2017 Nissan Titan Reviews and Ratings

4x2 Crew Cab S

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Nissan Titan.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (11)
Overall Rating
  4.9 / 5
Reliability
  4.9 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  4.9 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.9 / 5

By Jim Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 4:40pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
My Nissan Titan has 4WD with plenty of power to tow my 23' boat. I took it on a trip shortly after purchasing putting 4,700 miles on it with excellent comfort and fuel mileage was very good at right around 20 mpg. This is great for this type of vehicle. The price to performance is outstanding!
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Mike Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 9:44am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I was pleasantly surprised when I drove a Titan for the first time. It was very comfortable. I could adjust the seat manually to fit me comfortably to drive this very tight ride. I drove all of the Titan's competition first and kind of stumbled onto the Nissan dealership. Great experience! Great towing capacity, strong engine with super pick up. Good looking and comfortable interior, great standard sound system, tight fit and finish. Easy to drive, and it's exterior is nice looking. So far no issues, just great fun driving this Titan.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Friday, August 18, 2017 - 2:43pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I LOVE My 2017 Nissan Titan. It's great on gas and It gets the job done. Best feature - Cool seats and 360 cam
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Gene Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 9:48am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Great truck! I love it. Interior is phenomenal ride is smooth. Lots of features and technology makes his and outstanding value
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By KaSandra Tuesday, September 5, 2017 - 7:54am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This vehicle meets all my needs as a family unit. Plenty of space for grands and a truck bed when I need one to haul something. I call it my full meal deal truck. 🤔😃
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By GERMAN C. Saturday, August 12, 2017 - 3:49pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
POWERFUL ENGINE! A LOT INTERIOR SPACE,GREAT GAS MILES! Worst Feature - REAR CAMERA (not) standard on all models
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ramon R Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 3:55am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Nice truck with superior technology wish it was better on fuel but overall great vehicle that looks good.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Mark Friday, August 4, 2017 - 10:21am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Never thought I would buy a Nissan truck but im so glad I did rides so smooth interior crew cab is great plenty of room for car seat and wife loves the safety i love how easy it is to tow all the toys! great purchase absolutely love this brand after test driving many trucks love the features reliabilty and price of this truck!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Buddy Wednesday, August 9, 2017 - 7:37pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I bought my first Nissan Titan & am very impressed with it! Rides really smooth for a truck! A lot more options than I was used to but have gotten very comfortable with using them! My last 4 vehicles were Dodge trucks so I was pleasantly surprised with how impressive the Nissan was compared to the Dodge! Very satisfied with my choice!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John Sunday, August 13, 2017 - 9:14pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
This is a smooth and powerful truck. Has everything you want I. A vehicle. The crew cab is a bit smaller than the tundra but overall has everything at a lot cheaper price.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Thursday, August 10, 2017 - 6:08pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Love the new look. Best feature - inerior. Worst feature - Smaller back electric window
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Nissan Titan
Mitch McCullough

Introduction

The 2017 Nissan Titan is all-new. This second generation of Nissan’s full-size pickup followed the launch of the Titan XD heavy-duty model, but Titan and Titan XD actually share little in common other than their bold appearance.

The all-new 2017 Titan looks more aggressive than the previous version, with a bold fascia with large headlights and a big chrome grille. Two-tone paint schemes wrap around the front bumper cover.

The cabs are straightforward, comfortable, with supportive seats and controls that are large and easy to operate. Cubby storage is aplenty, including big console storage.

Underway, Titan feels tall, but crisp, taut, more precise than some of the other trucks. The suspension is relatively firm and controlled, and the steering is direct.

Titan comes with Nissan’s 5.6-liter V8 engine and 7-speed automatic, which delivers quick acceleration performance. It’s rated at 15/21 mpg City/Highway, or 18 mpg Combined, with 2WD.

Titan is available in regular and Crew Cab versions. The front seats are comfortable and supportive. They come in handsome leather in the Titan Platinum Reserve. The navi screen is small, but the rearview camera is useful when backing up or attaching a trailer.

Crew Cabs offer full-size, front-hinged rear doors that open wide to reveal roomy, comfortable back seats. Storage is available underneath, and the rear seats fold down to a flat load floor, though that floor is too high for a big dog.

Titan beds are equipped a tie-down system that makes dealing with different types of cargoes easier. Storage boxes that lock are available. The tailgate is damped so it doesn’t slam down.

Titan comes with an integrated trailer-brake controller easily operated from the center dash that provides the driver with more accurate stopping than aftermarket systems.

Surround-view cameras supplement the aforementioned rearview camera, along with cross-traffic alerts when backing up, sensors front and rear to aid parking, and blind-spot alerts to warn the driver the next lane over is occupied.

Model Lineup

All 2017 Nissan Titan models come with the 5.6-liter Endurance V8 engine rated at 390 horsepower, 394 foot-pounds of torque. Single Cab models come in Titan S ($29,580) with cloth upholstery and six-speaker audio, and Titan SV ($32,460) trim levels.

Crew Cab versions come in Titan S ($34,780), Titan SV ($37,670), Titan SL ($46,380), and Titan Platinum Reserve ($52,310).

Walkaround

The Titan gets a roomy, comfortable cab, and upper-level models are trimmed very nicely. There’s a choice of bucket seats or a bench. We’ve tried the former and found them comfortable. Cloth with vinyl is standard, upgraded for Titan SV and further for Pro 4X, with leather in the Titan SL and special leather trim in the Platinum Reserve that feels good and looks good.

The rear seats in crew cabs are almost as comfortable, and roomy in every measurement.

Climbing inside takes some effort, especially without running boards. Step-in height is higher than that of the Ram, and the hood is high.

Interior

At first glance, the Titan looks smaller than the domestic pickups, but park them alongside and the Titan looks every bit as large. It resembles the Ford F-150.

Titan shares styling with the XD, though many body panels are different. Active grille shutters improve aerodynamics.

The pickup bed has lights that illuminate the inside. Besides the standard tie-down cleats, a system of mounting rails is provided for securing loads. The tail gate is damped so it lowers easily and won’t slam down hard.

Driving Impressions

The 2017 Titan has a more rigid frame than before, with increased gusseting, for improved handling, while hydraulic body mounts have been employed for a smoother ride.

We’ve found the Titan handles more responsively than some of the other pickups, with a firm, controlled feel and crisp turn-in from its rack-and-pinion steering. It’s not the softest-riding truck, but the Titan rides much more smoothly than the Titan XD does. On the open highway, it’s comfortable.

The 5.6-liter V8 engine is delightful, generating 390 hp and 394 foot-pounds of torque. It’s smooth and quiet during normal driving, but stomp on the gas pedal and it growls to life. The 7-speed automatic can at times be slow to respond.

Titan is rated to tow up to 9730 pounds, though we’d vote for a Titan XD before getting anywhere near that number.

Summary

The Nissan Titan is all-new and up to date, competing with the Ford F-150, Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra. Built in Canton, Mississippi, it’s as American as any of them. Titan offers relatively taut handling and steering response, and all the capability of the other trucks.

Mitch McCullough is the editor-in-chief of New Car Test Drive.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
2 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Nissan Titan 4x2 Crew Cab S local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.