Consumer Reviews
3.8
overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
View Pictures
18 Reviews
Sort Customer Reviews
Sort by:
Mel L
April 21, 2021
207,500 miles
|
Owned 15 years 2 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Best vehicle ever. bought new as leftover model. first set of brakes lasted over 110K miles. Only problem encountered were front suspension parts replacement and a failure of mechanics to advise change of rear axle fluid. it leaked out over time and required changing out axle. Other than that, this old girl still runs like a champ. they don't make em like this anymore.
Brian
March 07, 2021
200,000 miles
|
Owned 2 years 6 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Good truck, needed quite a bit of maintenance, but I definitely drive this truck hard and it took the abuse like a champ. Great truck for starting a family like I did. A little hard on gas but makes up for it in comfort and safety since it's built like a tank. Great truck.
Rich striegel
January 20, 2020
121,500 miles
|
Owned 1 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Nice truck just got it.fix a few things.everything checks out.drives great looks great.im all about tradition
john hanlon
December 07, 2019
1,000,000 miles
|
Owned 9 years 7 months
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
truck looks almost new
grandpa
September 03, 2019
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
its a nice truck I''d buy it again but you should be able to find parts easier
wendy
April 17, 2019
3
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
i like the size of the truck . it is all i need.
Tiddy
February 02, 2019
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Junk. Motor blew at 18000 miles.
Pete
October 05, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Love it.
Willy
May 16, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Anonymous
March 27, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
tutwell
February 11, 2018
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
great truck, does everything a full size does. I carry at the least 500/700 ilbs of tools daily, great performer. Only issue is there is a 4by sensor moduale failures on some vehicles. At speed the transfer case wants to engage 4by, dangerous and tranny damaging. if you notice this happening disconnect the electrical feed to the transfer case electric motor and go 2by until you can have it serviced.
Deadeye
January 22, 2018
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Great truck , looking for retail value
Buzz
December 25, 2017
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
bubba
November 16, 2017
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought the truck new and still have it. It has been very dependable. It pulls trailers very well. The only two complaints I have is the turning radius is very wide and the fuel economy is not good.
Joe Blow
August 16, 2017
1
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Haven''t drive one yet.
Jack
February 03, 2014
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
I bought this truck with the 8 cyl new in 2005. It has been a great truck mine has 122 and has the same breaks. Great ride with some weight in the bed. Interior cloth seats could have used better material but overall no major complaints.
Erik E
August 03, 2013
4
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
my 05 Dakota is actually a great running MV
PROS; good strong running reliable good looking nice interior for a base truck Chrysler is know for dependable Starters and alternators . and this the ac still works awesome not bad for almost 9 years old i had to replace oxy sensor cam sensor serp belt rotors and all ball joints still not bad there is some rust starting in rear wheel wells. this truck is Atlantic blue.
Cons; not much power in the 3.7 . dont like the rust starting gas cap is sensative if not all the way on ill throw a code. easy to fix though !
I would buy
Joeseph Neal
January 15, 2013
5
TOTAL
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving Dynamics
Bought this truck new in 2005 and have had it for 7 years and 7 months so far. It is still PERFECT! Only faults it ever had was the same since it was new. First Dodge could have put more insulation in the roof. In a heavy rain it is loud inside. Second the turning radius is pretty big. This makes it hard to park in tight places. And third the rear shocks are made for loads so they have a tendency to "bounce" the back of the truck when unloaded. It''s a REAL truck with excellent power safety versitility etc. If you find one buy it. You will not be disappointed.
2005 Dodge 1052 Dakota 13675 267313
Write a Review for the 2005 Dodge Dakota
Step 1: Rate and review this vehicle
Overall rating
Overall
Reliability rating
Reliability
Interior rating
Interior
Exterior rating
Exterior
Driving rating
Driving Dynamics
600 of 600 characters remaining
Step 2: Enter vehicle details
Enter mileage as a number
* All Fields Required

Expert Reviews

Catch Up on Our Latest  Expert Reviews
Vehicle History Report
Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check whether an accident has been reported on the vehicle
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft
AutoCheck Reports
GEICO Car Insurance
15 minutes could save you 15% or more on car insurance.
Advertisement
Free Dealer Price Quotes
Get free quotes from dealers near you.
New & Used Auto Loans
Compare real, custom loan offers from multiple lenders in minutes!
Official loan marketplace source of NADAguides.com
2005 Dodge Dakota
483
Recommended Competitors
Recommended vehicles based on NADAguides.com audience feedback. The values listed below are based on MSRP and does not include any incentives, trade-in, options, or other adjustments.
This Vehicle

New & Used Car Search

Select from one or more dropdowns below, to find the right car for you. You can filter by car price, year, and make. For a more robust search, navigate to our official Car Finder Tool.
Price
All Prices
Year
All Years
Make
All Makes
See all cars
AMO Page View Count Pixel