NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 INFINITI QX50.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (15)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.6 / 5
Interior
  4.6 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.6 / 5

By Brenda Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 8:43pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.9 / 5
My vehicle is not only attractive, it offers great mileage and has many safety features. This is very important to me because I have 4 grandchildren. It has a look of elegance and quiet power. I am often complimented on its appearance. It accelerates appropriately and I feel comfortable and safe when I am driving. I love my QX50!
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Martha Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 4:34pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my new Infinity QX50. I first chose it because of the exterior styling and size. I had a wonderful experience with the salespeople at my local dealership, and have enjoyed driving my new car every day. It is fun to drive, responsive, comfortable, and the gas mileage is good, as well. I highly recommend this car!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Angelin Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 2:55pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
Built well and has a great ride but wish gas mileage was better. Best Features - Ride and Engine Power. Worst Features - Gas Mileage and old technology
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Trish Sunday, August 27, 2017 - 1:59pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The Infiniti qx50 is great to drive, reliable and safe. Best Features - Interior leather seats and smooth ride. Worst Features - Audio package
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 4:03pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Drives great and fun to drive good size for suv. Best Features - Interior. Worst Feature - Road noise
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Donna Sunday, August 27, 2017 - 8:38am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The QX50 is a superb performing vehicle. Its sexy and classic exterior turns heads! The 3 month Sirius stereo is free and a must have thereafter.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mark. S Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 11:24am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.9 / 5
This was a poor choice I have owned Infinity previously and my wife liked the styling so I bought it . They upgrade you to death to get what you want and in the end it wasn't much. After driving this car for 3 months I actually traded it in for a Cadillac XT5 a little bigger but much better ride and visibility which is extremely poor in the QX50. I did not feel confident on the road with the car. It's tech was outdated the cargo area was small and it was old styling. I'll admit I should have done more research. I would look elsewhere or at least wait for the 2018 which the dealer neglected to tell me would be redesigned. I got the car fully equipped with 20"" tires and all but the tech package. It was really annoying to find that it had no side view mirror warning control without this option. Worse who makes an SUV without a power liftgate? At this point I wanted all the bells and whistles. A far superior ride. Bottom line Avoid this car it is outdated and lacks so available in today's Market.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2 / 5

By Anonymous Friday, July 28, 2017 - 8:11pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.4 / 5
The technology isn't at the level it should be for the amount paid. The Homelink is not flexible. The lack of multiple audio inputs.
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Danny T Friday, July 28, 2017 - 3:43pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
GREAT CAR!!! Pros: Power and Technology
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Nguu B. Tuesday, August 8, 2017 - 10:41am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Look sport and fast HUV and the price is reasonable compared to another manufacturer. I really love my QX50.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sherry Wednesday, August 2, 2017 - 7:39am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
The Infiniti QX50 has wonderful handling! Great interior look and features. Nice exterior lines and look. Awesome car for me and my errands and daily commute.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jennifer B Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 12:40pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great vehicle great features. Reliable and beautiful. I just love driving it and I feel its a safe car. Classy.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, July 31, 2017 - 4:53pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Has unique styling inside and out. Has a normally aspirated v6 engine vs the competitors turbo four cylinder so feel it will be more reliable. Truly a high performance car in SUV clothing. The primary real wheel drive can handle the 325hp unlike a front wheel drive with torque steer issues. However still has all-wheel drive for bad weather. Some say the design is a bit dated but still feels elegant. Great warranty and price. Fuel economy just ok but on par with other high performance vehicles.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ted K Friday, July 28, 2017 - 4:33pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Great power and handling. Pros: Styling. Cons: Nav complicated
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, August 14, 2017 - 5:10pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
QX 50 is very maneuverable, verystylish, with plenty of horse power. Back seats have plenty of room. The car is fun to drive for errands. the car is great for quick trips around town
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 INFINITI QX50
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Infiniti QX50 is a rear-wheel-drive luxury crossover utility built on the chassis of the Q50 sports sedan. Unlike some competitors, it’s not designed to pamper. Instead the QX50 offers an abundance of driving dynamics led by responsive road manners. Its ride, comfort and handling almost match the Q50 sports sedan that defines it.

The QX50 is more of a tall wagon than a sport-utility. With available all-wheel drive it will survive well in snow or sand, but don’t go trying to run the Baja 500 with it (never mind that Lexus has an SUV Baja racer).

The wheelbase of the QX50 grew by more than three inches for 2016, so four adults fit comfortably, through doors that were lengthened as well, over a ride-height raised by almost an inch. A facelift included a new grille and LED foglamps and running lights. It all improved the car’s looks.

With those significant changes for 2016, the 2017 QX50 only gains a 19-inch wheel-and-tire package, and that’s about it.

Under the hood, a 325-horsepower V6 teams with an excellent 7-speed automatic transmission to bring quick responses. When hammered, the engine sounds loud and unrefined for a luxury vehicle.

Fuel mileage is not the car’s forte. The QX50 is EPA-rated at 17/24 mpg City/Highway, and 20 mpg Combined. For that you could get a full-size three-row SUV. But you don’t want a full-size three-row SUV. You want a sports sedan with cargo versatility.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Infiniti QX50 comes with rear-wheel drive ($34,450) or all-wheel drive ($36,250).

Standard equipment includes a rearview camera; leather upholstery; power driver’s seat; cruise control; dual-zone automatic climate control; six-speaker audio with CD/MP3 capability, satellite radio, and Bluetooth hands-free phone; moonroof, pushbutton start, and universal garage door opener; and 18-inch aluminum wheels.

Premium package adds Bose 11-speaker audio, maple wood trim, and driver’s memory. An expensive Technology Package adds safety features including lane-departure and forward-collision warnings, and intelligent cruise control. For another couple thousand, a Premium Plus package adds navigation, parking sensors, and surround-view cameras (useful because visibility is limited by dramatic rear-end styling).

Walkaround

Visually, the QX50 doesn’t exude SUV, now passe. It’s clean, with none of that SUV-for-the-sake-of-being-SUV trim or sculpting. Big wheel wells and widely flared fenders support rakishly arching roofline that gives it a coupe-like profile. There is some subtle sculpting in the organic sheetmetal, making the roofline look low instead of tall. If you look at it like a tall wagon, it looks great.

Interior

The cabin is sophisticated, simple and tasteful. It’s more streamlined than competitors, for example the Acura RDX. Bless its classy heart, Infiniti avoids non-functional shiny bits. Instead you get rich tones, contoured wood trim, soft lighting, and elegant instruments.

There are plenty of functional bits, as the driver faces an abundance of buttons and controls.

The wide center stack gives the front seats a cockpit-like feel. A seven-inch color screen displays infotainment and vehicle information. Optional hard drive-based navigation brings a touchscreen, 3D graphics and lane guidance, as well as real-time traffic/weather information, and voice recognition. Too bad the screen has a lower resolution.

The front seats are shaped well; they’re snug, with just just the right amount of bolstering, and high cushions.

That 3.2-inch increase in wheelbase for 2016 afforded 3.9 inches more kneeroom in the rear, according to Infiniti. Some of that came from reshaped seatbacks of the front seats.

There are 18.3 cubic feet of cargo space behind the second row, which folds with a touch of a button to increase the volume to 50 cubic feet.

Driving Impressions

The ride benefited from the wheelbase increase, too; it’s firm and compliant. Meanwhile the handling didn’t suffer; it’s still impressive for a crossover. The steering is responsive, with authentic feedback that gets heavier as you turn.

With all-wheel drive, some of the nimbleness and precision go away, but that’s not unusual in a rear-wheel car, and the tradeoff is a gain in all-weather tractability.

Developing 325 horsepower and 267 pound-feet of torque, the 3.7-liter V6 never feels short of power, and it’s comfortable being pushed hard. It works eagerly with the 7-speed automatic transmission that’s programmed to bring a throttle-blip for rev-matching downshifts. It has a sport mode that yields slightly quicker shifts, but paddle shifters are not offered.

Four-wheel disc brakes stop the QX50 decisively, without excessive dive or body motion.

One surprising weakness for a luxury car is the amount of engine noise, especially for a luxury model. Even cruising, you can hear it.

Summary

The QX50 delivers what it promises, but shop it carefully, including a thoughtful test drive over curves and bumps, to understand the promise. Important strong points include styling, powertrain, ride and handling. It’s not even that expensive for an Infiniti luxury crossover. You might even like the unrefined distinctive growl of the V6 in the cabin.

Sam Moses contributed to this review.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 INFINITI QX50 RWD local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.