2017 Acura RDX Reviews and Ratings

FWD w/Technology Pkg

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2017 Acura RDX.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (11)
Overall Rating
  4.6 / 5
Reliability
  4.7 / 5
Interior
  4.5 / 5
Exterior
  4.6 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  4.5 / 5

By Seth Monday, August 21, 2017 - 6:14am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
The 6 cylinder is powerful and the cabin is quiet, love the safety features and styling.The vehicle is comfortable and easy to get in/out of with plenty of storage and a power liftgate. High visability with the height of the ride and no blind spots when changing lanes. Four year bumper to bumper warranty and free loaner for major services.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Anonymous Monday, August 21, 2017 - 5:56pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Its a little smaller than the MDX which I have driven various models for over 10 years--but it is comfortable, has great power, and has acceptable technology except for a side warning system. but I really have come to love the vehicle--drives like a race car in some ways. but plenty of room and really comfortable.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Bill Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 12:05pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.8 / 5
The RDX is one of the few cars in it's size classification that offers a V6 engine; most are four-cylinder engines. The vehicle has plenty of power and handles very well. My wife initially didn't think that it had the ride and feel of a luxury car, but after driving it for a few months admits that it is fun to drive and hardly ever lets me drive. The only drawback is that the front-wheel drive version (you don't need 4-wheel drive in Florida) comes with a flat sealer kit instead of a spare tire.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   3.5 / 5
Exterior
   3.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4 / 5

By Jerry Friday, August 18, 2017 - 4:54pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3.6 / 5
Voice control system is very cumbersome to use and frequently provides inaccurate responses. Acura ""Watch"" systems are ineffective and not worth the additional costs.
Reliability
   4 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   4 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   2.5 / 5

By Anonymous Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 7:21am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
This car is extremely reliable gets good gas mileage is affordable has all the current technology.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Laura Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 8:10pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.5 / 5
The drive is so comfortable and the safety features are amazing
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Vijay Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 6:50pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.6 / 5
I love the car the V6 engine carries a lot of power in the car. Great pickup handles well. Rich interior roomy.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   4.5 / 5

By Rich Saturday, August 26, 2017 - 9:52am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
After researching luxury compact suvs, I drove several cars and chose the Acura RDX based on the overall appearance, comfort, and reliability of the brand.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Brian Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 2:07pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.2 / 5
Love the new RDX. Wish it had a few features that our RX-350 has like cooled seats. We purchased the safety package which is amazing! The only thing I wish the safety package came with is blind spot monitoring. We did not realize the vehicle did not have it until we had already drove off the lot (the one we test drove had blind spot monitoring). I love all of the features like the zoomable rear camera and the AWD functionality. This vehicle was a great purchase.
Reliability
   4.5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   4.5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   3.5 / 5

By Adam J Friday, July 28, 2017 - 9:02am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
Love this car except for the navigation and entertainment dashboard. The entertainment dash is cumbersome and confusing and the sound is not the greatest. Also the navigation is outdated by about 7 years. However the comfort of the interior and the ride are amazing and this car gives me that boost when I need it. Love this car just wish they would update those few technology features.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Debbie Monday, August 21, 2017 - 5:34pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Love my RDX! Handles so nice, smooth ride and all bells and whistles! I love the look and the ride, how well it handles (wider wheel base) corners very nice. Very solid and a TON of seat depth and leg room in back! Did not get ""tech package"" but have all I need (back up camera and an IPhone for navigation!) - stock stereo is good. I love the large compartment between front seats - provides a nice wide arm rest. I wanted a ""mid size"" SUV, found all models then talked to many Acura RDX (and other brand) owners to get some real feedback on ride and maintenance costs. One friend has MDX - she loves it / I rode and drove hers and that was my answer - I was SOLD. Stopped at the dealer and they had a ""Drive and sign"" offer - so it all worked perfect - simple and got the SUV I love. My last 2 cars where both Honda (22 years - 2 cars!) I loved them both, no issues - Acura is a nice step up from my Honda life but is staying close to ""home"". For me RDX was the best bang for the buck! LOVE IT.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2017 Acura RDX
New Car Test Drive

Introduction

The Acura RDX is agile and quick, with strong V6 power, yet it rides smoothly and is practical, a good combination for a premium compact crossover SUV.

Redesigned for the 2013 model year, the RDX gained a V6 engine to replace the original turbo four. Freshening for 2016 brought new features and styling touch-ups. Nothing has changed for the 2017 model year, apart from several new body colors.

Overall, styling is sleek, with an attractive profile and pronounced fender arches. Headlights consist of a row of five LEDs. The front end is still a bit odd, but not quite as beak-like as previous versions.

The 3.5-liter V6 engine delivers 279 horsepower and 252 pound-feet of torque.

Sharing its basic structure with the Honda CR-V, the RDX is considered compact by the EPA’s definition. Adults sitting in the second row are likely to agree on its compact status.

In terms of safety, the RDX has been among the best-performing models in its class, offering laudable occupant protection. A rearview camera is standard.

Although the basic RDX is equipped reasonably well, many prominent technical features are missing. The AcuraWatch Plus package adds active-safety features, including collision mitigation, lane-keeping assist, and adaptive cruise control, as well as a color multi-information display.

Crash-test ratings by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety have included top Good scores in all categories, with a Top Safety Pick+ award. The IIHS rated Acura’s forward-collision warning system Superior in frontal crash prevention. That system is particularly sensitive to potential dangers, tending to issue annoying warnings.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration gave RDX five stars overall, and the same number for frontal- and side-impact protection. The four-star rollover rating is common for many SUVs.

Model Lineup

The 2017 Acura RDX ($35,370) comes with dual-zone automatic climate control, a seven-speaker sound system; Bluetooth hands-free calling, heated power front seats, and a power liftgate. RDX with Acura Watch Plus ($36,670) includes a trio of active-safety features.

RDX with Technology Package ($39,070) adds blind-spot monitoring, HD Radio, 10-speaker audio, perforated leather-trimmed upholstery, a multi-rearview camera, and a dual-screen infotainment display with real buttons. Navigation with real-time traffic information is included in the Technology and Advance packages. RDX with Advance Package ($42,020) includes special 18-inch alloy wheels, remote start, front/rear parking sensors, and ventilated front seats.

All-wheel drive adds $1,500. Front-wheel drive is standard. (All prices are MSRP and do not include destination charge.)

Walkaround

Nothing about the Acura RDX is daring or brash. Yet, it’s a good-looking crossover, inside and out.

Viewed from the side, the RDX resembles other compact crossovers. Taken as a whole, though, it presents a tasteful blend of smooth contours and crisp detail work, topped by a low, arched roofline to accentuate its fashionable stance. LED lighting, at front and rear, adds to the delicate, understated nature of the design, which is just elegant enough to warrant its luxury designation.

The front view is still the most distinctive. Not everyone appreciates the bright, beak-like grille, though it’s been toned down recently.

Interior

Successful crossovers need to provide both form and function. Those attributes are nicely balanced within the RDX. Largely symmetric, the dashboard design focuses on a central control pod, bracketed by a horizontal beltline. Central controls are angled slightly toward the driver. All are easy to locate and use.

Handsome and comfortable, the sophisticated, mostly quiet cabin would be ideal for two adults, accompanied by a duo of smaller passengers in the rear. Otherwise, back-seat space is a bit cramped, and those seats do not fold completely flat. Carefully trimmed, the cabin melds appropriate amounts of elegance and formality with a dash of sportiness.

Seats are comfortable all around. Front seats have ample bolstering, with eight-way power adjustment for the driver, who faces a tilt/telescopic steering column. Even large and tall occupants should have plenty of space up front, but head clearance and knee room are somewhat limited in the rear.

Cargo space totals 26.1 cubic feet behind the rear seats, expanding to 61.3 cubic feet if those seats are folded. An additional 15.6 cubic feet are available in under-floor storage.

Getting in and out of an RDX is especially easy, and the low cargo floor is helpful. Small-item storage is abundant, including a small shelf within the center console that can hold a cell phone, with a power outlet nearby.

Driving Impressions

An RDX might not come across as specifically sporty, but responsive handling talents and strong V6 power make Acura’s crossover an appealing performer.

Most contemporary compact crossovers use turbocharged four-cylinder engines. So did the original RDX. However, a strong V6 allows the RDX to respond sharply and swiftly to each push on the gas pedal, regardless of engine speed.

Smoothly refined, the V6 cooperates effectively with the 6-speed automatic transmission, whether cruising or when mired in commuter traffic. Abundant torque means the transmission doesn’t necessarily need to downshift when accelerating.

Constructed like a passenger car, the RDX drives like one, too, handling much like a nicely-tuned sedan. Compact dimensions make it quite maneuverable in tight areas, as well as easy to park. Even on twisty roads, it’s a nicely-balanced vehicle, enjoyable to drive, while exuding a premium feel.

Optional all-wheel drive can send additional power to the rear wheels while accelerating, helping to improve stability.

Our main gripe is the beeping sounds that emanate from the audio system and forward-collision warning. Both can be annoying.

In real-world driving, fuel-efficiency isn’t bad. The RDX is EPA-rated at 20/28 mpg City/Highway, or 23 mpg Combined, With all-wheel drive, it’s rated at 19/27 mpg City/Highway, or 22 mpg Combined. Cylinder-deactivation technology can shut off half of the engine cylinder under light load, to save fuel, and barely discernible to the driver when it occurs.

Summary

Acura RDX benefits from a strong powertrain, quiet cabin, and impressive safety scores. Add a versatile interior, and it ranks among the most balanced choices in the smaller crossover category.

Driving impressions by Bengt Halvorson, The Car Connection. James M. Flammang contributed to this report.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 4 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
5 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
3 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2017 Acura RDX FWD w/Technology Pkg local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.