NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 INFINITI QX80.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (12)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.8 / 5
Interior
  4.7 / 5
Exterior
  4.7 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.7 / 5

By Deepak C Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 5:26pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  3.8 / 5
The look and drive dynamics
Reliability
  3.5 / 5
Interior
  3.5 / 5
Exterior
  4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4 / 5

By Bernard Monday, August 21, 2017 - 12:28am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Very reliable and less expensive high end vehicle
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, August 21, 2017 - 7:30pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Best driving Large SUV. Great overall handling ride and performance. Best Features - Combination of ride and handling. Worst Features - Back glass does not lift.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Madelyn Sunday, September 3, 2017 - 1:47pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Great Tow Vehicle for our full size 2 horse trailer. A ton of power and control with great stopping power
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bob Saturday, August 26, 2017 - 4:24pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
We love the vehicle; it is very quite and handles well; large vehicle with plenty of room; makes family feel very safe; 360-degree camera makes parking the car very easy; easy to adjust a/c/heat for back passengers and a/c & heat are very responsive; second seat virtually lifts itself, providing ready access to third-row seats; plenty of second and third-row leg room; back hatch opens and closes automatically; everyone who has ridden with us wants the car; would highly recommend it to others
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Maria C Monday, August 28, 2017 - 11:41am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Infiniti QX80 is top notch. Initially, I was not a big fan of it, but my husband wanted me to drive a big car while the kids were very young. We are now on our second Infiniti QX model, and I must say, its the best deal for this size luxury SUV. The interior, exterior, technology features, service, and dealership are exactly what we expect for the money we pay for. The vehicle is so reliable and comfortable, and the peace of mind of driving it extends to the service experience that goes with the Infiniti brand.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Robbie T Monday, August 21, 2017 - 2:48pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my Q80 Limited. It's features are great and saved us from a collision with the safety features. I love it!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tony H Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 7:25am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my new 2017 Infiniti QX80. The bold and sleekness of this vehicle is eye catching to many. The exterior and interior is different and stands out from it's competitors. I would recommend the Infiniti brand without hesitation.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Wednesday, August 2, 2017 - 2:00pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Love the vehicle just have not been satisfied with Infiniti's customer support.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Kristi Friday, August 4, 2017 - 8:12am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Love the interior and exterior appearance of my new QX80. It makes me feel safe when driving and I love all of the technology features.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By R.Roberts Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 6:06pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Luv my new QX80 LIMITED ED. It""s quite luxurious and spacious. My parents and family enjoys the comfort & reliability of my QX a d refers to it as the beast with the theatre.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Rosalie Friday, August 11, 2017 - 5:12pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Exceptional! It has the most sophisticated technology. Love how the wipers automatically go on when it rains.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 INFINITI QX80
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Infiniti QX80 is a full-size, body-on-frame, rear-wheel-drive SUV that can seat seven or eight and uses a big 5.6-liter V8. No crossover here, and luxury all the way, this is a traditional large sport-utility vehicle.

All-wheel drive is available.

The QX80 was last redesigned for 2011, when it took over the platform of the Nissan Patrol SUV, leaving behind the platform of the Nissan Titan pickup truck. Even with its dated design, it feels plush and exclusive. Its most recognizable rival might be the Cadillac Escalade. The Range Rover tops the class, which also includes the Mercedes-Benz GLS-Class.

The 2017 Infiniti QX80 gets no mechanical changes, only small things. The available emergency braking system adds pedestrian detection, trailer sway control is added to all models, and there are color changes for the sheetmetal and cabin. The 2017 Infiniti QX80 Signature Edition comes loaded with high-contrast leather, special wheels and other features.

All models come with a 5.6-liter V8 making a whumping 400 horsepower and 413 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 7-speed automatic transmission. That’s less horsepower than some rivals, although performance is adequate, with acceleration from zero to 60 in less than 7 seconds. The ride is excellent but the handling is clumsy, unlike the Range Rover. QX80 is rated to tow up to 8500 pounds.

Since the QX80 is closely related to the Nissan Patrol, off-roading is in its genes, with an available all-wheel-drive system that’s simple, and uses a low gear ratio. The torque is biased to the rear, but can go to 50/50 front/rear when the rear wheels slip. It’s equipped with hill start assist.

Naturally, the QX80 gets low fuel mileage, at an EPA-rated 14/20/16 miles per gallon City/Highway/Combined. It hasn’t been crash-tested in recent years, but its sheer size should make it safe.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Infiniti QX80 ($63,850) comes standard with leather upholstery, navigation, DVD audio, satellite radio, Bluetooth with audio streaming, sunroof, power tailgate, 20-inch alloy wheels, surround-view camera with cross-traffic alerts, and either dual bucket seats in the second row, or a traditional bench seat. Rear-wheel drive is standard.

QX80 AWD ($66,950) gets all-wheel drive.

Options packages are Deluxe Technology, Theater, and Driver Assistance, including adaptive headlights with automatic dimming, lane departure warning and prevention, backup collision warning, adaptive cruise control, blind spot monitors, and forward collision warning with pedestrian detection and automatic braking. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

QX80 AWD Limited ($89,450) comes with the Deluxe, Technology and Theater packages. It gets a Truffle Brown cabin with wood trim and brown, black, and silver leather. The exterior gets dark chrome trim, dark headlamp and taillamp lenses, stainless steel running board caps with ground lighting, and 22-inch wheels.

Walkaround

The Infiniti QX80 blends classic SUV design with glamour, but its bulbous organic shapes show a lapse in good design taste, mashing up against the traditional truck-like profile. To some it looks like a beached whale. It has an SUV forehead that’s too tall, without much slope to the windshield, and chrome fender vents that are cheesy, even though one of them is functional. The grille is huge, while massive LED headlamps and foglamps pull the eyeballs to the front. It isn’t pretty.

However, some see vintage charm in the profile. It brings back those 1980s days of the Nissan Trooper and Mitsubishi Montero, with its light side glass. The angled rear pillars, raised tailgate panels, and swelled fenders are all family Infiniti touches.

Interior

The cabin is the best part of the QX80. It’s as radiant as the Mercedes GLS, as refined as the Escalade, and an interesting alternative to the Range Rover. The burled wood swirls around the hockey-stick angles of the dash, and the hazelnut leather is part of a handsome blend with a masculine feel. It has the grace and finesse of the Infiniti Q70 sedan.

The cabin is spacious, at least in front, with seats that are big, high and luxurious, although the driver’s knees are crowded by the center console, which at least is padded.

In the rear, despite the vehicle’s size, three passengers in the bench seat will be crowded, so we prefer the two captain’s chairs with a center console having a deep bin. This reduces seating capacity from eight to seven. The second-row captain’s chairs have available heating, and tip forward to make it easier to climb back to the third row, which will fit adult passengers in a pinch but is meant for kids.

Behind the third row there’s 16.7 cubic feet of cargo space, about as much as the trunk of a sedan. To get the full 95.1 cubic feet, both rows must be powered down. A power liftgate is standard.

Driving Impressions

The 400 horsepower made by the 5.6-liter V8 is less than average for the class, but the engine is strong, smooth and silent. The QX80 accelerates well, using its decent torque of 413 pound-feet.

The ride is excellent, even with the optional 22-inch wheels, but the handling is cumbersome, even with steering that’s too light for us. Thanks to the heavy, truck-type platform, you feel the SUV’s heft on the highway, and in town the size makes it hard to park. It protests if it’s driven too fast in corners by leaning and squealing. The good news is the brakes are big and powerful, when you recognize it won’t go there.

More good news is the available Hydraulic Body Motion Control system, which controls the beast. It uses hydraulic pressure at individual wheels to reduce lean, but we aren’t convinced it improves the ride or is worth the price. For towing, there’s an automatic leveling system at the rear end.

Summary

A full-tilt Infiniti QX80 Limited pushes the six-figure barrier in price, and for that you get a six-year-old design on a pickup-truck chassis, with a plush interior and nice ride, but an engine that makes less horsepower than the competition, and handling that’s poor unless you buy the system that makes it acceptable.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 5 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 INFINITI QX80 AWD local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.