2017 Volvo S90 Reviews and Ratings

T5 FWD Inscription

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Volvo S90.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (14)
Overall Rating
  4.8 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.9 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.7 / 5

By Phil Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 4:32am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.2 / 5
Two issues ... there is VERY little storage in the cab or the car ... the trunk is as large as it gets but the interior is lacking. Also the premium front and rear rubber protection mats in the light gray color are impossible to keep clean. They match the leather exactly but place a shoe on them and it looks like they have been through the swamp.
Reliability
  4 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Aaron Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 2:54pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
Love the styling excellent materials great discount but build quality was much worse than I anticipated and I have been to the dealer every month since ownership.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Anonymous Friday, July 28, 2017 - 1:03pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
A great experience. Love Volvos. Pros: Everything about it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Cliff Friday, July 28, 2017 - 1:05pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This car is amazing. It was love at first sight and it keeps getting better. Pros: The styling of this car is what attracted me and the performance is what sold me. The auto pilot feature is pretty cool and the auto intervention safety feature Cons: The exterior mirrors seem a little big and I find my self stretching to look around them occasionally. I don't like the engine stopping when the car stops. You can turn this off manually but you have to do it every time you start the car. I'd like to be able to turn it off once and it be off.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 6:33pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I am very pleased with my Volvo S90 Inscription AWD. It's the most luxurious car I've ever owned. It's the first car that's not a burden to drive so I'm anxious to get in this car every day. If you like good sound the Bowers and Wilkins sound system is exceptional. It's a real experience driving this car. Not only is it comfortable inside the exterior is better looking than most cars in its category. It's a true experience getting in this car and you don't have to be over 55 to by a Volvo now that this car has hit the market. A true executive car that has the performance capabilities along with the option for economy comfort and sport driving. Volvo has stepped up its game and I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Ray Friday, July 28, 2017 - 9:56am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My wife and me waited 23 years for this vehicle and we so happy that we did. It's everything we wanted in vehicle safety styling and comfort. Volvo for Life!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Daniel Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 5:33am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Volvo S90 is a fun to drive vehicle with a combination of sporty and executive image/design. It is full of technology and makes your drive easy and safe.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Rich Friday, July 28, 2017 - 10:46am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is a truly exceptional vehicle that I enjoy driving. It has many safety features and looks awesome both inside and out. I noticed several head nods and thumbs up when I pass other vehicles on the road.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 2:15pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great technology and very stylish both inside and outside. Performance is outstanding and the ride is very comfortable.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Dr. Bruce Friday, August 25, 2017 - 8:40am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Pros: Really nice car, not the past box appearance, nice ride, reliable, no rattles, Extremely safe, great sounding sound system, great fuel economy, best lease deals for a luxury car, very large trunk. Volvo people are great to deal with Cons: Don't like the engine turning on and off sound for fuel economy-loud.This system can be turned off. Pandora works very poorly. Overall ride could be quieter
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Dennis Monday, September 4, 2017 - 6:13pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Our new Volvo is used as our main travel vehicle, thus safety, comfort, great mileage and reliability is very important to us. Thus far our S90 has delivered everything that we expected and more. Have owned a number of competitive luxury models but none have equaled nor delivered all our needs as well as this fine automobile. I highly recommend it.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Hal Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 10:02am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
The exterior and especially the interior are unique and of top quality. The vehicle has all the bells and whistles presently available and are fairly easy to use. Like any new car it will take time to learn how to use all the features but overall not a long time to become comfortable with most of them. The car handles very well but it is not a true ""drivers"" car but is more than adequate for most drivers. The fuel economy is very good and for a four cylinder it provides more than adequate power. The owners manual is available both online and on the cars interior screen but it is not very user friendly and be prepared to search online for some videos to help you through the features or make sure the dealership is willing to spend some time with you. Overall a very good vehicle and since it is a new model we will have to see how reliable a car it is and how well the resale value stands up. So far I am a very satisfied customer and this is the first Volvo I've ever owned.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By dave Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 4:29am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
great car, a lot of technology, almost all touch screen, superior quality of materials, fit and finish superior. Volvo is a very helpful communicative company.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bill Monday, August 21, 2017 - 8:54am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I have been an Volvo owner for 17 years, this is by far the best Volvo yet. Been driving the S80 since 2002.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Volvo S90
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

Elegant, distinctive, and Scandinavian, the new 2017 Volvo S90 replaces the long-lived S80 in the Swedish automaker’s lineup. Amounting to a new beginning, the Volvo S90 adopts styling themes from the recently redesigned XC90 crossover. Almost no components are carried over from the outmoded S80. Volvo developed the concept in Sweden, under the auspices of its new Chinese owner, Geely Holding.

Built on a brand-new platform, the freshly engineered S90 gets new fuel-efficient powertrains. Each version holds a 2.0-liter four-cylinder engine, offered three ways for North America. In front-wheel-drive Volvo S90 T5 trim, the turbocharged engine makes 250 horsepower and 258 pound-feet of torque. Equipped with all-wheel drive, the Volvo S90 T6 gets a supercharged and turbocharged version generating 316 horsepower and 295 pound-feet. (A 400-horsepower version works with electric drive in the forthcoming T8 Twin Engine sedan, expected later in the 2017 model year.)

Each S90 gets a first-rate Aisin 8-speed automatic transmission. An optional air suspension promises a calmer ride, along with improved handling. Even in S90 T6 guise, with the air suspension and firmer Dynamic setting, it feels softly sprung. The optional air suspension is essential for owners who intend to make use of the S90’s 4,600-pound towing rating.

Both the S90 T5 and stronger-performing S90 T6 models come in Momentum or Inscription trim.

The S90 offers active-safety features that qualify as first in the world. Standard large-animal detection can automatically reduce speed or brake to a halt if a creature is in the roadway. Road-edge detection depends only partially on the presence of a painted shoulder line. Front seats are designed to help curtail high vertical forces that might result in back injury if the S90 leaves the road.

Semi-autonomous driving features are standard. The Pilot Assist system blends active cruise control with forward collision warning and lane-keep assist. Enabled by flicking a switch, the system lets the driver remove hands from the steering wheel sporadically, for up to 15 seconds each time. Blind-spot monitoring and cross-traffic alert systems are optional.

About 35 percent of S90 body weight is high-strength steel. No crash testing has been undertaken in the U.S. as yet.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Volvo S90 T5 Momentum ($46,950) comes with the 250-horsepower engine, leather upholstery, birch wood inlays, a leather-wrapped steering wheel, power sunroof, LED headlights with corner illumination, keyless entry, rear park assist, rearview camera, power-folding rear headrests, Sensus Connect touchscreen, 8-inch instrument-cluster display, 10-speaker 330-watt audio, and satellite radio. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

The S90 T5 Inscription ($50,450) steps up to softer Nappa leather, four-zone climate control, a cooled glovebox, Apple CarPlay, USB media hub, leather dashboard panels, rear sunshades, walnut wood inlays, 12.3-inch display, 19-inch alloy wheels, and ventilated front seats with power side support and cushion extension.

The S90 T6 Momentum ($52,950) gets the 316-horsepower, turbocharged-and-supercharged version of Volvo’s 2.0-liter engine. T6 Inscription ($56,250) is equipped similar to the T5 Inscription.

T8 plug-in hybrid contains a 400-horsepower engine, coupled with electric drive.

Walkaround

Gracefully designed and distinctly Scandinavian in nature, the S90 was said to be inspired by Volvo’s P1800 two-seat sports car of the 1960s. Resemblance to the latest XC90 also is unmistakable.

Viewed in profile, the S90 suggests a rear-drive, swept-back sports sedan; but it has front-wheel drive (or all-wheel drive) instead. Front and rear ends are bluntly upright, led by a particularly bright grille. Front wheels are pushed well forward, suggesting an athletic nature. Up front, the hood is long and almost level. The roofline reaches smoothly back into the decklid. Add distinctive headlights and cleanly uncluttered surfaces, and the S90 is readily recognizable as a Volvo, even if its big grille-mounted badge isn’t visible.

Interior

Scandinavian design extends into the interior, producing a particularly welcoming ambience. Like the S90’s body, its cabin bears a resemblance to the one in the XC90 crossover, creating a sense of spaciousness.

Devised with the assistance of orthopedists, S90 seats are among the most supportive we’ve experienced, and with ample adjustments. Many drivers will consider the driving position more upright than usual, accented by a tall beltline.

Back seats are appropriately contoured and well-cushioned, also providing excellent support, though taller passengers may find no surplus of head clearance. Climbing into and departing from the back isn’t the easiest task, either. Seatbacks fold forward, with a pass-through included. Cargo volume totals 17.7 cubic feet, including an underfloor compartment.

Cleanly elegant, the dashboard features subtle contours, with genuine wood and metal panels. Textured dials, resembling Swedish crystal, adjust the vents. A twist of the Start knob fires up the engine, while Sensus Touch infotainment dispenses with knobs and buttons. A menu system in Inscription models controls power-adjustable seats and massage functions.

Driving Impressions

Expect a plush, yet capably controlled ride in any S90, geared toward comfort, with little bobbing when traversing imperfect pavement. Tight construction and active noise cancellation help keep the sedan especially quiet, subduing any road coarseness or engine booming.

The available air suspension, if installed, should help maintain comfort and keep the sedan level. It’s especially helpful if you plan to tow with an S90. Towing capacity is 3,700 pounds for the T5 and 4,600 with a T6.

Although no S90 qualifies as a sports sedan, performance is satisfying in just about any driving conditions. In fact, it’s considerably more capable than expected from a comfort-focused four-door. Acceleration to 60 mph takes 6.5 seconds in a T5, or 5.7 with a T6. A shift gate lets the driver change gears manually. Throttle response is quicker with the T6, courtesy of its supercharger.

Nicely weighted electric power steering helps ensure relaxed driving. An S90 can pull away from tight corners in a natural manner.

Three mode settings are available. Road feedback is minimal if Comfort mode is chosen, while Dynamic mode transmits a numb sensation. Individualization mode lets you specify the settings that please you most. The system can even program a preferred brake-boost level.

With its wide spread of gear ratios, the 8-speed automatic helps make the S90 feel quite perky at low speed. At highway speeds, it promises an efficiently relaxed experience.

Fuel-efficiency is roughly in the middle of the luxury-sedan category. The front-drive T5 is EPA-rated at 23/34 mpg City/Highway, or 27 mpg Combined. All-wheel drive and a more powerful T6 engine drop the estimate to 22/31 mpg City/Highway, or 25 mpg Combined. All models include engine stop-start technology.

Summary

As a brand, Volvo, now Chinese-owned, still trails some rivals in terms of prestige, but the S90 costs less than most comparable German sedans. It’s better-equipped than many luxury sedans, with no shortage of cabin comforts or technical features.

Driving impressions by Bengt Halvorson, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
2 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.


Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Volvo S90 T5 FWD Inscription local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources