Consumer Reviews
3.8
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
16 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Brenda Watkins
March 15, 2020
61,500 miles
|
Owned 5 years 9 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Purchased new. Have had transmission issues from six months. 61k miles now. Gets stuck in 1st or locks up. Dealer advised me to let it sit 24 hours so the computer can reset. This works. Problem is I'm stuck where it stops. Tried to trade it in early on. No one wanted it without a huge loss. This was intended to be my last car purchase and a good one. I get a lot of ribbing about how awful it is. Not really safe either. Zero pick up. I pull out into traffic only when no on coming traffic.
theojkett
August 07, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Don''t get me wrong. I like Jeep and I like this vehicle. It is just a problem child.
I bought this certified pre-owned in July 2017. Here''s the list off things that has happened since I got it.
1. December 2017, transmission failure and full replacement.
2. June 2018, fuel tank sensor goes bad
3. July 2018, cruise control module goes bad
4, February 2019: Driving in the snow, 4WD engaged bur unresponsive at slow speed and plowed into a passing car. Airbags did not deploy. No injuries.
5. July 2019: Left front wheel falls off. Damage +/- $10K
Anonymous
August 05, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Mo
June 20, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Purchase a year ago. Like others, have transmission issues/hesitations/wobble. Dealer says there''s nothing wrong, that it takes time for the vehicle to "learn your driving style"... What? Lots of creature comforts, but not worth the problems. Looking to trade it off and may go back to Ford or Hyundai.
Lyssa
April 17, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought my Cherokee back in February of 2019 with little less than 70k miles on it. First month was amazing with it. Then I started having check engine lights come on constantly. First it was just an emissions leak, then it turned into Wiring Harness failures and now I have bad fuel injectors. I know this car isn''t brand new but some of the functions seem to be a continuous problem like the rough shifting and stalling of the engine. I do like this car I just wish it was more dependable and durable.
Clive1933
April 02, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We got our Cherokee Limited in January 2015. We live in the Blue Mountains NSW Australia and during the past four years we have driven just over 32,000 km (never off road so cannot comment on that aspect). It has given us trouble free service and uses an average of 10.1 litres of 95 Octane petrol per 100km travelled. All the automatic warning features work well; lane and collision warning. The vehicle handles well, is comfortable and very quiet inside while driving on good surfaced roads. It is serviced regularly every six months. The only replacements have been the set of tyres on the car.
fred
April 02, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Rodney
February 28, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great shape. 110k miles
Bubba
January 31, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Fun fun fun. Comfortable and safe feeling when you drive in any conditions.
TheRegMan
September 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This has been a great vehicle. Not sure why people are giving it less than 4 stars in any category. We have the Trailhawk with the tech package and love it. It is a good looking car, very comfortable on long trips and gets good mileage, probably average 24 on the highway at about 80 MPH. If you drive at 65 or 70, you''ll probably get 26.
The only issue we have had is that occasionally after coming to a complete stop, there is a slight hesitation (a second or so) to take off again. Doesn''t happen often and I think it has been resolved since the last update. Haven''t noticed it since then.
Anonymous
February 02, 2018
2
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Karen
July 24, 2015
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Have had it 16 months and had to put a new cluster module in the dash three times. When it goes out you have no odometer, speedometer, gas gauge, etc. This four cylinder automatic model gets 30 MPG, so that is a real plus. Overall I am not satisfied with this Jeep and will not buy another one.
Duane Bogar
May 04, 2015
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought this car a year ago, and at first, it seemed like a good car. Then there was a shudder that started upon acceleration. Jeep put in 4 sets of drive axels, to cure this, but now the transmission is acting up. It seems to want to start out in 4th gear, and then when you push the gas pedal, it jumps into 1st and throws you back. Also, coming down grades, when I shift down on compression, when it goes from 5th to 4th, it accelerates for a couple second, then shifts down. Jeep says this is the characteristic of this transmission, which is dangerous. I turned it over to a lawyer.
DAWN
October 22, 2014
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I fell in love with this jeep after seeing it in consumers reports as being the #1 off road vehicle. We went to the dealership to look at it and drove it home! Love the looks, many many compliments on it. Love the ride, absolutely the most comfortable vehicle I have ever been in! Wouldnt trade it for nothing! Way to go Chrysler for another awesome vehicle! Love it!
paul kay
July 09, 2014
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
went through 2 of these junk piles in 2 weeks wobbles when accelerating took back the first 1 after i blew up in the showroom me another one 400 miles away it for a few days and theres that wobble...9 speed transmissions are TROUBLE DONT BUY THIS SCRAP!!!!!! jeeps were junk in the 90s and there still junk!!!!V6 with that transmission are JUNK!!!! going to buy a Explorer
Geno
November 04, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Test drove the latitude over the weekend. Also got to see the Trailhawk. Both are very nice will likely go with the Trailhawk. Seemed very solid compared to the Rav4 and the Honda CRV. Couple of notes. Gas mileage on the Trailhawk came in at 25. Was really hoping for better. Seats were great even in the cloth of the Latitude. Very comfy. The biggest negative I saw was with the sun roof my head hits in the back seat very hard. I''m 6''2" but really disappointing. Still like the SUV a lot and will probably still buy it.
2014 Jeep 1199 Cherokee 26522 362466
Write a Review for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Surprisingly great rates
Switch and save an average of 25%* on car insurance.
Disclaimer
Advertisement
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2014 Jeep Cherokee
520
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel