Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
24 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
DantheRamMan
August 25, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love this truck. Almost zero defects in 80,000 miles. Oil pressure sensor switch for warning light failed at around 68,000 miles. Less than $80 to replace.
Has air suspension option and is comfortable, quiet, with excellent performance, 20 mpg on the highway.
If shopping for a new P/U, it would be another RAM Laramie with air suspension and same other options
Mike
June 03, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bob
January 23, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Have enjoyed my Ram. I like the way it looks and operates. Quick acceleration, smooth ride, great performance. It pulls my pontoon with ease.
don
November 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Need a value price???? Has 10,000 mi. excellent condition.
Mickey
September 30, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Steve
September 27, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
September 24, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Meltmeister
September 05, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have owned a 2010 model and am in the process of buying a 13'' or 14''. Truly a family car and work horse all in one!
Rammy
July 31, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I love my truck, Extended cab with ram boxes. Comfort and quiet. touch screen infotainment. I just wish a little better economy.
Namcy
July 23, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
ph
June 12, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
December 31, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
GMD
May 08, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
We have the Laramie 4x4 with air suspension and 8 speed automatic and love it! Couldn''t ask for a better riding or better looking truck! We love the uniqueness of the Black Gold Pearl color and the Light tan leather interior. It rides so nice, doesn''t feel like a truck. The air suspension is wonderful, adjusts to speed for better aerodynamics as well as levels itself out with towing. It handles amazing towing our travel trailer through the West Virginia turnpike every Summer for our family vacation. Best truck we have ever had out of the 3 Rams we have owned.
B.F.Foster
January 31, 2016
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have owned this truck over 2 years, i look forward to every trip, this is a fun veh. 5.7, auto. at 76 years of age I have owned many pickups, foreign and domestic, this is by far the best of the bunch, ride, handle, sound system. fuel mileage. Dodge has won my to get rid of this 1500 but I have to go to a 2500, I know it want be the fun truck my 1500 is.
Arnold Barlow
July 28, 2015
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my first RAM and I absolutely love it. I know Chrysler has had their problems in the past just like ALL the other manufactures but I think they got it right this time. I have owned Ford and Chevy and they were both decent trucks but this RAM is by far the best truck I have owned so far. I have not had any issues with it and the fuel economy is way better than the Ford and Chevys that I had before. The cab is extremely roomy and comfortable. The four wheel drive is awesome and gets me through everything that I have thrown at it. I will buy another RAM again when its time!
arturo rodriguez
April 18, 2014
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I traded my 2011Crewcab Lone Star 4wd with the Hemi because I never used 4wd and didnt really need four doors. It was agreat truck. this truck is awesome which I bought used with 3500 miles. It''s loaded including leather and more options than my 2011. It had 22" tires which I thought were aftermarket but turns out they are factory. I kept my 20" and put on the 2013. So far very happy with truck.
P Hayes
November 11, 2013
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I''ve had four 1500 RAMS my 2010 was the best traded it in for the 2013 Laramie Longhorn with RAM Box Air Suspension and 8 speed transmission. I''ve owned it since late July about 5000 miles up till October I really didn''t have any problems then came the cold weather - need heat. The heater works great around town for short drives but when you''re on the highway after about 2 miles heat goes cold. Been in the shop four times they''re working with Chrysler still no fix. When its cold you need the heat. Also the front defroster blows cold air safety issue. Still overall great Ride. Trading
George
November 05, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I can honestly say that I have owned a Ford and Dodge(RAM) and the Ram 1500 T beats the rest in comfort and power. The only thing I can say bad is that I wished I would have gotten the Larime modle. The MPH is great for a truck with the power it has. Rated at 16 and 19 I get an easy 16 in the city and 20 on the highway. The Infotainment center is by far the best in the business just wished the instruction book was a little more clear on on how to use some of the features. Try the Ram before you buy. Thats all I am saying.....
Ward Sayler
November 03, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I can''t say enough good things the price was right the ride is great and its got great power I have had 4 new Ram 1500s and the 2013 Ram 1500 is by far the best Ram truck so far if you want the best bang for you buck buy a Ram 1500 with air ride and an 8 speed
JULIE PETERS
September 20, 2013
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I HAVE OWNED TWO GRAND NEW 2013 DOGDE RAM HEMI ENGINE TRUCKS AND I WILL NOT OWNED ANOTHER. THE DIRT AND DUST COME INSIDE THE CAB JUST TERRIBLE AND IT HAS DONE IT ON BOTH TRUCKS. 2012 MODEL ALSO HAD ELECTRICAL ISSUE THEY COULDN''T SOLVE AND WITH THE DUST COMING IN THE CAB SO BAD THEY SAID THIS WAS THE ONLY TRUCK THAT HAD THAT PROBLEM SO WE TRADED IT FOR A 2013 SAME TRUCK JUST YEAR NEWER ONLY TO FIND IT HAD THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE DUST COMING INTO THE CAB. ALSO HAS 20 INCH TIRES ON TRUCK HAD FLAT AND ONLY TO FIND THE SPARE THEY GIVE IS A 17 INCH. HOW COOL IS THAT!!!! JUNK!!
Derek W.
July 28, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I just bought a 2013 Ram 1500 Hemi Quad Cab. Its by far better than a Chevy owned a Ford with a Triton 3V- reliable but nightmare spark plug removal. Had a few other issues..Ram drives very nice Hemi has lots of torque and acceleration. Interior is well built doesnt feel cheap like Chevy trucks do. Truck has 200 mi. Still new no word yet on reliability. I LOVE THIS TRUCK. Look forward to driving it every chance I get.
JR
July 05, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I purchased this truck a week ago and from the moment I drove it during the test drive knew it was the truck for me. The Laramie Longhorn package gives you all the modern conveniences one could want in a truck and a ride that is out of this world. I''ve owned Fords Chevy''s and Dodges and by far this is the best model I''ve driven. Granted Ford has their King Ranch edition and it too has some nice features but for me I just couldn''t pass up the Ram as the price was a steal and the lifetime warranty I purchased online means the truck is covered bumper to bumper for as long as it own it.
Justin York
March 27, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
My family has trucks that are all Dodge Rams and I love the horsepower the HEMI puts out. It has great braking when a load is behind it. The interior is nice and roomy for me because I''m over six foot. Pretty much the only thing Dodge needs to refine is bringing back the 5.9 or 360 cubic inch back into the trucks that is the only thing Dodge needs to refine.
Michael Anderson
December 30, 2012
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Nice overall package. Heated and vented seats make the ride very pleasant. Not impressed with the vibration when the Hemi shifts into 4 cyl mode. The display that operates the C Heater Radio Cellphone and U Connect has a tendency to just black out at times. Sometimes is comes back on sometimes it stays off for the entire drive.
Overall ride with the coil rear springs is very nice and the handling for a truck of this size is great.I like the LED tail lights and turn signals. Remote starter is nice when it''s cold. The keyless ignition is a big plus no keys ever to mess with.
2013 Ram Truck 1386 1500 25686 354664
Write a Review for the 2013 Ram Truck 1500
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

G.R. Whale
powered by New Car Test Drive
Introduction
You'll be forgiven for thinking the 2013 Ram 1500 looks vaguely familiar. In fact, the sheetmetal is all the same and surface changes are minor. However, most of what lies beneath and bookends that sheetmetal is new or revised for 2013.

The Ram 1500, considered a half-ton, can carry loads of stuff and can tow trailers similar to what the competition will. Maximum load and tow ratings among the major manufacturers change faster than mobile device operating systems and the only certainty is you want to consider a bigger pickup if you will frequently operate near those maximums.

The 2013 Ram 1500 offers three cabs, three bed lengths (two with RamBox), three engines, two transmissions, two suspension arrangements, and interiors from hose-out ethic to limo substitute.

The biggest news for 2013 is the smallest engine, a 3.6-liter four-cam V6 delivering 305 horsepower, which is 90 more than the 3.7-liter used on 2012 models, with 13 percent more torque and 20 percent better fuel economy. At introduction, the 2013 Ram gets bragging rights for best fuel economy. The engine is new only to Ram, already used in Chrysler Group's Jeeps, vans and cars. Ram HFE is aimed at high fuel economy: Ram HFE gets an EPA-rated 18/25 mpg City/Highway with V6 and 8-speed automatic.

Also significant news for 2013, and a first in pickups, is an 8-speed automatic transmission from German manufacturer ZF. It is standard with the V6 and will be available on the 5.7-liter V8 by calendar year 2013. Both the 310-hp 4.7-liter and 395-hp 5.7-liter V8s come with what's called a 6-speed automatic, though we maintain it compares to a 5-speed (see Driving Impressions).

The last major change is the addition of full air suspension, which offers automatic leveling, eases entry/exit, and offers variable ride height for off-highway travel. The air suspension is available on any model except the new Ram HFE fuel economy special, which includes automatic start/stop engine operation and a bed cover.

Other changes for 2013 include electric-assist steering, more sophisticated electrical systems, active grille shutters, projector and LED lights on higher-line versions, revised cabin materials and dashboards, a lighter frame and box supports, more aluminum suspension components, central locking system that includes tailgate and RamBox compartments, low rolling resistance tires (for fuel economy), keyless entry/start, power sliding defrostable rear window, power folding mirrors and rain-sensing wipers.

On the outside, Ram continues with imposing stature. Like many Dodge cars, the Ram's front end has a forward tilt, but it remains very aerodynamic. Detailing for 2013 lowered the coefficient of drag (one aspect of total aero resistance) from 0.386 to 0.360.

The Ram is a conventional full-size pickup truck, but it differs in rear suspension and powertrains from all its competitors: primarily Ford F-150 and the Chevrolet Silverado/GMC Sierra twins, and to a lesser extent the Nissan Titan and Toyota Tundra. Because the Honda Ridgeline does not have a separate frame, cab and bed, nor a choice of two or four-wheel drive, we do not consider it a conventional half-ton pickup, although those buying a crew cab pickup primarily as a second car would be wise to consider it.

Underneath, where for decades pickup trucks have had a live axle in back with leaf springs, the Ram's rear axle is suspended by coil springs and it is located by four trailing links and a lateral Panhard bar. An optional four-corner air suspension is unique to the Ram, as is the RamBox bed arrangement. Basic front suspension design and brake systems parallel other half-ton pickups; only the F-150 also uses electric-assist power steering.

Inside, the Ram offers seating for three to six people, in-floor storage on Crew Cabs and environments that span working-grade vinyl and rubber to French stitched leather with ventilated and heated seats. Though it varies by region there are 10 Ram 1500 nameplates.

Brand loyalty in pickup trucks makes some sports rivalries look like civilized debate, and many will recommend only one despite the fact that there are no bad pickups. Shopping is made more difficult by so-called competitive comparisons we've seen online that imply drum brakes are better than disc brakes (we disagree) or 300 horsepower is superior to 400 pound-feet of torque (ditto). Add to that payload and tow ratings that change frequently. To choose the best truck for you, we recommend avoiding any buying decision made purely on brand or maximum cargo or tow rating.

With so many versions there is no shortage of Rams to choose from. Compared to the competition, the Ram's suspensions are unique and the styling is less conservative. GM and Ford half-tons offer more engine choices but none has an 8-speed automatic. The Nissan Titan is the only half-ton that offers a full eight-foot long bed on their Crew Cab model.

(Note Ram is now a standalone brand at Chrysler, though the government mandated vehicle ID number still names Dodge as the manufacturer.)

Model Lineup
The 2013 Ram comes in Tradesman, Express, HFE, SLT, Big Horn, LoneStar, Outdoorsman, Sport, Laramie and Laramie Longhorn trim levels. Some of these, such as Big Horn and Lone Star, are primarily cosmetic and packaging and available only in certain regions. Cab choices include a Regular Cab with short (6.3 feet) or long (8 feet) bed, four-door Quad Cab with short bed (6.3 feet), and the Crew Cab with a short bed (5.6 feet) or long bed (6.3 feet). Note Ram terminology can be confusing: Some "long" and "short" beds are the same length, depending on cab, so shop by tape measure, not Ram's labels. There is no Tradesman 1500 HD for 2013. (Ram Heavy Duty 2500 and 3500 pickups are covered in a separate review.)

Ram Tradesman, SLT, and Outdoorsman are available in all body styles; all others are restricted to certain cabs and/or bed lengths.

The 4.7-liter V8 and 6-speed automatic are standard on Tradesman and optional on SLT. The V6 and 8-speed automatic are standard on HFE and SLT models, optional on Tradesman. The 5.7-liter Hemi V8 and 6-speed automatic are optional on Tradesman and SLT, and standard on everything else. Air suspension is available on all four-door Rams. No manual transmissions are offered.

Ram Tradesman models are workhorses with standard vinyl floor, manual windows and gray vinyl 40/20/40 bench seat. However, they do include air conditioning, stability/trailer sway control, tilt wheel, cruise control, trailer hitch, variable intermittent wipers, locking lift-assist tailgate, spray-in bedliner, trailer plugs, 6-speaker AM/FM stereo and USB port, power windows and door locks on four-doors, and under-floor storage (Crew Cab). Options include chrome wheels and trim, fog lamps, bed cover, Uconnect 5.0 with Bluetooth, CD player, backup camera, sliding rear window, power and trailer mirrors, carpeting, cloth seats, block heater, 32-gallon fuel tank and air suspension. Ram Express models, available in all cab styles, add visual cues to a Tradesman with 20-inch wheels, body-color trim, dual rear exhaust and fog lamps; interiors get carpeting and floor mats; trailer hitch is optional.

Ram SLT adds to Tradesman with the V6 and 8-speed automatic, cloth seats, 17-inch alloy wheels, power sliding rear window, Sirius XM, cruise control, overhead console and remote keyless entry.

Ram HFE is regular cab short box 2WD only; it includes most of the SLT-grade equipment plus a bed cover and start/stop; it's the only Ram that does not offer 20-inch wheels.

Ram Big Horn and Ram Lone Star specials come on four-door cabs only and include a Hemi, 20-inch wheels, bright grillework, fog lamps, leather-wrapped steering wheel with redundant controls, a Class IV receiver hitch and unique badging.

Ram Outdoorsman is offered in all cab styles and includes body-color grille, painted bumpers and fender flares, tow hooks, trailer hitch, skid plates, 32-gallon fuel tank, power heated auto-dimming outside mirrors, cloth bucket seats, power driver seat, 60/40 split-fold rear seat, 115-VAC outlet, HomeLink, heavy rubber floormats, 3.92:1 axle ratio on 4WD, and truck-duty LT265/70R17E tires.

Ram Sport is available in Quad and Crew Cabs. Sport includes the 5.7-liter Hemi, slate-gray contrast-stitched bucket seats, body-color bumpers, fog lamps, on-demand 4WD and 20-inch chrome-clad aluminum wheels. The Sport R/T Regular Cab 2WD short bed gets a 4.10:1 rear axle and 285/45R22 tires on polished aluminum wheels but will still tow 5050 pounds.

Ram Laramie is four-door only comes with leather heated 40/20/40 front seats, dual-zone automatic climate control, driver memory system with power front seats and outside mirrors, rear park assist, heated steering wheel, woodgrain trim, power-adjustable pedals, surround sound, UConnect, accent fender flares, and 20-inch chrome-clad aluminum wheels (17s are available).

Ram Laramie Longhorn comes in Crew Cab only and is the top of the line, adding to a Laramie with French-stitched leather upholstery, leather on the dash and door panels, real wood trim, Berber floor mats, ventilated front seats, heated rear seats, leather-wrapped shift knob, navigation with SiriusXM Travel Link, rear camera, accent-painted running boards and bumpers, 32-gallon fuel tank and spray-in bed liner.

Options vary by trim but there are plenty of choices. Among the 1500 line: 8 exterior mirrors, 11 wheels, 10 seats, and four audio systems.

Where not standard, a spray-in bedliner, trailer hitch, trailer brake control, side steps, power trailer towing mirrors, smoker's package, limited-slip differential, sliding rear window, CD player and engine block heater are available on any Ram; a moonroof is offered for any four-door.

Safety features include dual front multi-stage, side impact and side curtain airbags, three-point belts in all seating positions with constant-force retractors, LATCH child-seat anchors, child-protection rear door locks, electronic stability/traction control and four-wheel anti-lock brakes. A rearview camera, rear park sensors and 911 Direct are optional.

Walkaround
Everything on the Ram looks big, yet the truck takes up no more real estate than its competitors. The illusion comes from the shape and the most aggressive grille on the market.

From the outside the Ram looks fairly clean and tidy but some of the badges can get big and gaudy; we asked if the Longhorn badge required door reinforcement and wonder how many further pounds could be shaved off. All the panels are the same as the previous generation (2009-2012). Re-shaped bumpers for 2013 are substantial yet more wind cheating, the grilles vary from simple dark colors of base trucks, through horizontal themed Sport, to chrome mesh on top-line trucks. Behind those grilles on some powertrains are shutters that automatically adjust the amount of air going through the coolers.

Some side mirrors stand off from the door glass, the sides are fairly flat, and the tailgate spoiler and windshield are both rounded for improved aerodynamics. Seen from behind where the tires appear almost flush with the body panels, the truck looks quite trim.

There is no large seam between the front bumper and the grille and lights, and models that do not come with fog lights do not have the outline marks in the bumper that show it's missing something. The large rear bumper has half-round openings for the sport exhaust on trucks so equipped, and both seven- and four-pin trailer plugs are fitted adjacent to the rear license plate. The tailgate has a lock (that now works with the central locking system) and a torsion bar system that cuts apparent tailgate weight in half for ease of lowering and raising it; lower it slowly to avoid the big thud.

On upper trim-level variants the mirrors have LED puddle lamps and the headlamps are projector-beam units with LED signals; they are complemented by LED brake lights, turn signals and tail lights in the back. Some headlamp housings have RAM molded into the lens or background.

Some versions come with two-tone paint with monochrome an option, a few vice versa. Many have aluminum wheels, where not standard they're optional; some have chrome plated plastic covers while others have painted inserts in different colors.

The RamBox Cargo Management System is now offered on more bed/cab configurations. A pickup box with a rectangular interior and no wheel-well intrusions, it measures 49 inches wide inside so it can accommodate a 4x8 sheet of building material flat on the floor. Side rails with cleats secure the cargo, and a bed divider that locks into place segments the bed into smaller areas or can be flipped over and used as a bed extender with the tailgate down. Moving the interior walls inward results in sidewalls with much thicker sections, and in the tops of the two sides of the RamBox are two locking bins, capable of holding 120 standard 12-ounce cans on the left side (where the fuel fill is located) and 130 on the right in short box and up to 143 cans on the 6-foot, 4-inch box, or anything else of that same volume, such as dirty clothes, tools, recovery equipment, fishing tackle and so forth. These boxes have locking lids, drains, lights and 90-degree opening lids; together the volume exceeds that of a 55-gallon drum. You can fill them with ice and beverages for tailgate parties and camping. They might even hold trailer sway control equipment, though the heavy bars may be pushing the weight limits of the boxes. The RamBox has some trade-offs. It reduces total cargo box capacity, adds weight that comes off payload. Because the lids for the cargo bins open upwards, a RamBox is not compatible with camper shells, cargo caps, some bed covers and many racks.

Interior
We'd rank the Ram cabin at or near the top of its class.

The seats come in a durable fabric that you won't stick to you in summer heat or be crusty and chilly in a blizzard. They offer good support and plenty of room. We swapped through a few Ram models back-to-back to compare the trim levels and found the seat in the base model is the same design as in the top-line models, and we had no complaints after a full day of driving.

We also found we could sit in the back of a Quad Cab for 20-minute jaunts, but a six-foot passenger will be happier in a Crew Cab where rear dimensions are essentially the same as the front. The rear seat has a nominal center headrest and a short cushion length, so it's really suitable only for kids, short adults or child seats.

Full instrumentation includes a tachometer, with myriad other data (transmission fluid temperature, etc.) in the display between the primary gauges. Lower-line models have an iPod-size display much like the predecessor, while higher lines get a 7-inch display with more than 300 choices in the display/configuration menu. On these trucks one side of the tachometer has further displays inset, and at some point you may find it information overload. Try it for a while, configure to your liking and stick with it is our advice.

Gear shifting is based on model and transmission. Some have a conventional T-handle console shift, some a traditional lever on the column, and some a rotary PRND dial on the center dash complemented by small pushbuttons on the steering wheel for gear up/down. The rotary dial is not our favorite because it looks too much like a navigation system controller, but it does free some space and gives the cabin a more open feeling. Displays also vary by screen and whether or not you're shifting or letting the truck do it; one shows a large number in half-tone light, the other letters/numbers along the bottom for gears selected and available. Some of those displays that use half-shade numbers are hard to see with polarized lenses.

Common operating controls such as lights and wipers are on column-mounted stalks, with plenty of redundant controls on the wheel including stereo controls on the back side. The primary switch-bank at the bottom of the center dash has functions along the top (tow/haul mode, stability control, etc.) and comfort (seat heat/ventilation, steering wheel heat) along the bottom. Each of the four dash vents may be closed separately.

The dashboard is nicely framed, with symmetry throughout.

Upper models may be ordered with bucket seats and a fixed center console that houses storage areas and a stubby T-bar shifter on the driver's side. The only drawbacks to this arrangement are the loss of one seating position and the space under the central dash. Other trims use a 40/20/40 bench seat, but as in back the center position has a shorter cushion, limited foot space and is best used for compact adults: no youngsters because of the airbags.

With so many trim levels to choose from you should be able to find one that meets your requirements. We found the basic Tradesman quite impressive, not decked out like a Longhorn, but $20,000 cheaper as well. Entry-level pickups long had a tendency to be penalty boxes lacking any amenity beyond a seat cushion and an ashtray (now part of a smoker pack option), but we didn't feel penalized at all in the Tradesman. Plastic door panels are easy to clean and fairly scuff resistant, the standard radio does a good job in light of the budget-conscious price and the low noise levels will calm after a long day with power tools.

As trims and prices rise so too do standard goodies and optional extras. The key goes in the dash on base trucks but others have pushbutton start, and mid-grade trucks add a voltmeter and an oil pressure indicator. A palette of choices for interior materials and colors includes real wood on the Longhorn and plenty of contrasting colors and matte finishes. The only one that annoyed us was a Laramie console with lots of glare-generating chrome.

The new 8.4-inch screen infotainment system on upper models is very good: Lots of choice with no EE degree required. It may be the best of the bunch, currently, vastly superior to the small screen on the Ford models, which is hard to read. The voice-recognition worked quite well, even when trying to confuse it. One thing certain to be a hit with instant-gratification cold-climate residents is the ability to touch the seat and steering wheel heaters to on before wading through the cautions about driving while distracted. The rearview camera image is not as good as what's available from the other brands, however; the image is grainy and jumps, sort of like using a satellite phone to talk to someone on the other side of the planet. But it's a whole lot better than nothing and is useful when parking or hooking up trailers. The rearview camera can also help the driver spot a small child or pedestrian when backing up.

Storage in all models is good, including double glove-boxes or one plus a bin. On the Crew Cab, bean-counters will get bored determining which there are more of: storage areas or Ram logos and badges. On some four-doors you can get under-floor insulated storage compartments, which are a clever idea but, perhaps intentionally, hard to reach from the driving position. The Crew Cab has a pair of AC vents mounted low in back, far from ideal but better than nothing. Coat hooks will handle plastic hangars. Cupholders are in the center armrest, but there are no reading lights in back. The tunnel hump in the floor is just a couple of inches high yet plenty wide enough for the center rider to have both feet on the same level. The Regular cab has a sizable bin behind the seats and anchors for two child seats.

We found we could converse in normal tones at highway speeds back seat to front, with less than average wind, exhaust and tire noise from behind. The new V6 engine does a lot for minimizing distracting and fatiguing noise and vibrations. Maneuvering a lot at full steering lock is quieter with the electric-assist steering.

The new Ram Laramie Longhorn cabin goes head-to-head with GMC Denali trim and Ford's Platinum or King Ranch in a slightly more understated way. Neither the Nissan Titan nor Toyota Tundra offer such luxurious cabins. Titan has good room, instrumentation and controls but doesn't reach the refinement of the Ram. Tundra offers similar features but the instrument panel is less integrated.

Driving Impressions
Ram's powerful Hemi 5.7-liter V8, with variable valve timing, is rated at 395 horsepower (up 5 thanks to electric steering assist) and delivers broad power with 407 pound-feet of torque. Match the engine's power with the truck's clean aerodynamics and one result is that the Hemi's Multiple Displacement System (MDS) operates more often, enhancing fuel efficiency. The MDS essentially shuts off half the engine when not needed to save gas, and Chrysler says the Ram can be run past 70 mph with the MDS active. We did it, but only on flat ground with no wind and a very steady foot. With the Hemi the Ram gives up just 13-21 horses to the top engines from Ford and GM, but neither of those offer their most powerful engine in a regular cab. The 5.7-liter V8 is EPA rated at 14/20 mpg City/Highway with 2WD, 13/19 mpg with 4WD.

Ram's 4.7-liter V8 does not have the MDS. However, it will realistically get better mileage overall; you can't use the Hemi's 85 extra horsepower without using more gas. The 4.7 also comes across as the smoothest and quietest engine in the range. Although just 5 hp up on the V6 it adds 61 lb-ft of torque; with the V6's gearing advantage (Ram stated no plan to offer the 4.7 with the 8-speed automatic) it can do much the same work but it will be revving more and you will notice the torque deficit. The 4.7-liter V8 is EPA-rated at 14/20 mpg City/Highway with 2WD, 14/19 mpg with 4WD.

The new-to-Ram 3.6-liter V6 provides 305 horsepower and 269 pound-feet of torque, in the same neighborhood as Ford's 3.7, a bit healthier than Toyota's 4.0 and well in front of GM's archaic 4.3. Top tow capacity is 6500 pounds, which we wouldn't make a habit of, but if you don't mind the engine revving often it will pull it. The 3.6-liter engine gets an EPA rating of 17/25 mpg with 2WD, 16/23 mpg with 4WD.

On the road without a trailer the 3.6-liter V6 goes much better than the old 3.7 (something like 30 percent quicker from 0 to 60 mph), credit as much the extra power as the extra lower gears. Although the 8-speed has essentially the same top gear ratio as the other automatic, the much shorter initial gears means it can lope along on tall axle gears (3.21:1) cruising but accelerate much better. On undulating roads or city traffic it shifts frequently but those shifts are smooth and on-demand. A two-wheel drive HFE V6 auto should rate 18/25 EPA, and in a 4WD Crew Cab driven on such roads it averaged 20 mpg by onboard computer. We'd say this drivetrain is more than adequate for the truck fully loaded, or just a couple of passengers and a trailer up to 4,000 pounds. If you're towing more, more frequently or in the mountains it might be better to wait for a V8 with the 8-speed automatic and order taller axle gears than you would have in the past (3.55:1 rather than 3.92:1). A Hemi V8/8-speed with 3.55:1 gears needed 52-55-mph just to get into top gear, very good for highway mileage.

The Ram HFE model incorporates automatic engine start/stop, the first pickup to do so, to save fuel. Much like a hybrid the engine switches off when the vehicle stops (assuming certain parameters like normal operating temperature are met), electric-assists keep steering, audio and ventilation systems going, and it restarts when you lift your foot off the brake (or press the gas for left-foot brakers). We drove a simulated urban loop and it worked every time we stopped for a traffic signal. You hear the engine restart more than feel it, and any delay is measured in fractions of a second.

Ram lists the V8 automatic as a 6-speed because you can manually select two ratios that in earlier years counted as one, but it has the same ratios as it did before. Where the competitors' 6-speed automatics have ratio spreads from about 4-4.2:1 to 0.65-0.69:1 the Ram's so-called 6-speed automatic runs from 3:1 to 0.67:1, meaning the Ram transmission doesn't have the same low-gearing for accelerating, be it on flat ground, a launch or on-ramp, or in the mud. (The technical details: In the previous version there were two different ratios for second gear, one for upshifts from 1st gear, and one kickdown for when you floored the pedal in a higher gear. At 1.67:1 and 1.50:1 the ratios are too close to be compared to any other 6-speed automatic, a typical difference of just 200-300 engine rpm.)

Transmissions work as expected with modern, electronic-authority automatics. Each of the three shifters has a method for manually choosing the forward gears, and each will revert to full automatic by holding the upshift button (+) for about one second.

The Tow/Haul mode is standard and useful when towing. Activating Tow/Haul may take the truck out of top gear but it does not lock it out; you can still cruise in overdrive with Tow/Haul on. The Tow/Haul mode keeps the transmission cooler when towing by holding gears longer (and reducing hunting between gears) and shifting faster (and firmer). It also adds some engine braking, though this is nominal with a 3.6-liter engine in a 5,000-pound truck.

The four-wheel drive systems have a slight rearward bias of power delivery, 2.641 low range for climbing or steep descents, and are electrically shifted from 2WD to 4WD without stopping; engaging low range is done most smoothly rolling at one-two mph with the transmission in Neutral. The 4WD systems have a Neutral position for flat-towing a Ram behind an RV or heavier construction truck. Two 4WD systems are available, and one has an Auto mode that allows 4WD-on-pavement use for inclement weather.

We found the brakes work well. Antilock and stability functions are standard so all you need to do in evasive maneuvers is push on the brake pedal and steer. In daily driving they deliver good feel and are easy to modulate, and although they handle the truck well we'd advise trailer brakes on any trailer more than 1500 pounds (less if your state requires it, of course). The integrated trailer brake controller works very well and is now on the center dash panel where it's easier to reach; if you plan on towing any electric-brake trailer we'd recommend it.

A Ram will never a racecar make but it benefits the same as a racecar when weight is removed from the suspension, axles, brakes and wheels. Ram even lightened the frame with strategically located holes, so some versions are 130- pounds lighter than last year. Using aluminum in some front suspension pieces takes at least 10 pounds off each corner, the new steel wheels save 18 pounds, and the coil/link rear suspension is about 40 pounds less than a leaf-spring arrangement and allows more precise wheel control. In addition, friction in the rear suspension as it moves up and down has been cut by 60 percent, so the rear axle is allowed to travel more up and down yet requires less stiffness to keep it controlled. Less weight means better performance, better efficiency, better braking, better handling.

The Ram rides very well and in comparing it to the competitors it comes across as the best blend of ride and control, whether you're on 17-inch wheels or the big 20s. It goes where you point it without drama, the rear end feels less inclined to step sideways over a mid-turn bump or invoke the stability control, and the Ram has a feeling of good directional stability with a trailer in tow. Steering is direct, but the effort is low during maneuvers and cruising, and it increases nicely as you push the truck harder. Perhaps our best note about the new electric-assist steering is that it feels the same as the previous hydraulic assist, something missing in many such systems, and there is no noise from it. Body roll is kept in check by stabilizer bars at both ends, yet a small amount is apparent as you turn the wheel just to keep you aware (and too much roll stiffness increases ride harshness). In sum, the whole truck exhibits less of the shuddering typical of body-on-frame designs used on all full-size pickups and some big SUVs.

Optional air suspension gives big advantages. It levels the truck regardless of load, maintaining stability and you won't have to adjust headlight aim every time you lash up a trailer. (It might even let you take a link or two off weight-distributing chains but remember not to exceed axle or GVWR limits.) Ride quality remains more consistent from empty to full-load. It has various ride heights to lower the truck for ease of entry/exit and lifting it to aid clearances; minimum ground clearance is at the rear axle and doesn't change, but you can tackle steeper hills and get more under the truck. Use the highest, off-road 2, only if needed because it does generate a relatively bouncy ride. Air suspension, with all the adjustments, is available for two- and four-wheel drive but not Regular cabs.

Off the highway, either suspension system offers good articulation and keeping the wheels on the ground longer always works best. We had no issues with suspension pieces dragging or being vulnerable to rock or stump impacts. And while we didn't have a sand box handy we could not invoke any axle hop even from full-throttle standing starts in a field. Our only complaints in off-road travel are that close-in visibility suffers from the big hood, making it harder to judge the corners through rocks or trees, and the wide A-pillar base may present its own visibility issues. Also, there's little compression braking in high-range. The only apparent drawback of the suspension design is that the optional larger fuel tank is perhaps smaller than it might be otherwise, offering just six gallons more than the standard tank.

The Ram felt smooth and quiet, even on the 20-inch wheels that sing mildly at 50-60 mph. To our ears the Ram has the competition covered, but every ear has its preferences and many pickup owners like noise of different sorts and levels.

Payload, or how much weight in cargo and passengers a truck can carry, varies by cab, bed, number of drive wheels, and engine. Ram payload ratings run from 940 pounds for a Longhorn Crew Cab 4WD to around 1930 for a 2WD Tradesman Regular Cab and that's for trucks without options: Five fisherman in a fancy 4WD Crew Cab towing a boat will have to put their coolers and tackle in the boat, not the truck.

Tow ratings top out around 10,500 pounds (for a regular cab, long bed, 5.7-liter V8 with the 3.92:1 axle ratio and 17-inch wheels), and range from about 4000 pounds upwards. Most Ram versions can be rated into the 8000-pound tow range, and V8 models will be comfortable with a 5000-pound boat and a full load on board. Remember that the more options you add the less weight you can tow. Also, choosing those stylish 20-inch wheels may knock a significant amount off the tow rating. We'd go for the 17-inch wheels if you want to use your truck as a truck.

We found the Ram suspension works well for towing. With a significant trailer the standard suspension still drops down in the rear, but the extra lateral stiffness inherent in the coil/link design minimized the tail from moving side to side as the trailer pushed against it. Also, the electronic stability control system includes trailer sway control. Cooling systems appear up to the task, and towing mirrors are offered for pulling 102-inch-wide travel or large box trailers.

Summary
The 2013 Ram 1500 combines common-sense work ratings with a refined cabin and driving experience. It aims for best fuel economy, not the ability to carry and tow loads like 3/4-ton pickups of not long ago; in that respect and others it is perhaps the best pickup for spending equal time working and serving as a second car. The V6 offers an excellent performance/fuel economy blend for half-ton pickups and you can always get the Hemi.

NewCarTestDrive.com correspondent G.R. Whale filed this report after his test drive of various Ram models in California and Tennessee.

Model as tested
Ram Crew Cab 1500 Tradesman 4WD long box
Basic Warranty
3 years/36,000 miles
Assembled in
Warren, Michigan; Saltillo, Mexico
Destination charge
Gas guzzler tax
N/A
Base Price
Price as tested
Options as tested
3.6-liter V6 and 8-speed automatic, popular equipment pack 22A, trailer brake controller, bed cover
Model Line Overview
Model lineup
Ram 1500 Tradesman regular cab long bed 4WD; R/T; Outdoorsman Quad Cab 4WD; Sport Crew Cab 2WD; Laramie Crew Cab 2WD; Laramie Longhorn Crew Cab 4WD
Safety equipment (standard)
dual front multi-stage, front side impact and all-row side curtain airbags, three-point belts in all seating positions with constant-force retractors, LATCH child-seat anchors, child-protection rear door locks, electronic stability/traction control and four-wheel anti-lock brakes
Safety equipment (optional)
N/A
Engines
3.6-liter V6
Transmissions
8-speed automatic
Specifications as Tested
cloth upholstery, air conditioning, steering-wheel-mounted audio controls, power windows and door locks, vinyl floor, manual windows, gray vinyl 40/20/40 bench seat, stability/trailer sway control, tilt wheel, cruise control, trailer hitch, variable intermittent wipers, locking lift-assist tailgate, spray-in bedliner, trailer plugs, 6-speaker AM/FM stereo and USB port, power windows and door locks on four-doors, and under-floor storage
Engine & Transmission
Engine
3.6-liter V6
Drivetrain type
four-wheel drive
Horsepower (hp @ rpm)
305 @ 6400
Transmission
EPA fuel economy, city/hwy
Torque (lb.-ft. @ rpm)
N/A
Suspension
Brakes, front/rear
vented disc/disc with ABS, EBD, Brake Assist
Suspension, front
independent, double A-arms, coil-over-shock springs, stabilizer bar
Tires
P265/75R17 Goodyear Wrangler
Suspension, rear
live axle, trailing links, coil springs, Panhard rod, stabilizer bar
Accomodations
Seating capacity
6
Head/hip/leg room, middle
N/A
Head/hip/leg room, front
41.0/63.2/41.0
Head/hip/leg room, rear
39.3/63.2/40.3
Measurements
Fuel capacity
N/A
Trunk volume
Wheelbase
149.5
Length/width/height
239.7/79.4/77.4
Turning circle
45.4
Payload
1630
Towing capacity
4250
Track, front/rear
68.2/67.5
Ground clearance
8.6
Curb weight
5061
Search Local Cars for Sale
Searching Locally
0 found
2013 Ram Truck listings within 25 miles of your ZIP code.
Find 2013 Ram Truck listings for sale near you.
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Autotrader vehicle image
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Ram Trucks for Sale
Find 2013 Ram Truck 1500 listings near you.
Car Selling Services
List your car in minutes on AutoTrader.com.
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
Insurance Quote
Get a free insurance quote provided by GEICO and save 15% or more.
2013 Ram Truck 1500
587
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel