NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 INFINITI QX60.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (19)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.7 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.7 / 5

By Blair Saturday, August 26, 2017 - 10:40am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
Great styling, impressive interior, if you love bells and whistles you love this vehicle. It was down to the Mercedes GL and the Infiniti QX60. The maintenance for the Mercedes will be much more expensive to maintain.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Chris Monday, September 4, 2017 - 5:57pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Infiniti QX60 was a car we liked for a while, and we've grown to like a whole lot more since buying it. The interior controls are laid out incredibly well - nothing is hard to reach or difficult to access despite the impressive list of features. Comfort-wise, it's head and shoulders above similar vehicles - and our other car happens to be one of them! (MDX) The back seat provides excellent access to the third row, even with our daughter's car seat in place. The comfort while moving and making turns is noticeable - it doesn't dive or lean like many other SUVs. Perfect when there's a sleeping 2-year old in the back.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By vivian Friday, August 18, 2017 - 12:50pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
very comfortable, fun to drive and great looks. Only minor issue has been with the rear view camera that would stay on some times while driving forward, had it checked out by dealer and is now fixed. put it on sport mode and it becomes alive, but you will pay the price at the pump. Overall, we got a great deal on a beautiful Hermosa Blue QX60.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jeff Tuesday, September 5, 2017 - 4:05pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
At 1st i thought the QX60 AWD was the exact same as the Nissan Pathfinder AWD UNTIL I drove it. The ride is smoother and in Sport Mode it is the most aggressive SUV I have ever driven. Very fun to drive. The exterior has an aggressive look. The interior 2nd & 3rd row seats are comfortable but the Driver and front passenger seat could be a bit longer but does give a soft ride on long trips.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sonia Friday, September 8, 2017 - 12:54pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I love my car. Great price and great quality. I wish I would have upgraded and purchase the media center.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By rene Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 4:37pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very comfortable with all the safety features for this particular model. I wish it had digital speed on it vice analog.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Marcy Friday, August 18, 2017 - 8:37pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This car has the feeling of quality and luxury. The seats are the most comfortable we have ever experienced. The air conditioning system is great and the quietness and smoothness of the ride is incomparable. We had a maximum price we could pay for a car. We would have liked a little more technology for the price but would not trade the comfort of the car for the technology.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Pradeep and Na Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 6:51am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
exceptional
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Cindy Monday, July 31, 2017 - 5:50am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
The Q-60 lives up to reputation as a stylish SUV. Overall I am very satisfied with this vehicle and have already taken this car on a vacation trip. Interior is roomy enough to very comfortably hold 4 adults and all the luggage for a weeks vacation.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Dessiree Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 9:17am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love this vehicle's interior and exterior design. It is a very comfortable vehicle. It drives very smoothly. Its fuel efficient.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By John Monday, July 31, 2017 - 2:12pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Engine and Transmission a great. Ride very smooth. This is my 3rd QX60 (1st was a JX 35). I plan to get another QX 60 in 2.5 years.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Lisa S Friday, July 28, 2017 - 4:54pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My Infiniti QX60 is fun to drive and has all the bells and whistles one would want. I feel spoiled when I drive my Infiniti QX60! This is my second one and I like it even more than the last.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By K2 Saturday, August 5, 2017 - 7:46pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Beautiful Car Very comfortable driving Roomy interiors Good technological yet not the best Lack of power as compared to other luxury cars
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Darryl Saturday, August 12, 2017 - 2:04pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.4 / 5
Very pleased but, still early in life of car. Best feature - interior. Worst feature - small third row
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Dale Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 6:49pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
We really enjoy driving our new QX60. Very comfortable vehicle that handles nicely on the road.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mary Sunday, August 27, 2017 - 12:49pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
drives well doesn't feel or handle like a big vehicle. I feel very safe and in control when I am on the highway.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Debbie Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 12:38pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The comfort and noise level are superb. The technology and safety features were the ""cherry on top."" I cannot say enough about this vehicle.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Grandad Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 8:49am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.9 / 5
Our family has always been mainly a Honda/Acura family with Toyota/Lexus often. From time to time we throw in an oddball Mercedes Jaguar etc but just prefer the reliability we have experienced with the Japanese brands. We had never had an Infiniti. After driving an Acura RDX the last 3 years I was ready to return to a larger vehicle. The driving dynamics of the Honda Pilot and Acura MDX did not suit what I wanted the Toyota had barely changed since the last one I owned and the Lexus RX did not possess a 3rd rown and the GX was just to much money. Totally happy with the purchase situation none of the typical dealer shenanigans. Car is just what I hoped for the gas mileage a bit less than expected but probably due to my driving style. I would totally recommend this vehicle and due to the purchase experience and vehicle satisfaction will consider the new styled QX50 for my wife when it is released next year.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, July 31, 2017 - 8:50pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Love the bells and whistles!! Pros: Safety and interior design / comfort
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 INFINITI QX60
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Infiniti QX60 is a front-wheel-drive luxury crossover that seats seven. Competitors include the Acura MDX, Volvo XC90, and Audi Q7.

The current-generation model was launched as a 2013 and was called the JX, then renamed QX60 for 2014 as part of an Infiniti nomenclature overhaul. Styling was freshened and suspension stiffened for model year 2016.

The 2017 Infiniti QX60 brings more power, and a standard 8.0-inch touchscreen with Bluetooth and streaming audio, although the infotainment system remains a weak point.

The 3.5-liter V6 in the 2017 QX60 makes 295 horsepower and 270 pound-feet of torque, a significant increase from 2016. The aging engine now has high-tech direct injection. It’s mated to a continuously variable transmission that’s not great.

We find the Infiniti’s look and feel equal to the Acura but below the Volvo and Audi whose designs are more imaginative. All-wheel drive is available, as is a Hybrid model, but that’s a low-volume vehicle that most dealers don’t stock, and has to be ordered.

Inside, the QX60 is spacious and stylish. We think the interior looks too much like the much cheaper Nissan Pathfinder, whose platform it shares, but the interior trim is of a higher level. Its aura is upscale, but it doesn’t match the feel of a Mercedes-Benz or BMW, although those vehicles do cost more. And the QX60 doesn’t deliver the driving polish we think it should.

The QX60 earns the Top Safety Pick+ rating from the IIHS, but that’s only if it’s equipped with the expensive packages that include all the safety systems such as automatic emergency braking. The 2017 QX60 is EPA rated at 21/27/23 miles per gallon City/Highway/Combined. The QX60 Hybrid gets 26/28/26 mpg.

Model Lineup

Infiniti QX60 comes in standard and Hybrid versions. Option packages include Premium, which adds a Bose 13-speaker sound system, power lumbar support, heated steering wheel, remote starting, and roofrails. Premium Plus adds navigation, surround-view cameras, and Infiniti Connection telematics.

Walkaround

The QX60 doesn’t look as big as it is. It’s relatively sleek and nicely detailed, tastefully modern, a successful adaptation of sedan styling cues to a big crossover. It has a long hood and tapering roofline that makes it look softer than slab-sided SUVs like the Acura MDX. Its profile is distinct from the Nissan Pathfinder on which it’s based.

The front end leads with a large, puckered chrome grille, while the fenders swell gently into the body. The rear pillar features Infiniti’s signature crescent shape that adds distinction to the brand.

Interior

Inside, the Infiniti QX60 feels mostly luxurious. The QX60 cabin may be too much like the Pathfinder, for us, but the interior quality is noticeably higher. The dashboard, door panels, and seats are rich but restrained, with contrast stitching on the leather. The two-tone treatments keep the roomy interior light and airy. Base trim is matte silver, while wood comes only with the way expensive Deluxe Technology Package. The analog clock is a signature that’s past its time.

The infotainment display is crisp and clear, but the system is flawed. The menus are convoluted, and the mix of dials, knobs, commands and controller demands learning and sometimes defies understanding. We ended up learning a couple and avoiding the rest.

The layout of the seats is family friendly, with a 60/40 split second row that folds, tilts, collapses, and allows child seats to stay in place during access to the 50/50 split third row. It’s a flexibility you don’t find in many seven-seaters.

The front and rear seats are comfortable for adults, although bolstering in the front light. The third row is just for kids, even though it’s easy to reach. The cushion is low and the padding is thin.

The QX60 Hybrid’s compact lithium-ion battery pack is stashed under the third row, so it doesn’t cut cargo space, nor does it prevent the third row from folding flat.

The doors open wide and the step-in height is relatively low, so it’s easy to climb in and out of the QX60. The rear seat slides to and fro 5.5 inches, affording good legroom. Front-seat cooling is available, but the hardware under the seats gets in the way of rear passengers’ feet; skip it if you want more rear-seat comfort.

With both rows folded flat, there’s a sizeable 76.5 cubic feet of cargo space, and with both rows up, there’s still 15.8 cubic feet in back. That’s more than the trunk of many midsize cars.

There’s a good amount of sound insulation, so it’s pleasantly quiet inside, also because the CVT keeps engine speeds low for fuel efficiency. However, it gets louder under acceleration.

Driving Impressions

When the shocks and springs were stiffened for 2016, the idea was to improve the dynamics and make the QX60 more agile, but now the ride is too firm for a luxury crossover. Meanwhile the road holding remains just adequate, with notable lean in the turns and understeer when it’s driven hard in corners. Of course, it wasn’t exactly designed to be driven like that, but it was upgraded to be more capable of it. The electric power steering, employed to improve fuel economy, isn’t crisp and doesn’t transmit much road feel.

The 2016 CVT transmission is subpar; it does the car few favors in the refinement department. There are four modes: Eco, Standard, Sport, and Snow. In Eco, the pedal feel is lame, and pushes back, so it’s only satisfactory on long, flat stretches of road, where you might save some fuel. Sport mode makes the CVT behave like a conventional 6-speed automatic, while in any other mode it drones under hard acceleration.

The hard-to-get QX60 Hybrid uses a supercharged 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine, paired with a 15-kilowatt electric motor with clutches on each side, and attached to an adapted version of the CVT. It makes a combined gas/electric 250 horsepower. Unlike hybrids from Toyota, Ford, and others, it can’t pull out on just electric power. It gains about 4 miles per gallon, for about $10,000 more.

Both powertrains are available with all-wheel drive. The system sends its power to the front wheels until they slip, then up to 50 percent can go to the rear. It’s for winter traction, not off-roading.

The V6 is rated to tow up to 3500 pounds. Infiniti says that maybe 20 percent of QX60 buyers might tow.

Summary

Infiniti QX60 offers seven-passenger seating in a near-luxury crossover SUV, but it doesn’t offer any compelling advantages over the many vehicles that compete with it. Special pricing and deals may make it more attractive.

Sam Moses contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
2 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 INFINITI QX60 AWD local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.