NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Dodge Journey.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (10)
Overall Rating
  4.4 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.2 / 5
Exterior
  4.4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.4 / 5

By Kevin Friday, August 18, 2017 - 11:18am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
My 2017 Dodge Journey handles like a car and has room for 7 persons. The bluetooth system makes using my cell phone safe and easy. I can easily knock down either row of seats and haul tons of cargo. 3 months down the road this has been a great experience. I would surely purchase this vehicle again.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Christopher s Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 8:05am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Make better cars like dodge ! I am in love with my car and i wouls buy every dodge model if i could! Thank you for keeping my family safe!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Timothy Friday, August 25, 2017 - 2:57pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I love my Dodge Durango. Best Features - Auto shut off Climate control Bluetooth
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Jake Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 6:25am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
Journey R/T. The ONLY feature I dislike in this vehicle is the driver's active headrest. I believe the designers accidentally designed the headrest and seat separately, and as a result, the headrest is fixed 3"" too far forward (forcing the head to be pushed forward and down - with a significant gap between the upper torso and seat.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By KIMBERLY Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 2:04pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I WAS SOLD WHEN I DROVE IT. YOU MUST TRY IT TO BELIEVE HOW NICE IT IS. I DID NOT CONSIDER THIS TILL I TOOK IT FOR A SPIN.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Ron Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 12:02pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.4 / 5
This is a basic transportation vehicle. It has very few options. I purchased the vehicle primarily because of price. But still paid more than I expected. I thought I should have got it for about a $1000 less according to their sales advertisement. They advertised employee pricing but they never mentioned it during the purchase. I did but never got an answer. The performance is good. The 4 cylinder has moderate power. If you want fast acceleration buy something else. I like the way it handles and I find it comfortable. Overall I am satisfied. Gas mileage is good.
Reliability
   2.5 / 5
Interior
   2 / 5
Exterior
   2.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Josh Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 5:58am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Our family of 6 fits in the Journey just fine. We will be needing a cargo box for the roof for when we travel. The engine is a little smaller in my model than I like but overall we love this car.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tony Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 10:12am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
The interior is outstanding. Tons of space and a lot of adaptability for different needs. The ride is great.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Susan Monday, July 31, 2017 - 5:28pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   2.1 / 5
interior is cheaply made and i have several pieces break inside it already as well as had the ac fixed for the back because it was never properly hooked up
Reliability
   1.5 / 5
Interior
   1 / 5
Exterior
   3 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3 / 5

By Amanda Monday, July 31, 2017 - 6:44pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
The Dodge Journey rides smoothly; the pickup is a little slow but the control/handling is excellent. I'm really enjoying my vehicle. As you can see from my mileage in 3 months I travel a lot for work and I trust my vehicle to get me where I need to be.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Dodge Journey
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

If you need a minivan but don’t want a minivan, the Dodge Journey is for you. Except for the doors, that’s basically what it is. It’s the most affordable seven-seat crossover on the market. It’s also the longest running without a redesign. It hasn’t gotten the attention of Chrysler in the way that the Dodge Durango or the Jeeps have.

Base engine is a 2.4-liter four-cylinder making just 173 horsepower, mated to an obsolete 4-speed automatic transmission. That powertrain is inexpensive but outdated.

Chrysler’s fine 3.6-liter V6 is the upgrade engine and is necessary to move the 5000-pound Journey. It makes a that’s-more-like-it 283 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque, mated to a 6-speed automatic. Front-wheel drive is standard, and all-wheel drive available.

Without modern technology, the four-cylinder engine gets 19/25 mpg City/Highway, or 21 miles per gallon Combined, while the much more powerful V6 gets an EPA-estimated 16/24/19 mpg.

Because of its ancient design, the Journey doesn’t score all that well in crash tests. It gets an acceptable four stars overall from the NHTSA, but scores a Poor on the IIHS’s difficult small-overlap frontal crash test.

Still, the thing is, the base Journey SE is special. There’s nothing like its affordability and utility. The Hyundai Santa Fe with three rows is a better car than the Journey SE, but it’s more costly. The upper-scale Journey models with the V6 are better, but no better than their competition.

For 2017, the R/T models have been rebadged as GT.

Model Lineup

2017 Dodge Journey SE ($20,995) comes with the 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine cloth upholstery, power windows, dual-zone climate control, steering-wheel audio controls, storage bins in the floor, and a six-speaker sound system with 4.3-inch touchscreen. Front-wheel drive is standard, all-wheel drive is optional ($26,595). The third-row seat is an option. (Prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Journey SXT ($24,895) adds foglamps, LED taillamps, and power mirrors. There’s also an appearance package with black trim and 19-inch wheels. Journey Crossroad ($26,295) gets 19-inch wheels, and a 8.4-inch touchscreen. The V6 engine is optional.

Journey GT ($31,795) comes with the V6 engine, leather upholstery, upgraded audio and other features.

Walkaround

The Journey’s slab sides are dated, as nowadays crossovers have rounded edges. The Durango is all warm and organic, but Dodge designers haven’t been assigned to give the same treatment to Journey. It’s angular and creased. But, looking on the positive side, the flat surfaces are easy to wash.

Interior

Unlike the outside, the Journey is smooth and swoopy inside, and easier to love. The cabin is not as modern as that of the Durango, but it’s attractive enough. The instrumentation is simple, with big dials and knobs and high-quality plastics on the sculpted dash and contoured centerstack. The materials are dark, but there’s enough brightwork to balance that. The fabric upholstery is rugged, and the optional leather has mesh inserts.

Where the Journey is strong, is in storage, with plenty of cubby holes and bins, including under the front passenger seat. There’s a ton of cargo space, with 37 cubic feet behind the second row, 10.7 cubic feet behind the available third row, or 67 cubic feet if the seats are dropped to the flat floor.

Outward rearview vision is poor. The optional rearview camera is needed.

Driving Impressions

The base 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine is rough. Its 173 and 166 pound-feet of torque can’t move the Journey very well, certainly not with the 4-speed automatic transmission that would be at home in a Caravan from the 1970s.

The smooth 3.6-liter V6 comes from the modern world, with 283 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque, and its 6-speed automatic is an appropriate match.

We saved the best for last. The Journey feels like a lower and leaner vehicle than it looks, with handling that’s fairly well sorted for a vehicle this size. The steering ratio is a bit quick, but at least the old-school hydraulic steering has the right amount of resistance.

And the Journey’s ride is one of its strengths, with proper damping and good roll control. The suspension loads and unloads with confidence, with no wallowing over pavement ripples that might come in the middle of a corner.

Summary

Dodge Journey delivers big passenger space and is inexpensive. It’s a dated product, however, especially with the standard four-cylinder, 4-speed. The 3.6-liter V6 brings it more up to date, but there’s also a lot of competition at that price point.

Sam Moses contributed to this review, with staff reports from The Car Connection.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 2 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
2 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Dodge Journey GT FWD local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.