2017 Ford F-150 Reviews and Ratings

Lariat 2WD SuperCrew 5.5' Box

Best Performance and Design
J.D. Power Award

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Ford F-150.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (17)
Overall Rating
  4.8 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.8 / 5
Exterior
  4.8 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.8 / 5

By AJ Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 9:20pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.9 / 5
I am very impressed with this vehicle. With it being so light, I was a bit nervous about how it would hold to the road during inclement weather, but after taking it through rough winds and down pours, it assured me it can handle itself very well. The one thing I will say is that it does have a tendency to bounce around a bit after hitting bumps in the road, but not enough to loose its footing. The engine is very powerful and can make your think you are in half a car the way it shoots off, but a steady foot will yield you a steady 21.9 mpg and 700+ miles with the 36 gallon tank... I never worried ""if it's gonna make it.."" I'm sure I could have gotten way better fuel economy if I slowed down, but then that would have made for a longer trip. Con: LIMITED model should have had a split back seat panel for more adjustments for your head and shoulders, and a seat extender below the knees... this would have made this one of the best vehicles I've ever driven for comfort, stability and economy.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By LegoHead Tuesday, September 5, 2017 - 4:17pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I purchases a 2017 F150 in May. Very quiet to ride in. I drive to Texas last month; 12 hours in the truck and only filled up once. I was very comfortable in the seats (I'm 6' 225) The F150 tech is fantastic. I use WAZE & Spotify all the time. After 500 miles my oil can had a leak and was replaced, otherwise I'd of given it 5 stars. No other issues.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Brad Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 10:13am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I have a 2017 f150 supercrew fx4 sport with the 3.5l eco-boost. I am extremely happy with this purchase. Truck handles like a car, with the power of a 3/4 ton truck. Within the first week of ownership, i made an 1800 mile round trip with an 18 foot boat, and the truck performed flawlessly. The interior with the sport package is clean and sleek, and seats were comfortable on the 12 hour trip. If you are looking for a strong truck that has great handling and towing power, but don't need a 3/4 ton, this is the perfect truck. I drove many different brands, and the torque and power of the eco-boost outperformed all others. If I had to do it again, I would go buy the exact same truck just add the navigation.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Nelson T Monday, August 21, 2017 - 11:42am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
It is reliable and roomy fuel efficient smooth riding and also great towing capacity the inside is quite no wind noise.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Gary L Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 2:22am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Our first F-150 we had 2003-2017 We sold it after getting new one awesome vehicle Hope new one it lasts as long
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Walt Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 3:59pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The 2017 F-150 with the 2.7 Eco Boost engine is an amazing vehicle. Fuel economy and performance are above average. Interior and exterior are finished nicely and the variety of packages makes matching the vehicle to your needs and budget easy.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Miles Monday, August 21, 2017 - 12:19pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This pickup is a fantastic vehicle. It has plenty of power and is surprisingly nimble, given vehicle type. I am 7' tall and this pickup is roomy and comfortable. If you are looking for a roomy, nimble, fuel efficient truck, this is what you want. The clamshell doors make getting access to the rear cab super easy and allow for much greater versatility in getting odd-shaped objects in and out. This is the best vehicle I have ever owned. LOVE MY TRUCK!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Dennis Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 5:55pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The best truck on the market hands down. I truly enjoy driving it. I love all the features like the SYNC 3 and SYNC connect. The Bluetooth and Apple CarPlay are great.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, August 21, 2017 - 8:25pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This is my 5th F150, always bought the top selling truck in the industry. Best Features - Reliable
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Wil Monday, September 4, 2017 - 12:30pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
Wish it had just a little more power. But for the price it is exceptional getting 22 miles per gallon in a full sized truck.....thumbs up!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Richard Friday, July 28, 2017 - 1:15pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
My new f-150 is so quite inside and has a lot of leg room. I like the fold down seat in the middlle has a lot of storage space behind the seat
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Travis Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 4:06pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I absolutely love my 2017 Ford F150. I will never drive another type of vehicle. Absolutely perfect.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Mike Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 6:18pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
If you're looking for performance fuel economy ride comfort styling and reliability. Ford's F-150 is the truck for you hands down.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ashley M Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 6:21pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.2 / 5
We debated between the 2017 Ford 150 and several other trucks. We liked the smooth handling and drive of the Ford versus other trucks. the inside was equally slick. The navigation system is great! Overall great purchase!
Reliability
   3 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Jim Monday, July 31, 2017 - 9:00am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Having looked at all of the full size pickups the F150 King Ranch had some much more technology and safety features that the others couldn't match. It is the best vehicle that I have ever owned (over 30 previous vehicles)
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Gary Friday, August 18, 2017 - 10:59am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
No issues at all so far. I only wish it had a front camera/warning device. Drives and handles great! The towing is remarkable!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ron Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 7:20am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.4 / 5
Easy to drive and learn the technology accessories in new F150. Pros: 36 gallon tank. Cons: can't think of any
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Ford F-150
Mitch McCullough

Introduction

The 2017 Ford F-150 is the most innovative of the full-size pickups. The 2017 F-150 lineup offers a completely new powertrain option in the form of a redesigned 3.5-liter V6 engine and a new 10-speed automatic transmission.

The new second-generation 3.5-liter Ecoboost engine boasts 470 foot-pounds of torque, 50 more than last year’s first-generation Ecoboost, along with 375 horsepower. That output tops that of the optional V8 and helps the F-150 achieve a maximum tow rating of 12,200 pounds, sufficient for an enclosed car trailer with a heavy car aboard.

All told, the 2017 F-150 presents four different powertrains, three V6s, one V8, ranging from economy to impressive towing capability. The new 3.5-liter Ecoboost headlines the choices. There is a 2.7-liter Ecoboost V6 we found impressive rated at 325 horsepower and 375 foot-pounds of torque. And there is a 282-hp 3.5-liter Ti-VCT V6, an old design sold mainly on its price point. The 5.0-liter Ti-VCT V8 delivers 385 horsepower and 387 foot-pounds of torque for a tow rating of up to 10,100 pounds.

Introduced as a 2015 model, the current-generation F-150 boasts a lightweight body made of high-strength, military-grade aluminum alloy, along with a frame that uses high-strength steel to further reduce weight, dropping more than 500 pounds. Less weight means better fuel economy, quicker performance, shorter stopping distances, and greater payload. Ford’s SYNC 3 was added for 2016.

F-150 is the best-selling pickup, though the Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra together outsell the Ford. It’s a competitive market with strong products. The F-150 appears to be at the head of the field, along with the Silverado and Sierra, which were redesigned for 2014, and the Nissan Titan, redesigned for 2016. The current-generation Ram 1500 dates back to 2009, and a new one is expected for 2018. The Toyota Tundra is very dated, launched as a 2007 model. The F-150 is being restyled for 2018 and will be available with new and enhanced engines in fall 2017.

The 2017 F-150 is available in a wide range of trim levels and several body styles. Nearly all F-150 buyers opt for a SuperCab extended cab or a SuperCrew with four full-size front-hinged doors. Regular cabs are mostly fleet.

Plenty of safety technology is available, including a second-row inflatable seatbelt and Curve Control for braking assistance. An F-150 can be equipped with blind-spot monitoring and adaptive cruise control. A lane-keeping system nudges the truck back into its lane when sensors detect crossing of the double-yellow line. Pro Trailer Backup Assist can steer the rig when backing into a driveway or boat launch.

Ford’s Super Crew earned a five-star overall crash-test rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). An optional camera setup displays a 360-degree view around the truck, helpful for parking or easing into a garage.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Ford F-150 XL is available with any cargo bed or cab. Standard equipment includes 17-inch wheels, manual windows and locks, AM/FM stereo, vinyl floor, manual air conditioning, and tilt/telescopic steering wheel. F-150 XLT adds CD player, cruise control, power windows and locks, cloth front seats, and SYNC. Standard is the old-school 3.5-liter V6, which is the only engine compatible with E85 ethanol. The 3.5-liter Ecoboost V6 and 2.7-liter EcoBoost V6 are optional, as is the V8.

F-150 Lariat comes standard with the 2.7-liter V6, leather-trimmed and heated front seats, satellite radio, rearview camera, pushbutton start, power-adjustable pedals.

F-150 King Ranch is Crew Cab only, with a shorter bed and choice of V8 or 3.5-liter Ecoboost V6, King Ranch leather, heated/cooled front seats, inflatable rear seatbelts, Sony audio, navigation, rear parking sensors, and remote tailgate release. F-150 Platinum edition has LED headlights, blind-spot monitors, power running boards, remote start, remote tailgate release, rear parking sensors, and 20-inch wheels.

Walkaround

The F-150 presents an angular look with its aluminum body structure, more chiseled than pre-2015 steel models. The bed and cab are made of aluminum panels glued and riveted together and secured to a ladder frame that makes liberal use of high-strength steel. It looks like a modern tool.

Its stylish faired-back rectangular headlights are distinctive and bracket the tall grille. A beveled hood helps send air across the roof.

SuperCab and SuperCrew body styles come with a choice of bed lengths: 5-foot-6, 6-foot-6, or 8-foot. Loading ramps lock into bedsides and a BoxLink system allows dividing cargo.

Interior

This latest-generation F-150 is roomy up front. If you want usable back seats, go for the roomy SuperCrew. Legroom is ample and the recline is satisfying in the back seat of a SuperCrew, but seat cushions are a bit low. Conversely, the rear seats in SuperCabs are tight, best for kids, but they can be flipped up against the back wall, yielding helpful cargo storage space on the flat floor. None of them are set up well for dogs. Regular-cab pickups provide scant space behind the front seats.

In most versions, a wide, deep console sits between the front seats. It’s big enough to hold a laptop. More hard buttons than in past F-Series pickups operate the F-150’s infotainment functions. Controls are designed to be operable with gloves. Platinum models offer genuine wood trim.

Overall, we found the Silverado and Sierra the most comfortable of the full-size pickups. The Ford is comparable to the Nissan and Ram.

Driving Impressions

By pickup standards, the F-150 feels smooth and soft, the cab relatively isolated from road surface vibration. Its ride comfort and substantial feel makes the F-150 much more enjoyable on the road. It’s much smoother than an F-250.

Electric power steering is quick and light, easy to steer around in a parking lot, responsive on winding roads, stable on the highway. The F-150 and Titan seem to offer the best handling. The Silverado and F-150 have the nicest ride.

The new 3.5-liter Ecoboost is the engine to get. Its torque figures tell us all we need to know.

The 2.7-liter V6 engine works well with Ford’s 6-speed automatic. Acceleration is energetic and smooth, the turbocharger heard faintly under acceleration. Ford’s Stop/Start setup is among the best, practically seamless when it’s time for the engine to restart. EPA-estimated fuel economy is a comparatively thrifty 19/26 mpg City/Highway (22 mpg Combined) with that engine and two-wheel drive.

Quite a difference from the V8 version, EPA-estimated at only 15/21 mpg.

Summary

The Ford F-150 is a cutting-edge truck with a smooth ride. Lariat and King Ranch models coddle their owners and remind them daily of their smart choice. Buyers leaning toward the heavier end of a light-duty pickup should spring for the 3.5-liter Ecoboost engine. Those leaning toward the lighter end should be happy with the 2.7-liter Ecoboost.

Mitch McCullough, editor-in-chief, NewCarTestDrive.com, contributed to this report, with staff reports from The Car Connection.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Ford F-150 Lariat 2WD SuperCrew 5.5' Box local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.