2017 INFINITI QX30 Reviews and Ratings

Premium FWD *Ltd Avail*

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 INFINITI QX30.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (16)
Overall Rating
  4.1 / 5
Reliability
  3.9 / 5
Interior
  4.2 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.2 / 5

By KASH Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 3:48pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.5 / 5
This is my first time purchasing an Infiniti. I purchased the QX30, and although it wasn't my first choice, I am pleased with my selection. The car handles well, great on gas, and makes me look good! HA!! Overall, customer service with this brand his been top-notch. I cannot complain thus far....
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  4 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, September 4, 2017 - 12:00pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   1.2 / 5
Great ride.
Reliability
   1 / 5
Interior
   1 / 5
Exterior
   1.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   1.5 / 5

By Ken Friday, August 18, 2017 - 7:31pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Great car, performs well, acceleration at take off is a little slow but good at full speeds. The only annoying things is the windows are small so it's tough to use a drive through ATM
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By William G Monday, August 21, 2017 - 5:36pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The QX30 is a brilliant, sleek and elegant performing vehicle. The interior is simple but not cheap looking. The hatchback is very roomy which is surprising. The best part is the performance, that acceleration blows past people.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By RAFAEL G. Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 8:43pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
MY CAR IS CONFORTABLE AND SPACIOSUSAND SAVE A LOT OF GASIS AVERY NICE DESIGN IN THIS YEAR AND SPORT.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bill Friday, July 28, 2017 - 6:53pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
The Infiniti QX30 handles like a sports car and has the amenities of a luxury vehicle. Fun to drive comfortable to ride in and user-friendly. As I understand it Infiniti partnered with Mercedes and it shows. I received a terrific deal from my dealer and a great price on my trade-in. Love the car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Friday, July 28, 2017 - 6:30am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.9 / 5
This is the first year they've made this model and the bugs are not worked out. Wait it out till they get it figured out. Mine is a lemon and the dealership told me it's the third one they've seen in their shop alone.
Reliability
   0.5 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By John Thursday, August 3, 2017 - 2:56pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
So far so great. Love the styling of this car. The 2.0 liter turbo is a very nice smooth engine and surprisingly quick. I prefer the sport mode for the transmission. The higher shift points give a better feel than the economy mode. Interior is outstanding. Finish and texture is fantastic. The dash is updated from the other Infiniti models and much better. The only thing I would like to see is a power tailgate
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 7:46pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Love How comfortable it is. Great car for a family. Great on gas and.mileage. love the sunroof. Great space in the trunk.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous Tuesday, August 8, 2017 - 5:50pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It has a unique color and the vehicle is nice and compact for a women.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ana Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 3:57pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
love this vehicle. sporty looking luxury crossover vehicle. great on gas and the features are great.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Friday, August 18, 2017 - 6:51am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2 / 5
My experience with the new model year of the QX30 Sport had shifting issues between gears and warnings that Reverse was not available (it really wasn't avail, I tried). The dealership had trouble diagnosing due to the new model year. After 3 hazardous occurrences I filed a claim with the consumer affairs division with the manufacturer and the vehicle was eventually returned. ... This was my third Infiniti and with this experience I will never buy another one.
Reliability
   0.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   0.5 / 5

By T Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 8:41am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Elegant and unique in it's styling along with it's fantastic handling and a very zippy 2.0T engine makes makes me extremely happy that I picked the Infiniti QX30!!!!!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By wALTER Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 6:08am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
Car is great but you fill up the tank a lot faster then my other cars so next time I will not replace this car with the same.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Lew S Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 11:04am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
I was going to replace my Q50 with a 2017 until I started researching the QX30S. I fell in love with the car online and was wowed during the test drive. Peppy engine and all the amenities that anyone could ask for. A pleasure to drive in any conditions, I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a crossover.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sue Sunday, August 6, 2017 - 6:51pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
The QX30 has a modern and stylish look. The interior is nice but backseat space/leg room is lacking. Trunk space is ok. It is in line with other crossovers on the market. There are a few features that are lacking for a ""luxury"" vehicle in my opinion.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 INFINITI QX30
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Infiniti QX30 is a new luxury compact crossover designed to convey a sense of what might be termed elegant aggression. The QX30 shares its platform and powertrain with the recently launched Mercedes-Benz GLA250. Joining a highly competitive market segment, the 2017 Infiniti QX30 goes against such well-executed rivals as the BMW X1, as well as the GLA250 itself.

Some observers have noted a significant resemblance to the compact Mazda3 hatchback, but the QX30 has a look all its own. The internationally focused design theme signals a new product direction for the Infiniti brand. Nissan’s premium division clearly wishes to become a major luxury-market player in Europe and other global regions.

Aiming at worldwide sales, crossovers for international markets will be offered with a variety of engines and transmissions. American versions of the QX30 get a single powertrain: a turbocharged 2.0-liter four-cylinder engine that develops 208 horsepower and 258 pound-feet of torque, coupled to an automated 7-speed dual-clutch transmission. On the AWD model, an intelligent all-wheel-drive system can transmit up to half of engine power to the rear wheels, whenever sensors detect traction loss.

Three trim levels will be offered: base QX30, sportier QX30S, and QX30 AWD. The all-wheel-drive edition features raised ride height, as well as unique body panels that impart a modest sense of ruggedness.

Infiniti claims that QX30 styling defies the customary vehicle categorization, occupying a segment between premium compact and larger crossover models. In terms of seat design, Infiniti touts the use of spinal support research. Seats are said to be engineered to match the curvature of the human spine, thus minimizing pressure on the back muscles by more equal distribution of the load. Dramatic exterior design, on the other hand, places a limit on space within the asymmetrically shaped cabin.

Voice recognition controls audio and navigation commands. InTouch infotainment features intuitive finger-touch and swipe controls, via a seven-inch touchscreen.

Crash-test results have not yet been issued, but safety takes precedence and the QX30 may be equipped with a number of active-safety and driver-assist features. They include blind-spot monitoring, forward collision warning with emergency braking assist, automatic high beams, and adaptive cruise control. Available Park Assist can guide the QX30 into an open parking space. The available surround-view camera system includes moving-object detection.

Model Lineup

The 2017 QX30 comes standard with front-wheel drive and includes InTouch infotainment, as well as 18-inch wheels. Black cloth upholstery is standard, with Nappa leather optional.

QX30 AWD adds all-wheel drive, with slightly taller ride height. Front/rear valance panels are said to be inspired by off-roading.

QX30S raises the sport-performance ante with 19-inch wheels and a lower ride height. Styling touches include unique front and rear fascias; a glossy black grille; leather-wrapped, flat-bottomed steering wheel; and aluminum pedals and footrests. Sport seats with eight-way power adjustment and lumbar support will be available.

Optional designer packages can customize the QX30 interior. City Black couples black upholstery with purple stitching. Cafe Teak features black stitching with brown/black upholstery. Gallery White trims white upholstery with red details.

Walkaround

Infiniti’s latest design language, highlighted on the QX30, consists of sharp angles and sweeping curves. Elements of French and Japanese influence are evident. Starting with a long, angular nose, the body flows rearward, encompassing swollen fenders that surround huge wheel wells. The comparatively short, low greenhouse features Infiniti’s familiar reverse-crescent C-pillar, leading to an abbreviated rear end that contains a steeply-sloped window. The result is a profile unlike any competitive model.

Sharp accent lines within each door taper inward, suggesting a three-dimensional shape that emphasizes the QX30’s horizontal proportions. An elevated stance distracts from the QX30’s upright hatchback silhouette. Except for QX30S models, which ride a half-inch lower, the suspension is a bit more elevated than in ordinary hatchbacks. Ride height is a bit taller in the AWD model. Nicely executed, the overall shape is undeniably Infiniti.

Interior

Immediately, the observer’s eye is drawn to an asymmetrical sweep across the QX30’s dashboard. That interior element provides a notable contrast to more austere, down-to-business cabins in rival German models.

Not only is the interior smartly designed, it’s packed with high-quality materials.

Some passengers can expect a snug fit in their seats. Front seats are sufficiently wide with good legroom, though head space is limited. As a road curves leftward, taller drivers might note that the windshield pillar restricts their view. The coupe-like roof dips sharply downward, so average-height, front-seat passengers might feel obliged to duck their heads to see outward.

Space is less restrictive in the back seat, where the long roof provides a greater sense of spaciousness. Head and leg space is barely sufficient to satisfy adult riders. With its 60/40 split-folding rear seat, the QX30 crossover provides greater utility than competitive sedans.

Driving Impressions

Performance from the QX30’s powertrain has German-brand characteristics, hardly a surprise because it hails from Mercedes-Benz. Because of that connection, some buyers who wouldn’t ordinarily favor an Infiniti might be attracted by the German-developed foundation.

Front-wheel drive is standard on the QX30 and QX30S, but the QX30 AWD adds all-wheel drive, with increased ride height and a touch of off-pavement potential.

In an early drive, the powertrain demonstrated responsive behavior, whether starting off from a standstill or accelerating to pass another vehicle. Other turbocharged four-cylinder engines paired with dual-clutch transmissions sometimes present hesitant responses, particularly at low speeds, but the QX30 performed appropriately. Infiniti claims 0-60 mph acceleration in just over seven seconds. Intended to conserve fuel, the automatic stop/start system is noticeable, but not nearly as jolting as some competitive setups.

Infiniti engineers sought to develop steering that maintains a consistent feel, regardless of speed, and they appear to have succeeded. Not only is steering precise, it’s neither excessively heavy at higher speeds nor overboosted in parking-lot driving. Overall, a QX30 handles dexterously, even if it’s not meant for fiery road tactics. Stiffer springs on the QX30S model don’t roughen the ride significantly.

Summary

More daring in design than most compact premium crossovers, the QX30 looks about as striking as any hatchback could possibly manage. The Mercedes-Benz powertrain is responsive.

Driving impressions by Christian Gulliksen, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 INFINITI QX30 Premium FWD *Ltd Avail* local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.