
ken foster
January 26, 2015
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I own this vehicle and my transmission went out before hitting 3000 miles on a 2015 model
DJ
January 22, 2015
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is an affordable 4x4 vehicle that equipped with the cold weather package is hard to beat in its class for the price. The steering wheel and front seat heated seats are truly warm with no cold spots. It feels like one entire piece of equipment, not a bunch of bolted on panels to a frame. Suspension quality is great and the cabin is very quiet, more so than what I could get from some of the online video reviews. The 9 speed transmission is great with no abrupt gear changes. You have to remind yourself that it''s a Jeep. Of course when you hit the snow, you will remember.
2015 Jeep 1199 Cherokee 27575 370090
Write a Review for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Sam Moses
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

Launched as a 2014 model, Jeep Cherokee gets some technological updates for the 2015 model year.

2015 Jeep Cherokee models with the 3.2-liter V6 engine now come with Stop-Start technology, intended to boost fuel economy. Also new for 2015, the Forward Collision Warning system adds low-speed crash mitigation. A rearview camera and automatic headlamps now are standard on 2015 Cherokee Latitude and 2015 Cherokee Trailhawk models. A new SafetyTec Group with Blind-spot Monitoring and Rear Cross Path Detection as well as rear park assist is available for 2015 Cherokee Limited, Latitude, and Trailhawk models. In addition, a Ventilated/Memory Seat Group is optional on Trailhawk models with leather interior.

The 2015 Jeep Cherokee comes standard with a 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine that makes 184 horsepower and 171 pound-feet of torque, with fuel economy EPA-rated at 21/28 mpg City/Highway. Optional is the 3.2-liter V6 rated at 271 horsepower and 239 pound-feet of torque, EPA-rated at 20/28 mpg City/Highway with 4WD.

For daily driving, we like the four-cylinder, it’s smooth and powerful enough. However, the V6 is only a bit thirstier. The advantage to the V6 is towing, rated to 4500 pounds, versus 2000 pounds for the four-cylinder.

All models come with a 9-speed automatic transmission. It’s a compact marvel, raising the regular-car bar for transmission construction and packaging. We found it shifted smoothly.

The Cherokee Trailhawk offers amazing off-road capability, helped by electronic descent control for steep downhill sections. With its tall 4.7:1 ratio for first gear, the crawl ratio of 56:1 is nearly as high as the Wrangler’s, useful in boulder fields and other rugged terrain.

Three four-wheel-drive systems are available: Active Drive I, with a one-speed Power Transfer Unit; Active Drive II with two-speed PTU and low range; and Active Drive Lock with two-speed PTU, low range and locking rear differential. The basic Active Drive I is all-wheel drive. The Selec-Terrain traction control system has five modes: Auto, Snow, Sport, Sand/Mud, and Rock.

As for looks, Cherokee doesn’t get lost in the SUV crowd. Its designers delivered style and distinction while enhancing the iconic image. The Cherokee Latitude is less blingy than the Limited. Trailhawk says Jeep the loudest, with raised suspension, overfenders and painted tow hooks, plus it gets Jeep’s Trail Rated status, meaning it has passed rigorous real-world off-road testing.

Behind the wheel, Cherokee feels tight. Smooth and solid with a firm ride. The four-cylinder has plenty of power for daily needs, and to cruise easily at freeway speeds. The V6 emits a bit of engine noise, but delivers strong acceleration performance. The V6 models offer good handling, but not as good as those with the lighter four-cylinder engine.

Model Lineup

The 2015 Jeep Cherokee comes in Sport, Latitude and Limited models, each with front-wheel drive or four-wheel drive, plus the Trailhawk 4×4, with offroad capability that’s off the chart.

Cherokee Sport ($22,995) and Sport 4×4 ($24,995) come standard with manual air conditioning, air filtering, cloth seats with manual height adjustment, cloth door trim, reclining and fore-aft adjusting 60/40 rear seat, power windows with driver’s one-touch down, power mirrors, remote keyless entry, 5-inch touchscreen with Bluetooth and media hub, LED taillamps and daytime running lights, halogen headlamps, electronic parking brake, 17-inch steel wheels with all-season tires, cargo tie-down loops, and black door handles.

Cherokee Latitude ($24,795) and Latitude 4×4 ($26,795) upgrade to air conditioning, power front windows with one-touch up and down, front passenger fold-flat seat with storage space, leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob, automatic headlamps, body-colored door handles and mirrors, bright molding and roofrails, tinted glass, fog lamps, rear backup camera, 17-inch painted aluminum wheels, and a 115-volt outlet.

Cherokee Limited ($28,595) and Limited 4×4 ($30,595) upgrade with leather-trimmed heated seats, dual-zone climate control, vinyl door trim, heated multi-function power mirrors, bright lower fascia accents, 18-inch polished aluminum wheels, 8-way with lumbar power driver’s seat, 7-inch color instrument cluster, 8.4-inch touchscreen audio, and a cargo net with tonneau cover.

Cherokee Trailhawk ($30,095) comes standard with Jeep’s Active Drive Lock 4×4 system with low range and locking rear axle, Selec-Terrain drive mode selector, Selec-Speed Control with hill ascent control and hill descent control, off-road suspension with increased ride height, underbody skid plates, heavy-duty cooling system, transmission oil cooler, off-road front and rear fascias, fender flares, tow hooks, skid plates, accent-color grille surrounds, roof rails, black moldings, 17-inch aluminum wheels with black painted pockets, all-terrain tires, full-size spare, backup camera, exclusive cloth interior with red accent stitching. Trailhawk equipment levels are similar to those of Limited, though Trailhawk comes with seats trimmed in cloth and leather. A Trailhawk off-road accessory kit is available, as are ventilated seats and a leather interior group.

Standalone options include a panoramic sunroof (not for Sport), CD player, and tonneau cover.

Safety equipment standard on all models includes 10 airbags, electronic stability control, electronic roll mitigation, and ABS. Optional safety features include ParkSense Parallel/Perpendicular Park Assist, Adaptive Cruise Control-Plus, Forward Collision Warning-Plus, LaneSense Lane Departure Warning-Plus; 9-1-1 assist call button; Blind-spot Monitoring; Rear Cross Path detection; ParkView rear backup camera with dynamic grid lines. Most optional safety features come in Technology Group or Safety Tec Group.

Walkaround

Most emphatically, the Cherokee doesn’t get lost in the SUV crowd. It delivers style and distinction, while clearly standing out as a Jeep. That may be best expressed by the grille, containing seven Jeep slugs backed by eggcrate; one vertical piece with the aluminum hood, a unique design described by Jeep as waterfall. The hood has a hump as on a muscle car, made into a flat-black wedge on the Trailhawk. The slugs are bright chrome in every model but the Trailhawk, where the eggcrate is black, changing the car’s presence. All around, the Trailhawk with its rugged touches (wheels, tires, fender flares, tow hooks) looks more Jeepish.

Other SUVs dream of looking like the Cherokee. Sweet little slits that look like headlamps are actually LED daytime running lights with turn signals, while the projector headlamps rise in black fascias over the front bumper, like bugeyes. They’re so small they look more like foglights, while the foglights themselves are even smaller, down at the bottom corners of the fascia; again, eggcrate black on the Trailhawk.

The Latitude is less blingy than the Limited and, we think,-ábetter looking.

Trapezoidal wheel arches have sculpted sides leading back to where the Cherokee tries hard for attention, but struggles. There’s a big, fat horizontal concave in the liftgate, reducing the inherent slab but obscuring the Jeep identity. At a glance, it could almost be a Kia. The 4×4 models have more black fascia in the rear, which tweaks some style out of the slab. Big LED horizontal taillamps extend into the glass with a top-heavy touch that’s apparently aerodynamic.

Interior

Jeep Cherokee’s interior is stylish and utilitarian, tight and comfortable. Everything has a function, while being easy to reach and operate.

Cherokee Latitude comes with cloth seats that are rugged and sporty, and fit just right. Perforated leather seats replace cloth in the Limited. The excellent fat steering wheel makes you feel like you’re in control. You’re surrounded by the right stuff in the right places: leather armrest/grab handle, deep door pockets and center console, clean and responsive center stack, trim like brown titanium, black vents; plus stitched leather on the dashboard of the Limited. Plenty of knobs, but not too many. Knobs are good.

The knob for terrain selection has four positions: Auto, Sport, Snow, and Sand/Mud. There’s an electronic parking brake, behind the shift lever. Cruise control and audio on the steering wheel. Down on the floor is a big dead pedal.

Digital gauges between the speedometer and tachometer are clear, lit organic white, including a display for the transmission gear. We are slowly becoming accustomed to seeing a 9 displayed. Navigation information on the touchscreen is easy to read, with basic buttons. We wish the radio had a dial, but there’s a lovely storage bin on the dashboard that can hold a laptop.

The standard touch-screen is 5 inches, and the premium one is 8.4 inches. The rearview camera display is big and beautiful. Connectivity goes all the way, including wireless smartphone charging, internet radio, voice-command navigation, media hub with ports galore, and Uconnect access that can do everything from calling 911 to reading incoming text messages to you.

We like the instrument panel’s function more than its design. Jeep designers spent endless hours trying to make the dashboard fluid, like water, with lines like the wings of an osprey. It seems a bit foo-foo for a Jeep. That’s what the Compass was supposed to be for.

The center stack is supposed to harken back to a ’40s Jeep grille, and the vents are supposed to suggest a skeleton. As for colors, it’s a world tour. There are the colors of Mount Vesuvius, Kilimanjaro, the Grand Canyon, Iceland, and Morocco at night. Kilimanjaro inspired the cloth-and-leather Trailhawk interior. Jeep says the Masai tribe that lives there influenced the design (we didn’t ask how). If your imagination runs with the designers, you’ll see it. Either way, the hues are sweet.

Behind the front seat, there’s a lot of room and convenience for passengers and cargo. The 60/40 rear seats fold flat in a heartbeat. The 40.3 inches of rear legroom is nearly 2 inches more than big brother Grand Cherokee has, because the Cherokee’s rear seat is higher. The SAE standard for rear legroom measures hip to ankle, as part of the equation to determine the total in inches.

The power liftgate can be opened with the remote or by pressing the electronic latch button, which is right where you expect it to be. To close the liftgate there’s a button inside that’s conveniently located, but hard to see. Slide out your cargo and press that button, and it’s right there. At night, however, we groped around trying to find it because it is not lighted. Pressing the remote also closes it, of course. The cargo cover gets in the way at times with its big flap.

Driving Impressions

The first thing we noticed when we drove the Jeep Cherokee is how tight it is: smooth and solid with a firm ride. Steering is precise for an SUV, using a steering wheel that’s satisfying in its shape and function. The steering column made a bit of noise when we turned the wheel on at least one model, however.

We got good seat time in both the 2.4-liter four-cylinder and the 3.2-liter V6, with their 9-speed automatic transmission. You read that right, 9 speeds, squeezed into a box of gears not much bigger than a breadbox. Bold engineering by Chrysler, where good things have been happening lately on the technical front. We don’t mean to write corporate ad slogans, but in this case it’s true.

The V6 we drove wasn’t much smoother than the four. The four-cylinder has plenty of power for daily needs, and to cruise easily at freeway speeds. The V6 is for people who like more acceleration performance, or who tow. The four-cylinder is rated to tow 2000 pounds; the V6 with tow package, a class-leading 4500 pounds. If you don’t tow often, the four-cylinder will be fine. The 9-speed gearbox helps, but it will be busy.

During a day-long drive over varied terrain of freeways, winding two-lanes, mountains and off-road, we watched the transmission do its thing. Theoretically, a 9-speed transmission would shift almost twice as much as a 5-speed; but not in this case, because the ratio of 5th gear is an even 1.00:1. So 6th, 7th, 8th and 9th are all overdrives, to reduce rpm’s at highway speeds and increase fuel mileage. With drive ratios of .81, .70, .58 and .48, there’s very little rev change with each shift, so you don’t often feel more than five gears.

Shifting function is especially important in the Cherokee because in Manual mode, you’ve got those 9 speeds to play with (overdrive notwithstanding). But after you’re in 5th gear, you might as well go back to Auto. Except in Auto, it almost never gets up to 9th on its own. Overall in Manual mode, it shifts a lot on its own, including casual upshifts at 2500 rpm or so.

There are more than 40 shift maps for conditions and forces that software detects, meaning that there’s only a 1-in-40 chance that whatever we say about when it shifts will be correct. It’s going to shift a lot. We didn’t find it intrusive.

Like them all, the transmission is programmed to shift based on data from sensors trying to read the road conditions as well as your pace and style. It seems not unlike Google noting your surfing habits and sending the info to advertisers who try to give (sell) you what you want, on your screen. At least, Jeep isn’t invading your privacy by giving its transmission a potent memory and shifting algorithm.

The other issue with the 9-speed is reliability, and only time will tell. The transmission has four gear sets and six shift elements, including multi-disc clutches, dog clutches and brakes. Just more parts to break, the off-road old-timers with 4-speeds would say.

With the four-cylinder, having less torque than the V6, the transmission kicks down more. However, the Sport mode in 4×4 Selec-Terrain keeps it in the gears longer. We got 22.3 miles per gallon on the winding roads and freeway; it’s EPA-estimated at 21/28 mpg City/Highway with four-wheel drive. In the V6, mileage dropped to 18.1 mpg; it’s rated at 20/28 mpg mpg.

After driving the smooth four-cylinder Latitude, we expected the V6 Limited to be super smooth, but some engine noise appeared. Put your foot down, however, and it flies. Handling is good, but it doesn’t feel as attached to the road surface as the four. The electric power rack-and-pinion steering ratio is the same, but the V6 steering is lighter. And the ride is softer and smoother; it doesn’t take undulations as well as the Latitude, but speed bumps are gentler. The V6 feels bigger because it handles heavier due to the weight of the engine, which is true of all but the most carefully balanced and sophisticatedly suspended cars, none of them SUVs.

But the knockout punch with any Jeep is off-road capability. We spent a few hours facing off-road challenges in a Trailhawk. It breaks new ground, especially in descent control. It will do amazing things. For some of those things it doesn’t need or want your feet to be involved, to screw things up. It will climb up rocks and back down with your feet in the air; the driver just steers, and the machine takes itself down over treacherous terrain perfectly, safely. The descent advancement is that the driver can control the speed in 0.2-mph increments. That’s way better than before.

The transmission uses a numerically high 4.7:1 ratio for first gear, for quicker standing-start acceleration. Coupled with the 4.08:1 final drive with the four-cylinder (3.52:1 in the V6), and the Active Drive II or Active Drive Lock. That setup delivers a crawl ratio of 56:1, nearly as high as that of the Jeep Wrangler.

Unfortunately, we didn’t get a chance to test the traction of basic Active Drive I. Just because the Trailhawk with Active Drive Lock has offroad capability beyond real-world needs, it doesn’t mean that Active Drive I will keep you moving in two feet of snow, sand or mud. However, there are modes for those conditions in Selec-Terrain, and it is a Jeep, so we have faith.

At the introduction of the new Cherokee, we were given the opportunity for comparison spins in a Honda CRV, Toyota RAV4, and Ford Escape. Cherokee blew them out of the water. Compared to the Cherokee, the Escape is more nimble but has a mere 5-speed; the RAV4 has no feel and its transmission intrudes; the CR-V is boring and it labors.

The Cherokee claims the categories that matter, for example character, spirit and looks. It has a personality: decisive. Compared to the others, it feels like an Alfa Romeo.

Summary

The 2015 Jeep Cherokee is a winner on many fronts, especially exterior and interior design, along with character. The smooth four-cylinder engine works for all but big towing. The 9-speed transmission is smooth, but time will tell on reliability. Fuel mileage could be better. The Trailhawk is in an offroad class of its own.

Sam Moses filed this NewCarTestDrive.com report.

Model as tested
Jeep Cherokee Latitude 4x4 ($26,495)
Basic Warranty
3 years/36000 miles
Assembled in
Toledo, Ohio
Destination charge
995
Gas guzzler tax
N/A
Base Price
22995
Price as tested
27,295
Options as tested
Model Line Overview
Model lineup
Jeep Cherokee Sport 4x2 ($22,995), Sport 4x4 ($24,995); Latitude 4x2 ($24,795), Latitude 4x4 ($26,795); Limited 4x2 ($28,595), Limited 4x4 ($30,595), Trailhawk ($30,095)
Safety equipment (standard)
10 airbags, electronic stability control, ABS with brake assist
Safety equipment (optional)
N/A
Engines
2.4-liter I4
Transmissions
9-speed automatic
Specifications as Tested
air conditioning with air filtering, cloth seats with manual height adjustment, cloth door trim, reclining and fore-aft adjusting 60/40 rear seat, power front windows with one-touch up and down feature, keyless entry, 5-inch touchscreen with Bluetooth and media hub, LED taillamps and daytime running lights, halogen headlamps, electric parking brake, 17-inch aluminum wheels with all-season tires, body-colored door handles and mirrors, bright molding and roofrails, tinted glass, fog lamps, front passenger fold-flat seat with storage space, leather-wrapped steering wheel, LED interior lightning, 115-volt outlet
Engine & Transmission
Engine
2.4-liter I4
Drivetrain type
four-wheel drive
Horsepower (hp @ rpm)
184 @ 6400
Transmission
EPA fuel economy, city/hwy
21/28
Torque (lb.-ft. @ rpm)
N/A
Suspension
Brakes, front/rear
vented disc/solid disc with ABS
Suspension, front
McPherson strut, coil springs, aluminum control arms, stabilizer bar
Tires
P225/65R17
Suspension, rear
4-link, coil springs, aluminum control arms, stabilizer bar
Accomodations
Seating capacity
5
Head/hip/leg room, middle
N/A
Head/hip/leg room, front
39.4/53.8/41.1
Head/hip/leg room, rear
38.5/49.9/40.3
Measurements
Fuel capacity
N/A
Trunk volume
58.9
Wheelbase
106.3
Length/width/height
182.0/73.2/66.2
Turning circle
37.7
Payload
N/A
Towing capacity
2000
Track, front/rear
62.2/61.9
Ground clearance
8.7
Curb weight
3953
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2015 Jeep listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2015 Jeep listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Jeeps for Sale
Find 2015 Jeep Cherokee listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2015 Jeep Cherokee
431
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel