2017 Mercedes-Benz GLE Reviews and Ratings

AMG GLE 63 4MATIC SUV

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Mercedes-Benz GLE.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (13)
Overall Rating
  4.5 / 5
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  4.4 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By Nitin Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 11:16am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.9 / 5
Excellent ride comfort and spacious interior. Best Features - Blind spot monitoring and other technology features.
Reliability
  4.5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Alex Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 2:26pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
This is my fifth Mercedes, all but the first leased as a new vehicle. This is my second Mercedes SUV - I needed something big to haul two dogs and luggage and still be able to fit two full sized adults in the front seats. I was won over by the superior safety rating - no one has died from an accident in this sized Mercedes SUV over the past few years - out of all the wrecks, there may ahve been injuries, but no fatalities. I drive 130+ miles a day for my commute, so this has to get me to and from work, keep me alive in the event of an accident, and carry my pets and stuff when I'm off work. This vehicle checks all the boxes, isn't crazy expensive to fill up with gas (even using premium) and looks pretty darn good while Im driving it.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jeff Friday, August 18, 2017 - 2:41pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
vehicle engine performance is outstanding. Best features - engine performance. Worst features - gasoline mileage
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Pete G Friday, August 18, 2017 - 1:24pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The GLE 43 offers responsive power and reasonable fuel economy. Extremely comfortable with the ability to select sport or sport plus driving modes for times you may want to cut loose. 7200-lb towing capacity. Excellent finishes and any number of safety features. Good visibility for driver and passengers. The sound system is excellent with Harman Kardon surround. For me this is a good size SUV capable of storage and transport but still fits in a standard parking space. A solid but responsive ride.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By EPM Friday, August 25, 2017 - 5:50pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my 2017 Mercedes. Ive always dreamt of having a Mercedes and I'm so happy with my car. It is fun to drive. The technology is great and it is an ultra smooth ride.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 12:49pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Fabulous car. A little smaller than I like. Somewhat hard to get into. Drives fabulously. Visibility somewhat limited. Has every bell and whistle.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, August 21, 2017 - 11:07am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.2 / 5
Great drive and like mostly except for several over riding, irritating features. The stop/start function cannot be disabled and must be turned off every time you get in the car and again when changing the sport function. This is beyond stupid for living in Florida and only for Mercedes to post better milage numbers. Should be as Porsche does which allows you to leave that function off all the time. Could not hate it anymore.. Also the lever to change to park/drive/reverse is dangerous. Often does not engage when you push the park button on end of lever, and car starts to roll off as you get out. They use this stupid lever Instead of a solid center console gear shift to include a totally useless ""swipe"" interface. Notice it changes the radio station when you reach across it for something in the cup holder. Nav is not intuitive.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Name Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 7:18am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very roomy and easy to put the back seats down for extra cargo space. Awesome sound and easy to use the navigation.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Donna Monday, August 21, 2017 - 7:37am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
Double check the comfort of the in-town ride and seating before purchasing. Best Features - Exterior styling; safety feature options.Worst Features - Column shift; not a comfortable ride for the price.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   1.5 / 5

By Anonymous Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 1:16pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
It looks awesome and rides well. Pro: Exterior Con: Technology could be better
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Shawn Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 5:14pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Our 2017 Mercedes GLE is an incredibly smooth driving vehicle with more horsepower than previous editions and every available safety feature. The 180*/360* rearview camera is an invaluable help and comfort especially when small children are in the neighborhood. The lane-drift warning alert is another safety advance we greatly appreciate. Our GLE is a near perfect blend of driving safety and comfort.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By tom Friday, July 28, 2017 - 11:43am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Cant go wrong with this one. Pros: Room. Cons: Cost but its worth it.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By InLoveWith AMG Saturday, August 5, 2017 - 8:14am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
AMG Vehicles from Mercedes are unlike any other Mercedes and any other vehicle on the planet. The quality inside and out and the hand built engines are amazing! The safety features are above and beyond just under Tesla's tech. The performance is unmatched. I have an extremely safe family car yet I can go 0-60 with the 63S in 4.1 seconds. I have te performance exhaust which is actually not bothersome and I don't listen to the radio so I can hear the engine and exhaust. Even after 5k miles!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews

Expert Reviews are not currently available for the 2017 Mercedes-Benz GLE.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Mercedes-Benz GLE AMG GLE 63 4MATIC SUV local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.