Consumer Reviews
4.1
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
23 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Will
September 30, 2019
30,500 miles
|
Owned 3 years 7 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The 2015 Dodge Dart SXT has been a good car for me. I use 91 octane fuel in it. I have the oil changed three times a year. The only recall I have to this point is the transmission cable. The car performs well for all seasons. The only upgrade I have made to the car is purchasing studded snow tires. I do agree with some of the reviews about the car being under power for highway driving. I have to tell myself that I bought the car for gas mileage. It's not built as a race car. Too bad the people at Dodge didn't make the upgrades to the Dart as far as some better performance with the engine
Gannon
July 18, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Looking to buy this.
Lopsidedfruitloop
March 19, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
December 27, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Mike
December 01, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The dodge 2015 sxt is a great car if you are looking for a reliable comfortable ride. It is fun to drive, the slapstick brings more enjoyment on a cruise. Its not like most cars with a noticeable delay in between shifting. You also dont have to worry about stalling if you try to shift at the wrong time it will not allow it. Also it does the job right allowing you to redline before it shifts. The handling is amazing. I would recommend this car to anyone!
Anonymous
August 12, 2018
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought this car a year ago. Got it to save on gas. So glad I got the extended warranty with it. Wish I would have done more research first and known that they like to eat oil and after 60k are a throw away car. Mine has 44k on it and I have to check the oil as if I drive a old beater. Can''t wait to get rid of it. The only good is it''s front wheel drive and the fuel mileage.
Darla
June 23, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great, dependable, powerful, comfortable, exceptional gas mileage. The only bad thing is I paid over twice the value after only one year. The value decreased horribly.
Mac
April 29, 2018
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Purchased a 2015 Dodge Dart GT with a manual 6 speed transmission. Was notifed that the hydraulic clutch system had a defect where the clutch pedal will stay on the floor and to take the vehicle to the dealer for repair it it happens. A year and a half later the system failed twice, first repair was covered by the warranty. Second failure within 24 hours after the first repair was not covered, cost $1200 to replace the slave cylinder. Chrysler warranty only fixes half the problem. I no longer trust the car and am planning to replace it with a dependable AMERICAN made car.
ricardo
February 01, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Excellent in relation to price and performance. (2.4 SXT)
Joe
December 05, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have the GT, It rides a bit hard but is overall a comfortable car. The 2.4 liter engine seems a little under-powered but otherwise Iike the car. Hard to beat for the price. Gets about 30 on highway. UConnect a nice feature.
Marion L.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 30, 2017
33,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I was so amazed with my Dodge Dart. I have never owned one and was a bit skeptical at first. I took it for a test drive and couldn t believe the get up and go it has. This car was designed for the road. While traveling across the states I was getting up to 37 mpg...amazing! I also, have had back surgery and traveling in my Dodge Dart was extremely comfortable. I love the ease of being able to change radio stations and control the volume from the comfort of my steering wheel. Also, the way my Dodge Dart hugged the road, while driving around curves was done with ease. All in all....I LOVE MY DODGE DART!
Ryan
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 30, 2017
82,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Extremely unreliable vehicle. Have had constant issues with drivetrain, cooling system, transmission and body. Avoid this vehicle.
J.C.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 29, 2017
6,300 miles
|
Owned 2 years 8 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like chysler products Always have. Everyone that I have had has been reliable. This one I bought had a great color
Gary
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 26, 2017
27,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 9 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
On the highway, it gets over 40 mpg which is the advertised mpg. The Dodge Dart is more responsive than my first impression.
Sandy
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 25, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I like the Dodge Dart however I was told that Dodge is discontinuing this model. It's a shame as it is a nice little car and handles well. So like everything else, when there is a good thing they either change it or delete it. This is the first time I had a car that I could sync my phone to and be hands free, Have lights/camera on side that tell me a car is close and the back up/camera lights to know what is behind me. Love this feature
David
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 25, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great mileage and fun to drive. Very dependable vehicle. Great value for the price. This is my second Dodge Dart and would purchase another one if they were still available.
Michael
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
68,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 1 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My family and I are very happy with our Dodge Dart. The dart gas held up great with just one minor issue (it has stalled three time in The past few weeks but is getting fixed). Other than that one issue my family and I have had no complaints about the vehicle. For being a smaller body vehicle it has a spacious interior with my family of 5. And it is not lacking in looks or Performance (It looks good sitting in the driveway and is fun to drive down road). I would recommend the Dodge Dart for anybody.
Todd
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 24, 2017
29,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Good car for the money Rides low and rough due to tight suspension. Good mileage. Interior could use some ungrades.
Jeff G
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 23, 2017
31,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my Dodge Dart because it is fun to drive,handles great and sounds mean. The seats are comfortable and the controls are easy to work. The music system sounds great.Gets good gas mileage.
Joseph B.
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 23, 2017
30,074 miles
|
Owned 2 years 8 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The Dart is an awesome vehicle. Great gas mileage and superb driveability makes the Dart a great value.
Pete
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 23, 2017
17,250 miles
|
Owned 3 years 10 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This car has great style and dependable with no issues I would buy this car in the future if they would continue making it
Anonymous
J.D. Power
VERIFIED REVIEW
October 21, 2017
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
good value for the money I spent on it it is an american made car have always loved mopars love the colour s
Kent
May 14, 2015
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Very nice car overall. Have only owned it for a few weeks so long term I can''t make any judgements but up to this point I am very happy with my purchase. It handles very well and for the class it is in the Dart is very sporty. Fit and finish are very good. The interior is comfortable although the seat could use a few more adjustments to suit my taste. Other then that...highly recommend.
2015 Dodge 1052 Dart 27448 369355
Write a Review for the 2015 Dodge Dart
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Bob Plunkett
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction

A fixture at the entry end of the Dodge lineup from 1960 through 1976, the Dart was discontinued in 1977. Decades later, for the 2013 model year, it was resuscitated, affixed to an all-new line of compact sedans.

Following up on powertrain and features changes introduced for the 2014 model year are two major changes for 2015. First, the 184-horsepower, 2.4-liter Tigershark MultiAir2 engine that powers SXT, Limited and GT models is newly available as a Partial Zero Emissions Vehicle (PZEV), in 14 states. In addition, the 2015 Dart SE includes a Convenience Group at a discounted price, adding air conditioning, power locks and mirrors, remote keyless entry, underbody aero treatment and active grille shutters. Also for 2015, the Uconnect 8.4-inch touchscreen radio is updated to include Android smartphone compatibility, and a CD player is now a standalone option. The Blacktop appearance package, introduced during the 2014 model year, continues into 2015.

Although the modern-day Dart occupies the same position in the Dodge passenger car hierarchy as the original, similarities end there. The first car to incorporate engineering elements from corporate parent Fiat, the revival Dart is a contemporary front-drive compact facing a considerably stronger competitive environment. So far, it seems to be a compelling alternative to the Chevrolet Cruze, Ford Focus, Honda Civic, Hyundai Elantra, Kia Forte, Nissan Sentra, Mazda 3, Subaru Impreza, Toyota Corolla, and Volkswagen Jetta.

Dart styling is crisp, if not exactly head-turning. The structure is solid, engineering credentials look good, and the number of equipment and trim choices is exceptional.

Like other compacts, the Dart targets young adults. The Dart makes a good case for itself with young parents, thanks to an exceptionally roomy interior by compact sedan standards, and a respectable complement of standard safety features.

Even though fundamental elements of its unibody foundations were adapted from the Italian Alfa Romeo Giulietta hatchback, they were stretched to accommodate the sedan body style: longer wheelbase, longer overall, wider track, wider body. The dimensional expansions were accompanied by structural enhancements; 68 percent of the bodyshell is said to be high-strength steel, yielding a chassis that feels exceptionally solid.

Just as important, the Dart presents one of the broadest range of choices in its class: five trim levels, nine exterior colors, seven wheel designs from 16 to 18 inches, three different four-cylinder engines (160-horsepower 2.0 liter, 160-horsepower 1.4-liter turbo, 184-horsepower 2.4-liter), and three transmissions (6-speed manual, 6-speed automatic, 6-speed dual clutch automatic).

Though some of the engines incorporate the innovative Multi-Air induction technology pioneered by Fiat, Chrysler’s corporate parent, all three engines are assembled in Michigan. Final vehicle assembly is at Chrysler’s factory in Belvidere, Illinois.

Most important, the Dart stacks up well in today’s two most critical considerations: MPG and MSRP. EPA fuel-economy estimates range up to 41 mpg on the highway (for the Aero model). Suggested retail pricing opens at $16,495.

Demerits: just one. For all the emphasis on the weight-saving benefits of high-strength steel, the Darts are a little pudgy by compact standards.

Model Lineup

The Dodge Dart SE ($16,495) comes standard with the 2.0-liter engine and 6-speed manual transmission, cloth upholstery, four-speaker AM/FM radio, power windows, body-color crosshair grille, LED taillamps, a floor console with covered storage, tilt/telescopic steering column, folding rear seat, 16-inch steel wheels, and a 12-volt outlet. A 6-speed automatic transmission is optional. Air conditioning, keyless entry, active grille shutters, Uconnect voice-command with Bluetooth and other extras are available in a Convenience Group, at a discounted price ($775 additional).

The Dart SXT ($18,895) upgrades with air conditioning, 16-inch aluminum alloy wheels, body-color power mirrors and locks, six-speaker audio system, inside mirror with microphone, remote keyless entry, cruise control, 60/40 split-folding rear seat, active grille shutters, automatic headlamps, and Uconnect voice command with Bluetooth.

Dart Aero ($19,995) includes the 1.4-liter turbocharged engine and 6-speed manual transmission, bright crosshatch grille, body-color power mirrors and door handles, active grille shutters, leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob, steering-wheel audio controls, a 7-inch instrument display, and 16-inch aluminum wheels. A 6-speed dual clutch automatic transmission is optional.

Dart GT ($21,295), the sporty version, gets the 2.4-liter engine and 6-speed manual transmission, frequency-sensing sport suspension, performance steering and gear ratios, keyless entry with pushbutton start, Nappa perforated leather upholstery, heated front seats, black crosshair grille, dark-tinted automatic headlamps, foglamps, 10-way power driver’s seat, leather-wrapped steering wheel with auxiliary audio controls, rearview camera, and 18-inch aluminum alloy wheels.

Dart Limited ($23,095) includes Nappa leather heated front seats with accent stitching, overhead console, pushbutton start, remote start, Garmin navigation, dual-zone automatic climate control, thin-film transistor instrument cluster, LED interior lighting, 10-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, leather-wrapped heated steering wheel, auto-dimming inside mirror with microphone, fore/aft sliding armrest, heated power mirrors, active grille shutters, 8.4-inch Uconnect touch screen, and 17-inch aluminum wheels.

The optional Blacktop Package ($295) for the SXT model includes foglamps, Yokohama tires on 18-inch gloss black aluminum wheels, and gloss black outside mirrors. Also available for SXT is a Rallye Appearance Group ($395), including premium leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob, foglamps, black crosshair grille, aerodynamic underbody components, dual exhaust tips, touring suspension, rear stabilizer bar, and 17-inch Hyper Black aluminum wheels. The California Appearance Package ($395) for SXT has contents similar to California group, including a leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob, rear stabilizer bar, touring suspension, dual exhaust tips, underbody aero components, and Hyper Black 17-inch aluminum wheels. A Sun and Sound Group ($1,295 for SXT, $995 for GT) includes a 9-speaker Alpine stereo with 506-watt amplifier, MP3 capability, USB port remote, iPod control, SiriusXM satellite radio, and subwoofer (no CD player); Uconnect 8.4-inch touchscreen; express open/close sunroof; and ParkView rear backup camera. The Technology Group ($995) includes a blind-spot monitor, rear cross-path detection, rear parking assist, alarm, rain-sensing wipers, and automatic high-beam high-intensity-discharge headlamps.

Safety features on all Dodge Darts includes 10 airbags, ABS with brake lock differential, electronic stability control, electronic roll mitigation, traction control, and active front headrests.

Walkaround

The Dodge Dart looks athletic, with its skin tightly wrapped around the wheels and a hint of Coke-bottle contours: wider at the front and rear axles, slimmer between. A hint of forward-leaning rake, plus modest front and rear overhangs, suggests sportiness. Even so, styling doesn’t provoke many double-takes.

The design team took great pains with aerodynamics. The shape evolved through extensive wind-tunnel testing, and thoughtful details include active grille shutters that close to restrict radiator airflow when cooling air isn’t needed, to reduce aerodynamic drag. The underbody is fully enclosed, and a rear diffuser manages underbody airflow to enhance stability. The net result of all the aero attention is a praiseworthy drag coefficient of 0.285, enhancing fuel economy and also helping to minimize wind noise.

Dodge signature elements for its latest offering include a fresh interpretation of the division’s crosshair grille, and a taillamp treatment, adapted from the Dodge Challenger, that spreads across the entire rear end, incorporating 152 LEDs.

One other exterior note relates to the interior. At 183.9 inches long, 72.0 inches wide, and 57.7 inches tall, the Dart is one of the biggest of the current compact crop. Designers have put those dimensions to work inside, creating one of the roomiest interiors (over 97 cubic feet) in this class. The 13.1-cubic foot trunk can be expanded by folding the rear seatbacks forward. In the base model, the seatback is one piece. In other trim levels, it’s a split-folding setup.

Interior

Interior

Roominess is always a plus in a family sedan, but it’s much more compelling when nicely appointed. Here, too, the Dart scores well. Nothing inside these cars looks cheap, even in the most basic model, and soft-touch surfaces abound: dashboard, door panels, center console and elsewhere.

The basic cloth upholstery is attractive and looks durable. Leather is standard in the top-of-the line Limited model (perforated in the GT). The seats are long-haul comfortable, with enough lateral support to feel sporty. Like all sedans, the cabin is rated for five occupants; and like all of them, the center rear position will accommodate an adult occupant about as far as the end of the driveway before complaints begin to fill the air. There’s not enough shoulder room for three adults in the back seat, but it’s okay for two adults for short distances.

Thoughtful storage touches: a glovebox big enough to swallow a laptop computer, and a bin under the right front passenger seat, accessed by folding the seat cushion forward.

As we expect of new cars today, there are plenty of optional electronic goodies. Foremost on this list is an 8.4-inch touch-screen display, dominating the center dash of the higher trim levels (not available on the base Dart). A navigation system is offered for the Limited model, as well as a configurable electronic instrument package and an LED-powered light pipe surround for the entire instrument panel, which some may like, while others may find a bit garish.

Like other carmakers, Chrysler took notice of the success of Ford’s Sync infotainment system and responded with one of its own, called U-connect. As expected, there’s good audio, upgrade audio, satellite radio, and connections for MP3, your iPod, Pandora, or what have you.

Driving Impressions

Chrysler calls the Dart’s two naturally aspirated engines Tigershark. This appellation is a little difficult to fathom with the basic 2.0-liter version, which doesn’t feel very tigerish, particularly mated with the optional 6-speed automatic transmission. This was our primary test sample, and the combination that probably makes up the biggest percentage of Dart orders: 2.0-liter engine, 6-speed automatic, likely in the SXT trim level.

So equipped, the Dart is a rather ho-hum performer off the line, with so-so throttle response and some reluctance by the transmission to kick down a gear or two in passing situations. The Fiat-sourced 6-speed manual improves performance slightly, as well as the fun-to-drive index, and generates EPA fuel-economy ratings of 25/36 mpg City/Highway.

The 1.4-liter turbo engine, shared with the Fiat 500 Abarth, delivers a little more verve. Its 160-horsepower rating is the same as that of the 2.0-liter, but it generates more torque: 184 pound-feet versus 148. The trick with this engine is keeping it in the sweet spot of its torque band, from 2500 to 4000 rpm. Otherwise, the engine bogs.

Suspension tuning in the mainstream Darts is far from whipped cream. The chassis engineers admit they Americanized the suspension specs from those employed in the Alfa Giulietta, which translates as softened. But softened doesn’t mean mushy. There’s more body roll than you’d experience in the Alfa, but the Dart’s responses are still eager, enhanced by one of the best electric power steering systems in this class: accurate, tactile, and nicely weighted.

We should also note that ride quality, the objective of the Americanization, is excellent. Firm enough to retain a strong suggestion of Euro feel, yet supple enough to take the hard edge of sharp bumps and warty pavement.

A little more power, or a little less curb weight, or both, would make the 2.0-liter Dart a little more entertaining; but even so, the fun-to-drive index is well above average. The engineers also get high marks for quiet operation. A little road noise finds its way through the suspension, depending on pavement composition, but wind noise is nil, thanks to the aero refinements.

Summary

The Dodge Dart is attractive, roomy, comfortable, and handsomely turned out within. It also has an exceptionally solid feel, with above average road manners, along with-áattractive pricing and a tempting array of optional goodies.

Tony Swan filed this NewCarTestDrive.com report after his test drives of Dodge Dart models near Austin, Texas.

Model as tested
Dodge Dart Limited ($19,995)
Basic Warranty
36 months/36,000 miles
Assembled in
Belvidere, Illinois
Destination charge
995
Gas guzzler tax
N/A
Base Price
Price as tested
Options as tested
Premium Group, Uconnect infotainment system with 8.4-inch touch screen; Garmin navigation system; voice command; satellite radio; SiriusXM travel link; Nappa leather seats
Model Line Overview
Model lineup
Dodge Dart SE ($16,495); SXT ($18,895); Aero ($19,995); Limited ($23,095); GT ($21,295)
Safety equipment (standard)
10 airbags (front-impact, driver and passenger knee airbags, front seat side-impact, front and rear curtain airbags), electronic stability control, traction control; anti-lock brakes (ABS) with Electronic Brake-force Distribution, Brake Assist, and brake lock differential; tire-pressure monitor
Safety equipment (optional)
N/A
Engines
2.0-liter sohc 16v inline-4
Transmissions
6-speed automatic
Specifications as Tested
heated front seats; power adjustable driver's seat; heated power side mirrors; power windows; remote power locks; LED interior lighting; illuminated cupholders; pushbutton start; dual-zone climate control; AM/FM audio with in-dash CD player; USB-port connectivity with Bluetooth, iPod, Pandora internet radio interface; tilt/telescope steering column; leather-wrapped steering wheel with auxiliary controls; front passenger underseat storage; cruise control; 12-volt power outlet; rear view camera; active grille shutters; underbody aero panels; 17-inch aluminum alloy wheels
Engine & Transmission
Engine
2.0-liter sohc 16v inline-4
Drivetrain type
front-wheel drive
Horsepower (hp @ rpm)
160 @ 6400
Transmission
EPA fuel economy, city/hwy
24/34
Torque (lb.-ft. @ rpm)
N/A
Suspension
Brakes, front/rear
vented disc/disc with ABS, EBD, Brake Assist
Suspension, front
independent, MacPherson struts, coil springs, antiroll bar
Tires
225/45R17
Suspension, rear
independent, multi-link, coil springs, antiroll bar
Accomodations
Seating capacity
5
Head/hip/leg room, middle
N/A
Head/hip/leg room, front
38.6/54.8/42.2
Head/hip/leg room, rear
37.0/52.6/35.2
Measurements
Fuel capacity
N/A
Trunk volume
13.1
Wheelbase
106.4
Length/width/height
183.9/72.0/57.7
Turning circle
36.5
Payload
N/A
Towing capacity
1000
Track, front/rear
61.7/61.6
Ground clearance
4.4
Curb weight
3172
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2015 Dodge listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2015 Dodge listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Dodges for Sale
Find 2015 Dodge Dart listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2015 Dodge Dart
358
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel