2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata Reviews and Ratings

2dr Conv Man Sport

NADAguides Consumer Review

Be the first to review this 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata.

Rate This Vehicle

My Rating

Braking
Fuel Economy
Interior Comfort
Acceleration
Dependability
Handling
Ride Quality
Overall Rating

My Review

Type your review and click the Submit button
600 of 600 character remain

J.D. Power Verified Consumer Reviews (8)
Overall Rating
  4.7 / 5
Reliability
  4.4 / 5
Interior
  4.2 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Dave B. Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 12:10pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
  5 / 5
The Mazda Miata is the best driving experience I've had. It doesn't have a high-powered engine but doesn't need one with it's low curb weight. The handling and real-wheel drive make for a dynamic, predictable driving experience. The top is easy to lower and raise. There isn't a lot of storage space but that is not what I bought the car for. It does very well in a daily commute and the gas mileage has been an excellent 28+ MPG from mostly city driving.
Reliability
  5 / 5
Interior
  5 / 5
Exterior
  5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
  5 / 5

By Tim Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 1:47am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   3 / 5
I purchased my Mazda MX-5 Club edition Miata in April when the weather was perfect for top down driving. In July when I drove with the top up I discovered the A/C doesn't cool sufficiently. I took it to the dealer and they are unable to make it any better. I drove a new car on the lot and it behaved the same. Mazda apparently has a defect A/C system in the MX-5 models. I love driving the car with the top down on nice weather days. But since the A/C just doesn't work good enough with the top up on hot days I regret purchasing the car and want my money back.
Reliability
   0.5 / 5
Interior
   1.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Joe Monday, July 31, 2017 - 9:27am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
If you're shopping for a Miata you know exactly what you want. It is a vehicle for the thrill of driving. It does not carry stuff (just enough trunk space for groceries or a suitcase). It does not carry people (2 that's it). It is not roomy. However there's no car more fun to drive. The latest edition (ND 2016+) goes back to basics in weight and size with an aggressive design and all the technology you could want (except a back-up camera).
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By JT Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 5:46pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Drive one. Your gonna have to have one. I've driven many automobiles and many motorcycles. My fav of all.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Chris Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 1:20pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.8 / 5
I've always admired the Miata. As an avid motorcyclist in Florida it's not always practical to ride my bikes in the oppressive heat. The Mazda MX-5 Miata provides an energizing driving experience that isn't all that dissimilar from riding a motorcycle - with an A/C and top for the summer rains. I've always loved the Mazda brand and what they stand for so I decided to take a test drive of the new re-styled 2016 Miata. It was love at first drive and I knew that I'd have to own one. Although it takes a lot of space up in my garage which reduces motorcycle real estate I'm happy I did! It really is a pleasure to drive. I now ""get it"" and better understand why the Miata has been in production for so long.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Vikki Saturday, August 12, 2017 - 10:09am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
I drove. Mitsubishi Eclipse for 18 years and I was unsure about purchasing this little GT 2 seater lol .... I'm really happy I did! Such a cute fun sporty car! Drives nice & tight, handles great & peppy for a little 2.0 4 cylinder! Gas mileage has been great, I don't stop as much for gas as I did in my Mitsubishi. It is a bit smaller & lower than what I was used to but I've adjusted quickly. Love the features & the new body style and putting the top up & down is easy. I get so many compliments on this lil stylish me car :) Lovin it Zoom Zoom
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By Tony Friday, July 28, 2017 - 4:19am J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   4.9 / 5
Really has a good track record for maintenance. Pros: Convertible is easy to get up and down. Cons: Could use more technology integrated into it.
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   4.5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5

By way Wednesday, August 2, 2017 - 8:24pm J.D. POWER VERIFIED OWNER REVIEW
   5 / 5
Unbeatable fun and driving experience on track/road you can feel the connection everytime floor it every corner and still gets 33+ mpg in city/highway such a fun little car!
Reliability
   5 / 5
Interior
   5 / 5
Exterior
   5 / 5
Driving Dynamics
   5 / 5


Expert Reviews ( 1 )

2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata
Mitch McCullough

Introduction

The all-new 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata represents a return to its roots. Though completely redesigned and reengineered, this fourth-generation Miata is more like the first-generation 1990 roadster than any of the intervening generations.

The 2016 Miata adheres to the same basic concept as the original: a lightweight, rear-wheel-drive, two-seat roadster. And it follows the same mission as before, that of a classic British sports car.

It’s fun to drive, easy to toss around, a delight whether charging up a mountain road or cruising along the ocean. It’s simple, straightforward and traditional. You can drop the manually operated top while belted in the driver’s seat, even while at parking lot speeds. And if a thunderstorm occurs, you can pull it up and latch it just as easily, without getting out of your seat.

The styling of this all-new MX-5 is more contemporary and a bit more aggressive than the previous generation. It is about the same size as before, slightly shorter in overall length at 154 inches and slightly wider at 68 inches. The wheelbase has been stretched to 91.1 inches.

Model Lineup

The 2016 Mazda MX-5 comes in Sport ($24,915), Club ($28,600), and Grand Touring ($30,065) models. A 6-speed manual gearbox is standard, a 6-speed automatic is optional. The Club features a sports suspension with Bilstein shocks and high-performance tires and upgraded cloth upholstery. The Grand Touring upgrades with leather-trimmed upholstery, climate control, navigation, and blind-spot and lane-departure warning systems.

Walkaround

Compared to its predecessor, the new MX-5 has a more curvaceous beltline. The hoodline plunges downward at the front, and a large opening at the front of the car sucks in air like a blue whale inhaling plankton. In many states, a license plate will obscure this opening appearing as a single tooth at the top of the maw.

It is a small, tidy car. After driving it you get out and almost feel like you should be able to slip it into your pocket, like a cellphone, before walking off.

The top is very easy to operate. Dropping the top can be accomplished with one hand even while underway. The same can be said about raising the top. While belted in, the driver can simply reach back, release a latch and pull the top to the top of the windshield. Mazda cleverly engineered some mechanical assistance to the help the driver pull the top up at just that moment where help is needed. Pull it closed. One latch secures it. The whole operation takes less time than it took to read about it.

Interior

The Miata cabin is spartan. The look is classic basic roadster. The pedals and the steering wheel are positioned directly in front of the driver, a rarity of seating precision.

A prominent center console separates driver and co-driver. Big analog gauges and a horizontal instrument panel keep the interior from feeling confining. Air vents and climate controls use the classic round look. Mazda’s latest infotainment system display is perched above the low-set dash.

Driving Impressions

By moving the roll center closer to the driver, Mazda made its latest MX-5 the best-driving yet. Transitioning from steady hard cornering in a left turn on a mountain road to steady hard cornering in a right turn in the Club model is seamless; now we’re going this way, now we’re going that way.

The tires lose grip gradually when cornering at high loads and the chassis is evenly balanced, so handling is predictable. It’s enjoyable, entertaining, satisfying to hurl this car into corners on deserted back roads. Yet it rides nicely and does not beat you up when puttering around in the neighborhood at 25 mph. Even the sport-tuned Club model rides smoothly enough to use as a daily driver.

The Miata does what is expected and never surprises its driver, so car and driver become one. Braking and turning at the same time tends to result in mild oversteer. Even braking through a transient maneuver is easy to control, a benefit of its near-perfect balance.

Power is not excessive. There is no surge of force at high rpm. Torque is lacking. The engine is rated at 155 horsepower and 146 pound-feet of torque. With a curb weight of just 2,300 pounds, however, the Miata can accelerate from 0 to 60 mph in about 6 seconds, a quick performance indeed. More important than those numbers is the joy you get from using this engine. The engine revs freely and smoothly. Blipping the throttle with the side of the foot while braking is wonderfully easy and enjoyable.

We strongly recommend choosing the manual gearbox for this car. It is required equipment for that blipping and downshifting thing we just mentioned. The clutch pedal is light and friendly and the 6-speed manual snicks into gears neatly and easily. Also available is the 6-speed automatic transmission with Sport mode and, though it is not our preference, we found on several test drives that it performs its duties exceedingly well.

Choosing among the three models comes down to what the driver wants from the car. The Club offers the sportiest handling and is the choice of the serious enthusiast, though the ride quality of the Club is not harsh and should be fine for everyday driving. The Grand Touring model is the best choice for cruising along the ocean or enjoying top-down motoring, yet its handling will still satisfy the driver who enjoys spirited motoring. The base MX-5 Sport model has the same suspension as the GT and comes with a cloth top, so the Sport offers the best value for someone who simply wants the joy of a classic sports car.

Summary

The new Miata offers top-down motoring and a rewarding, classic driving experience. We think it’s the most fun you can have in a sports car in its price range.

Mitch McCullough and Bengt Halvorson reported from Westlake Village, California.


J.D. Power Rating
Overall Quality 3 / 5
Overall Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Mechanical
4 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Mechanical
3 / 5
Overall Quality - Design
2 / 5
Powertrain Quality - Design
4 / 5
Body & Interior Quality - Design
2 / 5
Features & Accessories Quality - Design
3 / 5

Overall Dependability Not Available
Powertrain Dependability
Not Available
Body & Interior Dependability
Not Available
Feature & Accessory Dependability
Not Available

Search car listings & find the right car for you
Click here for 2016 Mazda MX-5 Miata 2dr Conv Man Sport local listings

Car Buying and Selling Resources



J.D. Power Rating Legend
Among the Best
5 / 5
Better than Most
4 / 5
About Average
3 / 5
The Rest
2 / 5

* The J.D. Power Ratings are calculated based on the range between the car manufacturer or car model with the highest score and the car manufacturer or car model with the lowest score. J.D. Power generates a rating of a five, four, three, or two. If there is insufficient data to calculate a rating, “Not Available” is used in its place.

J.D. Power Ratings may not include all information used to determine J.D. Power awards, visit the Car Ratings page to learn more about awards and ratings.