NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Ford Escape.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (18)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.6 / 5
Interior
  4.6 / 5
Exterior
  4.6 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.6 / 5

By Colleen Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 3:34pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  4.6 / 5
It is such an amazing smooth ride. Absolutely love the interior, the tank size and overall features available in the car.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Barbie Monday, August 21, 2017 - 4:02pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Very good on gas comfortable to drive. Best Features - comfort, size and fuel
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Sharon Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 9:09am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
The 2017 Escape with the 2.0L Ecoboost has the best power in its class. I enjoy the get-up-and-go this car has. I also think it looks good and I love all the technology that comes in the Titanium trim level. I do wish it had a few things, but they're mostly little things (oil life and tire pressure monitors on the display screen for example). I think for the money though, this is a great vehicle that comes with a lot of options I was looking for.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tony E Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 4:47pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Absolutely fantastic car. Our 2017 Ford Escape Platinum with the 2.0 Ecoboost engine is a true gem. Seemless power delivery and ride. Drives and rides like a luxury car. We couldn't be more impressed. First 4 months/3000 miles, gas mileage averaged 22.3 MPG. Mostly short town driving. Averaged about 28 MPG on highway driving. Radio and technology equipment easy to use. Super comfy leather seats. Wife and I really love this car. A real winner and fun to drive!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By JUNE Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 7:31pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
We down sized form a full size sedan to a small SUV and are loving the performance and pep of this car.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Susan Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 6:20pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
My escape is very roomy An comfortable. I love the body style an interior. It's just a great vehicle. Not too small An not too big
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By James Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 5:16pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This 2017 Escape is a pleasure to drive, feel totally safe in it . It handles beautifully. It has so much room inside , leg , seat and places to put things. The cargo area holds so much more than before suitcases , or groceries. The back seats fold down that can give you so much more room. The radio , nagavation , are very easy to operate. The The outside line are smooth and eye catching . The added features such as backup camera, warning system for on coming traffic behind is a big plus, there is a warning system for backing up is great. So many safety features, and they all help to make you feel safe. Do I like my 2017 Escape, YES, I do.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Emily Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 12:49pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
This car is everything I wanted. It's classy but sporty and I'm not scared to drive in a weathered situation. The systems are easy to work and it's pretty decent on gas considering it's a Compact SUV. I drive 2-2.5 hours everyday for work. The ride is nice and smooth.Definitely a car worth driving.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Allan Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 10:13am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.5 / 5
We were looking for a vehicle for the ease of getting in and out and found that in our new escape. The rear back up camera is a great feature for backing out of our garage into a busy neighborhood. The Escape has proven to be comfortable on both longer trips and for a quick trips in the city. The four wheel drive feature will be a plus for winter driving. Overall a great vehicle.
Reliability
   3.5 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Gail Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 9:53am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
The price is excellent for the quality. The Ford Escape is fun to drive, roomy with nice features. The gas milage is good for a SUV and it is very comfortable!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Priscilla Sunday, August 6, 2017 - 2:20pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
The Escape is the perfect vehicle for me a mother of two and a dog owner with enough space for everyone but also seat configurations that met different needs. I do a lot of driving for my job so the fuel economy is very important. I like that I can slip into Sport mode when I need more power and the dash has several options for keeping an eye out for fuel use. I like the ""dual"" temperature options big vents in the front and the vents in the backseat keep my kids happy. The hands-free system is very convenient and was easy to learn. However there isn't a good place to put a cell phone holder that doesn't block controls or views. There are enough cup holders in the front and back also plenty of power ports.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Mary Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 8:59am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
The EcoBoost engine is great as is the communications/audio system. I can fit my bicycle in the back with the seats down (and the back head rests fold under/self-store - MUCH better than previous Escape body style!) The only thing I don't like terrible is that it looks like a lot of other vehicles within the Ford family as well as other brands.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Michael Sunday, August 13, 2017 - 5:43pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
We love our '17 Escape AWD Ecoboost Titanium! Its peppy, gets great MPGs, and is very comfortable. Plenty of room for us and the dog.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Wendy Friday, July 28, 2017 - 3:16pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.1 / 5
Very comfortable ro drive or ride in. Love the audio satellite and heating/cooling. My kids LOVE it too!
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Selena Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 3:27pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
I love my little car. It was an upgrade to my mustang that had no cool features. I needed more space for my two dogs who ride in my car a lot and I wanted a vehicle with a little more technology. Although I don't like the shape of the vehicle and the way it looks on the exterior its great inside. I ended up going for this car because of the great financing deal I was able to get on it. I'll definitely be trading for a larger vehicle soon once I start my new job, but its a great vehicle overall. Just not my personal style.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Anonymous Tuesday, August 8, 2017 - 12:39pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
We purchased a Ford Escape due to our experience with our previous Escape which had over 100000 miles.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Jill Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 1:06pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
This is my second Escape. I love this vehicle. It is comfortable good on gas easy to maneuver technologically advanced and has enough space to grocery shop and tote the dogs around town. I cannot say enough good things about Ford and the Escape.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Dooger Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 10:21pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.1 / 5
Stilling of vehicle great great options for this vehical. Pros: Rear view camera
Reliability
   2 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Ford Escape
Bob Plunkett

Introduction

The Ford Escape, unlike most compact crossovers, is more like a tall wagon with rakish styling and sporty handling. Competitors include the Honda CR-V, Hyundai Santa Fe Sport, Toyota RAV4 and Mazda CX-5, but the Escape offers the most responsive steering, crispest handling, and best body control (the CX-5 is a close second). The Escape also has the firmest ride; you don’t get that sporty handling for nothing.

The 2017 Ford Escape gets freshened for the model year. Revised styling in front gives it the striking family looks Ford recently copied from Aston Martin. That small styling revolution for Ford goes back to the 2013 Ford Fusion, but it isn’t dated yet. In fact, it might never be; the Aston grille shape goes back 50 years.

There are two new engines, a 1.5-liter replacing a 1.6, and a new version of the 2.0-liter. The new engines don’t make much more horsepower than before, now 179 hp for the 1.5-liter, and 245 hp for the 2.0 liter, but they are more efficient than before. There is also a 2.5-liter making 168 horsepower, which only comes with front-wheel drive.

All-wheel drive is available with the 1.5-liter and 2.0-liter engines.

There are new available infotainment and safety features for 2017 Ford Escape models. Ford’s Sync Connect now enables remote access to the car’s functions via smartphone. New safety systems for 2017 Escape include adaptive cruise control, forward collision warning with braking, lane keeping, active park assist that can steer the car into a parking space. A warning on the dash goes off if the car senses the driver is tired. Blind-spot monitoring continues to be available.

The 2016 Escape only received four stars overall for crashworthiness from the federal NHTSA, and a lowly Poor rating from the insurance industry’s IIHS in the small overlap front test (hitting a telephone pole or edge of a wall).

Fuel mileage is decent but not a reason to buy the car. The three engines get about the same: the 1.5-liter is EPA-rated at 26 miles per gallon Combined, the 2.0-liter at 25 mpg, and the 2.5-liter at 24 mpg. If a purchase were measured on this just this basis, the 2.0-liter EcoBoost is the clear winner for us because it offers so much more power.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Ford Escape comes in Escape S ($23,600), Escape SE ($25,100), and Escape Titanium ($26,850) models. Front-wheel drive is standard. All-wheel drive is available for Escape SE ($29,000) and Escape Titanium ($30,850). (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Available features include Sync 3 infotainment, navigation, HD and satellite radio, Bluetooth with audio streaming, push-button start, tow package, panoramic sunroof.

Walkaround

The Escape is a few inches shorter than the Honda CR-V, but its wheelbase is nearly three inches longer, so there is less overhang past the axles on the Ford, a good thing.

Escape’s styling is clean, crisp and stylish. Its pert sheet metal makes you think it’s a crossover aiming to steal away the Outback market of outdoorsy milennials. It’s direct, modern.

Interior

The dynamic cockpit is bold, contoured, and heavily styled. It’s swoopy and finely detailed, yet plasticky. It makes other compact crossovers boring. It’s not very airy inside, the price of a rakish design. The swoopy dash that wraps around the front occupants takes away some knee and legroom, yet the Escape still offers nearly two inches more than the Honda CR-V. Thick A-pillars steal some forward visibility.

The front seats are slim and firm. The electronic parking brake, small as a button, frees up center console space. There’s a horizontal vent under the LCD screen that does a good job of heating and cooling the climate controls and kneecaps. There’s a CD player on the center stack.

Even though it’s not very airy inside, considering the sleek exterior, there’s a generous amount of interior space. There’s plenty of headroom in the rear, as long as there’s no panoramic sunroof (which would make it more airy). In back, even though the Escape is called a five-seater, realistically there’s just enough space for two adults, with one inch less legroom than the CR-V.

But when they’re not there, the seatbacks and headrests flip down easily, creating 68 cubic feet of cargo space. The rear hatch can be opened by swinging a foot under the bumper, with the fob in your pocket or purse.

We like the Escape’s optional two-position load floor, flat or max storage, with an enclosed big square cargo bin that holds 34 cubic feet. Still, the CR-V makes better use of its cargo space.

We think the CR-V beats the Escape for everyday use. The front seats are more comfortable, and there’s more kneeroom.

Driving Impressions

The standard Escape engine is the 2.5-liter making 168 horsepower and 170 pound-feet of torque. It’s not as modern as the others, and a bit boring, but it’s smooth and competent. It offers enough power for most needs, but it does not produce quick acceleration. It the least expensive engine, with nearly the same horsepower and acceleration as the new 1.5-liter, although it’s not as torquey as the 1.5. Fuel mileage from the 2.5-liter is about two miles per gallon poorer than that of the 1.5-liter.

The new 1.5-liter engine makes 179 horsepower and 177 pound-feet of torque. Thanks to the torque, there is much kicking-down of the transmission with this engine, as there is with the base 2.5-liter. It lets out booming sounds during hard acceleration, deceiving because it’s not at all quick. Still on par with the competition, though.

If you need speed, your only call is the new EcoBoost 2.0-liter turbo, making 245 horsepower and 275 pound-feet or torque, and zooming to sixty miles per hour in less than seven seconds. At the option price of $1300, it’s a steal. It separates the Escape from almost every other crossover in its class.

The standard 6-speed automatic works just fine, a good match for the EcoBoost engines, with programmed shift points at a good mix of acceleration and fuel mileage. The 1.5-liter and 2.0-liter get paddle shifters, while the 2.5 has lame sport mode, and a switch on the lever to change gears.

All-wheel drive moves power from the front to rear wheels, up to 100 percent in either direction, where ever the traction is needed.

The Escape does not handle like an SUV, it handles like a sharp and engaging liftback, albeit a high one. Crisp steering, responsive handling, great body control. The steering is crisp, weighty and fast, while being not too overly blessed with feedback. Forget truck-like.

The ride is tightly damped, and sometimes can feel too tautly spring; with the 19-inch wheels as on the Titanium, it can feel harsh. The smaller-diameter wheels offer a smoother ride.

There’s electronic torque vectoring to help with the cornering; maybe that’s why we love it. It pinches the inside front brake in a corner, to help the car rotate.

Summary

The 2017 Escape isn’t perfect, but it’s got a lot going for it. There’s not much you don’t get, except dealbreakers. The 2.0 EcoBoost motor seems like the one to buy. Plastic trim drags down the cabin.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 5 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
5 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
5 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
4 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Ford Escape S FWD local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.