2017 Mercedes-Benz S-Class Reviews and Ratings

AMG S 63 4MATIC Coupe

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Mercedes-Benz S-Class.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (12)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.3 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.9 / 5

By Bob Monday, August 21, 2017 - 8:24am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
This car is the first car I have ever owned where I can read a newspaper without getting motion sick. The car is wonderful to drive and/or ride in. Taking it for a long trip with someone else gives a better feeling of what each of the electronics does. They ask and you look it up in the manual. There is too much to absorb in a single or even two sittings with an expert. For such a large car it gave good gas mileage (26mpg). Plenty of luggage space.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Bud Friday, August 18, 2017 - 7:03pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I have had 50 cars in my life. This is clearly the most comfortable, responsive vehicle I have ever had, for long distance or local driving. It is a pleasure to drive it anywhere.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mike Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 4:39pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Our Mercedes 550S is the best vehicle we have ever owned. The ride is phenomenal and the audio and navigation systems are state of the art. This is the closest thing I have experienced to a self driving vehicle. Would truly rate this car a 6 star on a 5 star scale!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By ron Friday, August 18, 2017 - 2:08pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
excellent vehicle. absolutely no problems whatsoever. everything works as advertised. I am very pleased with quality, performance, comfort and reliability.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 7:04pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
A fine vehicle. Bought my first Mercedes in 1970. Had one ever since. It was a 300 SD. Had it for ten years.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Saturday, September 2, 2017 - 1:44pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The S550 lives up to its reputation!!! A joy to drive!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jim C Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 7:43pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
What a smooth riding car. this in my 5th MB but my 1st S550. I hade a CLS and before that a E550. But there is nothing like the ride of a S550
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mercedes, owne Friday, August 18, 2017 - 6:59am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Almost perfect. One small rattle when I'm on a rough concrete highway, but I am very sensitive to small noises. Most would even hear it. The car drives amazingly wonderful. Had to jam my brakes on when someone cut in front of me. The car handled like I've never seen.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Charlie Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 1:32pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.8 / 5
A 150000 car should not have been delivered with an major oil leak that took 11 days to repair. The car came from the factory leaking oil and not just a little bit. The factory should have caught it and the dealer should have caught it. The car also has rattles in the dash area.
Reliability
   0.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By bill Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 11:31am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
the only auto to buy in this price rangesolid ride great acceleration comfortable seats not sport seats but lazy boy seatsfast when it needs to be but easy to drive like an adultcant imagine a better car is built in the world.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mike Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 9:32am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
My 2017 S-Class replaces my 2008 S-Class (which was totaled after being hit from behind by an uninsured driver) and the car is truly exceptional. I believe that it is one of the best if not THE best vehicles on the road. I'm a bigger guy and there is no other car that is so comfortable for me to sit in. In addition whenever I have passengers who have not ridden in the S-Class they 100% comment on the comfort of the seating and the ride then they are enamored with the features the car has beyond exceptional comfort. I considered other cars went to the Mpls Auto Show and sat in all the luxury sedans and I couldn't get swayed way from replacing my 2008 S-Class with the a brand new one. If my 2008 didn't get totaled I would held onto it well beyond the 125000 miles it had on it ... now I'm sure I'll have my 2017 for a similar mileage period ... it fits like an old comfortable pair of gloves boots shoes (you'll understand).
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Saturday, August 5, 2017 - 1:41pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.8 / 5
Outstanding vehicle cheapened by penny pinching accessories such as lousy owner manual no spare tire clumsy confusing nav system slow battery charging system insufficient EV range etc.
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   2 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The elegant and powerful Mercedes-Benz S-Class is the benchmark for full-size luxury cars. It has some of the most advanced safety technologies on earth and is one of the most lavish and classy displays anywhere of wealth and exclusivity. It was last redesigned for 2014.

The 2017 S-Class brings two new models, the Mercedes-Benz S650 Cabriolet and the long-wheelbase S550 4MATIC. The 2017 Mercedes-Benz S550 gets a paddle-shifting nine-speed automatic transmission, and all 2017 S-Class models get the mbrace2 Connect infotainment package.

The S550 uses a twin-turbocharged 4.7-liter V8 making 449 horsepower and 516 pound-feet of torque. Rear-wheel drive or 4MATIC all-wheel drive is available for sedans, 4MATIC comes on all S550 coupes. Air suspension is standard.

The S63 AMG models use a 5.5-liter twin turbo V8 making 577 horsepower and 664 pound-feet of torque with 4MATIC. They will accelerate from zero to sixty in 3.9 seconds. The rear-wheel drive S65 AMG, and the Maybach S650 use a twin-turbo V12 making 621 horsepower and 738 pound-feet of torque. The S600 models have a 523-horsepower V12.

The Mercedes-Maybach models go off into Rolls-Royce territory, with all the technology and features wrapped into a limo-like body that’s eight inches longer.

Standard S-Class safety equipment includes front, front side, rear side and curtain airbags; inflatable rear seat belts; adaptive brake lights; and adaptive head restraints. Optional safety equipment includes forward collision warning with automatic emergency braking, lane-keeping assist, adaptive cruise control with following and steering ability, approaching autonomous driving functions in limited environments, blind-spot monitors, a surround-view camera system, and night vision with obstacle and pedestrian detection.

Fuel mileage for the popular S550 sedan is an EPA-estimated 18/26 miles per gallon City/Highway, or 21 mpg Combined, not bad for a car this heavy and with this much power. The 4MATIC Coupe drops one mpg. The AMG and V12 models get about 16 to 18 combined.

There is an S550e Plug-In Hybrid model that gets an EPA-rated 26 mpg combined. It can go 12 miles on just electric power, using an 8.7-kilowatt-hour lithium-ion battery pack in the trunk, giving it a rating of 58 MPGe. It’s powered by a turbocharged V6 with an 85-kw electric motor tied to the transmission, making a combined 436 horsepower. It accelerates from zero to sixty in 5.2 seconds.

Model Lineup

The Mercedes-Benz S-Class includes sedans, coupes, and convertibles in several models from high-performance AMGs to uber luxury Maybachs. There’s the S550 sedan, S550 4MATIC sedan and Coupe, S550e Plug-In Hybrid sedan, S600 sedan, long-wheelbase Maybach S550 4MATIC sedan, Maybach S600 sedan, S63 AMG 4MATIC sedan, Coupe and Cabriolet; and S65 AMG sedan, Coupe and Cabriolet.

Standard equipment includes everything. Optional equipment includes things like a 24-speaker surround sound system, warm-stone massaging seats, perfume scents released into the cabin, a rear-seat refrigerator, and a neck heater for the convertible.

Walkaround

The sedan is graceful but the coupe with its arching roofline is stunning. The lines are crisp, taut and horizontal. The sedan’s grille is and broad and the LED headlamps angular, while the Coupe’s nose is slimmer and lower. The sedan looks more athletic, while the Coupe’s rear end is more tucked.

Interior

The dash is horizontal and has two tiers, glamorous in quilted leather with silver trim. The materials have high contrast, and there is a lot of shiny accents over the basic wood or leather trim, with carbon-fiber accents on the AMG models. The cabin boasts beautiful craftsmanship that’s impressive to the eye. It reeks of splendor. The fit and finish are on a level few cars can equal.

Yet the function is simple, with dual 12.3-inch hi-resolution screens for the driver and passenger that extend across the instrument panel, to control the car’s many operations and infotainment choices. The S-Class uses the latest COMAND connectivity system, called mbrace2. It comes with five years of service and includes Facebook, Pandora, voice-to-text email and text messages, a mobile app, non-streaming apps, web services, roadside connection, and diagnostics data.

The climate control system is wondrously complex.

The front seats are superb, with big cushions and a lot of adjustment, although the ergonomics are occasionally fiddly. The seats are something between plush and supportive.

The sedan’s rear seats are also wide and comfortable, at least the outside seats. The Coupe’s tapering roofline takes up some space, but there’s still good shoulder, elbow and hip room, at least when the middle seat isn’t occupied. The standard rear seat splits and folds and passes through to the trunk, which is roomy enough.

Bucket seats in the rear are available, or also, for the sedan, an Executive Rear Seat Package Plus option that includes reclining seats with footrests, a central console with airplane-like laptop trays, a hot-stone massage function, and heated armrests: the ultimate Lazy Boy. With the rear video option it’s all there.

The Cabriolet’s excellent soft top has three layers, and the Airscarf system blows sweet hot air on your neck.

Driving Impressions

The S-Class is athletic but it isn’t a sports sedan, and it’s too big and heavy to handle like one. The steering lacks driver feedback.

The S550’s twin-turbo 4.7-liter V8 is as strong as most anyone needs, but the S63 AMG and S65 AMG are kings of the universe of luxury power. The S63 AMG coupe and sedan use a fierce twin-turbo 5.5-liter V8, and a firmer tuned suspension that makes the big S-Class come alive in ways uncommon to a car this size. They carve corners with grace and pace. Zero to sixty in 3.9 seconds!

Or maybe the real master of the universe is the S65 AMG, just because it’s a V12 and makes 621 horsepower. But it’s not quite as quick because it’s only rear-wheel drive. And the 6.0-liter twin-turbo V12 takes a seven-speed automatic, not the new nine-speed. The S650 Cabriolet gets this powertrain. Clearly a movie star’s car: a Mercedes V12 convertible with 621 horsepower.

There’s another version of the V12 making a tamer 523 horsepower, used in the Maybach S600.

The ride is impeccable, and the brakes get the heavy car stopped true and without drama.

That smooth-as-glass ride is produced Magic Ride Control, using a stereo camera to look at the road and set the suspension for the upcoming surface. In Comfort mode, it feels like magic.

Summary

Master of the Universe, the ultimate sedan, coupe, or convertible, the big, powerful, luxurious, expensive and built-like-a-tank Mercedes-Benz S-Class. Magic ride, and it actually handles. Supercar acceleration from a big twin-turbo V8 or V12.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality Not Available
Overall Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
Not Available
Overall Quality - Design
Not Available
Powertrain Quality - Design
Not Available
Body & Interior Quality - Design
Not Available
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
Not Available

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.