Consumer Reviews
4.5
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
30 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Roger Fujan
November 13, 2020
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This has been one great truck. Normal maintenance on a normal schedule and it has been flawless. The 2012 reg. cab short box 4x4 Express has plenty of passing and mountain climbing power, and handles great for a truck. The suspension is to stiff for off-roading, but I think the only off-roading this truck was ever intended to do was the 1/4 mile drag strip. Interior isn't fancy but very spacious. Great fun for a great price.
Mark B
April 02, 2020
88,200 miles
|
Owned 8 years 1 months
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Owned since new- electric problems are #1 concern, it snaps manifold bolts (known problem), interior is nice but seat fabric is cheap( leather/vinyl outer already failed) paint is thin and scratches easy it seams - i love the motor and the truck runs good but so many problems that we are trying to sell it and get something else.
Jason Robbins
March 26, 2020
243,000 miles
|
Owned 6 years 2 months
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I've had my ram for several years it has 243000 and still going strong only replaced wear items so far love my truck get right at 19mpg
Mac
August 28, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have 195,000 on my Outdoorsman and I treat it hard! It has never failed me, or let m down. Just replaced brakes, and plugs for the first time. My best friend was always a GMC man until he saw how well mine has held up. He just bought a 2019 Ram. No way can anyone make a better truck!
roosterman2
July 18, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Value 2012 dodge Laramie
Mrclean
May 19, 2019
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
OregonRam
December 28, 2018
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
At 118k I have yet to see MPG numbers even close to the fuel ratings stated, 12.8 - 13.6 is all this 5.7 Hemi has given me.
Overall just an average truck.
I also agree with others about the strange tire vibrations & uneven wear.
Buckaroo
December 28, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best all around truck I have owned for4 several years very good gas mileage compared to the power and speed I drive Hemi Power averages 19-20 mpg at 70 and above speeds
P
September 30, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
July 27, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
GATOR
July 20, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
THIS IS THE SECOND RAM I HAVE OWNED AND WOULD NOT CONSIDER GETTING RID OF IT. I BOUGHT A FOREVER WARRENTY FROM DEALER WITH $100, 00 DEDUCTABLE ON ANYTHING AND WILL DRIVE IT TILL ONE OF US DIES.
GiantGilla
June 24, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
1st Ram I have ever owned and it is the best truck I have ever owned.
Russ
April 17, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
One of the best trucks I have ever owned
RT.
April 07, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
rouse
March 26, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
111
mkociens
February 18, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
mike
February 12, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Walt
January 20, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great 4dr WD Hemi 5.7 engine hang on with acceleration. Heavy on gas but much power. Comfortable with 4 full cab doors. Safe.
Emmy
November 05, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
The cabin is very comfortable and well appointed. It pulls an 8500 lbs. trailer like a toy. I bought my Big Horn model to pull. It does everything I ask it to do. If you are worried about gas mileage then you shouldn''t get one of these. Get a Prius.
K Ervin
June 22, 2016
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought our 2012 new. Typical Dodge PU steering, too sensitive.Seats too hard, enjoy that seats r raised. Cup holder too far under dash, caused a lot of spills. 2WD gets stuck on wet grass. Tires wore out way too fast. Tow pkg is nice but hit my knee many times on the tow switch when climbing in. Automatic shifter boot is already wore nearly in to with only 60,x miles on it. BIGGEST seatbelt: Give the gas it''ll hesitate before excellerating and antilock brakes engage too soon causing near accidents, seatbelt safety feature locks up at inappropriate times, making it difficult to look bth ways.
Ray
September 30, 2015
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought this truck used with 24000 miles on it 2 years ago. I now have 62000 on it. Bought a set tires, oil and filter changes, nothing else. The ram bighorn with the auto 4 wheel is a perfect truck. I can out pull my 2002 ford f250 with no problem, it has the 460bb. My wife drives a 2011 tundra, I prefer the ram hands down. Handling, power and comfort all in one very well built package.
Danny
August 28, 2014
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is my third Ram. One complaint; even if you rotate the tires as recommended, after ~23,000 miles, they begin to make a wop, wop noise from uneven wear. This has been the case on all three of my Rams. I''ve discussed this with dealer who tried to minimize it with some nonsensical (BS) explanation. Other than that, I love them. I''ve driven the current 2012 model in all sorts of bad weather, including a 15-hour trip in heavy snow & traffic from MI to VA with the "Auto 4WD" engaged and this thing handles like a champ while all others are slowing and getting in my way.
Robert
March 19, 2014
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Such a powerful vehicle hidden in a completely luxurious riding package. The interior feels more like a luxury car the exterior is pure classy brute force (oxymoron?). Plenty of power and towing capacity. can plow right thru snows that Jeeps and the like are stuck in. Hey want my Ram to pull your Ford Chevy or GMC out of that snow bank? No problemo.
If I had to fuss about anything it would be the fuel efficiency. Roll up tonneau cover helps some about 10% better gas mileage. Considering a K&N cold air intake. Haven''t had to get plugs changed yet but heard that is an ordeal and expensive
Kate
February 10, 2014
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I have owned this truck for a year and a half. I am very picky with vehicles and traded my 330 xi in for this truck with no regrets! Suspension is great drives really nice on the highway and handles snow or mud well in 4X4. Imperfections: when I bought the truck didn''t notice about 2 of the screws were missing from the passenger doors (weird) the drivers side mirror wiggles during highway driving acceleration is great unless the truck has the fuel saving cylinders shut down then it has a slight delay and if I had waited I could have gotten the latest model with improved fuel mileage.
Ed v
September 08, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
love my truck 2012 ram sport crew cab mineral gray loaded
Van Lee
June 04, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I got mine a week ago and so far it is absolutely great! The ride is very smooth and comfortable and braking and overall handling is smooth. This is my first full size truck and so far I am very happy with my decision. Gas mileage isn''t too bad for a truck this size. Looking forward to many years of usage out of this beast.
Brian
April 24, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Just bought my 2012 a couple of weeks ago and am nothing but pleased. Looking forward to taking it trips camping etc. this summer!
phil
April 02, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Wow what a truck! This is what all trucks wanna be when they grow up. Great power and super nice incide. Thanks ram for making an ex ford owner fall in love again...
big art
February 10, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
This is a awesome truck i''ve owned a ford chevy and toyota which my wife has and loves it at this point and time they can''t compare thxs dogde ram what a truck!!!!
Dan Conniff
January 10, 2013
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Just purchased Mileage is way less than what i am used to in large SUV. getting about 14 mpg. Confort was put low for me as the driver because of very large center consul left no room to move legs from side to side also has a sharp feeling chrome on consul that hits leg. For drivers seat the back has to narrow of side indents which are not adjustable hit hard in ribs after extended rides. overall a nice truck.
2012 Ram Truck 1386 1500 21679 335611
Write a Review for the 2012 Ram Truck 1500
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2012 Ram Truck 1500
422
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel